The Laois Rising.

Replying To munsterchamps:  "leinster hurling might be competitive but i think the leinster teams left are well behind the munster3."
Galway played for 10 mins in last years final and lost by a point. Kk pushed them to a replayed Leinster final. Galway, IMO, second best team in Ireland (after limerick)are out, dumped by the 3 other Leinster counties. I rest my case. Give Laois some true respect for what they did today.

bottletopbill (Wexford) - Posts: 71 - 07/07/2019 20:14:33    2207334

Replying To SAMMYTHEBULL:  "Pity they don't have J P, they could become professional and beat everybody."
Oh You sad bitter little thing.

Galway have had a very generous and loyal sponsor in Supermacs so cant be complaining too much. Most counties would be delighted with being sponsored for over 20yrs by the biggest fast food in the country. Not J P or anyone else fault that Galway CB cant keep their finances in order.

Today was Laois big day so just be happy for them or be queit.

Breezy (Limerick) - Posts: 1236 - 07/07/2019 20:40:38    2207370

Serious congratulations laois

someday (Limerick) - Posts: 1104 - 07/07/2019 21:19:35    2207401

Replying To waynoI:  "Its only sport - There are bigger issues in life - Losing respect for someone over the result of a sports game, when you've never met or interacted with said person in the real world is a tad weird but we are where we are.

FWIW - You are also on here more or less straight after the game, and you, like me have congratulated Laois. You seem to have an issue with the use of the word "delighted" - I stand by it. Laois had the balls, the hunger, the fight, right attitude and mentality to not only compete, but beat the bigger county in terms of population, funding, experience at that level etc. No whinging about their 7 day turnaround, or the massive advantages Dublin have, just a team with guts, and hard work proving that if you have the right mentality and leave your pre conceived excuses at home before a game throws in that you can mix it with a better, more talented bunch. Hard work, application, bravery and heart will triumph.

Finally, congrats to yourself for being a true county GAA man. I didn't realise there where certain rules to it! You must be very proud :)"
Hard to disagree with that, sometimes you have to salute the winners, especially one not given a snowballs chance in hell.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4895 - 07/07/2019 21:33:39    2207424

Replying To Ulsterman:  "Very well done to Laois. This is what you get when you put the hard work in, have no fear and believe. The Antrim players should look at this and hang their heads in shame."
You just can't resist having a dig at your own county men.

Clueless and classless.

Glensboy (Antrim) - Posts: 286 - 07/07/2019 21:40:18    2207434

Well done Laois, delighted for you,hope you can go on further and beat Tipp next week.

Tox73 (Wexford) - Posts: 168 - 07/07/2019 21:46:06    2207441

Well done Laois

Think it's time to cut funding to hurling and pump it solely into making more robots/footballers

Nah.. a very good and totally deserved victory for Laois. At the same time it's bit like they just bet Limerick, Dublin are far from finished article but Kenny deserves more time.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 07/07/2019 21:46:47    2207444

Replying To ballydalane:  "Great result for Laois BUT I'm afraid it highlights the current mediocrity of Leinster hurling (exciting, unpredictable and entertaining as it may be). I had heard people say that they wouldn't rule out Dublin beating Tipp. I think today's result shows how fanciful that thinking was. Tipp would have accounted for Dublin comfortably next week."
Exciting? Unpredictable? Entertaining? Isnt that what Sport is supposed to be about? The word mediocre is surely at odds with all that?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11734 - 07/07/2019 21:59:52    2207459

Replying To arock:  "Hard to disagree with that, sometimes you have to salute the winners, especially one not given a snowballs chance in hell."
100% laois deserved to win. Fully and if I wasn't on the receiving end of a beating I'd be happy for them. Full stop. F**kin great for hurling. But at my own counties expense obv I'm not going to be happy. And wayno on a number of occasions has stated he'd basically be up for anyone against Dublin. Its just not me but obviously everyone is diff so each to their own

ConnollyDub (Dublin) - Posts: 2007 - 07/07/2019 22:05:57    2207463

What is it about Dublin hurling teams. It's a well established pattern at this stage: a great, defiant performance followed by flat inept display that sees them getting dumped out of Championship hurling. Was complacency an issue? Well Laois done though. Thoroughly deserved.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 07/07/2019 22:40:20    2207493

Replying To waynoI:  "Awesome result. Congratulations to Eddie Brennan and the Laois team, All Ireland quarter finalists. Stuff of dreams. Delighted for them, how could you not be ?"
You are 'delighted"!! I can't believe a Dubliner would get straight in here and open a thread expressing his delight for a team that has defeated his county. Some supporter.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 07/07/2019 22:47:05    2207497

Replying To Viking66:  "Exciting? Unpredictable? Entertaining? Isnt that what Sport is supposed to be about? The word mediocre is surely at odds with all that?"
No, not at odds at all. The reason Leinster hurling has been so entertaining and unpredictable this year is because we've had 4 teams in and around the same standard, all capable of beating one another on any given day (plus now Laois beating Dublin).

But I watched the Munster final back and to my eyes, the speed and technique was on a different level to what we've seen in Leinster, even from Tipp who took a bad beating on the day.

I hope I'm proven wrong over the next number of weeks.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 07/07/2019 22:49:48    2207499

Fair feckin play Laois. If you were to listen to opinions over the last week there would of been no point in you turning up. Super for Laois hurlers to get another day in croke Park. Whatever happens from here you have gave hope to all the teams in the Joe Mac that they can mix it with the 'big boy's' delighted for ye.

hurlinglad15 (Meath) - Posts: 36 - 07/07/2019 23:19:33    2207509

Replying To ConnollyDub:  "100% laois deserved to win. Fully and if I wasn't on the receiving end of a beating I'd be happy for them. Full stop. F**kin great for hurling. But at my own counties expense obv I'm not going to be happy. And wayno on a number of occasions has stated he'd basically be up for anyone against Dublin. Its just not me but obviously everyone is diff so each to their own"
What are you on about??

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 07/07/2019 23:54:48    2207522

Replying To catch22:  "Some lads are like that ,full of opinions and know everything. I'd say that lad wouldn't know a sliothar if it hit him in the boll*x no more than yourself that is. Another great man for the aul chat. As I said before the great thing about these sites and forums is they give every gobsh*te an opportunity to tell you what they think and there's nothing more enticing to a gobsh*te than a chance to let you have it."
Seems to me like you have alot going on mate. I mean, getting so easily frustrated and wound up, using language like that while throwing personal digs at people you've never clocked eyes on only looks real bad on you. Hope you're okay.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 08/07/2019 00:00:57    2207527

Well done to the men of Laois. Not distracted by the win in the Joe McDonagh Cup last weekend and were seriously focused today. Go and put your best foot forward next Sunday and the very best of luck. Also made a very strong case for expanding the Leinster Championship but the suits in Croke Park are hard to convince and like things their way far too much. I am still firmly of the belief that any county should be allowed to participate in their provincial championship if they feel they are fit for it and opt out when they feel that they are not up to it.

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1061 - 08/07/2019 00:45:11    2207537

Brilliant stuff by Laois and it tees up next year's Leinster championship nicely. Laois is a proud hurling county and it just goes to show what they can do when they are not fighting. If Brennan hadn't gone in as manager Ross King probably wouldn't have played this year which would have been such a shame.

Rowland proved again that he is a top-class goalkeeper. I hope they play well again next Sunday but obviously I will be shouting for Tipp.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 08/07/2019 05:18:02    2207549

Congrats to Laois , no fluke the better prepared team who wanted it the most won , best of luck from here on in

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 08/07/2019 09:05:33    2207581

Replying To Rayo1:  "Fully expect Cork to beat Kilkenny."
Did you fully expect Dublin to beat Laois?

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1785 - 08/07/2019 09:26:50    2207598

Replying To waynoI:  "What are you on about??"
Wayno- if I were you I would ignore these swipes. You did the sporting thing & congratulated the underdog & recognised an achievement against your own county team. This really isn't about you.

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 08/07/2019 09:47:54    2207615