The Dubs, The Monies & The Prejudices

Replying To jimbodub:  "Considering Galway's highly publicized mishandling of funds and forking out funding to its Inter-county teams that exceeds nearly every county in the country

I think you playing the financial card is a bit rich."
The worst mishandling and betrayal of the country was caused by the one with no bank account and his cronies, leaving Galway GAA in huge debt and rural clubs decimated by emigration and unemployment.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1798 - 02/07/2019 08:12:00    2204103

Replying To Joxer:  "Speaks volumes about you bud. Remember you said that when your kids or grandkids are coming to the capital to get an education and/or employment to keep a roof over their head."
Joxer, thankfully I have a few roofs sorted for the wanes in Dublin, should they ever want or need them, currently being leased by both city & country folk alike - I don't discriminate when it comes to personal commerce.
However, I will take your advice & remember my post, if one day they are concerned about said roofs over their heads,
I will silently reflect & know that their worry is retribution for my post on Hoganstand.

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 02/07/2019 14:14:24    2204314

The term Financial Doping has been bandied about by quite a few people on this forum and social media.

For those who use it as a term to taint Dublins achievements, can it be used only at a team level or can it be at individual level?

Can an individual player be 'financially doped' while others on the team be 'financially clean'?

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 02/07/2019 14:43:28    2204337

Replying To greysoil:  "Joxer, thankfully I have a few roofs sorted for the wanes in Dublin, should they ever want or need them, currently being leased by both city & country folk alike - I don't discriminate when it comes to personal commerce.
However, I will take your advice & remember my post, if one day they are concerned about said roofs over their heads,
I will silently reflect & know that their worry is retribution for my post on Hoganstand."
O stony grey soil of Monaghan
The laugh from my love you thieved;
You took the the gay child of my passion
And gave me your clod-conceived.

You told me the plough was immortal!
O green-life-conquering plough!
Your mandril strained, your coulter blunted
In the smooth lea-field of my brow.

You sang on steaming dunghills
A song of coward's brood,
You perfumed my clothes with weasel itch,
You fed me on swinish food.

You flung a ditch on my vision
Of beauty, love and truth.
You burgled my bank of youth!

My favourite poet!

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1798 - 02/07/2019 15:29:37    2204349

Replying To baire:  "O stony grey soil of Monaghan

My favourite poet!"
Mehh...i always thought the line *You burgled my bank of youth* was one of the most crass puns in modern Irish poetry.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 02/07/2019 16:52:10    2204396

Replying To avonali:  "Facts can be twisted and pressed into the service of any argument you wish to make,."
The man came published stats from over the past to years it shows Dublin are going unpunished in certain situations. And he anti Dublin. I expect Dubs to dispute the stats that's understandable. What gets my goat no pundit will touch it with a barge poll. They would be destroyed and would called" bitter" " sour grapes" the usual stuff. Nobody has the backbone to do it.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 02/07/2019 17:21:10    2204414

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "The man came published stats from over the past to years it shows Dublin are going unpunished in certain situations. And he anti Dublin. I expect Dubs to dispute the stats that's understandable. What gets my goat no pundit will touch it with a barge poll. They would be destroyed and would called" bitter" " sour grapes" the usual stuff. Nobody has the backbone to do it."
Well give it time. I'm sure someone will do some analysis and come back with a counter argument.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 02/07/2019 17:34:34    2204429

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "The man came published stats from over the past to years it shows Dublin are going unpunished in certain situations. And he anti Dublin. I expect Dubs to dispute the stats that's understandable. What gets my goat no pundit will touch it with a barge poll. They would be destroyed and would called" bitter" " sour grapes" the usual stuff. Nobody has the backbone to do it."
Did he look up the stats of every county to see how they are reffed? If not, next!!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 02/07/2019 17:52:38    2204438

Very sad and bitter posts here ,this should be locked down

hipster (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 02/07/2019 18:02:48    2204443

My favourite poet!"
He was great but he was a whinger as well. He and his thick tongued mumble. A great poet though.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 02/07/2019 18:10:00    2204446

For me, this is about as best as I can articulate about the whole issue with Dublin and their dominance and how its been achieved. I suspect and indeed hope its how most other GAA supporters outside the Capital and now it seems quite a few in it are now feeling as the 5 in a row looks set in stone.
To me it's as simple as this - money (by itself) does not create a Gooch or a Brogan - but money pays for the multiple of qualified youth coaches now plying their trades across Dublin, it pays for the strength and conditioning programmes, the skills coaches, the nutritionist and dieticians, the psychologists and physiotherapists all of which help raw talents deliver fully on their potential.
Money pays for the army of backroom staff Dublin have, last count, they had 20-30 people on their books to again insure their team and its individual players play to their upmost potential.
This is the huge background support to inter-county and potential inter-county players Dublin have, something which dwarfs what every other county had and which is paid for by hugely imbalanced grants structure supplied from a variety of streams. That's not counting the massive (in a GAA context) sponsorship by AIG and the what is it, 25 odd other official sponsors of Dublin including our state airline!!

On top of this, in sports the world over playing at home in front of your own fans has been proven to be a significant advantage hence the away goals rule in the Champions League for example.
Kerry have not lost a Championship game in Kerry since 1995. At the elite level of sport - the difference between success and failure is measured by fractions, by the 1 or 2%. At this stage it is beyond me how anyone can think the money and funding Dublin enjoy (which is vastly superior to any other county); the Home games they are handed; being officiated by referee's with strong links to Dublin and Dublin clubs and the benefits from other things like smaller commutes to collective training don't add up to give them to 1 or 2% advantage to get over the Mayo's and Kerry's over the past decade.

Anyone who cannot see that elite inter-county football is not a level playing field because of what Dublin have, at this stage is a fool.

No genuine GAA person thinks that Dublin are some team of charlatans that are winning because of money alone. We all appreciate they are a great team, with a great manager and some amazing players. But I ask anyone, are their players and is their team really superior to a Kerry 2004-09 or a Tyrone 2003-08?
No, they aren't.
And yet Dublin have dominated to an extent those two equally talented teams didn't. Why? For me the answer is what I've listed above.
Kerry managed to get to 6 finals in a row, but they had tough away games, they had to deal with hostile referees, they didn't have any great financial assistance to pay for an army of backroom teams to look after them. The wear and tear of this meant they came up just short in finals like 05 and 08. If Kerry played all those games in Killarney you can beat we would have threatened a 4 or 5 in a row!
My ultimate point is this - because of the artificial advantages (money, home games etc) bestowed on Dublin at the expense of their rivals, when they do unearth a great side, like they have this decade, they can dominate to an extent no other county with similar talented sides has done before or will hope to after.
That's completely against the ethos of what the GAA is. It is something that completely undermines the tradition counties like Kerry have painstakingly built over 110 years.
To be blunt Dublin haven't earned the dominance they've enjoyed.

P.S. - I've seen a few Dublin posters over the last while throw out 'sure Micko's team were well looked after'. So just because they got a bit of money from advertising (which they went out and secured for themselves to go on some great team holidays), somehow that equates to the 17+ million that's been poured into Dublin's coffers? Get a grip lads!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 02/07/2019 18:18:51    2204454

My favourite poet!"
He'd sour milk

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 02/07/2019 18:46:47    2204460

Replying To TheHermit:  "For me, this is about as best as I can articulate about the whole issue with Dublin and their dominance and how its been achieved. I suspect and indeed hope its how most other GAA supporters outside the Capital and now it seems quite a few in it are now feeling as the 5 in a row looks set in stone.
To me it's as simple as this - money (by itself) does not create a Gooch or a Brogan - but money pays for the multiple of qualified youth coaches now plying their trades across Dublin, it pays for the strength and conditioning programmes, the skills coaches, the nutritionist and dieticians, the psychologists and physiotherapists all of which help raw talents deliver fully on their potential.
Money pays for the army of backroom staff Dublin have, last count, they had 20-30 people on their books to again insure their team and its individual players play to their upmost potential.
This is the huge background support to inter-county and potential inter-county players Dublin have, something which dwarfs what every other county had and which is paid for by hugely imbalanced grants structure supplied from a variety of streams. That's not counting the massive (in a GAA context) sponsorship by AIG and the what is it, 25 odd other official sponsors of Dublin including our state airline!!

On top of this, in sports the world over playing at home in front of your own fans has been proven to be a significant advantage hence the away goals rule in the Champions League for example.
Kerry have not lost a Championship game in Kerry since 1995. At the elite level of sport - the difference between success and failure is measured by fractions, by the 1 or 2%. At this stage it is beyond me how anyone can think the money and funding Dublin enjoy (which is vastly superior to any other county); the Home games they are handed; being officiated by referee's with strong links to Dublin and Dublin clubs and the benefits from other things like smaller commutes to collective training don't add up to give them to 1 or 2% advantage to get over the Mayo's and Kerry's over the past decade.

Anyone who cannot see that elite inter-county football is not a level playing field because of what Dublin have, at this stage is a fool.

No genuine GAA person thinks that Dublin are some team of charlatans that are winning because of money alone. We all appreciate they are a great team, with a great manager and some amazing players. But I ask anyone, are their players and is their team really superior to a Kerry 2004-09 or a Tyrone 2003-08?
No, they aren't.
And yet Dublin have dominated to an extent those two equally talented teams didn't. Why? For me the answer is what I've listed above.
Kerry managed to get to 6 finals in a row, but they had tough away games, they had to deal with hostile referees, they didn't have any great financial assistance to pay for an army of backroom teams to look after them. The wear and tear of this meant they came up just short in finals like 05 and 08. If Kerry played all those games in Killarney you can beat we would have threatened a 4 or 5 in a row!
My ultimate point is this - because of the artificial advantages (money, home games etc) bestowed on Dublin at the expense of their rivals, when they do unearth a great side, like they have this decade, they can dominate to an extent no other county with similar talented sides has done before or will hope to after.
That's completely against the ethos of what the GAA is. It is something that completely undermines the tradition counties like Kerry have painstakingly built over 110 years.

P.S. - I've seen a few Dublin posters over the last while throw out 'sure Micko's team were well looked after'. So just because they got a bit of money from advertising (which they went out and secured for themselves to go on some great team holidays), somehow that equates to the 17+ million that's been poured into Dublin's coffers? Get a grip lads!"
https://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/sport/columnists/mike-quirke/sponsorship-cash-is-the-real-game-changer-hiding-in-plain-sight-934086.html

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 02/07/2019 19:03:54    2204474

My favourite poet!"
Exquisite taste Baire. Surprised by the dissent by some on here for one of our finest poets, considering that another one of his beautiful poems, has become an adopted anthem of our capital city.

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 02/07/2019 20:11:12    2204512

Replying To TheHermit:  "For me, this is about as best as I can articulate about the whole issue with Dublin and their dominance and how its been achieved. I suspect and indeed hope its how most other GAA supporters outside the Capital and now it seems quite a few in it are now feeling as the 5 in a row looks set in stone.

No, they aren't.

P.S. - I've seen a few Dublin posters over the last while throw out 'sure Micko's team were well looked after'. So just because they got a bit of money from advertising (which they went out and secured for themselves to go on some great team holidays), somehow that equates to the 17+ million that's been poured into Dublin's coffers? Get a grip lads!"
3 games to win an AI. Funds flowing in from the USA like the famine was still the rage in the Kingdom. Every player, coach and kit bag man given a pub or given a pot of gold for the privilege of having his name over it. There's a huge asterisk against a lot of those cheap AIs that made celebs and bags of money for a lot of Kerry men who could enjoy their smokes and a few pints from their own bar following their procession to another Sam, unlike this Dublin team of Trappist monks whose only enjoyment might be a glass of 7UP, diet 7UP, after a hard fought win in game 7, a semi, on the road to a final. Shame on real Kerry men for attempting to blot the snow white canvas that is the reputation of this greatest team of all time. And to think that we Dubs once thought that Kerry men knew their football. We've been duped. Shame on ye.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 02/07/2019 20:22:18    2204517

Replying To greysoil:  "Exquisite taste Baire. Surprised by the dissent by some on here for one of our finest poets, considering that another one of his beautiful poems, has become an adopted anthem of our capital city."
Some of us are closer to the soil than others, greysoil! Yes indeed, Raglan Road and this wonderful tribute to Dublin's Grand Canal:

O commemorate me where there is water,
Canal water, preferably, so stilly
Greeny at the heart of summer. Brother
Commemorate me thus beautifully
Where by a lock niagarously roars
The falls for those who sit in the tremendous silence
Of mid-July. No one will speak in prose
Who finds his way to these Parnassian islands.
A swan goes by head low with many apologies,
Fantastic light looks through the eyes of bridges -
And look! a barge comes bringing from Athy
And other far-flung towns mythologies.
O commemorate me with no hero-courageous
Tomb - just a canal-bank seat for the passer-by.

There was no reference to Jackeens or Culchies in Kavanagh's poetry.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1798 - 02/07/2019 20:29:22    2204521

Replying To Joxer:  "3 games to win an AI. Funds flowing in from the USA like the famine was still the rage in the Kingdom. Every player, coach and kit bag man given a pub or given a pot of gold for the privilege of having his name over it. There's a huge asterisk against a lot of those cheap AIs that made celebs and bags of money for a lot of Kerry men who could enjoy their smokes and a few pints from their own bar following their procession to another Sam, unlike this Dublin team of Trappist monks whose only enjoyment might be a glass of 7UP, diet 7UP, after a hard fought win in game 7, a semi, on the road to a final. Shame on real Kerry men for attempting to blot the snow white canvas that is the reputation of this greatest team of all time. And to think that we Dubs once thought that Kerry men knew their football. We've been duped. Shame on ye."
The only shame around here should be your own after writing that utter trash...

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 02/07/2019 20:33:06    2204525

Replying To TheHermit:  "And unlike yourself I don't need to post the same thing 4 times ;D"
Ha

Don't know why that's been happening

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 02/07/2019 20:37:36    2204529

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "We will have to target our first game and our third game, I can see us struggling against Donegal as they are well organized and have a superior midfield.

But if we can win those other games then I can see us making the semifinal and a clash with yer selves."
You're more than capable of it

Sort out your defense and there's at least 3 All Ireland's coming soon

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 02/07/2019 20:39:48    2204532

Replying To Joxer:  "3 games to win an AI. Funds flowing in from the USA like the famine was still the rage in the Kingdom. Every player, coach and kit bag man given a pub or given a pot of gold for the privilege of having his name over it. There's a huge asterisk against a lot of those cheap AIs that made celebs and bags of money for a lot of Kerry men who could enjoy their smokes and a few pints from their own bar following their procession to another Sam, unlike this Dublin team of Trappist monks whose only enjoyment might be a glass of 7UP, diet 7UP, after a hard fought win in game 7, a semi, on the road to a final. Shame on real Kerry men for attempting to blot the snow white canvas that is the reputation of this greatest team of all time. And to think that we Dubs once thought that Kerry men knew their football. We've been duped. Shame on ye."
Nasty! How the administrator allows this type of bile is beyond me.
Thankfully the Dublin football manager and his team carry themselves with dignity.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1798 - 02/07/2019 20:47:32    2204540