Who Are Dublins Challenger Now?

Replying To Lockjaw:  "The way I'm looking at it is that Dublin will win the 5 in a row. But they have to play someone in the final. That someone could well be Donegal. Kerry haven't looked all that impressive of late. Tyrone were very poor against us and Mayo have gone back a bit I think. Ruane getting injured for them is a big blow.

So if we can stay injury free and keep building on the good form we showed against Tyrone then we might be there or thereabouts. First things first though, we'll need to avoid complacency and beat Cavan this weekend. It won't be easy and the closer we get to the game the more nervous I'm getting. But I think in the end we should beat them as the likes of Murphy, McGee and McGlynn have the experience of these big games and will hopefully stand us in good stead."
Can not see Cavan beating Donegal at all. Donegal were immense against Tyrone. It wasn't just a case of Tyrone not performing. Donegal didn't let Tyrone perform. Having said that, they may have peaked too soon. They could be best equipped to deal with Dublin but doesn't mean they will the ones facing them in the final. A lot of football to be played,

OGarmaile (Tyrone) - Posts: 248 - 17/06/2019 13:29:59    2196474

Replying To Pullhard1985:  "Im a cavan supporter though. ;-)
We will leave the 'hero worshipping' and the cheerleading to the Mayo fans"
That's easy to say now but if you finally get to win something I'd wager you'd hero worship and cheer with the best of us.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 17/06/2019 13:32:43    2196476

Another petty dig at Mayo fans for absolutely no reason whatsoever. What is it with some lads when it comes to Mayo, especially lads from counties who rarely cross paths with Mayo? I'd genuinely like to know!

I said it to myself earlier in the year, I don't see any challengers for Dublin this year and they are going to coast to 5 in a row unfortunately. Bookies would seem to agree, have them at 1/2 which really is incredible odds!

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 17/06/2019 13:34:17    2196481

Not at all. We'll do well to get out of Newry. I'll be shouting for ye on Sunday, that's why I was pulling you up there. In the wrong!

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7345 - 17/06/2019 13:38:53    2196487

Replying To the_walls:  "Another petty dig at Mayo fans for absolutely no reason whatsoever. What is it with some lads when it comes to Mayo, especially lads from counties who rarely cross paths with Mayo? I'd genuinely like to know!

I said it to myself earlier in the year, I don't see any challengers for Dublin this year and they are going to coast to 5 in a row unfortunately. Bookies would seem to agree, have them at 1/2 which really is incredible odds!"
its jealousy.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 17/06/2019 13:56:35    2196500

Kerry /Mayo the only two teams to pin the dubs back in september.
We can't look any further past these teams until someone else steps up and it's a big step-up to make.
Donegal get a mention too.

BeJasus (UK) - Posts: 383 - 17/06/2019 14:28:45    2196532

Donegal and Kerry would be my guess. Hopefully they are because if the best of the rest can't get within 5 it's not going to be very exciting looking forward to next year's.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 17/06/2019 14:34:12    2196534

Difficult to know. Donegal look like they might have it together. The Cavan game will give us another indication. But we heard this about Tyrone over the past couple of years and it didn't come to pass. Donegal may have come up with the magical tactics and personnel formula. Kerry can't be judged until they play outside of Munster so hard to know where they are. League form and players at their disposal would suggest that they are contenders. If Mayo can overcome their psychological hurdles and recover from that Rossie defeat then they have the experience and players to do damage. I would rate it Dublin, Kerry, Donegal, Mayo and then a potential surprise package coming from Tyrone, Monaghan or AN Other.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 17/06/2019 14:48:10    2196546

Tyrone need to improve rapidly but if they get through the back door and play in the Super 8's that will be six games they will get under their belt and like last year they may get better the more games they play.

Byanthon (Tyrone) - Posts: 1780 - 17/06/2019 15:48:49    2196595

Replying To riverboys:  "The only teams in with a shout for Sam is Dublin, Donegal and Kerry, the rest have a lesser chance like Tyrone and Mayo, week after week games could ruin their chances, Monaghan aren't firing on all cylinders yet, I firmly believe Galway haven't a chance under this management, too defensive, if the Corofin management were over the Galway team then they will win All Ireland's.
The drive for 5 is alive"
LMAO corofin management ...mayo would love to see the back of kevin walsh cause you guys cant beat him

brisbane (Galway) - Posts: 674 - 17/06/2019 16:08:06    2196613

Replying To Byanthon:  "Tyrone need to improve rapidly but if they get through the back door and play in the Super 8's that will be six games they will get under their belt and like last year they may get better the more games they play."
That's the thing though, trying to negotiate the back door, you'd have to be fair haunted now not to meet a Mayo Kildare Galway or Monaghan, it's going to be an interesting 3-4 weeks before the precession begins, this has now fast become the best part of the football season.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 17/06/2019 16:14:34    2196618

Meath are the challenge immediately for dubs. Highly disrespectful to look to anyone else.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 17/06/2019 16:44:38    2196639

Replying To royaldunne:  "Meath are the challenge immediately for dubs. Highly disrespectful to look to anyone else."
Would you ever cop on, how is it disrespectful to wonder who is the most likely to ultimately topple Dublin. I think Meath will stop Dublin. Will beat them in Leinster Final, the Dubs will recover to reach the All Ireland Final where Meath will beat them by 30 points. Feel better now?

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 17/06/2019 19:30:37    2196737

Before the season Id have 100% said Mayo. Now I think Mayo will do well to win in Newry, and do better to reach the Super 8's at all.
The best team I have seen on TV so far is Donegal, but they are still easily 5/6 points wide of Dublin on an average day in my opinion. I honestly cant comment on Kerry because I haven't seen them but I believe they're still too young and inexperienced to scuttle Dublin. Kerry may actually be vulnerable for that very reason when they meet tough opposition. Tyrone will likely re-group and be thereabouts but I think they're on a slight downward curve. Cavan could be a good outside bet for the Super 8's but I don't think they'll challenge Dublin. Roscommon are very spirited but wont challenge them either. Galway, Monaghan, Meath, Armagh, Cork (bizarrely) are likely outside bets to reach the 8's but all fall short. Theyre the pick of the rest of the country. Id have rated Galway higher only for their performance in the Connacht final.

All in all, it kills me to say but I don't see the team that'll challenge them. As a Meath man all I want to see in the Leinster Final is a Meath team full of passion and spirit who play whats in front of them the best they can, believe in themselves as players and don't bend the knee.

Young_gael (Meath) - Posts: 587 - 17/06/2019 20:05:00    2196747

Replying To the_walls:  "Would you ever cop on, how is it disrespectful to wonder who is the most likely to ultimately topple Dublin. I think Meath will stop Dublin. Will beat them in Leinster Final, the Dubs will recover to reach the All Ireland Final where Meath will beat them by 30 points. Feel better now?"
Have mayo got a song yet??

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 17/06/2019 20:10:16    2196749

Replying To the_walls:  "Would you ever cop on, how is it disrespectful to wonder who is the most likely to ultimately topple Dublin. I think Meath will stop Dublin. Will beat them in Leinster Final, the Dubs will recover to reach the All Ireland Final where Meath will beat them by 30 points. Feel better now?"
Well it won't be mayo anyway, that's for sure.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 17/06/2019 20:11:57    2196751

Replying To Young_gael:  "Before the season Id have 100% said Mayo. Now I think Mayo will do well to win in Newry, and do better to reach the Super 8's at all.
The best team I have seen on TV so far is Donegal, but they are still easily 5/6 points wide of Dublin on an average day in my opinion. I honestly cant comment on Kerry because I haven't seen them but I believe they're still too young and inexperienced to scuttle Dublin. Kerry may actually be vulnerable for that very reason when they meet tough opposition. Tyrone will likely re-group and be thereabouts but I think they're on a slight downward curve. Cavan could be a good outside bet for the Super 8's but I don't think they'll challenge Dublin. Roscommon are very spirited but wont challenge them either. Galway, Monaghan, Meath, Armagh, Cork (bizarrely) are likely outside bets to reach the 8's but all fall short. Theyre the pick of the rest of the country. Id have rated Galway higher only for their performance in the Connacht final.

All in all, it kills me to say but I don't see the team that'll challenge them. As a Meath man all I want to see in the Leinster Final is a Meath team full of passion and spirit who play whats in front of them the best they can, believe in themselves as players and don't bend the knee."
What is the betting right now.

gaanervous (Donegal) - Posts: 186 - 17/06/2019 20:16:06    2196753

Replying To royaldunne:  "Well it won't be mayo anyway, that's for sure."
It sure won't, not quite sure where I have claimed otherwise though. Now care to explain in a rational manner without strawman references to other counties how this thread is being disrespectful towards Meath?

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 17/06/2019 20:22:06    2196756

Replying To the_walls:  "It sure won't, not quite sure where I have claimed otherwise though. Now care to explain in a rational manner without strawman references to other counties how this thread is being disrespectful towards Meath?"
meath up and coming team now,

BeJasus (UK) - Posts: 383 - 17/06/2019 20:30:27    2196760

biggest challengers..
1. Themselves - its too easy for them and might get caught uo in the 5 in a row hype/pressure
2. Donegal - so far they look good
3. Tyrone - its in them but seem to be gone like Mayo and too focused on Dublin and how to beat them and get caught out.
4. Kerry - just cause its Kerry..but they are badly stuck for a midfield.
5. The rest..

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 601 - 17/06/2019 20:34:31    2196763