Dublin's Success Not Down To Money - GAA President

Replying To jimbodub:  "
Replying To oneoff:  "Ok then. Here's one of your essays.

Scratching their heads wondering where the next golden generation was on the way

Unfortunately for Meath they greatly over achieved with back to back great teams

Meath achieved 4 out of 7 All Ireland's across a short enough period of time under one man. Completely unsustainable given their previous 3 wins across many decades and it spoiled them rotten. They got use to it without really understanding where it had come from and doing very little when times were good to maintain it.

The man that achieved 4 of their 7 left, players got old and that was that.

They went through many managers in a short space of time chasing the good times, thinking it was a management issue. I don't blame them when one manager won 4 but he only did that off the back of two golden crops of players back to back

It was an extraordinary anomaly in Meath GAA and the stars aligned to put Boylan in place at that time with those great players

Such sets of factors are very rare and nothing like that had come before it in Meath

When this was proven to be wrong you were no where to be seen"
Keithlemon didn't write that... lol"
But you're the same person? The fact you were so fast to reply to is just backs it up...

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 27/07/2019 11:23:43    2217033

Talk about one eyed rubbish.
*It is a fact that Dublin are funded more proportionally than any other country in Ireland both from GAA and from government.
*It is a fact that funding spent wisely improved chances of success over long/medium term.
*It is a fact that Dublin spend their money very wisely and have done for some time.
*It is a fact that other countries have not spent money well and are only now getting their act together thus exacerbating the gap.

How much of the above is Dublin GAA....... NONE.

What should be done.
*Funding model needs to be changed and more equitable
*Funding needs to be 100% transparent
*All funding needs to be allocated based on professional business plans
*Smaller counties with very little resources should get special status and get helped with day to day expenses eg leitrim. They should also be given professional advise and assistance.
*Spending should be audited to ensure it is spent on the purpose it was given

I could go on. This is not richest science

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1826 - 27/07/2019 11:27:33    2217036

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Sure ye were telling us last week that ye'll Get at least 4 players from this years U20 team so no sign of yer dominance coming to an end any time soon jim."
I said nothing of the sort.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 27/07/2019 11:30:25    2217038

Replying To oneoff:  "
Replying To jimbodub:  "[quote=oneoff:  "Ok then. Here's one of your essays.

Scratching their heads wondering where the next golden generation was on the way

Unfortunately for Meath they greatly over achieved with back to back great teams

Meath achieved 4 out of 7 All Ireland's across a short enough period of time under one man. Completely unsustainable given their previous 3 wins across many decades and it spoiled them rotten. They got use to it without really understanding where it had come from and doing very little when times were good to maintain it.

They went through many managers in a short space of time chasing the good times, thinking it was a management issue. I don't blame them when one manager won 4 but he only did that off the back of two golden crops of players back to back

It was an extraordinary anomaly in Meath GAA and the stars aligned to put Boylan in place at that time with those great players

Such sets of factors are very rare and nothing like that had come before it in Meath

But you're the same person? The fact you were so fast to reply to is just backs it up..."]lol

Whatever you say chief ya daft brush

It's quite the compliment

I'm Whammo and Keithlemon

Do you hear that lads.. what do you reckon?

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 27/07/2019 12:44:19    2217059

Replying To Mayonman:  "Talk about one eyed rubbish.
*It is a fact that Dublin are funded more proportionally than any other country in Ireland both from GAA and from government.
*It is a fact that funding spent wisely improved chances of success over long/medium term.
*It is a fact that Dublin spend their money very wisely and have done for some time.
*It is a fact that other countries have not spent money well and are only now getting their act together thus exacerbating the gap.

What should be done.
*Smaller counties with very little resources should get special status and get helped with day to day expenses eg leitrim. They should also be given professional advise and assistance.

I could go on. This is not richest science"
"Richest science"? is that a Feudian slip there Mayoman or did your predictive text mistake "Rocket science".

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 27/07/2019 13:10:41    2217067

Replying To oneoff:  "[quote=jimbodub:  "[quote=oneoff:  "Ok then. Here's one of your essays.

But you're the same person? The fact you were so fast to reply to is just backs it up..."]lol

Do you hear that lads.. what do you reckon?"]I actually think you might even be me.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 27/07/2019 13:15:43    2217070

Replying To Mayonman:  "Talk about one eyed rubbish.

What should be done.

I could go on. This is not richest science"
I agree with a lot of what you say here and it makes a lot of sense.

The statement that Dublin are clearly funded more proportionally than everyone else, I honestly don't think is true.

Dublin's GDF is currently 1.23m, down from 1.48m a few years ago.

The total number spent on GDF by the GAA is 11m.

In the year 2010, roughly go games age currently, there was very close to 100k live birth in Ireland.

21.5k in Dublin
21.5k in the rest of Leinster
30k in Ulster
19k in Munster
8k in Connacht

This is where the monies going to.

Some say you can't use population figures to determine funding. Dublin only has 34k registered players.

I just don't know why the number of registered players should matter 2 beans on how money is allocated to the coaching of juveniles.

It's not the case that Dublin have a huge population that can't be brought to playing GAA and there's wasted money here.

In 2010 at the start of the blue wave 2010-2017 project there was a total population of 37k children in Dublin to partake in go games.

Over 7k played football, nearly 5k children participated in hurling go games. It's hard to know how much there was an overlap but it's very easy to believe that comfortably over 20% of the Dublin population of that age were participating in the Go Games project. Which is available all over the country.

Comfortably of 20% of the entire population, girls and boys. There's loads of kids with 0 interest in sport. There's a higher non Irish population in Dublin than the rest of the country and they are getting that rate out playing Gaelic games, it's only growing from then also.

The process is transparent also. It's all in the financial statements. If I can get all this information and it doesn't take me long because of this cool new website called Google. Also the GAA periodically discusses this issue with newspapers and defend themselves. Rightly so, there's nothing untoward going on here.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4210 - 27/07/2019 13:19:58    2217072

I don't want to have to say this again, I am not Whammo!!

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4210 - 27/07/2019 13:20:55    2217074

Replying To oneoff:  "[quote=jimbodub:  "[quote=oneoff:  "Ok then. Here's one of your essays.

Do you hear that lads.. what do you reckon?"]So then it's just a complete coincidence thst they write the sane pointless essays that mean nothing in the same format and style as you?

I know you like to pass yourself off as this intelligent poster, but at least try and hide it when you're rehashing your "points"

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 27/07/2019 13:30:18    2217078

Replying To avonali:  "
Replying To jimbodub:  "[quote=oneoff:  "[quote=jimbodub:  "[quote=oneoff:  "Ok then. Here's one of your essays.

Do you hear that lads.. what do you reckon?"]I actually think you might even be me."]NO this is getting surreal. I didn't post that,

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 27/07/2019 13:31:58    2217079

Replying To Whammo86:  "I just don't agree with that last part.

The GDF just isn't that inequitable.

Dublin also came up with the model and it's now being rolled out to Meath, Kildare, Wicklow, Louth and Belfast.

I just don't see how the current 1.23m of a total budget of 11m being spent on Dublin as all that out of step.

So outside of that Dublin money there's 3.5m spent development personnel, 1.5m spent on county projects.

There's then 2.3m being spent on hurling development.

18m overall spend on Dublin isn't actually that much also.

It's always referenced v say 1.2m as being distributed to the next county. That's not a fair comparison as I've tried to point out a number of times.

It's 18m of somewhere in the region of 120m total spend on development in the same time period.

It's 1/5 of the price of Páirc Ui Chaoimh. It's the going rate of about 4 centres of development. It's money efficiently spent and benefiting 10 of thousands of kids each year.

It's clearly getting more people playing Gaelic games in Dublin.

Imagine if say the FA implemented a games development initiative in London that was so successful and got the numbers playing soccer greatly increased. There would not be calls of it being a disgrace. There'd be no calls to defund it.

It's just because of the nature of the GAA's county system that the top teams are decided by geographic borders that this becomes an issue.

The GAA's remit is to promote the games. I think providing a proper coaching infrastructure in the clearly most populous area is part of that remit.

If you decide to do that, there's a cost associated with it and it just has to be paid.

If you ever budget a project in a business capacity there's ways to save around the edges at times, but to do a project there's a critical amount of money that is required to make it a success. It just has to be paid if the project is worth being done."
Surely you can't be happy with the funding Antrim gets in comparison to dublin?

achara (Monaghan) - Posts: 561 - 27/07/2019 13:35:48    2217081

Seriously though I am a real person and have been on the site a long time.

I'm originally from Antrim but have worked in Dublin for over 10 years and currently live in Dublin.

I have also been playing for a Meath club for over 10 years.

Up until I read the Irish Times article from 2017 I believed the likes of Ewan McKenna. There will definitely be posts of mine on here from pre 2017 where I'm critical of the money spent on Dublin.

I read the article and heard for the first time about how Provincial councils pay GDOs except in Dublin where they are paid by the county board.

That prompted me to look into things properly on my own.

I really do feel there's a lot of misinformation out there sensationalising the money spent on Dublin.

It also annoys me as an Antrim man to here say a Kerry person give out about unfairness now that they're not winning.

The money that has been invested by the GAA no doubt has helped Dublin GAA. No doubt.

I mean it has gotten more people playing GAA. Surely that is the key principle that is part of the GAA's mission statement to promote Gaelic Games.

The GAA still are doing great work all over the country promoting our games.

Anyone wanting to learn more, the most recent development report I can find from 2015, has information on what projects the association is doing all over the country to promote the games.

https://www.gaa.ie/api/pdfs/image/upload/tstblikbtwvqfubdiwpe.pdf

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4210 - 27/07/2019 13:46:40    2217085

Replying To achara:  "Surely you can't be happy with the funding Antrim gets in comparison to dublin?"
Belfast as part of the Gaelfast initiative will be getting 200k per annum for the next 5 years for games development.

There are about 3.5k-4K children born in Belfast each year compared with what is closing in on 25k a year in Dublin.

There's similar challenges in Belfast to get children playing Gaelic games as exist in Dublin, they may even be worse given that those in the Unionist community will less inclined to participate in Gaelic games.

So it doesn't really feel to me that Antrim's funding is particularly off relative to Dublin at all.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4210 - 27/07/2019 16:06:09    2217123

Do you hear that lads.. what do you reckon?"]So you're telling us that it's a total coincidence that these two posts are writen in the same format, style etc Very strange that...

I'm originally from Antrim but have worked in Dublin for over 10 years and currently live in Dublin.

Up until I read the Irish Times article from 2017 I believed the likes of Ewan McKenna. There will definitely be posts of mine on here from pre 2017 where I'm critical of the money spent on Dublin.

I read the article and heard for the first time about how Provincial councils pay GDOs except in Dublin where they are paid by the county board.

I really do feel there's a lot of misinformation out there sensationalising the money spent on Dublin.

It also annoys me as an Antrim man to here say a Kerry person give out about unfairness now that they're not winning.

The money that has been invested by the GAA no doubt has helped Dublin GAA. No doubt.

I mean it has gotten more people playing GAA. Surely that is the key principle that is part of the GAA's mission statement to promote Gaelic Games.

Anyone wanting to learn more, the most recent development report I can find from 2015, has information on what projects the association is doing all over the country to promote the games.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 2529 - 27/07/2019 13:46:40 2217085

You've spoken logically on this topic for months.

Fair dues.

It just doesn't sit comfortably for some posters.

It's a more deep rooted anguish. It's an urban v rural thing which cuts deeper than sport.

It's attaching a widely held feeling of rural discontent in a sporting context that in fact goes well beyond kicking a bit of leather around.

It was/is a very hard time for Ireland and many people are still seeing and living the damage caused.

The fact is Dublin GAA is here to stay. The level of success at senior level football will lessen in the not so distant future but we'll strive to get back to the top.

I'd expect less hysterics and panic when that happens. Remove a small handful of names from the current setup and all be be quickly realized and I genuinely believe you'll see that soon and it will pacify quite a bit of the amateur dramatics and misinformation surrounding this topic.

This will happen, only a matter of time until then let's see who's best at kicking a ball.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 19325 - 26/07/2019 20:27:34 22169

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 27/07/2019 16:14:42    2217125

Replying To jimbodub:  "Oneoff

Stop the nonsense I'm not Whammo. It's ridiculous to even suggest it and is that all you have.. you're the one hiding behind a new user name fella.. pricesless

You are very well named. You are certainly one that is well off the mark.

Listen the Meath post..

No manager had ever won 4 All Ireland's for Meath before Boylan.

Before him they had only won 3 across many decades.. 3.

He won 4 in a much much shorter space of time. Unheard of in their history.

It was an absolute anomaly and has absolutely proven to be. He left. It stopped. It's not coming back anytime soon.

They did brilliantly under one of the greatest managers of all time with two crops of Meath players that in my opinion were some of the greatest Meath players ever.

It proved to be completely unsustainable as of course any elevated anomaly would be.

Tell me again what's wrong about the above?

Now thankfully I'm not a journalist spewing misinformation in the national media out to those pliable and prejudiced enough to gobble up down right skewed and flawed numbers as fact.

So really comparing my post to that of a journalist is a ridiculous comparison but you're obviously just a complete gombeen."
But that was showen to not be the case. If you were so sure of it why didn't you replay to anyone after?

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 27/07/2019 16:15:56    2217126

Replying To jimbodub:  "[quote=oneoff:  "[quote=jimbodub:  "[quote=oneoff:  "Ok then. Here's one of your essays.

Do you hear that lads.. what do you reckon?"]So you're telling us that it's a total coincidence that these two posts are writen in the same format, style etc Very strange that...

Fair dues.

It's a more deep rooted anguish. It's an urban v rural thing which cuts deeper than sport.

It's attaching a widely held feeling of rural discontent in a sporting context that in fact goes well beyond kicking a bit of leather around.

It was/is a very hard time for Ireland and many people are still seeing and living the damage caused.

The fact is Dublin GAA is here to stay. The level of success at senior level football will lessen in the not so distant future but we'll strive to get back to the top.

I'd expect less hysterics and panic when that happens. Remove a small handful of names from the current setup and all be be quickly realized and I genuinely believe you'll see that soon and it will pacify quite a bit of the amateur dramatics and misinformation surrounding this topic.

This will happen, only a matter of time until then let's see who's best at kicking a ball.

"]Does this guy have other usernames? I'd be interested to know who this is.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4210 - 27/07/2019 18:16:13    2217162

Replying To Whammo86:  "
Replying To oneoff:  "[quote=jimbodub:  "[quote=oneoff:  "[quote=jimbodub:  "[quote=oneoff:  "Ok then. Here's one of your essays.

Fair dues.

"]Does this guy have other usernames? I'd be interested to know who this is."]You've already been caught out in another thread. How much longer are you going to try and keep it up?

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 27/07/2019 18:20:32    2217166

Replying To Whammo86:  "[quote=oneoff:  "[quote=jimbodub:  "[quote=oneoff:  "[quote=jimbodub:  "[quote=oneoff:  "Ok then. Here's one of your essays.

Fair dues.

"]Does this guy have other usernames? I'd be interested to know who this is."]You've already been caught out in another thread. How much longer are you going to try and keep it up?"]It's been said that when cut I bleed sky blue.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4210 - 27/07/2019 21:02:05    2217246

Replying To Whammo86:  "Belfast as part of the Gaelfast initiative will be getting 200k per annum for the next 5 years for games development.

There are about 3.5k-4K children born in Belfast each year compared with what is closing in on 25k a year in Dublin.

There's similar challenges in Belfast to get children playing Gaelic games as exist in Dublin, they may even be worse given that those in the Unionist community will less inclined to participate in Gaelic games.

So it doesn't really feel to me that Antrim's funding is particularly off relative to Dublin at all."
After a No-Deal Brexit you won't be getting a brass cent from GAA for sure it just won't be possible,

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4895 - 27/07/2019 21:32:24    2217277

Replying To PattyONeill:  "Dublins success is partially down to their genetics, people ignore this sort of thing, both physically and mentally, Dublin has the highest amount of high IQ people in Ireland due to Dublin being the location of most "High IQ jobs", having a high IQ is a big advantage in sport as it makes you handle decision making very well."
In my experience, most of the high IQ jobs in the capital are not held by Dubs tbh. Having worked with many of the high profile & high salaried sectors - IT, Pharma, etc, many of the senior roles are occupied by non Dubs.
I can only assume you were taking the Mick ??

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 27/07/2019 21:39:55    2217284