This Weekend's Football Qualifier Matches - Call Them

Mayo, Tyrone, Clare, Offaly

Looks like Offaly are stepping up to stop the 5 in a row after 36 years in the wilderness. No other county seems capable of it so the Offaly lads decided it was time to take football seriously again.

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1105 - 25/06/2019 06:05:16    2200408

Mayo
Tyrone
Clare
Offaly

farneygael (Monaghan) - Posts: 277 - 25/06/2019 20:46:33    2200883

Replying To tirawleybaron:  "Mayo, Tyrone, Clare, Offaly

Looks like Offaly are stepping up to stop the 5 in a row after 36 years in the wilderness. No other county seems capable of it so the Offaly lads decided it was time to take football seriously again."
They might give us a better game than you's

dublin5 (Dublin) - Posts: 30 - 25/06/2019 21:14:54    2200900

Mayo Tyrone Westmeath Offaly

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 25/06/2019 21:17:32    2200904

Mayo Kildare Westmeath and I want to say Offaly but it'll be tight.

Those results would put 5 from Leinster and just 2 from Ulster in the last 12.

skirge7 (UK) - Posts: 248 - 25/06/2019 22:19:19    2200961

Mayo
Kildare
Westmeath
Offaly

My heart says Armagh but my head says Mayo.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 25/06/2019 22:23:15    2200965

Mayo
Tyrone
Westmeath
Offaly (only because I want Galway to get them..handy)

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2193 - 25/06/2019 23:53:03    2201008

Big blow to mayo diarmuid o Connor breaking his wrist ,that's 4 midfielders out for the game on sat him Ruane SOS parsons but mayo should just still have enough to win a close match
Tyrone will beat Kildare
Clare best Westmeath
Laois to beat Offaly

Galwayjoe86 (Galway) - Posts: 258 - 26/06/2019 10:48:28    2201121

Mayo
Norway
Westmeath
Laois

A long shot but you never know.

timmyhogan (UK) - Posts: 290 - 26/06/2019 10:57:26    2201130

Really bad luck for Diarmuid and Mayo. Our injury list is growing. With a load of games coming up IF we were to keep winning it's a really tough ask. Making the super 8s would be an achievement at this stage.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11229 - 26/06/2019 11:17:15    2201151

Mayo
Kildare
Westmeath
Offaly

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 26/06/2019 11:32:22    2201159

Replying To timmyhogan:  "Mayo
Norway
Westmeath
Laois

A long shot but you never know."
Norway would be a tough side to face in the Super 8s, especially if you had them away

Douglas_44 (Roscommon) - Posts: 225 - 26/06/2019 11:38:11    2201163

Replying To yew_tree:  "Really bad luck for Diarmuid and Mayo. Our injury list is growing. With a load of games coming up IF we were to keep winning it's a really tough ask. Making the super 8s would be an achievement at this stage."
Terrible news for diarmuid. He'll be a miss in the super 8s alright if ye get the wrong group but I expect ye wont miss him until then.

tulachmhór (Offaly) - Posts: 145 - 26/06/2019 11:43:12    2201168

Tyrone should be good enough to win in Newbridge but if Kildare can bring the same level of performance as against mayo they won't be far away.
Westmeath will beat Clare at home
Laois and Offaly is anyone's guess but I feel Laois should shade it
The big game in Castlebar should be a cracker. Could go either way but I think Mayo will be fully tuned in and determined in front of their own fans. Still feel there is a long summer ahead for them so can't see them being beaten this weekend.

Douglas_44 (Roscommon) - Posts: 225 - 26/06/2019 11:45:34    2201169

Armagh , Tyrone , Laois, and Clare.

Itoldyouso (Roscommon) - Posts: 40 - 26/06/2019 11:47:34    2201170

tough break for Diarmuid O'Connor, damaged eye socket and now a broken wrist in a matter of weeks for a player that rarely got injured before. S O'Shea,D Vaughan,C O'Connor all trained with the rest of the panel i hear. One lost and 3 gained for this match? Armagh have 3 important players Murnin,Grimley and Morgan doubtful for this game they can't afford to miss anyone that they don't have Mayo's strength in depth.

As for this weekend.

Westmeath v Clare - Going to side with Clare here, very strong in midfield and good scoring forwards. They have held their own in Div 2 and reached the last 8 just 3 years ago.

Kildare v Tyrone - Tyrone to fall over the line without impressing probably similar to their win v Meath last year.

Laois v Offaly - someone else said Offaly are on a roll? they only beat Sligo who lost all 10 games they played this year and London. Laois is a big step up for them and are a side that will be playing Div 2 football next year.

Mayo v Armagh - Mayo poor at home is a bit overplayed, in the qualifiers they have never lost a game in MacHale Park and i don't see that changing this weekend. Big help for the home side is Armagh unlike other Ulster sides don't have a big focus on defence.

So round 4 should be IMO Laois,Mayo,Clare,Tyrone v Meath,Cavan,Galway,Cork

Depends on the draw on who goes through there but the best 4 out of that 8 is Tyrone,Mayo,Galway and Cavan.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 26/06/2019 12:41:20    2201209

Replying To Douglas_44:  "Norway would be a tough side to face in the Super 8s, especially if you had them away"
Still you'd have to agree Norway are due a win at this stage of the competition

tyroneed (Tyrone) - Posts: 753 - 26/06/2019 13:27:01    2201235

Replying To Douglas_44:  "Norway would be a tough side to face in the Super 8s, especially if you had them away"
Very pacey but away form not great so far. Home adv Sat might make a difference?

timmyhogan (UK) - Posts: 290 - 26/06/2019 13:44:04    2201249

Replying To tyroneed:  "Still you'd have to agree Norway are due a win at this stage of the competition"
I also heard that some of their dual players are opting for ice-hockey this year once they got knocked out of Ulster.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 26/06/2019 14:56:52    2201281

Armagh, Clare, Laois, Tyrone

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 916 - 26/06/2019 15:17:55    2201295