Think Cavan Have A Great Chance

I did not see this result coming, well done Cavan. Monaghan always have one clanger of a game every year. Cavan got some great scores and look a good outfit. They were a little too negative in the second half but that was understandable given they havent beat Monaghan in such a long time. I fancy Cavan to make the Ulster final now.

I still expect Monaghan to recover and make the Super 8s. They are stil a good side and surely cant play any worse.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1874 - 18/05/2019 20:49:17    2185309

Replying To Green_Gold:  "I did not see this result coming, well done Cavan. Monaghan always have one clanger of a game every year. Cavan got some great scores and look a good outfit. They were a little too negative in the second half but that was understandable given they havent beat Monaghan in such a long time. I fancy Cavan to make the Ulster final now.

I still expect Monaghan to recover and make the Super 8s. They are stil a good side and surely cant play any worse."
I think they will struggle, long route now, wont help older legs

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 18/05/2019 20:55:35    2185311

Massive win for Cavan hopefully we'll see them back in an Ulster final now. Good start to the football championship majority of games so far have been competitive hopefully it continues.

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 665 - 18/05/2019 20:56:58    2185315

Congratulations to Cavan better side won without a shadow of a doubt and to be fair they have waited a long time for the win so good luck to them. Fair play to our lads for at least making a game of it second half but a lot of them today and in the league have looked as they have played too much football. Long road back not sure they have it still in the tank for qualifers. The cycle of o rourke s Monaghan could be coming to an end.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1799 - 18/05/2019 21:01:18    2185316

The OP that started this thread called it spot on. Cavan have finally found the right manager and are going places under Graham.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3347 - 18/05/2019 21:09:42    2185318

Terrific result and performance by Cavan, really enjoyable game to watch, Breffni looked hopping, enjoy the night!

Not all or nothing for Monaghan, they will be disappointed but we'll able for the slog through the qualifiers.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 18/05/2019 21:30:31    2185323

Replying To Green_Gold:  "I did not see this result coming, well done Cavan. Monaghan always have one clanger of a game every year. Cavan got some great scores and look a good outfit. They were a little too negative in the second half but that was understandable given they havent beat Monaghan in such a long time. I fancy Cavan to make the Ulster final now.

I still expect Monaghan to recover and make the Super 8s. They are stil a good side and surely cant play any worse."
Thought they played it great in the second half myself especially in the last 20 mins, hold pocession, make Monaghan chase shadows, hold momentum, work your opening, take on your score.

Excellent comporure and game management, I didn't think it was negative, more strategic and intelligent.

Just my opinion mind.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 18/05/2019 21:35:13    2185325

Well done Cavan. Great result. No reason ye can't keep going now and get into an Ulster Final

Seeking_silver (Limerick) - Posts: 411 - 18/05/2019 21:44:09    2185327

This has completely opened up this side of the draw. Huge game between Armagh and Down now. The winner v Cavan. Whoever gets to the ulster final gets two shots at the super 8's.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 18/05/2019 22:17:45    2185336

Well done to Cavan.

Seen both against us this spring not surprised to see Cavan winning. If they didn't go into their shell somewhat 2nd half i think Cavan could have won that game by 8 or 9 points. Would be great for Cavan supporters if they go on to reach the final now as the colour,excitement they would bring will show that the provincial championship is still alive and kicking.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3757 - 18/05/2019 22:18:33    2185337

Great result for Cavan and well deserved. They played a lovely brand of football in the first half and had they the courage to do that for two halfs they would have won by more. Monaghan are a team in decline. The new additions are just not the same standard as the older players who themselves are looking leggy. For Monaghan to reach the super 8's they needed to at least pass this stage. I doubt they will make the super 8's now.

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 18/05/2019 22:19:01    2185338

Definitely bettet team on night won. No question! Monaghan looked out thought and out fought by a better hungrier side.

David (Meath) - Posts: 567 - 18/05/2019 22:33:06    2185345

Well done Cavan and congratulations. That win will mean as much to supporters as an ulster final win. Taking nothing away from Cavan win but referee very poor again. Really doesn't like Monaghan. In the cold light of day Monaghan's injuries will certainly leave us with a short season and Cavan don't have a 70 minutes performance in them.

FarneyLenny (Monaghan) - Posts: 110 - 18/05/2019 22:38:10    2185348

Absolutely thrilled with that win, we've endured plenty of misery at the hands of Monaghan in recent years, so I'm delighted to dish it back at them at long last.

We still have plenty to work on before the semi final, our mental state is questionable when we take a lead in games. We have a habit of making life difficult for ourselves by not ramming the result home when we get on top, and this needs to be worked on.

As for Monaghan, they're gone stale and need new management.

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 575 - 18/05/2019 22:42:59    2185350

Replying To seanie08:  "Congratulations to Cavan better side won without a shadow of a doubt and to be fair they have waited a long time for the win so good luck to them. Fair play to our lads for at least making a game of it second half but a lot of them today and in the league have looked as they have played too much football. Long road back not sure they have it still in the tank for qualifers. The cycle of o rourke s Monaghan could be coming to an end."
I think you have it all summed up here. The loss of Darren Hughes was much bigger than many people expected. He's the playmaker and always under rated. We will struggle to make the super 8s. They say that you cannot read much into the league but I am inclined to think that the end of league form usually always carries through to the beginning of the championship.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 18/05/2019 23:08:41    2185356

Replying To FarneyLenny:  "Well done Cavan and congratulations. That win will mean as much to supporters as an ulster final win. Taking nothing away from Cavan win but referee very poor again. Really doesn't like Monaghan. In the cold light of day Monaghan's injuries will certainly leave us with a short season and Cavan don't have a 70 minutes performance in them."
What an insincere post

The best team won!

Setantawatchl (Cavan) - Posts: 132 - 19/05/2019 01:24:52    2185384

Replying To Cavan_Shambles:  "Absolutely thrilled with that win, we've endured plenty of misery at the hands of Monaghan in recent years, so I'm delighted to dish it back at them at long last.

We still have plenty to work on before the semi final, our mental state is questionable when we take a lead in games. We have a habit of making life difficult for ourselves by not ramming the result home when we get on top, and this needs to be worked on.

As for Monaghan, they're gone stale and need new management."
A fair assessment !

Shelbourne1 (Monaghan) - Posts: 350 - 19/05/2019 01:37:12    2185387

Replying To border Gael:  "I think you have it all summed up here. The loss of Darren Hughes was much bigger than many people expected. He's the playmaker and always under rated. We will struggle to make the super 8s. They say that you cannot read much into the league but I am inclined to think that the end of league form usually always carries through to the beginning of the championship."
Injuries to Darren Hughes, Jack McCarron or Niall Kearns are no excuse whatsoever. Tactics completely wrong..........slow hand passing up the field and only 2 forwards up front while Cavan had 3 forwards & kept giving fast kick passes into them...........football the winner today ....Malachy should be ashamed with those tactics.....Mickey Graham basic tactics...well executed...... won the day. Congrats to Cavan !

Shelbourne1 (Monaghan) - Posts: 350 - 19/05/2019 01:47:02    2185388

Replying To FarneyLenny:  "Well done Cavan and congratulations. That win will mean as much to supporters as an ulster final win. Taking nothing away from Cavan win but referee very poor again. Really doesn't like Monaghan. In the cold light of day Monaghan's injuries will certainly leave us with a short season and Cavan don't have a 70 minutes performance in them."
Salty post this -think Cavan were comfortable winners against a team on the way out. Monaghan have had a good 10 years but it's more to do with having a decent group of players than any long term structures in my opinion. Whilst still in Division 1 I don't think this will be the last Cavan win over Monagahan in upcoming years - the two counties will likely go in opposite directions. Ulster football has a habit of counties falling from the top table very quickly - in the case of Monaghan their chance of getting to an All Ireland final may have passed after last year. Fair play to Cavan, maybe the underage teams are starting to peak at Senior level.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 19/05/2019 08:57:34    2185406

When Monaghan beat Dublin in the first round of the league their fans were probably starting to dream, but unfortunately its turned into a bit of a nightmare.
They'll give it one last big welly in the qualifiers I'm sure.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 19/05/2019 09:22:57    2185409