Antrim v Tyrone Tyrone
SF

Monaghan v Armagh Armagh
Donegal v Tyrone Tyrone
Final

Armagh v Tyrone Tyrone

Byanthon (Tyrone) - Posts: 1780 - 07/04/2019 11:48:01    2177956

It will be the best province by far as usual with a number of competitive games. In saying that I doubt Sam will be heading towards Ulster this year.

Tyrone got to the All Ireland final last year and ended the league well! However for me Donegal have the most potential of all the Ulster counties this year - if they have a full squad available which they didn't have in Ballybofey last summer I can see them beating Tyrone by a point or two and going on to win the Ulster Championship.

I still think Tyrone will play in the super 8's but will the draw open up for them like last season (Donegal's injuries and Monaghan in an AL semi)? Whilst I reckon Donegal win Ulster, after that you could make a case for Armagh, Down, Cavan or Monaghan playing them in the final - I'll tip Cavan to make a breakthrough and get to the Ulster final after two titantic games.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 07/04/2019 15:55:06    2177968

Replying To sam1884:  "It will be the best province by far as usual with a number of competitive games. In saying that I doubt Sam will be heading towards Ulster this year.

Tyrone got to the All Ireland final last year and ended the league well! However for me Donegal have the most potential of all the Ulster counties this year - if they have a full squad available which they didn't have in Ballybofey last summer I can see them beating Tyrone by a point or two and going on to win the Ulster Championship.

I still think Tyrone will play in the super 8's but will the draw open up for them like last season (Donegal's injuries and Monaghan in an AL semi)? Whilst I reckon Donegal win Ulster, after that you could make a case for Armagh, Down, Cavan or Monaghan playing them in the final - I'll tip Cavan to make a breakthrough and get to the Ulster final after two titantic games."
I agree that Ulster will be the most exciting provincial championship, as always. However I think that Donegal's success will be influenced a lot by the return or not of Odhrán Mac Niallais. I know there is depth beyond him, but from an outsider's perspective, he appears to be a big influence within the team, beyond his footballing prowess.

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 07/04/2019 20:14:23    2177986

Prelim: Tyrone v Derry Tyrone

QF: Cavan v Monaghan Monaghan
Down v Armagh Armagh
Fermanagh v Donegal Donegal
Antrim v Tyrone Tyrone

SF: Monaghan v Armagh Monaghan
Donegal v Tyrone Tyrone

Final: Tyrone to beat Monaghan

I think Donegal are best placed to stop Tyrone. Winner of that semi has it for me. Another year on the legs for Monaghan alas but I do feel Tyrone are better than many think and with a more positive gameplan, we can really do damage in super 8s. However, the draw is unlikely to open up as much as last year and we won't be lucky enough to face a team that we have the hex on like Monaghan again.

OGarmaile (Tyrone) - Posts: 248 - 08/04/2019 10:17:21    2178018

Replying To OGarmaile:  "Prelim: Tyrone v Derry Tyrone

QF: Cavan v Monaghan Monaghan
Down v Armagh Armagh
Fermanagh v Donegal Donegal
Antrim v Tyrone Tyrone

SF: Monaghan v Armagh Monaghan
Donegal v Tyrone Tyrone

Final: Tyrone to beat Monaghan

I think Donegal are best placed to stop Tyrone. Winner of that semi has it for me. Another year on the legs for Monaghan alas but I do feel Tyrone are better than many think and with a more positive gameplan, we can really do damage in super 8s. However, the draw is unlikely to open up as much as last year and we won't be lucky enough to face a team that we have the hex on like Monaghan again."
I think the Hex is gone to be honest. Monaghan have no fear of Tyrone any longer. The win in the ulster championship last year took care of that. I realise there was a loss in all ireland SF but that was less about the opposition and more about their own inexperience at that stage.

All of that said - I still would see Monaghan fall short in Ulster this year.

Gator (Monaghan) - Posts: 238 - 08/04/2019 11:15:16    2178022

Replying To Gator:  "I think the Hex is gone to be honest. Monaghan have no fear of Tyrone any longer. The win in the ulster championship last year took care of that. I realise there was a loss in all ireland SF but that was less about the opposition and more about their own inexperience at that stage.

All of that said - I still would see Monaghan fall short in Ulster this year."
I'd say the hex is still there given we have ended your run in the All Ireland series three times in Croke Park. Getting beat by Monaghan early doors last year was best thing that could have happened to us.

OGarmaile (Tyrone) - Posts: 248 - 08/04/2019 11:51:37    2178025

Replying To greysoil:  "I agree that Ulster will be the most exciting provincial championship, as always. However I think that Donegal's success will be influenced a lot by the return or not of Odhrán Mac Niallais. I know there is depth beyond him, but from an outsider's perspective, he appears to be a big influence within the team, beyond his footballing prowess."
We have a lot of exciting players and with McBrearty to come back in as well, that will be a big boost. However I think you're right, for the team to make a step up this year I think we need Ódhran - he went off injured in Ballybofey last year and I still feel that was a real key turning point. Tyrone obviously upped things in the last 20 minutes and we didn't handle it well, but Ódhran is a calming influence and recycles the ball well, we really missed him when the game was in the melting pot last year.

I think the young guns will give a good account of themselves but I do worry that defensively, we're way too open to strong runners which Tyrone have in abundance.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 09/04/2019 10:24:30    2178166

I would have had Monaghan as definite favourites to beat Cavan in the first round. Cavan are a mentally fragile outfit who lack scoring forwards, and this has been our achilles heal for years. We never win games we're expected to lose. Never.

Having said that, I see Darren Hughes is going to miss the game through injury. Monaghan's midfield is now gutted and we'll have McKiernan back to full fitness.

The game looks a lot more even now.

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 575 - 09/04/2019 10:41:50    2178171

Replying To Gator:  "I think the Hex is gone to be honest. Monaghan have no fear of Tyrone any longer. The win in the ulster championship last year took care of that. I realise there was a loss in all ireland SF but that was less about the opposition and more about their own inexperience at that stage.

I'd agree it's not a Tyrone thing, Monaghan for whatever reason could not push on over the last ten years and make a genuine attempt at the All Ireland series. Whilst Dublin have been so far ahead I still think Monaghan had the potential to at least play in a few All Ireland finals but seem to struggle when they see Croke Park.

Whilst Monaghan were a much better team than Tyrone you just knew they wouldn't beat them in an AL semi final. Tyrone seem to have pushed on slightly over the last 12 months whilst Monaghan are starting to look like a journey team at this stage; but I don't think we will see Tyrone or Monaghan in this years Ulster final.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 09/04/2019 11:39:38    2178186

The thing about Monaghan is that they're dogged, talented and can beat anybody in Ulster and further afield on their day. I don't think they have quite got the searing pace of Tyrone all around the pitch or the forward talent of Donegal. For this reason I think they won't get back to an All Ireland semi-final stage again this year, but they are past masters at proving doubters wrong.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 09/04/2019 11:52:02    2178190

I can see the Hughes injury really affecting Monaghan could see Armagh or Cavan beating them before monaghan would

credit_crunch (Armagh) - Posts: 57 - 09/04/2019 13:57:46    2178215

Replying To credit_crunch:  "I can see the Hughes injury really affecting Monaghan could see Armagh or Cavan beating them before monaghan would"
We do have a habit of beating ourselves alright!

Gator (Monaghan) - Posts: 238 - 09/04/2019 14:38:43    2178224

Monaghan will be a match for any team on their day. As pointed to Tyrone have more power and pace throughout their team and Donegal have real emerging forward talent but not sure either are as dogged as this Monaghan team. While I am not sure about Ulster I do think they will get to the super 8's and will have a very realistic chance of at least getting to another AI semi final. I think Donegal might struggle when they come up against a powerful team who stifle their attack but on the otherhand I think Monaghan will savour playing such a team.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 09/04/2019 17:24:59    2178255

Replying To Cavan_Shambles:  "I would have had Monaghan as definite favourites to beat Cavan in the first round. Cavan are a mentally fragile outfit who lack scoring forwards, and this has been our achilles heal for years. We never win games we're expected to lose. Never.

Having said that, I see Darren Hughes is going to miss the game through injury. Monaghan's midfield is now gutted and we'll have McKiernan back to full fitness.

The game looks a lot more even now."
"The game looks a lot more even now" .Fair assessment although having Kelly red rescinded is a big help especially with D Hughes and probably K Hughes & N Kearns out.

Shelbourne1 (Monaghan) - Posts: 351 - 09/04/2019 17:42:21    2178259

Odhran Mc Niallis is heading to the dollar country.

neutral (None) - Posts: 358 - 09/04/2019 18:32:23    2178265

The Hughes injury is a major blow for Monaghan, particularly as they are a bit light on quality midfielders at the moment. It is also very hard luck for a very committed player who always gives his all. I wish him a full and speedy recovery.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 09/04/2019 19:15:06    2178271

Replying To neverright:  "The Hughes injury is a major blow for Monaghan, particularly as they are a bit light on quality midfielders at the moment. It is also very hard luck for a very committed player who always gives his all. I wish him a full and speedy recovery."
Fair play neverright.

Yeah the man busted himself this year and carried a ragged monaghan team through the league at times. Awful disappointed for him. Like many before, he will also carry a personal cost given his heavy workload as a self employed man. Worth remembering for fat lads like me who see fit to roar abuse at games sometimes.
It certainly puts the Cavan game on a more even footing. I'm sure they will see it that way too, with McKiernan back fit. That said Neil McAdam has marked him out of previous games in Breffni, something long forgotten by most monaghan supporters.
If fintan Kelly and Kieran Hughes start in the middle I wud be happy enough. Niall Kearns also a huge loss. Time for MOR to bring a few midfield surprises to the panel, the 6ft 7 'baller from South monaghan being for starters.

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1064 - 09/04/2019 19:59:28    2178277

Replying To Eddie the Exile:  "Fair play neverright.

Yeah the man busted himself this year and carried a ragged monaghan team through the league at times. Awful disappointed for him. Like many before, he will also carry a personal cost given his heavy workload as a self employed man. Worth remembering for fat lads like me who see fit to roar abuse at games sometimes.
It certainly puts the Cavan game on a more even footing. I'm sure they will see it that way too, with McKiernan back fit. That said Neil McAdam has marked him out of previous games in Breffni, something long forgotten by most monaghan supporters.
If fintan Kelly and Kieran Hughes start in the middle I wud be happy enough. Niall Kearns also a huge loss. Time for MOR to bring a few midfield surprises to the panel, the 6ft 7 'baller from South monaghan being for starters."
the 6ft 7 'baller from South monaghan being for starters.".........O'Hanlon ?

Shelbourne1 (Monaghan) - Posts: 351 - 09/04/2019 22:48:17    2178302

Down V Armagh has the makings of a good game. The rest will be either walkovers or handpassing (and extensive pulling and dragging) snooze fests.
Tyrone will also win it out handily enough.

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1122 - 16/04/2019 04:28:08    2179060

Replying To tirawleybaron:  "Down V Armagh has the makings of a good game. The rest will be either walkovers or handpassing (and extensive pulling and dragging) snooze fests.
Tyrone will also win it out handily enough."
Are you trying to stir up the Ulster posters?

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 16/04/2019 12:19:10    2179097