2019 NFL Division 2 final

It will be interesting to see how Meath deal with Micheal Murphy, He is a top class footballer everyone knows it. I like watching him play he makes a mockery of the game with his skill sometimes.
But if I where to flip on its head Meath have pacey attackers like Cillian O'Sillivan and James Mc Entee. So Donegal are going to need all hands at the pump to deal with these guys. I wonder with the open paces of Croke Park and the fitness of the Meath at the moment will Murphy be fit enough for the closing stages of the game where in nearly all league games so far have come into there own.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 29/03/2019 17:23:17    2176261

Replying To Kurt_Angle:  "Interesting claim in relation to the back six being (perhaps) one of the best in the country. Its also a bold claim considering they'd only played two games in last year's championship and were playing division 2 football this league campaign (and the teams don't necessarily play their strongest 15 in such games). I'd be interested to hear (and not in a snotty, challenging way - a strong Meath would do Leinster football no harm at all) what you base this on?"
He always gets carried away, he'd want to wait until the championship before making such bold claims.

Looking forward to the match and would be good for football if Meath won, Leinster desperately needs a stronger Meath to challenge the Dubs; Hopefully this is the start of their comeback.

JDF (Galway) - Posts: 322 - 29/03/2019 17:24:14    2176262

Meath defence cud be badly exposed in Croke Park open spaces and v the Dubs later in the year , we reach leinster final. Meath cud have a bad championship. But overall I think the defence is a massive strong point for us in the coming years. Meath have a young team and young teams can be very up and down and I do worry we might have a bad defeat or two in the rest of the season. But I wudnt judge Meath this year , judge this Meath team at the end of next season. McEntees 4th year , see how we do in divsion 1 and in next years championship. I think next year we will make an impact and do better in div 1 then people think and reach super 8 and perform competively at that level. This year we r far from finished article.

We need a top class midfielder and top top class forward. Hopefully players will come thru from our minors and under 20s. But if Meath struggles in.Croke Park this year. I am still very confident in our defence in the long term. Its a young defence and the reason we where promoted was because of our defence. We have young hungry defenders on the wing. We dont have a top class midfielder or top class forward but we do have two top class defenders at the heart of the Meath defence. Conor McGill is a top class full back and Donalkeoghan is a top class centre back. Not many teams in the country can say that.

And even if we struggle this year our young defence has shown great potential . And will only improve in div 1 next year. But its a young defence so it is still learning and many players our learning their trade in the backs. And have never played in Croker before. Our defence has been brillant so far but Donegal will really test it on Saturday. We will get better idea of how good our defence is on Saturday. But even if our defence struggles it is an area that over next seasons I believe it will be a strong part of Meath team. We have been shakey at the back for years. I think over the next few seasons we will strong at the back. But there cud be 1 or 2 bad days for our defence this year. Only when they play div 1 football next year will that really bring our young defence on.

Judge Meath at the end of 2020 not tomorrow or end of 2019. Donegal are well ahead of Meath in terns of development and have better forwards. That sud be the difference. Meath have improved but Donegal sud win. Donegal forwards look really good and Murphy is a special player possibly Donegals greatest player ever. They cud open us up. But if Meath do well and go onto to win the match it will because of our defence. But Meath are far from the finished article. A young team on a n upward curve that will have a few bumps on the road before they get Meath back to where we sud be.

A win tomorrow and reaching Super 8 wud be very tough to do. I have my doubts. But its next year for me that Meath will really make the break through. But we have improved so much better this year then I could have believed. So who knows. Meath have improved quite considerably since even the Tyrone game. But a young team does go and up down. Thats the usual experience of a young team. But overall whatever happens this year I think in 2020 2021 2022 Meath will be stronger. Division 1 football is worth 5 or 6 years in div 2 .

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 29/03/2019 17:50:13    2176266

Replying To JDF:  "He always gets carried away, he'd want to wait until the championship before making such bold claims.

Looking forward to the match and would be good for football if Meath won, Leinster desperately needs a stronger Meath to challenge the Dubs; Hopefully this is the start of their comeback."
Meath defence is still evoling. And it will have its first game in Croker versus a top 6 team. Donegal cud expose weaknesses in our defence. Its an inexperienced defence and so is growing and learning as it develops. It is based on defenders fighting for the ball in front of tbeir men and getting players back at approximate times. It might not be fully developed and organised yet for team like Donegal in Croker, this is new tertiary. But the reason Meath were promoted was because of our defence. And we have a center of the defence which is good as any team in divsion 1. Even Dublin. Keoghan would get on Dublin half back line he is better defender then Small. And McGill.wud be full back on the Dublin team. Cooper is a great defender one of the best of his generation . But he is really corner back turned into full back. Conor McGill is an out and out bona fide proper traditional full back and as good as u find in the country. The center of Meath defence is top class.

And on the wings u have hungry tigerish young defenders. But it has no experience of Croke Park and is defence which is learning its trade. Its defence in its infancy. Remeber the best defence of this decade , Dublin were being hammered by Meath and kerry in 09 and 10. It took three or more seasons before Phily McMahon Cooper Sullivan Fitzminons Carroll to develop into best defence in the country. It takes time and up and downs for every defence. But the Meath defence has been brilliant all year long and is primarily the reason why we were promoted. And for me they r one of best defences in the country on what I have seen this spring. If they r badly exposed by Donegal and Dublin then they r not. But even if they have bad days v Dublin and Donegsl this year I would still be very hopeful with those experiences and experience of division 1 football in the next few years Meath will become one of best defences in the country. Simply because we have onr of the best full backs and one best defenders in the country at centre back. And the other reason is our defenders r young in their early 20s will get better. Thats How I see it.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 29/03/2019 18:28:45    2176273

Replying To CharlieM:  "Do you mean like the even wider open spaces in Ballybofey?"
Yes. Both pitches are bigger than most which suits the likes of Eoghan Ban and O'Baíoll. Both men will hopefully show off their running power on Saturday. I think a lot more people will be sitting up and taking notice of O'Baíoll this year. He has definitely gotten stronger and I think he'll make one of the wing back positions his own as the year progresses.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 29/03/2019 20:28:20    2176290

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Yes. Both pitches are bigger than most which suits the likes of Eoghan Ban and O'Baíoll. Both men will hopefully show off their running power on Saturday. I think a lot more people will be sitting up and taking notice of O'Baíoll this year. He has definitely gotten stronger and I think he'll make one of the wing back positions his own as the year progresses."
Ya O'Baoil is quality. There was one period of play from last weekend where he really impressed me. He got on the ball and went on a run into the Kildare half (happened in 2nd half). Anyways he got turned over after getting tackled from his blind side. Probably a mistake on his behalf but then he worked his ass off to get back and made a tackle around midfield to force a turnover. That is the kind of desire and work rate u want in a player. Physically he has seriously put the work in also over the last year. Looking forward to tomorrow. I think the team will be the same that started against Kildare including Brendan McCole. He has had a very good year so far and deserves his place for the work and effort he has put in.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 29/03/2019 23:31:05    2176319

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "It will be interesting to see how Meath deal with Micheal Murphy, He is a top class footballer everyone knows it. I like watching him play he makes a mockery of the game with his skill sometimes.
But if I where to flip on its head Meath have pacey attackers like Cillian O'Sillivan and James Mc Entee. So Donegal are going to need all hands at the pump to deal with these guys. I wonder with the open paces of Croke Park and the fitness of the Meath at the moment will Murphy be fit enough for the closing stages of the game where in nearly all league games so far have come into there own."
Don't worry about Murphy's fitness! No better man

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 30/03/2019 06:25:20    2176332

I think after today a lot of people will be sitting up and taking notice of Meath , players like lavin keoghan McGill and particularly James McEntee and Cillian O'Sullivan get to show what fantastic players they are on a national stage , I cannot wait.
Hon the royal.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 30/03/2019 06:53:42    2176333

Got to say while the primary goal is achieved, I am Excited for the players to show what they can do and what we in Meath know they are capable of, the one surprise this year has been the amount of opposing fans who said during or after game just how good the team or a individual player/players is , we have raised a few eyebrows along the way and turned a few heads. We won't win Leinster or all ire but by Jesus we are heading in the right direction, comments like from o"se yesterday that donegal beat us easily last time, show how out of touch pundits are (does he know his ass from his elbow?) or maybe he still has nightmares over the ole ole chants , I don't know. But after today win lose or draw he will know just what this Meath team can do, and so will everyone else. Best wishes to Andy and Brian and all the players.
Hon the royal

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 30/03/2019 07:49:48    2176337

Replying To royaldunne:  "I think after today a lot of people will be sitting up and taking notice of Meath , players like lavin keoghan McGill and particularly James McEntee and Cillian O'Sullivan get to show what fantastic players they are on a national stage , I cannot wait.
Hon the royal."
No, what they'll be saying is Meath are still a soft touch. When playing Meath and the game is tight, the opposing team is full of confidence, knowing full well Meath will wilt everytime. We could be 20 points up at half time, and the opposition would still fancy themselves doing a job on us in the second half

Yes, we're going in the right direction, but we've had many false dawns. The talent is there, but something is still missing in the psychology department, and has been ever since Mick O'Dowd scrapped our best players for kids. When you talk about "men against boys", we fall into the "boys" bracket. Same old story today really.

32_4_1 (Meath) - Posts: 4122 - 30/03/2019 18:48:48    2176426

Replying To 32_4_1:  "No, what they'll be saying is Meath are still a soft touch. When playing Meath and the game is tight, the opposing team is full of confidence, knowing full well Meath will wilt everytime. We could be 20 points up at half time, and the opposition would still fancy themselves doing a job on us in the second half

Yes, we're going in the right direction, but we've had many false dawns. The talent is there, but something is still missing in the psychology department, and has been ever since Mick O'Dowd scrapped our best players for kids. When you talk about "men against boys", we fall into the "boys" bracket. Same old story today really."
I think the game today was more complicated than that, but the principle isnt far wrong. At the 50 minute mark I knew in my heart Donegal would win by 3/4, even if Meath were ahead at that point and had been for the whole match until that point. Meath atm are a very lively, positive, but naive team. Donegal are far cuter, and they'd great depth which came to the fore as the game went on. Meath will learn a lot but I agree, the old Meath teams of the past would have had that game won after the first half. They were a different breed altogether, mentally and physically. Michael Murphy wouldnt have been able to lord it in the air. They wouldnt be as easily dispossessed. Altogether still a fantastic league for Meath, miles beyond anyone's expectations. Onwards and upwards.

Young_gael (Meath) - Posts: 589 - 30/03/2019 19:02:27    2176429

Meath started off really well. Newman looked very sharp.

But that was an inexplicable fall off in the second half. I was hoping for a strong Leinster team to challenge Dublin come championship. But to be brutally honest Offaly, Westmeath and Laois won't be terribly fearfull of Meath after the second half. And we're all well below the Dubs.

Michael Murphy bossed that game in the second half and even reffed it at times. I almost forgot who skillfull and powerfull he is.

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 30/03/2019 19:10:06    2176431

The direction of the two counties I felt would have had a bearing on the game in that Meath were desperate for silverware as Donegal would have been happy with promotion without having to play at full tilt. The early stages of the game showed Meath's hunger and determination to add silverware to promotion. Donegal looked very relaxed and at one stage it looked like an embarassing scoreline was on the cards. Whilst it ended in a two point defeat for Meath the fact is the scoreline was 1-16 to 0-9 from the time Donegal started to play. I would still say Donegal had a few gears to use but we probably seen Meath at their limit today. Both counties will be happy with the league, Donegal will give Division 1 a go but I fear Meath might struggle but that is for another season.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 30/03/2019 19:11:31    2176432

Ye were schooled rd after a unbelievable start ye were effectively beaten by a 1 man show.
Thank God ye got the fast start cause once they went ahead with 14 minutes to go it was cat watching ye chase shadows as they passed it back and forth to waste time.
Ye are in the same boat as us 8th to 12 th in the country but not up to it with the big boys .

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 30/03/2019 19:16:14    2176439

Replying To 32_4_1:  "No, what they'll be saying is Meath are still a soft touch. When playing Meath and the game is tight, the opposing team is full of confidence, knowing full well Meath will wilt everytime. We could be 20 points up at half time, and the opposition would still fancy themselves doing a job on us in the second half

Yes, we're going in the right direction, but we've had many false dawns. The talent is there, but something is still missing in the psychology department, and has been ever since Mick O'Dowd scrapped our best players for kids. When you talk about "men against boys", we fall into the "boys" bracket. Same old story today really."
Too harsh i think.

ROYALOPTIMIST (Meath) - Posts: 179 - 30/03/2019 19:17:29    2176441

Good game.....enjoyed it. Some good scores etc.
Leo McLoon is a dirty player.

Michael Murphy is unreal.

Someone should talk to Andy McEntee.....major angry issues and is really embarrassing himself with his antics on the sideline. Again today he was been held back by his back room team. He seems like the kind of person you see outside a nightclub trying to start a fight with 10 mates around him "holding him back" however if his mates weren't there he would s&@t himself.

Meath are on the way up. They will get relagated next year from div 1 but they are improving.

Donegal are many people's favourites for Ulster and rightly so

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 30/03/2019 19:39:54    2176449

Replying To OhtobeARossie:  "Ye were schooled rd after a unbelievable start ye were effectively beaten by a 1 man show.
Thank God ye got the fast start cause once they went ahead with 14 minutes to go it was cat watching ye chase shadows as they passed it back and forth to waste time.
Ye are in the same boat as us 8th to 12 th in the country but not up to it with the big boys ."
Very defeatist attitude, and Meath players and people will never accept it. When we win, we're great. When we lose, we're awful. Thats the Meath mentality. Its extremely passionate and hardline, and often ridiculous and that is why Meath will one day return to the standard of the 'big boys', because they want it. It could be this team or a future team but it'll happen because there is a genuine desire to be there and a tradition to live up to which many of these lads are very passionate about since they could walk. I dont mean to sound like braveheart here, but the team will never accept that kind of attitude. Its pure defeatism. My biggest dissapointment in Meath football post 2001 is the gradual lack of spirit and tenacity in its players, and there are still traces of it today which can be seen. We are going in the right direction.

Young_gael (Meath) - Posts: 589 - 30/03/2019 19:43:30    2176450

I dunno about the psychology but we're still short a few players, and we're very inexperienced when it comes to closing out a big game. We need to keep focusing on bringing underage players and get as much experience as possible playing at a higher intensity.

Also well done to Donegal.

HighKings (Meath) - Posts: 271 - 30/03/2019 19:50:34    2176452

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Good game.....enjoyed it. Some good scores etc.
Leo McLoon is a dirty player.

Michael Murphy is unreal.

Someone should talk to Andy McEntee.....major angry issues and is really embarrassing himself with his antics on the sideline. Again today he was been held back by his back room team. He seems like the kind of person you see outside a nightclub trying to start a fight with 10 mates around him "holding him back" however if his mates weren't there he would s&@t himself.

Meath are on the way up. They will get relagated next year from div 1 but they are improving.

Donegal are many people's favourites for Ulster and rightly so"
Come off it. Tyrone are the favorites and rightly so! Seriously strong end to division one campaign. Don't be playing silly games

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 30/03/2019 20:05:38    2176458

Replying To royaldunne:  "I think after today a lot of people will be sitting up and taking notice of Meath , players like lavin keoghan McGill and particularly James McEntee and Cillian O'Sullivan get to show what fantastic players they are on a national stage , I cannot wait.
Hon the royal."
Meath are progressing and deservedly got promoted and congratulations on that

That said, I don't think anyone at the top table will be overly stressed about Meath in the immediate future (upcoming championship). Despite their progress they are still miles off the top teams which playing in D1 next year will help bridge but relax, Meath are getting there but theyre still a long way off being BACK.

Anyone who will be competing in the serious business end of the championship will have looked at the game and thought about Donegal and how good they where and in particular Michael murphy who was awesome.

That period of play from when they got their goal, to the final whistle, was pretty much as perfect a spell you are likely to see.

Got the lead after a brilliant, superb bit of play and then showed all their experience and know how to get over the line. It was Dublin-esque. No panic, just pass the ball around and wait for the gaps to appear against a team who where goosed and gave everything.

At no point in that game even when Meath where 8 up was I convinced Donegal would lose. They didn't waver and I always felt that Meath would run out of steam and I think Donegal knew that and believed that theyd get their purple patch and take advantage and they took it in bucket loads.

Great game of ball.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 30/03/2019 20:13:06    2176461