Lets Play Aussie Rules

I agree 100% with Philly McMahon. The powers that be have diluted the game. What happened to the identity of our game? Why do we keep taking aspects of other sports and implementing into football and to a lesser degree Hurling. The Yellow and Red cards, now the Sin Bin ,the Mark even the way we shake hands before the match. I loved the way we use to go to our positions stand beside the man you were going to battle for the next hour and stand at attention for the National Anthem. Then turn and shake hands. I get the way the game is played now is not very entertaining at times, but if you watch this young Kerry team play they do remind you of what a great game it use to be, and still can be if played the way it is suppose to be.

gatha (Kilkenny) - Posts: 318 - 05/03/2019 12:53:45    2170379

Replying To gatha:  "I agree 100% with Philly McMahon. The powers that be have diluted the game. What happened to the identity of our game? Why do we keep taking aspects of other sports and implementing into football and to a lesser degree Hurling. The Yellow and Red cards, now the Sin Bin ,the Mark even the way we shake hands before the match. I loved the way we use to go to our positions stand beside the man you were going to battle for the next hour and stand at attention for the National Anthem. Then turn and shake hands. I get the way the game is played now is not very entertaining at times, but if you watch this young Kerry team play they do remind you of what a great game it use to be, and still can be if played the way it is suppose to be."
Agreed, the advanced mark completely changes how the game is played. The forward just has to catch the ball to get a free. We are no seeing how this could negatively impact out game because the teams featured in live TV games are training with championship in mind and aren't focused on maximizing this rule.

Any rule changes need to be simple. Brollys exclusion zone had some merit. Could it just be as simple as each team needs to have X players in the attacking half of the field, maybe inside the 65 - 3 or 4 players should do the trick. Tricky to police at lower levels? I suppose it is. Could it be controlled by linesmen / umpires.. Every soccer match requires a linesman to call offside.

tomhealycork (Cork) - Posts: 80 - 05/03/2019 13:22:23    2170382

Replying To gatha:  "I agree 100% with Philly McMahon. The powers that be have diluted the game. What happened to the identity of our game? Why do we keep taking aspects of other sports and implementing into football and to a lesser degree Hurling. The Yellow and Red cards, now the Sin Bin ,the Mark even the way we shake hands before the match. I loved the way we use to go to our positions stand beside the man you were going to battle for the next hour and stand at attention for the National Anthem. Then turn and shake hands. I get the way the game is played now is not very entertaining at times, but if you watch this young Kerry team play they do remind you of what a great game it use to be, and still can be if played the way it is suppose to be."
What are you on about

greatpoint (USA) - Posts: 427 - 05/03/2019 14:12:42    2170397

Have to agree, was only thinking recently of how much like that Aussie Rules rubbish our game is becoming.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8597 - 05/03/2019 14:19:00    2170398

I think the advanced mark has been successful so far. Added an extra dimension and rewards vision, accurate kick passing and good fielding of the ball- all good core skills which need to be promoted.

I think it will come into it's own more come championship time, I'm sure teams are figuring out a way to use it to their advantage and not showing their playbook yet. Some old games are horrible to watch when you see men getting surrounded after a lovely catch.

tulachmhór (Offaly) - Posts: 145 - 05/03/2019 15:07:55    2170410

The game needs a proper 'stop the man' tackle . I'd favour a pull down tackle like the compromise rules and/or a relaxation of the shoulder tackle rule. IE if it's slightly in the chest and not completely shoulder to shoulder ,its good. This slapping and pulling at the ball isn't manly. I say that coming from a rugby back round so I'm biased.

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 05/03/2019 16:14:11    2170425

Replying To tulachmhór:  "I think the advanced mark has been successful so far. Added an extra dimension and rewards vision, accurate kick passing and good fielding of the ball- all good core skills which need to be promoted.

I think it will come into it's own more come championship time, I'm sure teams are figuring out a way to use it to their advantage and not showing their playbook yet. Some old games are horrible to watch when you see men getting surrounded after a lovely catch."
The advanced mark rule isn't staying around for the championship

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5018 - 05/03/2019 16:57:02    2170434

Replying To tulachmhór:  "I think the advanced mark has been successful so far. Added an extra dimension and rewards vision, accurate kick passing and good fielding of the ball- all good core skills which need to be promoted.

I think it will come into it's own more come championship time, I'm sure teams are figuring out a way to use it to their advantage and not showing their playbook yet. Some old games are horrible to watch when you see men getting surrounded after a lovely catch."
The mark won't be included in this year's championship. The earliest it can be introduced is 2020. Dublin have already stated that they aren't training with the new rules in consideration as they will not be implemented in the summer. Its difficult to assess the merit of the rules if teams are not including them in their plans for the championship.

Kurt_Angle (Dublin) - Posts: 567 - 05/03/2019 16:57:23    2170435

Gatha
I agree with you for the most part, however I have seeen bucks pull stunts at the start of All Ireland Finals, which on occasion have resulted in hefty injuries to certain players. The referee feel they cannot put off these culprits as 'it would ruin the game'. The lads concerned know full well that if they pulled a similar stunt later in the game they would be sent for an early shower. However had the referee discretion in those circumstances to send a fellow to the bin for ten of fifteen minutes those boys would think again.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4342 - 05/03/2019 17:07:58    2170436

We have a beautiful game,if it's played the right way, Dublin are 4 in row champions cause they can play football, rules don't need to be changed, mindset has to be

cityman73 (Limerick) - Posts: 779 - 05/03/2019 17:42:26    2170442

It might look a success now when the top teams aren't zoning in on it. Their might be only a handful in a game. If It came in for championship top teams would build a game plan around it and the game could be come very stop start. Either that or blanket defenses would site even deeper. You'd have to stop Kerry / Dublin forwards getting a free shot at goal at all costs.

tomhealycork (Cork) - Posts: 80 - 05/03/2019 17:43:02    2170445

Replying To bloodyban:  "The game needs a proper 'stop the man' tackle . I'd favour a pull down tackle like the compromise rules and/or a relaxation of the shoulder tackle rule. IE if it's slightly in the chest and not completely shoulder to shoulder ,its good. This slapping and pulling at the ball isn't manly. I say that coming from a rugby back round so I'm biased."
Just no.

It's a completely different game then.

If we referee our own tackle properly the game would probably improve.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4241 - 05/03/2019 18:07:12    2170447

At least the mark is about promoting something positive, kicking and catching, it also promotes contesting the ball in the air which is something not seen as much in the modern game, a long accurate kick to a good fielder is now more likely to get a score that's another positive, I think in combo with the 3 handpass rule it felt like a very engineered game but as a stand alone rule it works well, if the forward has space when he catches he will take it on if not he can take his mark.

Barrowsider (Carlow) - Posts: 1596 - 05/03/2019 21:09:17    2170485

Replying To Whammo86:  "Just no.

If we referee our own tackle properly the game would probably improve."
Exactly. The biggest problem I have with rule changes is the total failure to acknowledge why the game has changed in the way it's being played.
Steps and tackling has changed massively. You could argue no rule changes have been implemented here over the last 20 years. Technically of course you'd be right. Practically though you'd be completely wrong. Relaxation of these rules has effectively equated to two massive rule changes in the fundamental skills of the game. That's a huge part of why teams no longer play like before and one on one duels' are less common. But pundits and officials are obsessed with blaming coaches and refuse to even acknowledge or discuss these two major changes.

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 05/03/2019 21:22:49    2170491

I understand the frustration with ever changing rules but I like the mark. Is there anything worse than seeing a forward claim a ball over his head only to be swarmed by three defenders and forced to foul the ball. The rule rewards kicking and catching and gives the advantage back to the forward if the team uses it correctly (probably why philly doesn't like it). I'd like to see it kept in the long term myself.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 05/03/2019 22:31:24    2170510

I remember playing up front and always took a sense of pride from the difficulty of it, playing with your back turned to your objective, knowing that catching a ball was only the first part

Getting out in front of my man and catching the ball was the easy bit for me. I'm a fraction off 6'2" and 14.5 stone

Having the skill to turn my marker and beat him after catching the ball was the hardest part and for me took the most skill.

Getting a free shot at goal for catching a ball is going to erase a lot of skill out of being a forward (I'd have scored a lot more) while also removing the physical guile and trickery out of the game.

We'll all end up with 6'6" former basketball players getting long ball lumped in at them standing on the edge of the square for tap over frees... how entertaining...

If you catch your ball you fecking well have to beat your man/men.. that's our sport!
That's a forwards job.. why are we removing skill and physicality from our game?

Jaysus I'm glad I played when I did...

I've seen Dublin benefit from it during this league campaign and it makes me wince a little.. it feels like a cop out and it's all a wee bit light!!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 05/03/2019 23:18:41    2170521

Replying To tomhealycork:  "Agreed, the advanced mark completely changes how the game is played. The forward just has to catch the ball to get a free. We are no seeing how this could negatively impact out game because the teams featured in live TV games are training with championship in mind and aren't focused on maximizing this rule.

Any rule changes need to be simple. Brollys exclusion zone had some merit. Could it just be as simple as each team needs to have X players in the attacking half of the field, maybe inside the 65 - 3 or 4 players should do the trick. Tricky to police at lower levels? I suppose it is. Could it be controlled by linesmen / umpires.. Every soccer match requires a linesman to call offside."
Don't like the mark leading to a free - ridiculous just make the free indirect

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4898 - 05/03/2019 23:34:30    2170525

Replying To Whammo86:  "Just no.

If we referee our own tackle properly the game would probably improve."
Can you define the tackle in football ?

brisbane (Galway) - Posts: 674 - 05/03/2019 23:50:11    2170528

Ever since we started back with the compromise rules in 98 coaches have been copying aspects of aussie rules. It was colm orourke who bragged about flooding the irish defence with numbers to force the aussies to kick and counter the running game. Its funny ORourke started the blanket defence off

brisbane (Galway) - Posts: 674 - 05/03/2019 23:57:43    2170530

Replying To bloodyban:  "The game needs a proper 'stop the man' tackle . I'd favour a pull down tackle like the compromise rules and/or a relaxation of the shoulder tackle rule. IE if it's slightly in the chest and not completely shoulder to shoulder ,its good. This slapping and pulling at the ball isn't manly. I say that coming from a rugby back round so I'm biased."
The main thing this would achieve is clarity. Everyone has a different opinion what is or isnt a free in football

brisbane (Galway) - Posts: 674 - 06/03/2019 00:01:56    2170531