Kerry V Monaghan

A must win for Monaghan and its very hard to see it happening.

Hard not to be disappointed in the campaign this year and also hard not see Monaghan getting relegated to division 2, especially so with the start against Dublin. Monaghan have looked off the pace in each game and deserved to lose in each performance. It will take huge effort against a very strong Kerry side and unfortunately I think it will be too much.

Kerry +4

Gator (Monaghan) - Posts: 238 - 27/02/2019 15:20:26    2168708

I find it hard to see past Monaghan here despite the undoubted quality of their opposition and the fact that its away from home. They'll win because they have to. They've too much quality to be getting dragged into a dogfight at the bottom for me.

Last week out they didn't perform against a very poor Tyrone ourfit and will be out to make amends.

Monaghan by 2.

tulachmhór (Offaly) - Posts: 145 - 27/02/2019 15:30:59    2168712

Kerry by 6+

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 27/02/2019 16:26:17    2168730

Monaghan in a wee bit of trouble now. Mayo and Kerry still to play as well as Derby game away to Cavan.

It's going to be a tough ask for them to stay up which is not what anyone would have thought after their opening day win over Dublin.

Can't see past Kerry in this one but Monaghan have been known to sneak results out when people start to write them off.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 27/02/2019 17:02:47    2168739

Replying To tulachmhór:  "I find it hard to see past Monaghan here despite the undoubted quality of their opposition and the fact that its away from home. They'll win because they have to. They've too much quality to be getting dragged into a dogfight at the bottom for me.

Last week out they didn't perform against a very poor Tyrone ourfit and will be out to make amends.

Monaghan by 2."
Lol.

Gator (Monaghan) - Posts: 238 - 27/02/2019 17:57:54    2168755

It'll be a long ride home to Monaghan after this one I'd say.
They'll put up a scrap alright but can't see them having enough for one of the favorites for league and championship this year.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 27/02/2019 18:38:57    2168759

Hoping Kerry can keep it going here but Monaghan absolutely need the points and are a good seasoned team so nothing will be taken for granted. I've a sneaky feeling this could be a draw.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 27/02/2019 19:09:26    2168766

Replying To Gator:  "Lol."
?

tulachmhór (Offaly) - Posts: 145 - 27/02/2019 19:31:46    2168774

If Monaghan can produce one of their 'performances' it'll be tight and they're wiley (excuse the pun) enough to see it out but they'll need to be at their best because Kerry are very good and gaining in confidence all the time.
Kerry by 3

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 28/02/2019 00:40:32    2168817

Replying To superbluedub:  "Kerry by 6+"
By jaysus that's some vote of confident in our young lads by the Dubs.

If memory serves, Monaghan have beaten us in their last two travels to the Kingdom and turned us over in the rescheduled game last year.
So they've no fear of coming to our backyard.
They're too good a team to get relegated and are fighting for their life now with three rounds left.
Maybe their confidence is a little shot and if we can get at them early and with a big crowd behind us we might scupper them. We have huge momentum at the minute and it would be great to keep it rolling.
But I'd be expecting the Farney boys to bring fire in their bellies and I reckon they could pip us in this one.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 28/02/2019 09:52:46    2168827

We're Still missing a lot of first teamers and are experimenting with different styles and formations and Monaghan look to have a more settled team and are hungry for the points .

So with home advantage and the Weather is looking bad so il go for a draw.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 28/02/2019 10:11:29    2168831

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "We're Still missing a lot of first teamers and are experimenting with different styles and formations and Monaghan look to have a more settled team and are hungry for the points .

So with home advantage and the Weather is looking bad so il go for a draw."
Is the weather meant to be bad Kingdomboy, just as well I'll be heading in early to catch the hurlers, hopefully plenty of seats in the stand at 1pm!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 28/02/2019 10:38:28    2168838

Kerry on a roll and Monaghan on a slump so Kerry should take home the 2 points despite the yerra yerra brigade saying otherwise. Not saying they will but they should

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 28/02/2019 10:41:56    2168840

Replying To Dubsfan28:  "Kerry on a roll and Monaghan on a slump so Kerry should take home the 2 points despite the yerra yerra brigade saying otherwise. Not saying they will but they should"
'Despite the yerra yerra brigade saying otherwise. Not saying they'll win but they should'
???
So your not sure we will win, is that not what Kerry posters have also said?
I'm confused :D

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 28/02/2019 10:58:34    2168844

Replying To Dubsfan28:  "Kerry on a roll and Monaghan on a slump so Kerry should take home the 2 points despite the yerra yerra brigade saying otherwise. Not saying they will but they should"
"Kerry should win but I wont be wrong if they lose". Yerra yerra indeed.

tulachmhór (Offaly) - Posts: 145 - 28/02/2019 11:17:28    2168849

Replying To TheHermit:  "Is the weather meant to be bad Kingdomboy, just as well I'll be heading in early to catch the hurlers, hopefully plenty of seats in the stand at 1pm!"
Ya wind and rain I believe bud.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 28/02/2019 12:38:50    2168866

Replying To TheHermit:  "By jaysus that's some vote of confident in our young lads by the Dubs.

If memory serves, Monaghan have beaten us in their last two travels to the Kingdom and turned us over in the rescheduled game last year.
So they've no fear of coming to our backyard.
They're too good a team to get relegated and are fighting for their life now with three rounds left.
Maybe their confidence is a little shot and if we can get at them early and with a big crowd behind us we might scupper them. We have huge momentum at the minute and it would be great to keep it rolling.
But I'd be expecting the Farney boys to bring fire in their bellies and I reckon they could pip us in this one."
Highly unlikely that Monaghan can turn it around here. Beating Cavan and perhaps Mayo if they are already in final our best chance. Confidence low. Struggling to find even a reserve midfielder. McManus being forced to play every minute. Management reverting into old conservative shell. Would be stunned if they got anything. But we do enjoy our biannual trip to Killarney. Most likely switching to Ennis in 2020 .... and we were thinking league final after the Dublin game!! :(

Mon79 (Monaghan) - Posts: 81 - 28/02/2019 13:01:23    2168871

The only thing Monaghan are consistently good at is the unknown. They leave it tough for us travelling sometimes, but deep down I love it. Kerry talking about a depleted squad have no idea. We're missing 4 vital players (the backbone of the team) and anyone would be struggling in our position...

There's a bit of flair in the younger lads if they get the freedom to express themselves we could, at the very least, bring some confidence home... and I'd like to see mcmanus only used as an impact sub to lift us for the last 25

I hope it's an open game, If Kerry shut up shop (which i doubt they will) then we'll definitely loose. But nobody's a winner in that scenario...

MalsBalls (Monaghan) - Posts: 182 - 28/02/2019 13:13:22    2168875

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Ya wind and rain I believe bud."
Ah Kerry in the springtime :D

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 28/02/2019 13:19:00    2168877

Replying To Mon79:  "Highly unlikely that Monaghan can turn it around here. Beating Cavan and perhaps Mayo if they are already in final our best chance. Confidence low. Struggling to find even a reserve midfielder. McManus being forced to play every minute. Management reverting into old conservative shell. Would be stunned if they got anything. But we do enjoy our biannual trip to Killarney. Most likely switching to Ennis in 2020 .... and we were thinking league final after the Dublin game!! :("
Aye Division 2 is a quagmire if you get drawn down to it, just ask Donegal.
Massive game so against Cavan if ye get nothing this weekend.
Mayo didn't look anything special though, although is that a home game for them in the final round?
Still think Monaghan are too good to go down, but then again Donegal dropped last year and was confident they'd have a good League after the first day out when they should have beaten Kerry.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 28/02/2019 14:12:59    2168892