Meath V Kildare

Very disappointing second half performance by Kildare.
Meath's workrate and tackling in particular was far higher than Kildares. These traits were the hallmarks of the u20 all Ireland team so none of the younger lads need Cian O'Neill to enforce it with them. However it has to be asked is Cian getting the best out of the players in terms of their strengths. Jimmy Hyland was player of the u20 championship and highest scorer by a distance. Yesterday he scored one point from a mark. Over all the games the supply and quality of ball to Hyland has been very poor.
We have the best forwards we had in years and we've created no more than 3 or 4 goal chances throughout the league. Have had two games where we managed only one point from play in second half in one and only one point from a free in yesterdays game.
Ben McCormack was a huge blow yesterday. For me he was man of the match against Clare and was our best player yesterday until injured.
Paul Cribbin will make a difference for next 2 games but we could do with Kevin Flynn and Slattery back rapidly as these guys at least run at defences not run around them and back again!

Well done to Meath, deserved winners, think promotion is fairly certain with performances to date.

St.Conleth (Kildare) - Posts: 1700 - 04/03/2019 19:02:30    2170218

Replying To Jack_Goff:  "The rivalry lost it's edge when we realised it didn't matter who won in championship because Dublin would hammer the winner either way."
Amalgamation? :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 04/03/2019 20:49:02    2170244

Replying To Kildare30:  "Well Cian always has an excuse and it's never himself!! We have been ahead most of our games this year and disappear into our shell for long periods allowing teams to come right back at us. We can't seem to put two halves together. Now questions have to be asked of management? What's with the fade outs? I believe the raw material is there or there about's but its getting tiring looking at the same situation arising in games. We need to know how to capitalize on a lead. Pulling back a 5 or 6 point lead should have been out of Meath's reach and had we tagged on a score or two for everyone the hit us with we could have well hung on and won. Fair play to Meath who wanted it more."
Whilst Kildare had a 5 minute spell and scored 1-3 without reply and had control of midfield, there was not a whole lot of concern from a Meath perspective. I think I read that we created 14 chances in the first half (against the wind)

Meath controlled and utterly dominanted the second half. Would I say Kildare collapsed? No. The Meath defence were too strong and were able to dispossess and attack every time. Again, Meath made hard work by not converting their chances.

Meath had 2 goal chances prior to the penalty and our half back line and full back line were the ones on the end of the play. The worry from a Kildare perspective would be how your forwards didn't track the Meath defence who have raided forward in every game this campaign (poor homework by O Neill)

It's also well known that the Meath midfield is made up of 2 non-midfielders. How did Meath win so much easy ball in second half?

Think it comes down to fitness. Kildare are not as bad as they showed yesterday. But I would say Meath were easily + 8-10 points better.

Of course the manner of the loss is disappointing but I don't think any Kildare fans leaving P.T yesterday could say they that deserved the win.

Royalio11 (Meath) - Posts: 757 - 04/03/2019 23:51:16    2170295

Replying To realdub:  "Amalgamation? :D"
Still wouldn't beat you. Maybe if the rest of Leinster amalgamate we'll have a chance of winning. Call it the railway Cup.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 05/03/2019 01:06:12    2170300

I don't know what the problem is with Kildare, our second half performances are truly dire and our discipline is so poor. We struggle to finish any game with the full complement and that catches up with you eventually. Div 2 teams are no mugs and Meath certainly aren't. They came out in the second half and went for Kildare's jugular, just as Clare did last week, but Meath sustained it and justifiably got the reward although conceding a penalty so late doesn't say much for our tactical nous. We lost our best performing forward, centre back and keeper but given our half time lead, you have to have enough about you to manage the game. Well done to Meath, looks very much like you are heading for Div 1 and deservedly so. The table doesn't lie and you are almost there. Cian has questions to answer after this and Fermanagh. One point in second half in each game rightly gets you nothing. Newbridgeornowhere got the bandwagon rolling last year but if you need something like that every year to motivate you then someone isn't doing their job. Big improvement needed.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 05/03/2019 01:22:12    2170303

Well done to Meath. Their second half performance and tactics were excellent.
Naturally very disappointed but not surprised as my fears expressed here last week were realised.
Cian O'Neill is not getting the best out of the players. Personally I never wanted him as a manager and he should go at the end of the season.
Without NewbridgeorNowhere he wouldn't be manager today. He only got the job because of a row in a certain club that's yet to be resolved.

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 2990 - 05/03/2019 23:02:15    2170518

Nearly 6k in navan on the worst day of the year.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 06/03/2019 08:55:08    2170547

Delighted with the win on Sunday especially when it had all the hallmarks of the great teams of the 80s and 90s never say die attitude, fair play to the kildare supporters on here and in navan for being so gracious in defeat, it's never easy to lose this fixture as a great rivalry has been built up since the three game epic in 1997, I agree with some of the kildare posters on Cian o neill he's job was saved with the beating of mayo in Newbridge, he's not getting the best out of the panel of players he has and kildare on paper should be a top four team in my opinion, anyway kildare can still get promoted if results go there way but it is unlikely. Anyway back to meath and as Kevin mcstay said the car is now parked in the right direction, we have a huge game against Clare next who badly need the two points aswell so nothing is guaranteed for meath yet, hon the royals

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 665 - 06/03/2019 09:44:31    2170557