Mayo V Galway

Replying To brisbane:  "Galway B to win by 2points"
More all-stars missing for Mayo than Galway, Brisbane. I don't think you could predict better than 8 or 9 players for either county's A-team come the summer.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 02/03/2019 17:54:18    2169460

Fair play to Galway. Deserved winners going by the radio commentary. Sounded like a decent game despite the conditions.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7373 - 02/03/2019 20:59:32    2169499

Good win Galway. Mayo will not be happy tonight, possibly opening the door for Dublin too.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8597 - 02/03/2019 20:59:32    2169500

Great result for Galway tonight! Hopefully beat Roscommon next and then go to Omagh needing a win to possibly get to the League final!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2230 - 02/03/2019 21:03:11    2169503

Jays that's not great for Mayo moral.
I thought they'd have enough iat home.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 02/03/2019 21:03:50    2169504

Well done Galway? I wonder is Aidan O'Shea playing the wrong sport? He looks every inch more a rugby union player to me and probably more to suited to that game. Kicked a lovely ball into touch in the first half but shame it's the wrong game.

Kingdomson (Kerry) - Posts: 244 - 02/03/2019 21:08:39    2169507

Replying To katser:  "Great result for Galway tonight! Hopefully beat Roscommon next and then go to Omagh needing a win to possibly get to the League final!"
I'd say a Dublin-Kerry league final is odds-on now. Can't see Dublin losing any of their remaining games. They have us on head-to-head and scoring difference. Kerry would need to lose at least 2 for us to have a chance. A decent campaign though so far, given the numbers missing.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2053 - 02/03/2019 21:10:58    2169510

Mayo are an infuriating team to follow. Had galway on the rack and started taking pot shots.
Psychologically is a good win for Galway. It will undoubtedly be tight when they meet in the summer
but Galways forwards will probably be that bit cuter and composed.
At least Mayo kept 15 on the pitch this time .. both teams so far behind Dublin its depressing ..

Ah_Here (Mayo) - Posts: 42 - 02/03/2019 21:29:22    2169517

7 wins in a row for Galway now against their near and dearest neighbouts, who would have guessed that after the heavy defeats in 2013 and 2014 against Mayo? The stand out feature in each win is the scores Galway have conceded against Mayo 0-12,1-9,0-12,0-11,1-9,1-11,0-12 That's consistency at its finest!

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3357 - 02/03/2019 21:44:43    2169526

Replying To Ah_Here:  "Mayo are an infuriating team to follow. Had galway on the rack and started taking pot shots.
Psychologically is a good win for Galway. It will undoubtedly be tight when they meet in the summer
but Galways forwards will probably be that bit cuter and composed.
At least Mayo kept 15 on the pitch this time .. both teams so far behind Dublin its depressing .."
No gaurantees we will play ye in summer, the Rossies could beat ye, the way ye are playing at the moment.

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 02/03/2019 22:12:08    2169536

Replying To realdub:  "Good win Galway. Mayo will not be happy tonight, possibly opening the door for Dublin too."
Jays realdub you're itching to get another stab at the young Kerry bucks :-0

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 02/03/2019 22:16:16    2169538

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Jays realdub you're itching to get another stab at the young Kerry bucks :-0"
Ha ha, not quite my friend, it opens the door to a league final, as in it was out of our hands and now its not, sure ye could lose your next 3 and so could we :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8597 - 02/03/2019 22:24:44    2169542

That was enjoyable stuff, though going for a quarter of the game without scoring didn't do my ticker any good!

Well done lads, a good win, and we're maintaining some nice form, though no doubt the pundits will find something to give out about!

Hard luck Mayo. I'm not worried for a moment about ye being relegated, ye're a solid Division 1 team and on another day, that game could have gone ye're way. Speaking of which; what a goal! That footpass was a thing of beauty and what football is all about.

Gaillimh Abú!

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 03/03/2019 00:07:05    2169578

I am never one for getting too carried away with victory or defeat especially this time of year but (and it pains me to say this) we are in decline.

There is no shame in it, time waits for no man and This particular Mayo team have given us supporters great days but it hurts that we didn't win an All Ireland.

We will improve in the summer but enough to win an all Ireland? No is my honest assessment. We will be doing well to win a Connacht title. No McCormack, Plunkett, Donoghue, Diskin, Reape introduced very late. Matthew Ruane done well but more youth needs to be introduced for the remaining league games.

Galway have a very good squad now, younger team on an upward cure and very talented forwards. I still think Walsh is too defensive with the talent they have and can't see them winning Sam playing that way...the next manager after him may well do though.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11241 - 03/03/2019 09:35:51    2169611

The game was there for Mayo with 10 minutes left. Just a point down and playing with gale. Fair dues to Galway for wrestling back the initiative when they were being totally bossed at midfield and under siege for the previous 20 minutes. The goal in the first half proved the difference... a classic case of a team failing to track back thinking that numerical advantage would find enough players everywhere on the pitch and a fair number of Mayo players picking up no one. At least 4 Mayo players were caught up the pitch when Galway moved the ball. Was it 1-1 or 1-2 Galway scored when it was 15 v 13? The conversion rates of the forwards have also fallen off a cliff since the Tyrone game. Probably safe enough to avoid late relegation worries, but with a trip to Tralee to come and Mayo likely to get stuffed (maybe by 10+ points) it won't be as comfortable as it ought to have been. Not sure if any of this was in the plans (ie. down to training schedule), but it's pretty disappointing for supporters. Galway are bound to feel good about the result... took their scores with more ease in the first half than Mayo did in the second, so deserving winners.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 03/03/2019 10:07:52    2169622

While all the the talk about kerrys young team
and on the back of all those minor all Irelands they won
here in galway we have a lot of brilliant young players coming through
they are under the radar a bit as we didn't win minor all Irelands
but the u21 team all Ireland runner up v Dublin in 2017 is providing lots of players
that team took out Kerry < who had lot of minor winners >in the semi tthat year
interesting to note that Dublin team included comerford, o murchan,howard,gavin,o Callaghan now senior stars
on that galway team were sean andy Kelly,sean Kelly,peter cooke,michael daly,cillian mc daid, kieran molloy, cein darcy eoin finnerty ron finnerty
that's a great no of players to come of one team and among the most talented eve had in years
great credit is due to their coaches and clubs for all their good work over the years
very excited to see how our u20 team go under Padraig joyce
a talented group won have won Connacht minor titles and all Ireland runners up last year

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 03/03/2019 11:34:16    2169649

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Jays realdub you're itching to get another stab at the young Kerry bucks :-0"
You better believe it

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 03/03/2019 12:12:39    2169661

Too much to do in the 2nd half and ran out of steam.
Galway extremely well drilled in their defensive set-up and Mayo naivety giving away silly frees at the back
cost them dear.
Boyle lost it in the final quarter.

Vishred (Mayo) - Posts: 303 - 03/03/2019 12:19:20    2169663

Replying To Kingdomson:  "Well done Galway? I wonder is Aidan O'Shea playing the wrong sport? He looks every inch more a rugby union player to me and probably more to suited to that game. Kicked a lovely ball into touch in the first half but shame it's the wrong game."
What a childish petty comment. Grow up.

DLlegends (Donegal) - Posts: 503 - 03/03/2019 12:34:26    2169668

Glad to see both teams survive division 1 and this is great for Connacht. It was very comforting to score the goal with 13 men on the counter. Also, Flynn showed that defense works when he stopped the Boyle goal. The fringe Mayo players like Coen lacked composure on the night but they are coming. Mayo are gallant opponents and almost pulled off a great recovery, Galway will be under no illusions. Mayo will have a tough Connacht semi this year against the Rossies and if they get through it they will be tough. Otherwise, see ye in the glamorous FBD in Jan. and go easy on the pasta and meatballs in the Big Apple. Respect for Mayo but Gaillimh Abu

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1675 - 03/03/2019 12:41:35    2169671