Dublin V Mayo

Replying To yew_tree:  "The Mayo v Dublin rivialry has turned nasty and the clowns on social media down help....I've seen goading and verbals at games but nothing too serious and in the bars before and after there is zero hostility or tension....it's all left during those 70 odd minutes which is as it should be."
That's just Internet warriors .
Don't think I've ever seen anything hostility between fans before and after those big games.

Vishred (Mayo) - Posts: 303 - 23/02/2019 12:06:49    2167113

Replying To TheUsername:  "Open disclosure, my better half in from Mayo, so i had have an awful lot of friendly faces coming from that direction so its all craic and banter for me and we all go for pints and the likes at the game. Id be down that direction a fair bit and go to some clubs games and the like as her Dad is really involved in their club, really fine GAA people and never once have i picked up any bitterness or resentment and id be there in my Dublin jacket and that. Id have friends involved in the minor and U21 and Womens team and one connection on the senior team. So i dont get the edge really, may be its there and i dont see it. If Dublin weren't to win the Championship id be rooting for Mayo if they were still in it. I dont see beating Dublin tonight being as important to Mayo as it was for Kerry in Tralee a couple of weeks ago, you could taste the hurt down there that night.

A loss in the championship would hurt by anyone, especially an undeserved one, but if we have objectives of bringing players on to panel and improving it this league and resting our starting 15, im not going to loose any sleep over playing ropadope in the league. Jim knows what he is at, long earnd my trust and i suspect part of this is managing the hype machine. In the media so far, we have heard that Monaghan, Kerry and Mayo are back and serious contenders this year.

Take Monaghan beating us in the league in the last game of 2018, we played a lot of young players and rested loads heading into the final, was i bothered by the result, not at all, as i thought it was for greater good.

If we say developed Darren Gavin into a Fenton for the summer and not win the national league, i would be happy enough with that outcome. We are tripping over league titles up here in recent years, my point still is we learn nothing, running CianO Sullivam, Kilkenny, Philly, Brogan, Flynn, Cluxton into the ground and beating all around us."
Hurt isn't how I'd describe our feeling in Tralee, surprised yes, happy yes, but not hurt.

How could we feel hurt when we weren't even expecting to win the game in the first place?

I do think Dublin felt hurt which led to the melee at the final whistle and you writing multiple posts using every excuse you could think of to try and explain and come to terms with how ye'r 4 in a row champs lost to a bunch of young lads and a manager who had just 2 competitive games under his belt.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 23/02/2019 12:08:05    2167114

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Hurt isn't how I'd describe our feeling in Tralee, surprised yes, happy yes, but not hurt.

How could we feel hurt when we weren't even expecting to win the game in the first place?

I do think Dublin felt hurt which led to the melee at the final whistle and you writing multiple posts using every excuse you could think of to try and explain and come to terms with how ye'r 4 in a row champs lost to a bunch of young lads and a manager who had just 2 competitive games under his belt."
Ah sure we only had 14 men on the pitch and dominated the last 10m. Our youngfellas did very well down there. We still have Cian, Philly, Ciaran, Bernard, Clucko and, who know knows, maybe the king himself, also to come back. Kerry celebrated the win in Tralee like an AI Final and sure look, fair play to them, it's not often that the greatest team to ever play the game is beaten, even in the league. We're up there to be knocked down. Kerry are hauling in silverware at all levels and given that they put the champs to the sword in the league I expect that they'll be marginal favourites for Sam this year come the Summer.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 23/02/2019 12:23:17    2167115

Mayo and Dublin Facebook and Twitter fan groups are painful. Plenty of delusional people supporting each other. Competing with each other to go to every single game and open training sessions. Those people are the ones I would stay clear of when trying to have a proper conversation about football.

I haven't seen anything nasty off the pitch since Pat Gilroy came in. He changed the attitude of the team and the supporters. Some of the stuff I saw in the Pillar Caffrey days would shock a lot of people.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 23/02/2019 13:08:51    2167124

Replying To Joxer:  "Ah sure we only had 14 men on the pitch and dominated the last 10m. Our youngfellas did very well down there. We still have Cian, Philly, Ciaran, Bernard, Clucko and, who know knows, maybe the king himself, also to come back. Kerry celebrated the win in Tralee like an AI Final and sure look, fair play to them, it's not often that the greatest team to ever play the game is beaten, even in the league. We're up there to be knocked down. Kerry are hauling in silverware at all levels and given that they put the champs to the sword in the league I expect that they'll be marginal favourites for Sam this year come the Summer."
Remember that time Munster bet the ALL Blacks. ;)

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 23/02/2019 13:15:46    2167125

Realtively strong ghost team named by Da Dubs:

Good to see Comerford and Gavin get the nod.

Evan Comerford;

David Byrne, Mick Fitzsimons, Eoin Murchan;

James McCarthy, Jonny Cooper, Jack McCaffrey;

Brian Fenton, Darren Gavin;

Brian Howard, Cormac Costello, Niall Scully;

Paul Mannion, Dean Rock, Con O'Callaghan.

Good to see Comerford and Gavin get the nod and Davey Byrne back.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 23/02/2019 13:19:25    2167126

Replying To Joxer:  "Ah sure we only had 14 men on the pitch and dominated the last 10m. Our youngfellas did very well down there. We still have Cian, Philly, Ciaran, Bernard, Clucko and, who know knows, maybe the king himself, also to come back. Kerry celebrated the win in Tralee like an AI Final and sure look, fair play to them, it's not often that the greatest team to ever play the game is beaten, even in the league. We're up there to be knocked down. Kerry are hauling in silverware at all levels and given that they put the champs to the sword in the league I expect that they'll be marginal favourites for Sam this year come the Summer."
Ye hadn't too many young fellas left on the field in the last 10 mins as ye had brought on jack mccaffery paddy Andrews M.D McCauley Kevin McMinamin and Paul Flynn and ye were 4 down when they started arriving, as for yer sending off yer indiscipline has nothing to do with us that for yer management to sort out.

As for us celebrating a win against the dubs what were we suppose to do start crying?

We celebrated our wins over Tyrone and Cavan as well but you don't see their fans having a problem with that.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 23/02/2019 13:22:15    2167127

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "You seemed pretty bothered 2 weeks ago when we beat ye in Tralee , when you wrote multiple posts explaining the defeat when nobody was even asking :-0"
You just cant resist , anything to do with Dublin ! very sad indeed. Bringing up the Kerry v Dublin game in a Dublin v Mayo thread , Jesus wept .

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 23/02/2019 13:44:06    2167129

Replying To TheUsername:  "Realtively strong ghost team named by Da Dubs:

Evan Comerford;

Good to see Comerford and Gavin get the nod and Davey Byrne back."
Thats a strong team..I was more confident of Mayo getting a result before i saw that line up. Always worried about McCaffrey, he will cause alot of problems.

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 603 - 23/02/2019 13:56:47    2167131

Replying To superbluedub:  "You just cant resist , anything to do with Dublin ! very sad indeed. Bringing up the Kerry v Dublin game in a Dublin v Mayo thread , Jesus wept ."
I think your mistaken clearly no hurt there. :D

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 23/02/2019 14:07:06    2167134

Replying To tommy132:  "Thats a strong team..I was more confident of Mayo getting a result before i saw that line up. Always worried about McCaffrey, he will cause alot of problems."
I would have to agree with you a chara, i thought we would be a bit lighter then that, i heard a rumbling Kilkenny was knocking about as well, just a rumor mind.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 23/02/2019 14:08:38    2167135

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Ye hadn't too many young fellas left on the field in the last 10 mins as ye had brought on jack mccaffery paddy Andrews M.D McCauley Kevin McMinamin and Paul Flynn and ye were 4 down when they started arriving, as for yer sending off yer indiscipline has nothing to do with us that for yer management to sort out.

As for us celebrating a win against the dubs what were we suppose to do start crying?

We celebrated our wins over Tyrone and Cavan as well but you don't see their fans having a problem with that."
I've no problem with yer celebrations. A team that has won nothing but football provincial titles in a hurling province should rightly celebrate a win over the greatest team of all time at home and against 14 men. Enjoy the continued celebrations in the Kingdom. Lovely part of the world.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 23/02/2019 14:13:12    2167136

Replying To Joxer:  "I've no problem with yer celebrations. A team that has won nothing but football provincial titles in a hurling province should rightly celebrate a win over the greatest team of all time at home and against 14 men. Enjoy the continued celebrations in the Kingdom. Lovely part of the world."
Mic drop! Haha!

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 23/02/2019 14:38:05    2167140

Replying To superbluedub:  "You just cant resist , anything to do with Dublin ! very sad indeed. Bringing up the Kerry v Dublin game in a Dublin v Mayo thread , Jesus wept ."
This is a thread on the national forum so I'm well entitled to comment or pull up people who are talking a bit of Roth.

If ye want to keep it private then write these things on the Dublin forum.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 23/02/2019 14:46:31    2167143

Replying To TheUsername:  "I would have to agree with you a chara, i thought we would be a bit lighter then that, i heard a rumbling Kilkenny was knocking about as well, just a rumor mind."
Very strong Dubs team. Cian, Clucko, Small, Philly and Ciaran would make it a full strength champo 15 maybe. No doubt Jim is going for the win here. Looking forward to seeing Gavin again. If he can step up to this level then what a midfield partnership we could have there. Mayo understrength in that area too if AOS positions as selected. Really enjoy playing Mayo, almost always a good open brand of football on a big pitch.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 23/02/2019 15:02:02    2167146

Replying To TheUsername:  "Realtively strong ghost team named by Da Dubs:

Evan Comerford;

Good to see Comerford and Gavin get the nod and Davey Byrne back."
Mayo 3/1 odds are very tempting If Cluxton,McMahon,O'Sullivan,Kilkenny,Small don't start. Best to wait until 5 minutes before throw in before placing a bet though.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3356 - 23/02/2019 15:18:58    2167149

Replying To Joxer:  "I've no problem with yer celebrations. A team that has won nothing but football provincial titles in a hurling province should rightly celebrate a win over the greatest team of all time at home and against 14 men. Enjoy the continued celebrations in the Kingdom. Lovely part of the world."
Generations of little Kingdomers will be told in school of the time the once mighty Kerry beat the 14 men of Dublin on a cold February evening in 2019. It will go down in Folklore whilst the rest of Ireland will have long forgotten it ;) ;) ;)

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 23/02/2019 15:21:02    2167150

Two decent teams named, gonna be a very good game.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 23/02/2019 15:21:42    2167151

Apparently Alex Ferguson's team talk when United played Spurs was " Lads its Spurs".
Jim Gavin's will be " Lads its Mayo".
Dublin win.

Condorman (Dublin) - Posts: 983 - 23/02/2019 15:36:58    2167155

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Ye hadn't too many young fellas left on the field in the last 10 mins as ye had brought on jack mccaffery paddy Andrews M.D McCauley Kevin McMinamin and Paul Flynn and ye were 4 down when they started arriving, as for yer sending off yer indiscipline has nothing to do with us that for yer management to sort out.

We celebrated our wins over Tyrone and Cavan as well but you don't see their fans having a problem with that."
McMinamin - haha, should be McMaximum especially where ye lads are concerned :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8597 - 23/02/2019 15:40:58    2167158