The Mayo Hype Machine Is Back Boys And Girls.

Replying To Lockjaw:  "I don't see why people are so flippant about Mayo's chances this year. Let's look at it logically.
Ok, their main players might be in the last chance saloon but you could argue that their experience is invaluable.
They are the only team who have gotten close to this current Dublin team.
They've had a bit more downtime than usual in 2018 to refresh and reflect.
They have a brilliant manager who knows them all inside out already.
Early days yet for sure but there are promising signs that emerging players such as McDonagh, Reape, Tracey etc can add exuberance and energy to the team.

Without wanting to parrot Joe Brolly I do think that they need to maximize output from Aiden O'Shea however. Does he contribute all that much around the middle? I'd be asking him to stop trying to be jack of all trades and to stick to one position where he can cause the most damage. Full forward. It immediately gives the opposition back 6 a major problem to deal with because if he wins ball and gets turned then it's lights out. Mayo have enough physicality out around the middle, particularly if they can get his brother fit. I'm not sure what stage of rehab Tom Parsons is at or if he's likely to see any action this year at all?"
Good post.

Mayo had an off year last year, but they're still a great team.

Defo the most likely to stop Dublin imo.

A fully fit Donegal will be dangerous too I think. Kerry in the mix also.

It'll be a more interesting year than last I feel.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 06/02/2019 10:42:59    2162928

Replying To MesAmis:  "Good post.

Mayo had an off year last year, but they're still a great team.

Defo the most likely to stop Dublin imo.

A fully fit Donegal will be dangerous too I think. Kerry in the mix also.

It'll be a more interesting year than last I feel."
Yeah I feel our chances of seriously giving it a rattle are dependent on a fully fit McBrearty and hopefully if Kieran Gillespie can get up to speed for Super 8's (provided we make it that far of course!) I'd really like to see Jason McGee push on this year at midfield for us too because we are lacking that mobile ball winning midfielder.

But a forward 6 including any of Ryan McHugh, MacNiallais, Murphy, McBrearty, Brennan, Thompson, O'Donnell, Langan, Eoin McHugh, Carroll etc will hopefully give any defence plenty to think about.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9154 - 06/02/2019 11:41:31    2162942

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Yeah I feel our chances of seriously giving it a rattle are dependent on a fully fit McBrearty and hopefully if Kieran Gillespie can get up to speed for Super 8's (provided we make it that far of course!) I'd really like to see Jason McGee push on this year at midfield for us too because we are lacking that mobile ball winning midfielder.

But a forward 6 including any of Ryan McHugh, MacNiallais, Murphy, McBrearty, Brennan, Thompson, O'Donnell, Langan, Eoin McHugh, Carroll etc will hopefully give any defence plenty to think about."
Donegal are my pick to push to Dublin the closest this year. I don't think we will be able to see where you guys are really at until championship with injuries and playing in div 2

Kingofthehill100 (Mayo) - Posts: 68 - 06/02/2019 12:00:42    2162948

Monaghan should be stronger come the championship and play a nice brand of football, they could beat anyone when on their game.

Kerry are in unknown territory, the minors were class but the transition to senior doesn't happen overnight, a year too early?

Mayo are a top side, they will be fresher this year after last years early exit, will do them no harm in the long run.

Donegal, Tyrone and Galway are stronger this year than 2018.

FOB (Dublin) - Posts: 912 - 06/02/2019 12:52:39    2162960

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Fair play it's a great point. I'd say you're not the only one who misses a packed Parnell Park. I was at an unreal game of football there in 2005, us and yerselves, end to end football. And the craic between taxpayers and farmers supporters warmed a freezing cold night. You'd need more than 50,000 in Croke Park to have a good atmosphere. The only way that'll happen for a Dublin league game is to drop ticket prices and they won't do that.

Wooly's podcast is mighty. He can be a fierce cantankerous stubborn host but he has the game's best interest at heart without towing the party line."
I think I vaguely remember that match
GAA were trialling a new rule where a yellow would result similar to a black card
I think Cluxton got one and Paddy Christie went in goals, saved a penalty
McDonald had an unreal game
Mossy Quinn won it with the last kick of the game

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 06/02/2019 13:13:09    2162966

I thought Mayo would target a good league campaign this year to be honest having gone out early last year and Horan being back. Usually they do just about enough to survive but they've obviously been preparing early and are only really missing a couple of regulars excluding Tom Parsons. They've picked fairly strong sides as well which must be remembered.

What it means for the Summer who knows? Counties are at different stages of preparation during the league. Some are missing lots of players. Some have most players available.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2217 - 06/02/2019 14:22:28    2162986

Replying To keithlemon:  "I think I vaguely remember that match
GAA were trialling a new rule where a yellow would result similar to a black card
I think Cluxton got one and Paddy Christie went in goals, saved a penalty
McDonald had an unreal game
Mossy Quinn won it with the last kick of the game"
"vaguely remember"?? that's a pretty detailed recollection!

I can't remember what I had for breakfast this morning!

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5016 - 06/02/2019 15:01:33    2162997

Still major problems around the centre for Mayo, don't forget we still haven't got our two first-choice midfielders of several years' standing.

Hopefully if we get the win over Cavan this weekend that will be us safe, in unusually prompt fashion. Any thing afterwards is a bonus in the context of the league.

Hopefully we get C. O'Connor back towards the end of the NFL, will be a big addition.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 06/02/2019 15:06:03    2162998

Replying To waynoI:  "2 league games done and bernard flynn, colm parkinson et al absolutely wetting themselves over Mayo.

Outside of the dubs theyre the biggest story in the GAA world.

Be interesting to see how they get on this year. Still far too early to be making sweeping statements though

what do yizzer think yerselves ?!?"
hype is generated by the media/ cautious Dubs,, ect .. not in Mayo .

Vishred (Mayo) - Posts: 303 - 06/02/2019 15:08:44    2162999

Replying To Marooned:  "I thought Mayo would target a good league campaign this year to be honest having gone out early last year and Horan being back. Usually they do just about enough to survive but they've obviously been preparing early and are only really missing a couple of regulars excluding Tom Parsons. They've picked fairly strong sides as well which must be remembered.

What it means for the Summer who knows? Counties are at different stages of preparation during the league. Some are missing lots of players. Some have most players available."
Mayo had 6 players starting who weren't starters last summer and another 2 newbies came on as subs. So yes they have established players spread throughout but I doubt too many teams having that many new lads starting and still getting a result.

Nobody is getting carried away, battled relegation the last few years so it will be good to not be fighting at the end.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 06/02/2019 15:09:57    2163000

Replying To Vishred:  "hype is generated by the media/ cautious Dubs,, ect .. not in Mayo ."
Hype.. "not in Mayo"

Yeah sure...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 06/02/2019 15:34:26    2163002

Replying To Crossgaa:  "That's because he lacks spark and skill. He doesn't belong out the field, Period. He belongs at full forward as J Brolly explained 2 Sunday's ago. He is holding Mayo back at #11.
I'm surprised Horan is not pulling him away from half forward line. This notion that we're good enough to beat Dublin is a little premature since we're trying out new players. A good win over Tyrone no doubt but let's not pressure the team just yet but there moving in the right direction."
In my opinion he is better at midfield. I think he doesn't have the cuteness or guile for full forward. I think he is a natural midfielder. He is strong, and good fielder and can get up and down the pitch. Him next to Diarmuid O'Connor or Parsons when he's back from injury would be a very strong midfield.

Kerry15 (Kerry) - Posts: 958 - 06/02/2019 15:37:03    2163003

Best Roscommon by a point and beat a bad Tyrond team on the day..pundits are stuck for things to talk about, they couldnt keep repeating articles about new rules. Mayo will hopefully beat Cavan, because the rest of the games will be tough and i dont see how anyone thinks Mayo are way ahead fitness wise, how were Dublin so much fitter than Galway last Sat when Dubs supposdly just back training.

Mayo are still weak at midfield and back up in the full back line

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 602 - 06/02/2019 16:08:58    2163020

Replying To jimbodub:  "Hype.. "not in Mayo"

Yeah sure..."
Who started this thread??

jimski (Kildare) - Posts: 381 - 06/02/2019 16:29:29    2163026

Replying To waynoI:  "2 league games done and bernard flynn, colm parkinson et al absolutely wetting themselves over Mayo.

Outside of the dubs theyre the biggest story in the GAA world.

Be interesting to see how they get on this year. Still far too early to be making sweeping statements though

what do yizzer think yerselves ?!?"
"what do yizzer think yerselves ?!?"

Spoken like a true non-Dub

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12121 - 06/02/2019 16:56:14    2163030

Good start by Mayo they should be as good as anybody if they get all their players fit and their youngsters continue to perform. It's a long way until August though.

There are a cluster of teams below Dublin all in and around the same level it's probably a year or two too early for some of them and others just lack that bit of quality needed.

We have seen over the years that complacency is not a factor so unless Dublin get a lot of injuries id back them to win it again without too much fuss.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 06/02/2019 18:45:26    2163058

I agree with the Cavan lad... Wayno, and I don't mean to be to picky, but surely it should be 'yizz think' or 'youz think'? Yizzer should surely be used in phrases like 'yizzer all' or 'yizzer pi*sing me off'! What sort of street schooling did you get as a nipper?

On the hype, there's only one team can make history this year and all Mayo wants is nothing much by comparison. The Kerry lads on the other hand will be having a fit, because if the Dubs do 5, only a 6 will be good enough for them.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 06/02/2019 18:46:52    2163060

Replying To jimski:  "Who started this thread??"
And why???? Is it the silly season in the GAA as a whole or merely in Dublin?

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1904 - 06/02/2019 20:56:21    2163081

Fair play to Mayo

I'd even have to change a previous held opinion

They are a great side and will be long remembered (even without possibly winning an AI title)

Their relentless desire to win despite so many agonizing defeats is very admirable and deserving of much credit.

Thing about Mayo GAA is that they are their own worst enemy at times.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 07/02/2019 16:00:48    2163252

Can someone explain to me how management and players have helped stir up the hype? It's such a nonsense. Diehard G.A.A fans talking rubbish on social media or in the stands is not the fault of any player. If I was stuck in the pub beside the lad who goes to all the games including FBD and all league games I would make a dart for the exit pretty sharpish.

The absolute diehards tend to be the least knowledgeable!

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 07/02/2019 16:35:20    2163253