Kerry V Dublin

No Dublin player on HS team of the week ? James McCarthy scored 3 crackers from half back went midfield then went full back he was brilliant Mannion's goal alone should get him on the team never mind him being excellent tru out. We lost to Kerry by a point in Kerry and none of our players deserve to be in? A little bit harsh imo.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 12/02/2019 04:07:40    2164737

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "These two posts have to be the most condescending and passive aggressive posts Iv ever read, is that what you were going for?

Might save these posts and read them again when I have trouble sleeping."
My God such sensitivity!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 12/02/2019 07:46:17    2164742

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "@Username once again you are vaguely insinuating that ye faced a full strength Kerry side at the peak of fitness, tell yourself that if you want but Kerry's absentees were arguably a bigger loss than Dublin's, Clifford, JOD, Moran, Foley, White and McCarthy will probably all start in the summer and Kerry are a few weeks in to training as well with a whole new management team trying to implement a whole new way of playing. We had just as much right to be rusty as Dublin.

As for Dublin being 65% fit and just having a bit of craic because it's the league that has never been Dublin's MO. Every player bar maybe a handful are playing for their places in that Dublin side and they sure looked to me like they wanted to win on Saturday. Your post on the match is really quite bizarre to be honest.

Btw I do agree with your broader point, Dublin will in all likelihood be too strong for Kerry for a while yet, especially in Croke Park. I think if we keep improving we can do enough to give ye a fright though and with a bit of luck who knows."
Apologies Gerry, admittedly i wouldn't have the intimate knowledge of Kerry football or the panel as a supporter like yourself. If you say there is more to come i will accept that.

Its just my analysis really, im not saying i am right its just my take and opinion. You would get bored of all the "banter" on here and just posting about a bit of ball and i didnt have the inclination after good will spending the week down in Kingdom, there was no offence intended.

Equally i dont know how long Kerry are training, the narrative after the game was they were a bit further along then Dublin who are four weeks. To be honest Jim G. said it after game as well and he is one who is very considered with his words. If i am honest, Dublin are approaching this league completely different then any i have seen in the recent past, they are very far behind where they usually are in my opinion and they holidayed very late. Kerry did look more fit, perhaps they are bringing a new level of fitness and intensity not seen before or just have younger players these days. Maybe the fixture list hasnt been as kind as recent years, with Monaghan, Galway and Kerry under our belts already and caught us cold.

One thing that wasn't widely reported that this was third game in 7 days for Con, Howard and Gavin all three played for DCU and UCd respectively on the Weds after the league game in Galway last week. But you are right Dublin always want to win.

I watched the game back last night and noticed Barry had an exceptional game on Fenton, he tired toward the end but really did a good man marking job on him. Equally the lad on McCarthy also had a good game. I handy noticed the an marking during the game.

The system looks good to me, it reminds me of Mayo and looks a Donnie Buckley special and i think you are moving toward a great balance.

I think the way to play Kerry is a bit old school they will give you chances, the rigid defensive system isnt there, looks a hybrid between man marking clutch players and zonal, high press, then being tenacious at the back, i think you look vulnerable at the back Con and Mannion cut you open quite easily, playing directly. I have thought for a while that the days of speedy skillful corner forwards are coming to an end, but i actually think they could make hay against Kerry, someone like Bernard Brogan would make hay against Kerry the same way he wouldn't necessarily against a Monaghan, Galway or Tyrone. Something i would look at would be flood the middle if we played again as well, have McCarthy, COS in HB line, Howard at hf, Fenton and another at midfield and flood midfield were you are a bit light.

Kerry should take victory with a lot of optimism in my opinion and i think you have lots to look forward to it.

My own opinion, is that Dublin dont have a right to win the ALL Ireland this year and are there to be shot at. If we meet again in the summer it will be a shoot out and a very good game and anything can happen, i expect it will be very different Dublin team and more tactical showing, as you say could be a very different Kerry team too. I am heartened by the that squad on Sat and their endevour its far form our squad and starting positions.

My own personal opinion, is that if Dublin are beaten this year, i would expect it to be a team who is familiar with them, a Galway, Tyrone or Mayo who have a had a good run at them for a number of years, like Offaly had at Kerry. Regardless i think Dublin will regress this summer, who are due five or six retirements to key players and i expect us to go back into pack, Kerry have a good a shot as any and are nicely placed of being our heir apparent.

Of course i might not be right on any of the above, its just the opinion of one really, nothing really to be bothered about.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 12/02/2019 10:47:19    2164764

Replying To clondalkindub:  "No Dublin player on HS team of the week ? James McCarthy scored 3 crackers from half back went midfield then went full back he was brilliant Mannion's goal alone should get him on the team never mind him being excellent tru out. We lost to Kerry by a point in Kerry and none of our players deserve to be in? A little bit harsh imo."
As a matter of interest how many Galway and Monaghan players were in it after that shocker on Sunday?! If they had some included you have a fair point.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 12/02/2019 11:12:42    2164776

Replying To clondalkindub:  "No Dublin player on HS team of the week ? James McCarthy scored 3 crackers from half back went midfield then went full back he was brilliant Mannion's goal alone should get him on the team never mind him being excellent tru out. We lost to Kerry by a point in Kerry and none of our players deserve to be in? A little bit harsh imo."
You've got some first world problems clondalkin.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 12/02/2019 11:38:40    2164780

Replying To TheHermit:  "As a matter of interest how many Galway and Monaghan players were in it after that shocker on Sunday?! If they had some included you have a fair point."
You don't think James McCarthy deserves to be on the team? I thought he was the best player on the pitch. Probably being bias but I thought he was outstanding.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 12/02/2019 11:39:29    2164781

Replying To TheUsername:  "Apologies Gerry, admittedly i wouldn't have the intimate knowledge of Kerry football or the panel as a supporter like yourself. If you say there is more to come i will accept that.

Its just my analysis really, im not saying i am right its just my take and opinion. You would get bored of all the "banter" on here and just posting about a bit of ball and i didnt have the inclination after good will spending the week down in Kingdom, there was no offence intended.

Equally i dont know how long Kerry are training, the narrative after the game was they were a bit further along then Dublin who are four weeks. To be honest Jim G. said it after game as well and he is one who is very considered with his words. If i am honest, Dublin are approaching this league completely different then any i have seen in the recent past, they are very far behind where they usually are in my opinion and they holidayed very late. Kerry did look more fit, perhaps they are bringing a new level of fitness and intensity not seen before or just have younger players these days. Maybe the fixture list hasnt been as kind as recent years, with Monaghan, Galway and Kerry under our belts already and caught us cold.

One thing that wasn't widely reported that this was third game in 7 days for Con, Howard and Gavin all three played for DCU and UCd respectively on the Weds after the league game in Galway last week. But you are right Dublin always want to win.

I watched the game back last night and noticed Barry had an exceptional game on Fenton, he tired toward the end but really did a good man marking job on him. Equally the lad on McCarthy also had a good game. I handy noticed the an marking during the game.

The system looks good to me, it reminds me of Mayo and looks a Donnie Buckley special and i think you are moving toward a great balance.

I think the way to play Kerry is a bit old school they will give you chances, the rigid defensive system isnt there, looks a hybrid between man marking clutch players and zonal, high press, then being tenacious at the back, i think you look vulnerable at the back Con and Mannion cut you open quite easily, playing directly. I have thought for a while that the days of speedy skillful corner forwards are coming to an end, but i actually think they could make hay against Kerry, someone like Bernard Brogan would make hay against Kerry the same way he wouldn't necessarily against a Monaghan, Galway or Tyrone. Something i would look at would be flood the middle if we played again as well, have McCarthy, COS in HB line, Howard at hf, Fenton and another at midfield and flood midfield were you are a bit light.

Kerry should take victory with a lot of optimism in my opinion and i think you have lots to look forward to it.

My own opinion, is that Dublin dont have a right to win the ALL Ireland this year and are there to be shot at. If we meet again in the summer it will be a shoot out and a very good game and anything can happen, i expect it will be very different Dublin team and more tactical showing, as you say could be a very different Kerry team too. I am heartened by the that squad on Sat and their endevour its far form our squad and starting positions.

My own personal opinion, is that if Dublin are beaten this year, i would expect it to be a team who is familiar with them, a Galway, Tyrone or Mayo who have a had a good run at them for a number of years, like Offaly had at Kerry. Regardless i think Dublin will regress this summer, who are due five or six retirements to key players and i expect us to go back into pack, Kerry have a good a shot as any and are nicely placed of being our heir apparent.

Of course i might not be right on any of the above, its just the opinion of one really, nothing really to be bothered about."
No offence taken at all and I really enjoy reading your posts I just thought the one on the match was written entirely through blue tinted glasses with no allowance whatsoever for the numerous reasons why Kerry are nowhere near 100% either. We had close to half what I would consider our first choice team missing and arguably our two most important players in Moran and clifford. O'Shea and Begley were also playing their third game in a week incidentally as they are involved with UCC.

As I said earlier I don't entirely disagree it would be a tall order for any incarnation of a Kerry team to go up in the summer and beat Dublin. I cannot see anybody doing so this summer in all honesty but there are a couple of teams moving in the right direction and hopefully we'll have a more competitive championship soon. Even the Dubs seem to be tiring of the success at this stage.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 12/02/2019 11:50:32    2164785

Sure Monaghan beat Dublin far handier a d have gone to lose two games after it.. just shows where Dublin currently are

Kerry faded badly playing against a 14 man Dub side, we hit the post and had a free chance to level it up that was dragged wide.. despaire Kerry's undoubtedly good performance they had a nice dollop of luck.

The sending off was a major factor in the end ( I don't think they can be disputed) if it was the other way around I'd say the same and the acre of space available to Kerry at the end was clear to see and that was only available due to this unjust sending off.

All considering the Dubs without even playing well and down a man away from home did very well in the end and there's plenty of positives to take from the defeat.

It was a real shame to lose a player in such a ridiculous way in a game that deserved to have 15 v 15 on the pitch.. a major call went Kerry's way and it was clever of Crowley to target Fitzsimons in such a manner where in this day and age refs always give double yellows for scuffles.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 12/02/2019 11:59:57    2164794

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "You've got some first world problems clondalkin."
Just debating the team that's all ,it's a gaa forum no?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 12/02/2019 12:00:30    2164795

Replying To clondalkindub:  "You don't think James McCarthy deserves to be on the team? I thought he was the best player on the pitch. Probably being bias but I thought he was outstanding."
I didn't say that at all, I haven't seen the team of the week so just interested to see if Galway/Monaghan players made it instead of Dublin lads as that game on Sunday was awful stuff while Dublin played very well, particularly in the second half.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 12/02/2019 12:11:03    2164798

Replying To TheHermit:  "As a matter of interest how many Galway and Monaghan players were in it after that shocker on Sunday?! If they had some included you have a fair point."
Shane Walsh was on it. He was like a radiant flower in the February muck. ;)

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2040 - 12/02/2019 12:13:24    2164799

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "These two posts have to be the most condescending and passive aggressive posts Iv ever read, is that what you were going for?

Might save these posts and read them again when I have trouble sleeping."
Did you not enjoy the opening though, that whistle stop tour of Kerry where we got to know about all his friends.
Very Rick Steves, he should become a travel writer. He can enthrall us with these beautiful, vivid descriptions of the exotic spots of Sneem and Tuosist :D

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 12/02/2019 12:14:23    2164801

Replying To TheHermit:  "Did you not enjoy the opening though, that whistle stop tour of Kerry where we got to know about all his friends.
Very Rick Steves, he should become a travel writer. He can enthrall us with these beautiful, vivid descriptions of the exotic spots of Sneem and Tuosist :D"
Ya but after the opening few lines I started to drift off though, I'm telling you it was better than a warm mug of milk :-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 12/02/2019 12:25:17    2164809

Fair play Gerry, thats a fair accusation on the Blue tinted glasses, one im sure we are all guilty off to an extent given our tribalism.

I thought Moran came on for Morley, but i hadn't got the greatest view behind the goal on the town side, but i take your point, hes a likely starter in the summer.

How long are Kerry back? I would have assumed they would had county trials and the like over the winter under new management.

It would be an interesting game in the summer, i think it would be shades of the semi in 13, the way both teams need to be progressing, so that in itself would be worthy of a final, with the year that in it, you could imagine the build up, hype and scenes. Not inconceivable given the S8 draw, but a lot of ball to be played before then.

I had a quick scan of the senior players on the Dublin panel not involved.

Cluxton - 6 All Irelands
Philly - 6 All Irelands
Darren Daly - 5 All Irelands
Davey Byrne - 4 All Irelands
Cian O' Suillivan - 6 All Irelands
Paul Flynn - 6 All Irelands.
Ciaran Kilkenny - 5 All irelands
O Gara - 5 All Irelands.
Bernard Brogan- 6 All Irelands.
Diarmuid Connolly - 5 All Irelands. (Hopefully)

So with the above in mind, that is a bit of mitigation for some of my confidence in analysis, perhaps some would say hubris in my analysis. I have absolutely no argument that Kerry were great on Sat, were the better team, have loads to be confident about. But i do believe Dublin have objectives in the league campaign beyond the results and that is blooding players, providing experience, giving senior players a break and developing the panel.

I think we do a bit a bit differently, the Panel is all important up here, its how are games are won and lost the starting team doesn't really matter its irrelevant, in the main we dont start with our best team, we very often finish with it.

Likewise im sure you could write the same thing for Kerry, i just dont have the local knowledge you do, but as someone wiser then me recently said "every day is a learning day" :D. So apologies if my analysis is slanted. Im just looking at through the above filter, with the year ahead on my mind from a Dublin perspective, it doesnt come around often so im going to enjoy it while its here.

Lots for Kerry to be excited about and hats off on a terrific performance on Sat. Hopefully another 13 if we see each other again in the summer.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 12/02/2019 12:35:06    2164818

Moran did come on but he only got back from honeymoon recently and would be well behind the curve of the general panel in terms of preparation.

I'm not privy to Kerry's training regimen so I don't know exactly when they started full training. I think there is huge room for improvement but whether it will be enough to make an impact on the championship this year remains to be seen. We definitely look more organised at this stage than we did in recent years and hopefully good coaching will continue the upward trend.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 12/02/2019 12:49:55    2164830

Replying To TheHermit:  "Did you not enjoy the opening though, that whistle stop tour of Kerry where we got to know about all his friends.
Very Rick Steves, he should become a travel writer. He can enthrall us with these beautiful, vivid descriptions of the exotic spots of Sneem and Tuosist :D"
Sneering at someone giving a decent account of a few days on holiday really is the lowest of the low.
God help you if that makes you happy.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 12/02/2019 12:56:36    2164836

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "You've got some first world problems clondalkin."
The Irony! ;)

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 12/02/2019 13:11:20    2164842

Replying To jimbodub:  "Sure Monaghan beat Dublin far handier a d have gone to lose two games after it.. just shows where Dublin currently are

Kerry faded badly playing against a 14 man Dub side, we hit the post and had a free chance to level it up that was dragged wide.. despaire Kerry's undoubtedly good performance they had a nice dollop of luck.

The sending off was a major factor in the end ( I don't think they can be disputed) if it was the other way around I'd say the same and the acre of space available to Kerry at the end was clear to see and that was only available due to this unjust sending off.

All considering the Dubs without even playing well and down a man away from home did very well in the end and there's plenty of positives to take from the defeat.

It was a real shame to lose a player in such a ridiculous way in a game that deserved to have 15 v 15 on the pitch.. a major call went Kerry's way and it was clever of Crowley to target Fitzsimons in such a manner where in this day and age refs always give double yellows for scuffles."
Easy knowing you weren't at the game jimmy, as it was fitzsimon that targeted Crowley, you see fitz put his arm around Crowley to stop him getting back into position so Crowley tried to push him away where fitz then put Crowley in a headlock, so really it was fitz that got Crowley booked but you'd have seen that if you were at the match.

Fair play to Crowley though he didn't let it get to him and he got his reward by scoring the winning point.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 12/02/2019 13:14:55    2164843

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Just debating the team that's all ,it's a gaa forum no?"
Maybe HoganStand should do a team for each division?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 12/02/2019 13:19:20    2164846

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Sneering at someone giving a decent account of a few days on holiday really is the lowest of the low.
God help you if that makes you happy."
Ignore him.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 12/02/2019 13:37:26    2164852