Joanne Cantwell

Replying To realdub:  "I answered suckvalley last night but admin chose not to print. Basically I said I prefer men talking when it's about the mens game but thst I'm probably old fashioned in that regard.
And whammy chill out there, it was a fair and honest question."
Far higher proportion of men studying broadcasting would have a life long following of sports thus making them gravitate towards that side of the industry in far greater numbers.

It makes perfect sense why more men are working in sports media. It's a natural fit. It also makes sense why more women in broadcasting gravitate towards fashion, current affairs, chat, entertainment, celebrity gossip etc.

A 50/50 split of men/women working in sports media would be greatly lopsided in favour of women and would make zero sense.

I've never seen a male broadcaster who predominantly worked exclusively in filler side line /end of game interviews go from that point to lead presenter in one career move. It's highly unlikely I ever will.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 02/02/2019 16:25:45    2161683

Replying To realdub:  "I answered suckvalley last night but admin chose not to print. Basically I said I prefer men talking when it's about the mens game but thst I'm probably old fashioned in that regard.
And whammy chill out there, it was a fair and honest question."
I reread my post I don't see how it is any less chilled than many other comments that get through on this site. I was fully calm when writing it. I do admittedly struggle to understand the attitudes of some more conservative posters on here. If there's a point of view I disagree with I am going to challenge it, as I do so often.

I directly responded to your post but there were other people's attitudes that I disagree with more strongly.

Women are interested in Gaelic games and watch the Sunday Game, the men's games across pretty much every sport have significantly higher profiles than their equivalent women's games. To not have women involved in men's sports coverage denies perfectly qualified individuals from having the same opportunities as their male counterparts. That's just not fair.

Why is it your preference to see men only talk about men's sport? I actually don't understand how someone's sex can have a detrimental impact of your enjoyment of a show. It's a really strange attitude to have and it is the very definition of sexism.

This is just a silly GAA forum, it really obviously doesn't matter and it's not at all important for me to change your mind. I'm very sure that I cannot. The attitude you describe though is not harmless in other areas of life. It's an attitude that if it pervades the rest of life (and to be honest it has done until very recently) negatively impacts the opportunities of others and as I've said already that's just not fair.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4236 - 02/02/2019 16:49:15    2161687

Replying To jimbodub:  "Far higher proportion of men studying broadcasting would have a life long following of sports thus making them gravitate towards that side of the industry in far greater numbers.

It makes perfect sense why more men are working in sports media. It's a natural fit. It also makes sense why more women in broadcasting gravitate towards fashion, current affairs, chat, entertainment, celebrity gossip etc.

A 50/50 split of men/women working in sports media would be greatly lopsided in favour of women and would make zero sense.

I've never seen a male broadcaster who predominantly worked exclusively in filler side line /end of game interviews go from that point to lead presenter in one career move. It's highly unlikely I ever will."
She has specific sports presenting experience prior to getting this role.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4236 - 02/02/2019 17:12:20    2161688

Replying To Whammo86:  "I reread my post I don't see how it is any less chilled than many other comments that get through on this site. I was fully calm when writing it. I do admittedly struggle to understand the attitudes of some more conservative posters on here. If there's a point of view I disagree with I am going to challenge it, as I do so often.

I directly responded to your post but there were other people's attitudes that I disagree with more strongly.

Women are interested in Gaelic games and watch the Sunday Game, the men's games across pretty much every sport have significantly higher profiles than their equivalent women's games. To not have women involved in men's sports coverage denies perfectly qualified individuals from having the same opportunities as their male counterparts. That's just not fair.

Why is it your preference to see men only talk about men's sport? I actually don't understand how someone's sex can have a detrimental impact of your enjoyment of a show. It's a really strange attitude to have and it is the very definition of sexism.

This is just a silly GAA forum, it really obviously doesn't matter and it's not at all important for me to change your mind. I'm very sure that I cannot. The attitude you describe though is not harmless in other areas of life. It's an attitude that if it pervades the rest of life (and to be honest it has done until very recently) negatively impacts the opportunities of others and as I've said already that's just not fair."
I can't explain why I prefer it, it just sits better with me and I ain't gonna apologise for that. Like you say it's only a silly GAA forum so wtf, but I wouldn't consider myself conservative.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 02/02/2019 18:08:15    2161703

When you look at the absolutely average standard of broadcasters in RTE it's not exactly brimming with alternatives. While I'm not really gone on her , who else was there to choose from. The more I think about it the more I'm thinking they hadn't much choice.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 02/02/2019 18:26:45    2161709

I would judge Cantwell as a presenter and absolutely on nothing else. If anyone has a problem with her sex well then they need to crawl back into the cave they crawled out of. World has moved on there is no going back, if you want to be a lad in a lad's world join a seminary.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4897 - 02/02/2019 19:39:37    2161727

Just for the record I have said I like her and she is pretty good. If I'm sexist for "preferring" men, so be it.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 02/02/2019 20:02:58    2161733

If we're on about old-fashioned attitudes:

"Football. Men's football. Man of the Match."

Fine.

And the GAA certainly never says "Gentlemen's Football". It'd sound ridiculous.

But then we have:

"Ladies football. Player of the Match."

'Lady' has connotations of being "lady-like" - i.e. delicacy / refinement / frailty / dainty-ness and not trying too hard. All admirable traits in many ways but a slightly-patronising way to describe any modern athlete. There's a certain type of traditional old boy attitude which will never fully come to terms with the idea that woman sweat / are tough and physical / train hard / are muscular / aggressive etc.

Patronising 1950s old codger Fr Ted type terminology tbh:

"Ah the dainty little ladies god bless them; aren't they great look at them actually playing football".

I wonder does the GAA have a problem with simply saying:

"Women's Football. Woman of the Match."

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 02/02/2019 23:21:09    2161811

sorry i have not had a chance to read all messages on this thread but I have slways been impressed with Joanne. She is certainly knowledgable and can control the panel. I did like the way she doesnt let brolly take over. good luck to her.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 03/02/2019 19:41:21    2162172

Simpy the best person available in RTE for the job. Miles ahead of anyone else for me.

KildareKelly (Kildare) - Posts: 593 - 03/02/2019 20:35:06    2162228

Absolutely terrible!Arguing just for the sake of it.will not be watching the sunday game regularly because of her.

manager5 (Galway) - Posts: 724 - 03/02/2019 20:57:07    2162244

Replying To essmac:  "If we're on about old-fashioned attitudes:

Fine.

But then we have:

'Lady' has connotations of being "lady-like" - i.e. delicacy / refinement / frailty / dainty-ness and not trying too hard. All admirable traits in many ways but a slightly-patronising way to describe any modern athlete. There's a certain type of traditional old boy attitude which will never fully come to terms with the idea that woman sweat / are tough and physical / train hard / are muscular / aggressive etc.

"Ah the dainty little ladies god bless them; aren't they great look at them actually playing football".

"Women's Football. Woman of the Match.""
The GAA don't run Ladies Football. The LGFA do. The clue is in the 'L'. Jeez, the GAA get blamed for everything !!!

PearseBro (Monaghan) - Posts: 459 - 04/02/2019 08:40:45    2162375

Replying To essmac:  "If we're on about old-fashioned attitudes:

Fine.

But then we have:

"Women's Football. Woman of the Match.""
You do know that's what their own organisation calls it......Christ some lads would blame the GAA for anything.....also just so people are clear GAA has NO responsibility for Ladies football, a separate entity that jealously guards their own independence when it suits them but wanted total access to GAA facilities etc....time to get off the fence as they can't continue to have it both ways

PaudieSull1 (Down) - Posts: 738 - 04/02/2019 09:44:39    2162390

Shes great, i really like her. Also its refreshing to break up the old pals act and driving of agendas.

The pundits on RTE have to much influence on the game in my opinion, talk about the tail wagging the dog.

Sort them Joanne.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 04/02/2019 10:51:53    2162408

she done good last night, but she has always been good on fairness to her. i do like Des and i'll miss Michael though.
but the actual format of the show just seemed so rushed. if you went to the toilet you'd miss basically the entire league highlights of all the ''lesser'' teams.

theweanling (Cavan) - Posts: 414 - 04/02/2019 13:03:03    2162478

I don't like her style of presenting. She is always right and would argue with Jesus himself. She spends more time commenting on controversies than the actual sport she's analysing and constantly interrupts analysts she disagrees with. I don't listen to sports Saturday any time she's on.

CaogaCuig (Dublin) - Posts: 63 - 04/02/2019 13:18:32    2162484

Replying To KildareKelly:  "Simpy the best person available in RTE for the job. Miles ahead of anyone else for me."
Clare Mc Namara is street's ahead of her

CaogaCuig (Dublin) - Posts: 63 - 04/02/2019 14:37:54    2162520

Replying To theweanling:  "she done good last night, but she has always been good on fairness to her. i do like Des and i'll miss Michael though.
but the actual format of the show just seemed so rushed. if you went to the toilet you'd miss basically the entire league highlights of all the ''lesser'' teams."
You can't miss highlights of so-called lesser counties because they don't cover them. Makes life a bit more difficult for them when they go looking for sponsors with little or no media coverage. It's Division 1/Potential Super 8 counties that get the disprortionate amount of coverage and that makes them a better prospect for some sponsors. Fair play to them, they work very hard to get there but how about the GAA trying to shorten the growing standards gap between top and bottom and if they don't do that find other options to show games/highlights for so-called lesser counties.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7360 - 04/02/2019 15:05:44    2162527

The tail wags the dog in RTE no doubt, however, I couldn't care less what gender the presenter has so long as the presenter in question is perceived to be the best person for the job achieved through an interview. To ridicule Pat Spillane, Colm O'Rourke, and in particular Joe Brolly is not on, Des Cahill and to a lesser extent so too did Michael Lyster get a bit of stick as well, all because the Sunday game had lost it's appeal, entertainment value, and the bit of magic it once had is all but gone, ultimately it has become boring and repeditive
RTE are addressing the gender balance, but they're not addressing the real issue here and that is the Sunday game has run it's course, the Sunday game needs major surgery, it needs to be reinvented, reimagined and restructured inclusive to all counties not just the so called "elite. Window dressing and glamourizing the Sunday game will not make the problem go away.
Whatever chance Daragh Maloney or Jacqui Hurley would have in making the Sunday game attractive to all viewers, Joanne will have less, but I wish her well.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2908 - 07/02/2019 20:19:33    2163315

She put manners on little Joe on the 1st night's show which was long before time, he likes to rant on and on and nobody halting him, she put smacht on him, well done Joanne

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 07/02/2019 21:54:56    2163337