NFL Division 1

Dublin to win it.
Cavan and Roscommon to go down.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 17/01/2019 16:08:18    2157819

Hopefully bring a few young fellas on and see how a few hopefuls are doing a year older. Its always nice to win it but its a bonus if you do.

My priority would be to use it as stepping stone in player development against good opposition and rotate a few A teamer's in and out for fitness.

I enjoy the league from a Dublin perspective and the lads seem to enjoy it as they are let of the leash tactically a bit more then the Championship IMO.

Also we have the majority of away games this year so their will be a fair bit of craic on the road.

Clones up first, Boss.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 17/01/2019 16:27:28    2157824

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "It's a pity our league meetings with dubs wasn't later in the league as we'd have a good few lads back."
Some craic down there the last time. We struggled to get the draw under, let's just call it immense physical pressure from Kerry. Love playing in Tralee under the lights and should be great banter in the boozers afterwards. Looking forward to it. Tommy Walsh is a handful alright. Another monster that I would dread seeing jogging into the inside forward line against the us.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 17/01/2019 16:37:19    2157825

Replying To MadgeKing:  "First yerra of the year. You are starting early.
I have a feeling Dublin will drop points this year, at least early in the league. Tyrone to profit. They are a good bet to win it out. Kerry will as usual will start slow and work it out by match 4 or 5.

Roscommon and Cavan clearly favourites to be relegated but we could surprise a few and survive. The monaghan match will be pivotal. Losers of that one to join Roscommon"
Yawn. Same old tired rhetoric Madge. Monaghan should survive, can't comment on Cavan as not sure what they have to field, but wishing you well with your new manager.
Dublin to prevail at the top with Galway & Tyrone in for second spot.

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 17/01/2019 16:53:00    2157828

Replying To TheUsername:  "Hopefully bring a few young fellas on and see how a few hopefuls are doing a year older. Its always nice to win it but its a bonus if you do.

My priority would be to use it as stepping stone in player development against good opposition and rotate a few A teamer's in and out for fitness.

I enjoy the league from a Dublin perspective and the lads seem to enjoy it as they are let of the leash tactically a bit more then the Championship IMO.

Also we have the majority of away games this year so their will be a fair bit of craic on the road.

Clones up first, Boss."
Looking forward to welcoming you to our humble abode Username.

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 17/01/2019 16:55:12    2157830

Replying To Joxer:  "Some craic down there the last time. We struggled to get the draw under, let's just call it immense physical pressure from Kerry. Love playing in Tralee under the lights and should be great banter in the boozers afterwards. Looking forward to it. Tommy Walsh is a handful alright. Another monster that I would dread seeing jogging into the inside forward line against the us."
Ya should be a good night in Tralee, and I think Ireland are playing wales as well that day so it could be a nice few jars before hand.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 17/01/2019 18:01:10    2157840

Replying To TheUsername:  "Hopefully bring a few young fellas on and see how a few hopefuls are doing a year older. Its always nice to win it but its a bonus if you do.

Clones up first, Boss."
Will be intetesting to see if any new championship material emerges from it. I'll be keeping a close eye on Smith, assuming Gavin plays him. I had high hopes for Gavin from Lucan in the middle but he was bossed by Menton last week. Hopefully he gets another run tomorrow.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 17/01/2019 19:53:08    2157877

Replying To greysoil:  "Looking forward to welcoming you to our humble abode Username."
Is the game in clones or inniskeen ?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 17/01/2019 20:30:03    2157885

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Is the game in clones or inniskeen ?"
Clones. 2pm.

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 17/01/2019 21:45:01    2157906

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Ya should be a good night in Tralee, and I think Ireland are playing wales as well that day so it could be a nice few jars before hand."
It's the Scots that day, but your point on the jars still stands.....regardless of the rugby ;)

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 17/01/2019 23:09:48    2157923

Will be a lot of tight games. Generally unusual results happen in early rounds when teams are in different stages off prep. As the rounds pass things start to get more predictable.

You could throw a blanket over a number of teams. Important to get a good start.

From Galway point of view we should be looking to get to a final and putting it up to Dublin. We need to keep playing them to develop. Assuming we beat London we have a longer run into championship so all games a bonus.

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1829 - 17/01/2019 23:16:43    2157924

Replying To Belclare1:  "Fair enough.. Would you explain your reasoning behind Galway and not Mayo or yourselves going down?"
Mayo are world renowned to not putting in close to the 100% effort required for the league campaign, sure look at the last minute miracle heroics they got away with against Donegal last year. Can only go to that well so often.
As for Galway I have always said Pearse stadium is a great leveller for counties to play each other especially in the winter months. A lot of questions also to be asked about that back line that have yet to be answered. Could see Cavan catching them on the hop first up

WaitingInTheLongGrass (Roscommon) - Posts: 165 - 18/01/2019 10:35:43    2157963

Think the Dubs will be in the top two, probably with Tyrone. Dubs can't help it, they can just stay at such a consistent peak all year round, the results will just follow. Tyrone will always try hard and probably a lot harder than anyone else in the division, so will likely end up top or second.

Can't see Kerry killing themselves in the league... have too many things they need to try out to be too bothered about league position bar avoiding relegation. Might even flirt with that.

Can see Cavan taking it seriously enough and possibly doing what the Rossies did a couple of years ago, so no danger of relegation and maybe even an outside chance of making the final. Could backfire in the summer though...

Galway will be ok and won't have any great ambitions, since they'll be looking to the summer and have already done most of their experimentation over the last couple of years. Monaghan the same... steady and mid-table, holding back for the longer days.

Relegation I see being the Rossies, unless they again over-do winter peaking with the new management team on board, and my own county. Like Kerry, we can't avoid a fair bit of chopping and changing, plus the evidence from the FBD games is that all the pre-Christmas training was targeting the summer, with very little ball work done and fading out towards the closing stages of games. So it'll be us, with either the Kingdom or the Rossies for Div 2 next year.

Tyrone to win the final if they get to it... will just want it so much more, plus the Dubs will already be getting fixated on their date with destiny in the late summer.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 18/01/2019 10:53:28    2157967

Replying To Pericles:  "Think the Dubs will be in the top two, probably with Tyrone. Dubs can't help it, they can just stay at such a consistent peak all year round, the results will just follow. Tyrone will always try hard and probably a lot harder than anyone else in the division, so will likely end up top or second.

Can't see Kerry killing themselves in the league... have too many things they need to try out to be too bothered about league position bar avoiding relegation. Might even flirt with that.

Can see Cavan taking it seriously enough and possibly doing what the Rossies did a couple of years ago, so no danger of relegation and maybe even an outside chance of making the final. Could backfire in the summer though...

Galway will be ok and won't have any great ambitions, since they'll be looking to the summer and have already done most of their experimentation over the last couple of years. Monaghan the same... steady and mid-table, holding back for the longer days.

Relegation I see being the Rossies, unless they again over-do winter peaking with the new management team on board, and my own county. Like Kerry, we can't avoid a fair bit of chopping and changing, plus the evidence from the FBD games is that all the pre-Christmas training was targeting the summer, with very little ball work done and fading out towards the closing stages of games. So it'll be us, with either the Kingdom or the Rossies for Div 2 next year.

Tyrone to win the final if they get to it... will just want it so much more, plus the Dubs will already be getting fixated on their date with destiny in the late summer."
I agree. Think KW will hold for consolidation (if that is possible) and do what Mayo have done best I.e. keep a certain reserve for the championship. Worth noting that our half back line (our weakest line over recent seasons) is totally reconstructed although won't be at full tilt until Corofin's club interest ends. As for the rest really hard to know who will challenge Dublin for the league. I think JH and Mayo will go for it this year to road test new guys for Summer. Monaghan might also go for it as a fear they have plateaued and naturally want some national silverware for their efforts with this particular squad.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 18/01/2019 12:00:08    2157978

Dublin seem to take the League the most serious so it's there for them to win it again if they want.

As for Kerry, the League's always a secondary concern especially this year with a new management team needing to bed in, more new players being introduced and so many others club tied or having Segirson Cup duty (13 Kerrymen featured for UCC earlier this week).
Like others have said, I think we will struggle for the first few weeks as we usually do (I can see us going into the fourth round without any points on the board) but I would be hoping that come the last few rounds we can pick up enough to scrape into safety.

I also think Monaghan might find themselves in a League final as they seem to use the competition well. Mayo and Donegal will probably do enough to be there or there abouts coming into the last round.
Not sure what Tyrone's priorities are but we will get some indication in Killarney on Sunday week.

Galway might settle for mid-table mediocrity and at the moment you would probably see Roscommon and Cavan as the most likely to drop down but sure it's all guess work at the minute.
Sunday week will tell a bit more of a story.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 18/01/2019 12:28:11    2157993

Mayo are the longest serving team in division 1. I would prefer the young lads to get a run of games. Horans record in the league was ok, making a final and semi final.

One trying is for sure, you can get caught out by any team in division 1 if you are off the boil.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11231 - 18/01/2019 13:13:49    2158006

Replying To TheHermit:  "Dublin seem to take the League the most serious so it's there for them to win it again if they want.

As for Kerry, the League's always a secondary concern especially this year with a new management team needing to bed in, more new players being introduced and so many others club tied or having Segirson Cup duty (13 Kerrymen featured for UCC earlier this week).
Like others have said, I think we will struggle for the first few weeks as we usually do (I can see us going into the fourth round without any points on the board) but I would be hoping that come the last few rounds we can pick up enough to scrape into safety.

I also think Monaghan might find themselves in a League final as they seem to use the competition well. Mayo and Donegal will probably do enough to be there or there abouts coming into the last round.
Not sure what Tyrone's priorities are but we will get some indication in Killarney on Sunday week.

Galway might settle for mid-table mediocrity and at the moment you would probably see Roscommon and Cavan as the most likely to drop down but sure it's all guess work at the minute.
Sunday week will tell a bit more of a story."
It's easy to forget Hermit, but Donegal dropped down last year so will be opening their campaign for likely promotion back up to Div 1 against Clare (I think).

What you're saying about UCC reflects very badly on Cork more than anything... hard to believe they're being outnumbered in what should largely be a side dominated by their own. That 5 year plan would want to be a good one!

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 18/01/2019 13:32:02    2158011

Replying To greysoil:  "Clones. 2pm."
Ye'l have a big crowd that day, ye should milk the cow while she's standing if you know what I mean!

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 18/01/2019 14:32:31    2158022

Replying To greysoil:  "Looking forward to welcoming you to our humble abode Username."
I have a big Gra for Clones a chara, proper ground.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 18/01/2019 16:29:24    2158048

Replying To Joxer:  "Will be intetesting to see if any new championship material emerges from it. I'll be keeping a close eye on Smith, assuming Gavin plays him. I had high hopes for Gavin from Lucan in the middle but he was bossed by Menton last week. Hopefully he gets another run tomorrow."
Agreed a chara Smith is quality ive very little doubts about him the talent is there whether it be this year or next, ive seen Gavin be very hot and cold, still young though.

Sean McMahon at the back i thought did well last week and we could do with a bit of depth at 3. Ill have a wide eye on him and Oisin Lynch is another i think could be pushing for the panel.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 18/01/2019 16:37:59    2158050