JP McManus donates 100,000 to every county board

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Who are the cowboys, the county board or the two small clubs?"
The board man...

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11225 - 30/09/2018 08:36:37    2144384

Replying To mayotyroneman:  "mayo county board refusing to share money out to Ballyvary and caiseal Gaels...what kind of people are running the county board?"
Didn't take long for a county board to act the maggot. Looks like the Mayo county board think hurling clubs don't count as GAA. Brass neck when you consider JP McManus is a hurling man.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 30/09/2018 10:27:48    2144394

Mayo County Board are slow to say why the 2 clubs were left out, they have to have a reason why cant they say it and sort it all out..
The 2 clubs left out dont have a senior team, so coukd that be there reasoning, do there underage teams contribute to Tooren or castlebar hurling that got money? Not right to leave them out just trying to figure out there reasoning

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 600 - 30/09/2018 12:06:51    2144405

ROS1: You are obviously living in dreamland if you think only a fraction of our taxes went to support the banks and facilitate the vulture funds who are now selling back the property at multiples of what it was sold to them. Give me JP any day.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 30/09/2018 12:45:09    2144409

Replying To yew_tree:  "The board man..."
Yes, I agree.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4315 - 30/09/2018 13:10:51    2144414

Replying To browncows:  "ROS1: You are obviously living in dreamland if you think only a fraction of our taxes went to support the banks and facilitate the vulture funds who are now selling back the property at multiples of what it was sold to them. Give me JP any day."
This isn't a political/financial website but it is a fact that a fraction of the total yearly in take of income taxes went on the banks.

ros1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1211 - 30/09/2018 14:56:49    2144426

Replying To browncows:  "ROS1: You are obviously living in dreamland if you think only a fraction of our taxes went to support the banks and facilitate the vulture funds who are now selling back the property at multiples of what it was sold to them. Give me JP any day."
JP has bought vital medial equipment for limerick hospitals...he basically cuts out the middle man. A great man he is. His taxes would be paying politicians or bailing out banks.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11225 - 30/09/2018 15:23:54    2144430

Replying To tommy132:  "Mayo County Board are slow to say why the 2 clubs were left out, they have to have a reason why cant they say it and sort it all out..
The 2 clubs left out dont have a senior team, so coukd that be there reasoning, do there underage teams contribute to Tooren or castlebar hurling that got money? Not right to leave them out just trying to figure out there reasoning"
Don't think it takes a lot of analysis or speculation to hit on the truth here. At least one of these 2 clubs appears to be a relatively young hurling club concentrated on underage development and looking at their webpage it appears that they have been making great strides. A new hurling club in an area that was exclusively football is going to meet with truculent opposition from some people in football who will not want it to be a success. I expect some of those football only people are on the county board or have influence with the county board.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1901 - 30/09/2018 19:37:10    2144472

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "Don't think it takes a lot of analysis or speculation to hit on the truth here. At least one of these 2 clubs appears to be a relatively young hurling club concentrated on underage development and looking at their webpage it appears that they have been making great strides. A new hurling club in an area that was exclusively football is going to meet with truculent opposition from some people in football who will not want it to be a success. I expect some of those football only people are on the county board or have influence with the county board."
In fairness, they're not full GAA clubs. They don't field teams at senior level and are not subject to the same fees/levies that the other 48 clubs have to pay. Tooreen and Castlebar Hurling were included so it's not an anti-hurling thing.

They could have been given something as a good will gesture but it wouldn't be right to give them the same allocation as the other 48.

MayoDan (Mayo) - Posts: 414 - 30/09/2018 20:27:14    2144477

Replying To yew_tree:  "JP has bought vital medial equipment for limerick hospitals...he basically cuts out the middle man. A great man he is. His taxes would be paying politicians or bailing out banks."
That's a ridiculous attitude to have, what if everyone stopped paying taxes? Who would fund the nurses, teachers and gardaí?

MayoDan (Mayo) - Posts: 414 - 30/09/2018 21:05:23    2144488

Replying To MayoDan:  "That's a ridiculous attitude to have, what if everyone stopped paying taxes? Who would fund the nurses, teachers and gardaí?"
The German and French banks are now funding the nurses, teachers and gardai, however we the taxpayers have funded those same German and French banks over the last 8/9 years to stop them going into liquidation. I'm surprised that you are not aware of that, or do you not follow the news.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 01/10/2018 00:59:22    2144517

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "Don't think it takes a lot of analysis or speculation to hit on the truth here. At least one of these 2 clubs appears to be a relatively young hurling club concentrated on underage development and looking at their webpage it appears that they have been making great strides. A new hurling club in an area that was exclusively football is going to meet with truculent opposition from some people in football who will not want it to be a success. I expect some of those football only people are on the county board or have influence with the county board."
You ae so right there. There are clubs in the west of my own county.one in a large town, and they will not let a hurler inside their grounds, and young people in these parishes , who want to play the game, are travelling miles to play with other clubs. Then you will see some of the officers of those clubs at any major hurling match the county is involved in and you could be mistaken for thinking that they acctually supported hurling at home.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4315 - 01/10/2018 09:26:47    2144529

Replying To yew_tree:  "JP has bought vital medial equipment for limerick hospitals...he basically cuts out the middle man. A great man he is. His taxes would be paying politicians or bailing out banks."
Or could be paying for medical equipment in castlebar or sligo hospitals etc or taxes for special needs schools etc. Everyone would gladly give money to various causes if the didn't have to pay tax.

ros1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1211 - 01/10/2018 18:48:22    2144647

JP has bought vital medial equipment for limerick hospitals...he basically cuts out the middle man. A great man he is. His taxes would be paying politicians or bailing out banks.
yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 9313 - 30/09/2018 15:23:54
If he paid full taxes for income here like anyone else his taxes would go towards hospital costs in Limerick and countrywide as well as all other areas of social care etc

DonaldDuck (Tipperary) - Posts: 544 - 01/10/2018 18:53:58    2144649

Replying To browncows:  "The German and French banks are now funding the nurses, teachers and gardai, however we the taxpayers have funded those same German and French banks over the last 8/9 years to stop them going into liquidation. I'm surprised that you are not aware of that, or do you not follow the news."
You clearly don't follow any news what so ever. Taxes that hard working people across this country are paying the teachers nurses and guards sporting funding etc. Unfortunately some of the taxes do go to paying the debt some of which was caused by the banks but most from the country spending beyond our means and a over reliance on property related taxes.

ros1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1211 - 01/10/2018 18:55:18    2144650

Replying To ROS1:  "Or could be paying for medical equipment in castlebar or sligo hospitals etc or taxes for special needs schools etc. Everyone would gladly give money to various causes if the didn't have to pay tax."
Would they really though, everyone, i think a lot of people would not?
So you would rather he paid his tax and it would disappear down the black hole to fund public sector pay increases, debt repayments etc. etc.
To me he always comes across as an extremely humble man who has been extremely successful in life and if he has the financial clout and expertise to dictate how he helps people\organisations i say fair play and thank you. I would trust him far more to put the money to good use

Fitzy01 (Limerick) - Posts: 384 - 04/10/2018 08:11:34    2145051