James Horan Is Back

It would be the stuff of fairytale endings if he comes back and lands Mayo the big one. I would love to see him and the players he developed winning an All-Ireland together.

Best of luck to him if he gets the job.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 20/09/2018 16:32:19    2142950

Replying To catch22:  "Timbuktu, what the blasted difference does that make ?"
No need for the aggressive replies. You seem to have a thorn in your side without mayo hence my question.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 20/09/2018 16:55:45    2142962

Replying To Unstoppable123:  "2 were nominated, i'm sure there were plenty of other interested parties.

Of course people would want the Mayo job, its still one of the top 5 jobs in football so to say no one was interested is just silly.

Realistically, potential managers dropped off the minute they realised the strong chance of Horan getting the job."
I never said nobody was interested just not all these mystery men that seem to have disappeared.
You saying "I'm sure plenty were interested " is just daft and based on what ? If they all dropped off that easily , well jays , they're probably no loss then are they , whoever they are.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 20/09/2018 17:30:50    2142969

Replying To yew_tree:  "No need for the aggressive replies. You seem to have a thorn in your side without mayo hence my question."
Ah here, are you sure you're not one of the Carnacon bunch ? Is it a bit unsafe here for you ?

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 20/09/2018 17:32:27    2142971

In terms of competing with the Dubs nobody else has come close over the last few years. A team does not become poor in one year. Age profiles does not win matches. Horan would be a good choice and better than anything from outside the county.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 20/09/2018 17:35:56    2142973

Replying To catch22:  "I never said nobody was interested just not all these mystery men that seem to have disappeared.
You saying "I'm sure plenty were interested " is just daft and based on what ? If they all dropped off that easily , well jays , they're probably no loss then are they , whoever they are."
Stephen Rochford, Peter Ford, Shane Conway to name three who were interested.

In fact any club manager in Mayo probably would have an interest.

We're talking about a county who has 46 provincial titles, has played in 48 All Ireland semi finals and has featured in 4 of the last 7 finals....So yeah, i'm sure plenty were interested in the Mayo job.

Unstoppable123 (UK) - Posts: 14 - 20/09/2018 17:39:54    2142974

Replying To browncows:  "In terms of competing with the Dubs nobody else has come close over the last few years. A team does not become poor in one year. Age profiles does not win matches. Horan would be a good choice and better than anything from outside the county."
I think "age profile" is a new fad that fans have latched onto. You need x amount of young players coming through, you need your age profile to be 26/27....no oldies etc etc...every player is different..true age waits for no man but experience counts and some players actually improve with age to a certain point.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 20/09/2018 17:44:33    2142976

Replying To browncows:  "In terms of competing with the Dubs nobody else has come close over the last few years. A team does not become poor in one year. Age profiles does not win matches. Horan would be a good choice and better than anything from outside the county."
Good point browncows.

To further highlight how little age matters, the fitness scores of the Mayo panel in all testing in 2017 were streets ahead of scores recorded in 2012-2015 (when the team supposedly peaked).

Unstoppable123 (UK) - Posts: 14 - 20/09/2018 17:45:45    2142979

Who cares how many candidates were "interested". The 2 best people for the job are nominated and that's all that matters.

MayoDan (Mayo) - Posts: 420 - 20/09/2018 18:44:12    2142992

Replying To catch22:  "I never said nobody was interested just not all these mystery men that seem to have disappeared.
You saying "I'm sure plenty were interested " is just daft and based on what ? If they all dropped off that easily , well jays , they're probably no loss then are they , whoever they are."
Jesus you are painful. Outside of Horan and Solan within the county the only realistic outsider who they potentially could have nabbed was Jack O Connor. There are not too many top managers floating around in case you hadn't noticed. Maybe you could enlighten us as to what credible name out there that could be approached?

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7902 - 20/09/2018 19:51:45    2143008

Moran would be a very good appointment and maybe slohan as his number 2 being groomed to be the next manager.
Best of luck Mayo, you were missed this year. No romance or excitement this year.

gahfan (Wexford) - Posts: 636 - 20/09/2018 22:02:04    2143040

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Jesus you are painful. Outside of Horan and Solan within the county the only realistic outsider who they potentially could have nabbed was Jack O Connor. There are not too many top managers floating around in case you hadn't noticed. Maybe you could enlighten us as to what credible name out there that could be approached?"
Ah never mind him, clearly by the amount of messages he has on this subject he is obsessed and has a serious chip on his shoulder against ye

Galwayjoe86 (Galway) - Posts: 258 - 20/09/2018 22:08:17    2143041

Replying To realdub:  "Dublin didn't look confident and it was Mayo who beat themselves you say, I say not. Both Dublin and Mayo were equally confident. Mayo scored the most that a beaten finalist has ever scored last year, I guess that means Dublin scored more, just about. So based on that, Dublin must have done something in the match.
Mayo were damn unlucky not to have beaten us at least once in those great games, and that's all it came down to really. That and the difference between Cillian O'Connor and Dean Rock."
Can't argue with your post realdub. It might have been misery for me at the end of all the games but by God they were some of the best All Ireland's played. Fantastic games by 2 great teams. We'll be back.

cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts: 454 - 20/09/2018 22:23:01    2143044

Good appointment if it comes to pass, always felt he left to soon in the lifecycle of this team.

Always played nice football.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 20/09/2018 22:25:53    2143045

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Yes I think Mayo are probably past their best with the current group. But that doesn't mean if they are a bit fresher next year they can't get back to a final.

This year was a poor year, and picking out the Kildare game and writing Mayo off for the next few years is daft. Tyrone got to a final via a soft route and that can't be argued. Securing the semi spot against an inexperienced Donegal team and then playing Monaghan in a semi final, with Mayo and Kerry already knocked out, it was a strange year.

By the way Tyrone should have been knocked out against Meath and probably would have been only for help from the referee. Tyrone getting to the final shows how weak the championship was this year. The final was largely a training session so I wouldn't have Tyrone as the best placed team to challenge Dublin."
Plenty of years Mayo got to the final using an easy route.

They were also nearly knocked out against weaker county's.

I seem to remember a ref giving a very dubious pen against Fermanagh.

Pot, Kettle Black?

I'm not saying Mayo aren't going to come back. But facts suggest it's going to be difficult. Aging team as you say, Galway dominate in your province, new manager in. Tom Parsons probably out.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 20/09/2018 22:35:49    2143048

Replying To cluichethar:  "Can't argue with your post realdub. It might have been misery for me at the end of all the games but by God they were some of the best All Ireland's played. Fantastic games by 2 great teams. We'll be back."
I do believe that and I wouldn't be surprised to see Mayo dethrone Galway in Connacht next year, Mayo didn't become a bad team suddenly despite the early exit.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 20/09/2018 22:38:25    2143051

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Plenty of years Mayo got to the final using an easy route.

They were also nearly knocked out against weaker county's.

I seem to remember a ref giving a very dubious pen against Fermanagh.

Pot, Kettle Black?

I'm not saying Mayo aren't going to come back. But facts suggest it's going to be difficult. Aging team as you say, Galway dominate in your province, new manager in. Tom Parsons probably out."
Yep and they still were able to raise their game for the big one and actually challenge Dublin. I didn't say Mayo never played weaker teams but this year was particularly weak with Mayo and Dublin off the boil. I would agree that Mayo need to win the province again and go the straight route but I still don't think Galway offer more than Mayo when it comes to Croker.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7902 - 21/09/2018 03:36:17    2143078

Replying To catch22:  "I wouldn't say anti Mayo, no but I'll say this, Kerry will win the All Ireland long before Mayo no matter who is managing them."
People would have once said the similar proclamations about Tyrone, Clare hurlers, Limerick hurlers, Galway hurlers, Donegal etc. etc.

Having a defeatist attitude is the surest route to failure when it comes to anything in life, football included.

Also, your posts are very grouchy when it comes to Mayo in particular, for whatever reason.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 21/09/2018 09:48:13    2143105

That should have said Mayo and Kerry off the boil.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7902 - 21/09/2018 10:06:48    2143113

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Jesus you are painful. Outside of Horan and Solan within the county the only realistic outsider who they potentially could have nabbed was Jack O Connor. There are not too many top managers floating around in case you hadn't noticed. Maybe you could enlighten us as to what credible name out there that could be approached?"
Sure Jack O Connor didn't want the bloody job. Kevin Mc Stay didn't want it either. Both experienced top managers. You basically had the two lads and that's the bottom line. Stop the oul scutter about all these fellas that were mad for the Mayo job. You say there not too many top managers out there , sure ye got rid of the one ye had.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 21/09/2018 10:16:34    2143118