Mc Stay Resigns!

Kevin McStay has resigned as Roscommon senior manager

manfromdelmonte (UK) - Posts: 541 - 05/09/2018 17:42:19    2139578

Finally get his dream of managing the Mayo seniors?

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 05/09/2018 17:51:15    2139584

Sounded out for the mayo job?

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1338 - 05/09/2018 17:59:58    2139587

Pushed more like. Be interesting to see if the Roscommon players get the same level of national abuse as Mayo did...

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 05/09/2018 18:02:59    2139589

I wonder is he crossing border to his neighbours in Mayo ....

OrielAbu (Monaghan) - Posts: 21 - 05/09/2018 18:08:38    2139590

Mayo here he comes!

Monaghan Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 442 - 05/09/2018 18:16:33    2139593

Or just retire it would seem.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 05/09/2018 18:17:58    2139595

Lads this is no surprise in the west. There were rumours a number of Roscommon players were not going to make themselves available next year if he reamined in charge. It is not the long ago their board and McStay himself said they were staying on.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 05/09/2018 18:21:50    2139598

Replying To yew_tree:  "Pushed more like. Be interesting to see if the Roscommon players get the same level of national abuse as Mayo did..."
Why do you think he was pushed out? Not the case what so ever. A number of players will be unavailable next year due to plans to travel. Probably realised we are only likely to go one way next year

Cuckoosinging (Roscommon) - Posts: 992 - 05/09/2018 18:41:08    2139602

Galway s remetgence in Connacht has scuttled any chance of any silverwere with Dublin monopolising the national scene. Nothing to play for?

handpassking (Galway) - Posts: 433 - 05/09/2018 19:32:13    2139619

Will not be involved with Mayo.
Retiring from inter county game.
Good luck to him.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 05/09/2018 19:54:02    2139628

Replying To handpassking:  "Galway s remetgence in Connacht has scuttled any chance of any silverwere with Dublin monopolising the national scene. Nothing to play for?"
How did ye get on in 2017?

manfromdelmonte (UK) - Posts: 541 - 05/09/2018 20:17:11    2139634

As long as he's not back in the RTE studio then I fully support his next move

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 05/09/2018 20:20:48    2139638

Replying To yew_tree:  "Pushed more like. Be interesting to see if the Roscommon players get the same level of national abuse as Mayo did..."
No, his hand is seriously reduced were our lot now 23 and 24 are deciding it's time to see a bit of the world instead of been lured by division 1 again and a super 8 designed to stop likes of us getting to a semi we might pull 1 shock in it but 2 would be huge odds, as ye are coming back to our level at a rate of knots up see the same yerselves.

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 05/09/2018 20:35:08    2139644

Maybe he will take the Mayo job if he is asked, the way the Mayo county board operate anything is possible as far as I see, I liked Mc Stay as a pundit, sure he made mistakes but who doesn't? thought he had a good read of the game,
not much odds now that he pushed an official and hopped a ball of him, it was funny looking back, though totally wrong.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2748 - 05/09/2018 21:58:58    2139674

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Maybe he will take the Mayo job if he is asked, the way the Mayo county board operate anything is possible as far as I see, I liked Mc Stay as a pundit, sure he made mistakes but who doesn't? thought he had a good read of the game,
not much odds now that he pushed an official and hopped a ball of him, it was funny looking back, though totally wrong."
Totally wrong too that the official was let anywhere near a Donegal game considering he basically lives in the county.

Cuckoosinging (Roscommon) - Posts: 992 - 05/09/2018 22:32:08    2139684

Replying To OhtobeARossie:  "No, his hand is seriously reduced were our lot now 23 and 24 are deciding it's time to see a bit of the world instead of been lured by division 1 again and a super 8 designed to stop likes of us getting to a semi we might pull 1 shock in it but 2 would be huge odds, as ye are coming back to our level at a rate of knots up see the same yerselves."
As long as I am following football I've never seen us at your level....our Connacht neighbors love predicting our downfall

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 05/09/2018 22:34:59    2139685

Ross and Mayo, never the twain will meet. As far as I remember, Maughan had similar treatment in Roscommon when he was there re his players. I don't remember the details, but they weren't long turning on him. McStay will most likely reflect on a successful couple of years as manager of Roscommon. Winning Connaught was about all he could realistically do. They will be playing division one football again next year. I would strongly fancy Horan for the Mayo job. McStay could be on the line though. Time will tell.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 05/09/2018 22:56:30    2139690

Fair play to him. Put his money where his mouth was. No B/S from him. Just wish Brolly would do the same. See how he fairs.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 05/09/2018 23:05:58    2139691

I wouldn't be commenting on other counties player fallouts yourself, the state of Mayo senior ladies and men's at the moment

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 05/09/2018 23:13:55    2139693