Tyrone Boycott Of RTE

Agree totally with Mickey Harte and Tyrone stance here

Moscow (Monaghan) - Posts: 61 - 20/08/2018 17:23:52    2134930

Replying To seanie_boy:  "Sure it's not gonna affect your life so don't worry about it. It's surprising to see how many people from other counties that are bothered by Mickey not speaking to rte. Many of them don't really know the reason why,and for those who do know you'd wonder if they'd feel the same if it was them that lost their daughter and then had her memory sleighted in this very crass manner. You all need to stop worrying about how Tyrone GAA conduct their own affairs. Worry about your own county's and you'll be worrying plenty."
I'm sure Mickey suffers everyday thinking of his daughter. I'm sure Mickey also knows what it's like to inadvertently make a mistake and insult victims - like his character reference for Ronan McCusker. It's a pity we can't move on but we'll leave it there and look forward to the final.

artisan (Down) - Posts: 1794 - 20/08/2018 17:29:44    2134936

And thanks to all the posters on here who have come out and said they agree with Mickey on this singular issue. Maybe some of you don't even particularly like the man or his football philosophy but at least you acknowledge that in regard to this issue he has a legitimate reason for not wanting to talk to rte.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 20/08/2018 17:31:17    2134937

Replying To artisan:  "I'm sure Mickey suffers everyday thinking of his daughter. I'm sure Mickey also knows what it's like to inadvertently make a mistake and insult victims - like his character reference for Ronan McCusker. It's a pity we can't move on but we'll leave it there and look forward to the final."
Well I'm not goin down the other road you've just pointed to so fair enough.You'll also remember that Mickey stood up when the Hackett and Kerr families needed support so his heart is in the right place in my book and so I believe he means well. No harm in agreeing to disagree though, so fair enough let's just look forward to a good final.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 20/08/2018 17:52:28    2134954

It feels even inappropriate that this is even a debate.

Nothing in life could ever be worse then the pain of the loss of a child.

To have it mocked on national radio is just disgusting and subhuman.

If other counties and the GAA had anything about them they would have backed Micky too in this stance and forced RTE to some kind of end that could bring the Harte family some sense of justice for what they did.

The whole thing just disgusts me.

It goes without saying he is totally justified and fair play to Tyrone County Board and players staff etc for backing him.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 20/08/2018 17:56:18    2134957

100% behind Mickey Harte on this one. How the man is still standing after what happened to his beautiful daughter I will never know. RTE don't have a right to anything. Watch them scramble if Tyrone win on the 2nd.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 20/08/2018 17:59:39    2134959

Replying To TheUsername:  "It feels even inappropriate that this is even a debate.

If other counties and the GAA had anything about them they would have backed Micky too in this stance and forced RTE to some kind of end that could bring the Harte family some sense of justice for what they did.

It goes without saying he is totally justified and fair play to Tyrone County Board and players staff etc for backing him."
Well said.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 20/08/2018 18:03:19    2134961

It's a pity , it's understandable, it's irrelevant, I enjoy the build up to a big game and without some of the key players it casts a shadow, won't matter a jot when the ball is thrown in

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 20/08/2018 18:17:24    2134965

I dont mind either way, personally if that was my daughter I'd take the same stance as Mickey so I will support him unquestionably, as for the team and the county board, its ultimately their call and they should be allowed to do so without any come back. Ultimately I would rather that there were no distractions between now and AI final day as the task ahead is already daunting enough.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 20/08/2018 18:23:38    2134968

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "I think every county in Ulster should boycott RTE."
Then the GAA should remind them that they have a contract with RTE and if they are unwilling to play their part, they will be disciplined and have central funding reduced. RTE should refuse to show their games while they are in breach of contract which will have a big impact on sponsorship, shirts etc. who depend on the free advertising the get on TV.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2478 - 20/08/2018 18:25:31    2134970

Replying To TheUsername:  "It feels even inappropriate that this is even a debate.

It goes without saying he is totally justified and fair play to Tyrone County Board and players staff etc for backing him."
Spare me the melodramatics. RTE withdrew the programme and apologised.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2478 - 20/08/2018 18:28:57    2134972

Mickey's dead right, what RTE did was disgusting and how someone allowed this to be aired was unbelievable. Mickey should allow RTE to speak to others etc and be there in a fortnight however.. although I'd say the players are all standing in behind him which is fair enough. RTE should make a proper apology before the beginning of next season.

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 20/08/2018 18:51:00    2134985

I do not like Tyrone at all ;-) but this is an amateur game played by amateurs outside of dublin anyway. So speaking to any press who make money off the Gaa players backs is at the players discretion and for rte to even give a statement about Tyrone not speaking to them is pathetic and arrogant on their side. I hope that Tyrone win if only to see Tyrone Lock the doors of the hotel to rte

ulsterrules (Donegal) - Posts: 259 - 20/08/2018 19:30:34    2134992

Replying To TearsIn85:  "Isn't it?

From reading up on this today, the sequence of events seems to have been;

* Mickey Harte and several others wrote a 'private and confidential' letter to RTE management calling for some change regarding a commentator
* The letter was leaked (Harte & associates adamant not by them, RTE adamant not by them either)
* John Murray included a very bad taste sketch on his radio programme reacting to the letter contents & leak
* Mickey Harte took umbridge (rightly) to the tone and content of the sketch
* John Murray called Harte directly to apologise
* Harte stopped speaking to RTE

So, in reality, the root cause was the letter (and leaking of same) but the key indescrition seems to have beenthe sketch.

Open to correction here but the above is what I found when actively looking into this today."
Your correct. Basis is Harte getting annoyed over the letter being leaked , the unfunny sketch with an extremely poor choice of music being portrayed as some some purposefull jibe at mickey hartes family is well overstated.

ctowers (Dublin) - Posts: 99 - 20/08/2018 19:53:34    2134997

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "Spare me the melodramatics. RTE withdrew the programme and apologised."
*Is there anything Miriam O Callaghan isn't on.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 20/08/2018 19:54:29    2134998

Replying To seanie_boy:  "Well said."
Have any of yous actually listened to the sketch. Its about harte meeting the dalai lama . The only reason any notion of his daughter comes up is because of the poor choice of music used. Its unfunny and the music insensitive but certainly not set out to mock him family.

ctowers (Dublin) - Posts: 99 - 20/08/2018 20:11:52    2135001

Replying To ctowers:  "Your correct. Basis is Harte getting annoyed over the letter being leaked , the unfunny sketch with an extremely poor choice of music being portrayed as some some purposefull jibe at mickey hartes family is well overstated."
Is it even possible to overstate the how
offensive that sketch was?

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 20/08/2018 20:30:00    2135004

Don't recall Tyrone fans been consulted in this decision.

tireoghainabu (Tyrone) - Posts: 276 - 20/08/2018 20:38:41    2135006

Replying To ctowers:  "Have any of yous actually listened to the sketch. Its about harte meeting the dalai lama . The only reason any notion of his daughter comes up is because of the poor choice of music used. Its unfunny and the music insensitive but certainly not set out to mock him family."
How is playing that piece of music, knowing how insensitive, not mocking the Harte family?

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7359 - 20/08/2018 21:19:20    2135014

Replying To ctowers:  "Have any of yous actually listened to the sketch. Its about harte meeting the dalai lama . The only reason any notion of his daughter comes up is because of the poor choice of music used. Its unfunny and the music insensitive but certainly not set out to mock him family."
Yes that's right it's about Mickey and John Mc Areavy going to listen to the Dalai Lama talk about the idea of forgiveness. If anybody needs to be told that
it would have anythingto do with these 2 men mourning the loss of their daughter,and wife,who had been murdered then they know nothing about the situation anyway. That the whole sorry skit ended with these guys playing "Pretty Little Girl From Omagh" says they had indeed intended to be offensive. I mean its hard to find another way to interpret their intentions.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 20/08/2018 21:21:24    2135018