Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "I think every county in Ulster should boycott RTE."
100%.

RTE a bunch of partitionists!

sam09 (Tyrone) - Posts: 339 - 20/08/2018 14:19:52    2134809

Feck RTÉ right in the ear

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 20/08/2018 14:19:55    2134810

Replying To tearintom:  "It was a wee bit more than that.

It was as result of the John Murray show doing a comedy sketch about Harte going to see the Dali Lama after his daughters murder which included using the song "the pretty little girl from Omagh"

RTE apologised and removed the sketch immediatley.

I dont blame Tyrone or Mickey Harte one bit and Harte annoys me to be honest but i think hes dead right.

The sketch was just months after his daughters death and Harte had let it be known he was going there to listen to the Dali Lama's teachings on forgiveness etc."
Just a small but important correction here. RTE never apologised. They "regretted any offence caused" but did not apologise. I think if they had then this wod be over long ago.

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1422 - 20/08/2018 14:22:06    2134811

Replying To sam09:  "100%.

RTE a bunch of partitionists!"
Correct, RTE free state w###ers, we are forced to pay a licence fee here in the 'free' state to support these muppets.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2756 - 20/08/2018 14:29:57    2134814

All counties should boycott RTE (Hurling snobs). The drivel that is put out by them on TV and radio week after week is infuriating! No proper analysis is ever done as it is just sound bites and cringe TV from the likes of Des Cahill and Michael Lyster. The egos in the GAA side of that station is out of control! Des Cahill is even bringing out a book about himself so that tells you all you need to know!

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 935 - 20/08/2018 14:29:59    2134815

Replying To tearintom:  "It was a wee bit more than that.

It was as result of the John Murray show doing a comedy sketch about Harte going to see the Dali Lama after his daughters murder which included using the song "the pretty little girl from Omagh"

RTE apologised and removed the sketch immediatley.

I dont blame Tyrone or Mickey Harte one bit and Harte annoys me to be honest but i think hes dead right.

The sketch was just months after his daughters death and Harte had let it be known he was going there to listen to the Dali Lama's teachings on forgiveness etc."
i somehow never knew about this. that's changes matters totally. mickey hartes right then imo.

NaomhNaille (Donegal) - Posts: 124 - 20/08/2018 14:32:51    2134817

Replying To HighStoolBandit:  "Typical of a Meath man. No back bone. This is one thing I agree with Harte on. RTE have constantly run Tyrone down over a number of years. I hope Tyrone win just to wipe the sly smirks of the D4 faces. Up Tyrone."
Lot of Tyrone players missing back bones and other bones too judging by how quickly they flop to the ground of late, catch yourself on.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 20/08/2018 14:37:01    2134822

People moan about SKy but Sky have the full Hurling match repeated this morning at 1130 AM build up etc. No fear RTE will show anymore GAA than they have to.
The Irish(?) Independent is the real media outlet that gaels should swerve though, nothing but negativity towards the GAA.

OpenStand (Limerick) - Posts: 677 - 20/08/2018 14:46:54    2134828

If RTE was well run they would have replaced any commentator who is below professional standards,

Otherwise who wants to hear The Tyrone crowd been interviewed anyway.

Ashrules (Dublin) - Posts: 518 - 20/08/2018 14:49:10    2134829

I think Harte and Tyrone are right in this instance. RTE crossed a line with the 'pretty little girl from Omagh' jibe, that is unacceptable and disgusting behaviour.

One of the Tyrone posters made a good too about their style of football being taking to task for years by the likes of Pat Spillane. The funny thing is a lot of counties are playing a similar brand of football to it now.

As for 'Up for the match' what will me miss, Des Cahill, asking an ex-Tyrone player whether he thinks they will beat the Dubs, he will say yes and there will be a big roar from the Tyrone fans in the audience. He will ask Jimmy Keaveney whether he thinks Dublin will win, he will say yes and funnily enough, the Dublin fans in the audience will cheer approvingly...

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 20/08/2018 14:49:51    2134830

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Correct, RTE free state w###ers, we are forced to pay a licence fee here in the 'free' state to support these muppets."
Well now....tell us how you really feel!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 20/08/2018 14:51:35    2134832

The John Murray sketch was in very poor taste and I can't blame MH for taking the hump at the time. However RTE did apologize and it is quite a while ago, so probably time to move on. To be honest I wouldn't miss the interviews in the build up as they are a load of rubbish anyway but the after match celebration with the players in the hotel is always great.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1876 - 20/08/2018 14:57:32    2134836

Replying To Dergforeeva:  "Get your facts right. That's not why it started"
Isn't it?

From reading up on this today, the sequence of events seems to have been;

* Mickey Harte and several others wrote a 'private and confidential' letter to RTE management calling for some change regarding a commentator
* The letter was leaked (Harte & associates adamant not by them, RTE adamant not by them either)
* John Murray included a very bad taste sketch on his radio programme reacting to the letter contents & leak
* Mickey Harte took umbridge (rightly) to the tone and content of the sketch
* John Murray called Harte directly to apologise
* Harte stopped speaking to RTE

So, in reality, the root cause was the letter (and leaking of same) but the key indescrition seems to have beenthe sketch.

Open to correction here but the above is what I found when actively looking into this today.

TearsIn85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 194 - 20/08/2018 15:20:58    2134858

RTE have apologised and it would seem to me that Tyrone really need to build a bridge and move on. When will this end ? At what point does the boycott stop ? How many times can RTE apologise ?

artisan (Down) - Posts: 1794 - 20/08/2018 16:14:12    2134899

Replying To TearsIn85:  "Isn't it?

* Mickey Harte and several others wrote a 'private and confidential' letter to RTE management calling for some change regarding a commentator
* The letter was leaked (Harte & associates adamant not by them, RTE adamant not by them either)
* John Murray included a very bad taste sketch on his radio programme reacting to the letter contents & leak

So, in reality, the root cause was the letter (and leaking of same) but the key indescrition seems to have beenthe sketch.

Open to correction here but the above is what I found when actively looking into this today."
Mickey took exception to the unfunny sketch and rightfully so and then stopped speaking to RTE, who apparently never apologied to him! The leaked letter wasn't an issue until the unfunny sketch surfaced, but it's being used as another stick to beat Mickey with. He's a 100% correct in what he's doing and we in Tyrone will back him to the hilt! I would except that the leaked letter may well have left relationships with RTE frosty so to speak but the sketch put the tin hat on it so to speak

Dergforeeva (Tyrone) - Posts: 90 - 20/08/2018 16:14:37    2134900

Replying To TearsIn85:  "Isn't it?

Open to correction here but the above is what I found when actively looking into this today."
The correspondence between Mickey and rte about the commentator is irrelevant. It was how they treated him by making a mockery of his attempts to find peace after the murder of his daughter that is the sore point. That's why Tyrone people and many others all over the country stand behind him on this issue.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 20/08/2018 16:17:30    2134902

Replying To benjyyy:  "Just a small but important correction here. RTE never apologised. They "regretted any offence caused" but did not apologise. I think if they had then this wod be over long ago."
Exactly. I said that in an earlier post. Might have taken the string out of it. Poor form from RTE

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 20/08/2018 16:18:46    2134903

Replying To Green_Gold:  "The John Murray sketch was in very poor taste and I can't blame MH for taking the hump at the time. However RTE did apologize and it is quite a while ago, so probably time to move on. To be honest I wouldn't miss the interviews in the build up as they are a load of rubbish anyway but the after match celebration with the players in the hotel is always great."
They didn't apologise though. See above post from your countyman Benjyyy.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 20/08/2018 16:23:14    2134905

I agree 100% with Mickey Harte and Tyrone on this.

croker16 (Louth) - Posts: 349 - 20/08/2018 16:39:39    2134911

Replying To artisan:  "RTE have apologised and it would seem to me that Tyrone really need to build a bridge and move on. When will this end ? At what point does the boycott stop ? How many times can RTE apologise ?"
Sure it's not gonna affect your life so don't worry about it. It's surprising to see how many people from other counties that are bothered by Mickey not speaking to rte. Many of them don't really know the reason why,and for those who do know you'd wonder if they'd feel the same if it was them that lost their daughter and then had her memory sleighted in this very crass manner. You all need to stop worrying about how Tyrone GAA conduct their own affairs. Worry about your own county's and you'll be worrying plenty.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 20/08/2018 17:22:06    2134927