The Last Time Monaghan Played In A AI Football Final

Replying To 222:  "Statement was made if they make the final, of course it is 50-50

For such a small county, this is glorious times for Monaghan. It's a fairytale considering the small
Numbers they have.

A lot of other counties need to take note
Meath
Cavan
Louth
Just 3 that could be doing better giving there size"
Glory comes with silverware. Fairytale stuff would be getting to the final. No prizes for getting to a semi!!! Just the small matter of getting over Mickey Harte's ever improving Tyrone side. We have a chance but no place for mistake!!

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 09/08/2018 11:20:12    2131162

Replying To WanPintWin:  "Yes, but in 1980 when Roscommon played in thier last final, the county's population was less than 61,000.
According to the 1981 census, the population was 54,000 at the time.
So Monaghan would be the smallest county since then, if they were to reach the final."
I would imagine roscommon and monaghan would have roughly the same population when you factor in ballaghaderreen which would be the fourth biggest county in roscommon playing in mayo.

ros1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1211 - 09/08/2018 11:25:01    2131164

Replying To WanPintWin:  "Yes, but in 1980 when Roscommon played in thier last final, the county's population was less than 61,000.
According to the 1981 census, the population was 54,000 at the time.
So Monaghan would be the smallest county since then, if they were to reach the final."
How ya....still here as promised

DragHimDown (Monaghan) - Posts: 73 - 09/08/2018 12:05:16    2131176

Replying To DragHimDown:  "How ya....still here as promised"
Good to hear from you. I was worried you mightn't have gotten out of Salthill safely given the supposed antics of our team. I hope they weren't cynically pulling or dragging any of the Monaghan supporters on the pitch after game.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2042 - 09/08/2018 16:26:54    2131267

Monaghan should have reached the final in 1985 but they let Kerry off the ropes to win in a reply. In saying that Tyrone done just about the the same thing against Kerry the next year in the final.

Byanthon (Tyrone) - Posts: 1780 - 09/08/2018 16:54:09    2131278

Replying To WanPintWin:  "Good to hear from you. I was worried you mightn't have gotten out of Salthill safely given the supposed antics of our team. I hope they weren't cynically pulling or dragging any of the Monaghan supporters on the pitch after game."
Got out safe enough thank god but Suppose I was lucky enough that the Monaghan team had the Galway lads safely in their back pockets at that stage.

DragHimDown (Monaghan) - Posts: 73 - 09/08/2018 18:27:01    2131303

Replying To DragHimDown:  "Got out safe enough thank god but Suppose I was lucky enough that the Monaghan team had the Galway lads safely in their back pockets at that stage."
They were well able for our lads alright. It seems we've a lot to learn yet. We'll need to move on to volume 2 of the Dark Arts book, as the Monagahan lads are clearly too well versed.
We'll hopefully get a chance to show ye any improvements in the final.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2042 - 09/08/2018 18:54:26    2131308

Replying To Byanthon:  "Monaghan should have reached the final in 1985 but they let Kerry off the ropes to win in a reply. In saying that Tyrone done just about the the same thing against Kerry the next year in the final."
Monaghan let it slip Tyrone did not no game
is won in the first half Kerry took them apart
in the second half Kerry won by 8 points pulling
up simply Tyrone were not good enough

wfkerry (USA) - Posts: 933 - 09/08/2018 20:54:05    2131337

Replying To WanPintWin:  "They were well able for our lads alright. It seems we've a lot to learn yet. We'll need to move on to volume 2 of the Dark Arts book, as the Monagahan lads are clearly too well versed.
We'll hopefully get a chance to show ye any improvements in the final."
Be great if we can continue a bit of a barny on Sunday evening. Best of luck Saturday

DragHimDown (Monaghan) - Posts: 73 - 09/08/2018 21:49:23    2131349

There's the small matter of sorting out Tyrone on Sunday before monaghan reach an AI final.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 09/08/2018 22:27:02    2131370

Replying To 222:  "Statement was made if they make the final, of course it is 50-50

For such a small county, this is glorious times for Monaghan. It's a fairytale considering the small
Numbers they have.

A lot of other counties need to take note
Meath
Cavan
Louth
Just 3 that could be doing better giving there size"
Cavan has a population of 76,000 according to 2116 Census so it's one of the smaller counties and incorrect to bracket it with Louth and Meath.

Shelbourne (Monaghan) - Posts: 567 - 09/08/2018 23:37:08    2131400

Replying To Greengrass:  "Ah here !!!! Semantics !!! What was the population of Ireland in 1980 ? What percentage of the people of Ireland in 1980 were from Roscommon ? What is the population of Ireland today ? What percentage of the people of Ireland today are from Monaghan ?"
Spot on !

Shelbourne (Monaghan) - Posts: 567 - 09/08/2018 23:39:50    2131401