Hate Mail

None of us are saints , many a word said in anger etc but to in a cold calculating manner put together a piece of garbage , buy stamp and post it that's a sick feck3r ,some people have such a sense of entitlement and when something is not going there way this is how they react , but let's not pretend it's not allways been this way , social media is the match to the flame but read any decent autobiography on sport and there's hundreds of examples people never change

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 08/08/2018 18:13:49    2130942

Back when our footballers were winning all irelands one of the county lads after a club game struck a ref . I mean a proper wallop ,I saw it as I left the stadium. The ref obviously reported it but he received so much hate mail that he withdrew the claim

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 08/08/2018 18:23:44    2130945

Unfortunately hate mail is very old. Seamus Aldridge, Kildare, received it from a small section of Dublin 'supporters' for years after awarding the infamous free to Mike Sheehy in 1978.

A small minority in all counties who are either mentally ill (which is regrettable) or probably more often very bitter people. Heat of the moment ranting at games is one thing but cold calculated bullying and intimidation is nasty.

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 08/08/2018 18:38:06    2130955

The majority doing it have some sort of mental health issues. Online fake profiles posting some vile stuff, not just to GAA or other sports people. The first thing they want is a reaction. Like with any bullies, as difficult as it is, the best thing to do is ignore them.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7335 - 08/08/2018 18:50:34    2130960

I'm not well up on this social media stuff, personal abuse of players, managers and officials is not on, we can see how things are deteriorating with the physical attacks this year by high profile players and managers on officials, the whole thing is a slippery slope, these muppets see this carry on from high profile people and it encourages them in their own stupid attempts to annoy and abuse people.

I don't mind a hard game of football, years ago fellas would hit each other a few skelps and battle for the whole game, but when it was over they shook hands and that was it, leave it on the field, these gutter snipes who are dragging the sport down need to be weeded out, diving, tactics from the side line to delay the game, water carriers acting the maggot, extra footballs being kicked on the field to delay the game, trying to put free takers off, throwing things at them even, etc etc
this is all symptomatic of where society is going, there isn't much manners or manliness about anymore.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2739 - 08/08/2018 19:10:56    2130964

Replying To Damothedub:  "None of us are saints , many a word said in anger etc but to in a cold calculating manner put together a piece of garbage , buy stamp and post it that's a sick feck3r ,some people have such a sense of entitlement and when something is not going there way this is how they react , but let's not pretend it's not allways been this way , social media is the match to the flame but read any decent autobiography on sport and there's hundreds of examples people never change"
What's the difference with someone coming up to a player or ref when they are out with their family? That happens.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 08/08/2018 19:51:00    2130982

Replying To galwayfball:  "Back when our footballers were winning all irelands one of the county lads after a club game struck a ref . I mean a proper wallop ,I saw it as I left the stadium. The ref obviously reported it but he received so much hate mail that he withdrew the claim"
That made the RTE news, which in 1999 and pre social media was the height of exposure.

Had that happened 10 years later it would have been a right circus.

streaker (Galway) - Posts: 497 - 08/08/2018 21:45:04    2131023

Replying To The_Fridge:  "What's the difference with someone coming up to a player or ref when they are out with their family? That happens."
Totally agree, it's about respect a word bandied about but a value none the less , but I'd imagine you'd find it easier to face your so called accuser face to face ,the word is mightier than the sword , id say some of what's been posted is pretty twisted

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 08/08/2018 22:18:52    2131047

Replying To WanPintWin:  "Eh no. The people who send hate mail are seriously twisted individuals who either need help or possibly need to be locked up, depending on how unhinged they are. It's an absolutely sick, bizarre and cowardly thing to do.
It's an incredible stretch to say that people on this forum who give out about referees players or the opposition are those sending hate mail. It's actually a very strange thing to say and completely unfounded.
When you say abuse, I haven't seen much on this forum which would constitute abuse. I'm hoping that anything which would, is moderated as needed.
Someone saying they thought a ref was very poor or even appeared to be biased isn't abuse. It's an opinion which may be completely wrong, but to equate the actions of the lowlifes who send hate mail is bizarre in itself."
I would agree with you on that and add that posters should be careful about naming players or any individual and then proceeding to criticise them on a forum- one should always consider how they would feel if the said person was closely related. Equally guys posting about average players, average managers as brilliant sometimes encourage a reaction.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 08/08/2018 22:44:45    2131066

Part of the problem is this section of the GAA that says whats on the pitch stays on the pitch, or in this case say nothing and bear it. We have all these measures around mental health and yet violence on the pitch goes unchecked (some people need help or just to be arrested). So why would an organisation that seems incapable of controlling physical violence be any more adept at dealing with this type of thing? The laws are there, people need to contacted the police if they get this stuff and similarly an assault on the pitch is an assault.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4895 - 09/08/2018 09:35:11    2131122

Fair play to Fitzmaurice for raising this issue. Jeff Lynskey is the latest to highlight it as manager of the Galway minor hurlers and he is really successful. Cyril Farrell gave him good advice when he took on the role by warning him that he is "public property" as an inter county manager.

I wonder do Jim Gavin and Cody get abuse too from 'fans'. You'd imagine that they do because you can't please everyone.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 09/08/2018 14:12:12    2131221

He is a great guy and someone I have much respect for. Raising this issue makes him even more likeable. To stand up for your players like this is what sport is all about and I hope he shows the way for other county managers to follow suit. Good luck to the man on his retirement or new career I should say.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 09/08/2018 15:45:59    2131260

Replying To Offside_Rule:  "Anyone who goes out of their way to write a hate mail letter to some person they don't know beyond probably seeing them on telly has serious issues and needs psychological help. Same with those who think twitter or facebook give them a divine right to say what they want about whoever. Or Americans who think the right to free speech means you can be abusive or whatever to people. Oh and lets not forget those Loose Women and their ilk though in fairness that is a different type of hate male we are seeing."
Yeh those Americans are a disgrace! Right?

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 09/08/2018 16:30:26    2131270

It's totally wrong and disgraceful behaviour to ever abuse managers or referees or players in this very personal manner. If the perpetrators were ever known they should be reported to the police if only to have it on record about the individual involved.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 09/08/2018 16:33:48    2131272

It's hard to believe people would take the time out of their day to write hate mail, I mean I don't even know where to buy stamps anymore!

white.n.blue (Monaghan) - Posts: 249 - 09/08/2018 20:34:48    2131329

Replying To GreenandRed:  "The majority doing it have some sort of mental health issues. Online fake profiles posting some vile stuff, not just to GAA or other sports people. The first thing they want is a reaction. Like with any bullies, as difficult as it is, the best thing to do is ignore them."
Disagree entirely. The majority do NOT have mental health issues -- they are just nasty people. The majority of people who have mental health problems (I know something about this) are actually gentle and good natured people and it is very unfair on people who actually suffer from genuine mental illness to have bad behaviour associated with them in the public mind. It feeds into the stereotype. We like to console ourselves that when people do bad things, whether it is murder or something less grievous but obnoxious. such as this, that it is because they have a mental illness but most of the time this is not true.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1902 - 09/08/2018 21:49:34    2131350