Another Ref Pushed

Replying To ballydalane:  "Saw the incident briefly on TSG, I presume the Kildare player said something to him because he just snapped, but he's going to have to learn to react better to "sledging", especially now as every match he plays for the rest of his life he's going to be "targeted" to try get a reaction out of him (and that's his own fault).

The push on the ref was beyond brainless. I only saw one push though, when was the first push?"
There was a first push - not on the tv coverage but the commentators react to it as does the Mayo manager by throwing his hands to his head. Then he throated the Kildare lad before pushing him again.

The refs report will detail both I'm sure.

bigfrankt (Monaghan) - Posts: 123 - 06/08/2018 12:22:58    2129942

Most people seem to talk about how unacceptable the push on the referee was. Would I be in the minority that think what he did to the Kildare player was worse?

The public slating on social media is so wrong but I believe he should get the punishment his actions deserve through the proper channels.

I read people on other platforms coming out with the " He's only a young fella. Has none of you ever made a mistake in life? " type comments. Of course most of us have but I say very few of us went to these levels either on or off a pitch.

Faith should be placed in the discipline committee and perhaps the saddest thing is that only a few seem to be talking about the achievements of the Kildare team. The praise for them has been taken off their victory somewhat.

kingpuck71 (Derry) - Posts: 690 - 06/08/2018 12:26:01    2129945

Replying To ballydalane:  "Saw the incident briefly on TSG, I presume the Kildare player said something to him because he just snapped, but he's going to have to learn to react better to "sledging", especially now as every match he plays for the rest of his life he's going to be "targeted" to try get a reaction out of him (and that's his own fault).

The push on the ref was beyond brainless. I only saw one push though, when was the first push?"
Why would you "presume" the Kildare player said something? There's only one guy at fault here and that's the young Mayo lad. He completely snapped and now will have to take the consequences". Maybe you presume " the ref said something too??

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 06/08/2018 12:27:49    2129946

Hope he get a minimum suspension, im sure he regrets it and the lad is only a kid really.

May we all be prefect.

Im really not a fan of this rule or rather its application and the subsequent witch hunts.

People make mistakes move on.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 06/08/2018 12:29:13    2129947

I expect it will be a year long ban. All other incidents in recemt times have been "minor" interference with an official. This will surely fall into major interference due to him having two goes at it and the aggression in it.

Cuckoosinging (Roscommon) - Posts: 992 - 06/08/2018 12:36:07    2129951

It will be 48 weeks. Can't be anything else or set a very dangerous preceedent

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 06/08/2018 12:39:37    2129958

What did he do to merit the red card? You don't see it on camera you just see the manager and a mayo fan behind him holding their hands in their face at what he's done, he's young he'll get his suspension and do his time and the kids of Ireland will be fine.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 06/08/2018 13:14:51    2129983

Replying To Cuckoosinging:  "I expect it will be a year long ban. All other incidents in recemt times have been "minor" interference with an official. This will surely fall into major interference due to him having two goes at it and the aggression in it."
Not necessarily sure didn't McStay njabe two goea himself and escaped with a minor interference ban?

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 06/08/2018 13:24:15    2129989

Three things happened a bit of grappling between two players going for the ball , decision went against him that seemed to unhinge the lad litterally, he gripped the throat of the Kildare lad in a way not seen for quite a while , at this stage it's obvious he's not in control of himself he finishes it off with the push on the ref again , my thoughts when I saw it were Jesus he's fine for a year , I think the lad needs time away from the game get his head sorted so a suspension not the worst thing , there's a line that can't be crossed the lad simply pole vaulted over the line . Big congrats to Kildare excellent display

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 06/08/2018 13:28:48    2129994

I've some sympathy for the player in that he's grown up in a sporting culture that blames the referee for everything in a match that goes against them.

After every game there's constant talk about the couple of contentious and difficult decisions the ref may have gotten wrong.

The quicker people grow up and realise that in every game they ever play the referee will make some errors for you and against you the better we'll all be and incidents like these won't happen.

In saying that he needs to accept his punishment, learn and move on.

Just like the Connolly and McStay incidents, there is no place in any sport for disrespect towards the officials in anyway.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13717 - 06/08/2018 13:40:26    2130002

I have a bad feeling that nothing will done by the GAA on this, at least if they take a leaf from the broadcast media's book. TG4 didn't show the incident at all after the match and on TSG, Cavanagh didn't actually say the lad should be punished for it and Spillane of all people made no comment whatsoever. Hopefully, whatever the punishment or possible lack of punishment, the lad can keep his cool in future games when some opposing teams and some opposing fans will inevitably target him.

eoghan6688 (Galway) - Posts: 154 - 06/08/2018 14:07:20    2130024

A lengthy ban for Jordan no doubt about it. No excuses. Online Abuse of the player is not on though...people talk about mental health and then use social media to run a person down.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 06/08/2018 14:34:10    2130036

Replying To jonno:  "Well one way to improve referees would be to create a code around Bias. It's what is horrible at every level of refereeing in GAA. At all levels. What's a free for one team is so often not a free for the other, and I'm not talking inconsistencies I'm saying bias referees are a curse. Respect is earned not demanded. Kieran Donaghy got away with a backlash because of who he is and the team he plays for, Daniel Flynn got a red card because of a bias not afforded to a lesser county. That's bias, the GAA are ignorant to it and it gets worse all the time. Referees should have a code against favoritism and double standards but that'd looking inward for problems. Let's call it inconsistency and forgo the cause."
Flynn got red card for a strike end off . and this is a different topic if a ref gets it wrong he should not be assaulted end off . your post is ludicrous

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 06/08/2018 14:37:02    2130037

Replying To Spoddgy:  "Disappointing day today half the result and half young Flynn's action I'm sure he is disappointed with himself and no doubt he will face a substantial ban which is warranted. I'm sad to see the keyboard warriors are attacking the lad on social media which is the norm theses days, as we saw with diarmuid Connolly last year and the same type of vytriol aim at both. I'm sad to see people suggest that he is never selected again as was suggested in Connolly's case. We can all ask what caused this red mist? We all know what's happening in football these days and the level of sportsmanship. The game is played with a lot more sh*thousery than hurling and has become in truth excepted on the football field. I hope the lad does learn from this and if he is good enough to play for mayo again that he is not blackballed from being selected. On another note well done to Kildare I'm sure ye lads are well pleased 53 years for any sort of an all Ireland is too long. A wait congrats!"
You can't condone that behaviour. everyone gets upset but attacking an official is over stepping the mark .

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 06/08/2018 14:40:42    2130039

What's a little more disturbing about this incident is the fact that there was little or no commentary about how Jordan Flynn quite vigorously held both his hands around the Kildare players neck. Sorry but that was dispicable. I actually think that was the worst thing about it never mind the pushing of an official which for me paled into significance to grabbing another player by the throat. Mayo are a great sporting county so very unlike a player to lose it in this way.

Kildare30 (Kildare) - Posts: 603 - 06/08/2018 15:17:25    2130055

Replying To Kildare30:  "What's a little more disturbing about this incident is the fact that there was little or no commentary about how Jordan Flynn quite vigorously held both his hands around the Kildare players neck. Sorry but that was dispicable. I actually think that was the worst thing about it never mind the pushing of an official which for me paled into significance to grabbing another player by the throat. Mayo are a great sporting county so very unlike a player to lose it in this way."
Mayo a very sporting county...?? They have crossed the line (like others including Dublin) on many an occasion...

Keegan throws a GPS towards a player about to take a free and no retrospective punishment

Andy Moran pushes an official. No punishment.

McStay (Mayo man) pushes an official and then throws a ball at him.... only 3 months

Fan coming onto the pitch after the Kerry game a few years ago to get at the referee.

And now this....

They are no angels, however nice they are perceived to be....

Certain counties and players have a bad rep and always seem to be punished more severely than others.

The GAA and their disciplinary processes are not at all consistent - and this needs to be addressed.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3735 - 06/08/2018 15:39:26    2130062

Replying To Fionn:  "Mayo a very sporting county...?? They have crossed the line (like others including Dublin) on many an occasion...

Keegan throws a GPS towards a player about to take a free and no retrospective punishment

Andy Moran pushes an official. No punishment.

McStay (Mayo man) pushes an official and then throws a ball at him.... only 3 months

Fan coming onto the pitch after the Kerry game a few years ago to get at the referee.

And now this....

They are no angels, however nice they are perceived to be....

Certain counties and players have a bad rep and always seem to be punished more severely than others.

The GAA and their disciplinary processes are not at all consistent - and this needs to be addressed."
Fair enough Fionn. I take your points. Maybe from Kildare perspective i find Mayo and especially their supporters to be exemplary in terms of their character and nothing would change my opinion of them, stalwarts to a man. My point was more about the player been held by the throat.

Kildare30 (Kildare) - Posts: 603 - 06/08/2018 16:01:13    2130071

Replying To Kildare30:  "Fair enough Fionn. I take your points. Maybe from Kildare perspective i find Mayo and especially their supporters to be exemplary in terms of their character and nothing would change my opinion of them, stalwarts to a man. My point was more about the player been held by the throat."
Yeah, a bad act alright. He completely lost it and had to be dragged away.

A word of mention on the huge Mayo support yesterday...
They certainly turn out in great numbers. Fair play.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3735 - 06/08/2018 16:06:55    2130075

Replying To Damothedub:  "Three things happened a bit of grappling between two players going for the ball , decision went against him that seemed to unhinge the lad litterally, he gripped the throat of the Kildare lad in a way not seen for quite a while , at this stage it's obvious he's not in control of himself he finishes it off with the push on the ref again , my thoughts when I saw it were Jesus he's fine for a year , I think the lad needs time away from the game get his head sorted so a suspension not the worst thing , there's a line that can't be crossed the lad simply pole vaulted over the line . Big congrats to Kildare excellent display"
The lad seemed to be complaining about an incident that happened prior to this but I think he had been getting agitated for a bit. It was a bit scary for the Kildare lad. Not alone was he grabbed by the throat but he had a close up view of a big, powerful lad who had completely lost it. I think the Mayo number 10 should be commended for the quick, but quiet, way in which he got the player to release his grip and then ushered him away. The ref also reacted in a restrained manner.
As regards 'crossing lines', I feel some posters show little control in blaming a lad for losing control.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 06/08/2018 17:04:16    2130084

Replying To perfect10:  "so who on here has ever refereed a game?
i am absolutely sick to the teeth of referees being blamed,abused,scapegoated by an army of gutless keyboard warriors who never attempted to hold a whistle in their lives."
It's hard for everybody to be a perfect 10.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 06/08/2018 17:11:46    2130085