Another Ref Pushed

Replying To facethepuckout:  "was a bit shocked by this incident , was in a different league to Diarmuid Connolly / Kevin McStay. It was clear the lad was losing it before pushing the ref in a very aggressive manner and went back for a second equally aggressive go when the ref gave him a red card."
Definitely this was at a different level. They were charged with minor interference (awful term!) And got the minimum suspension. This was certainly not minor. The choking incident alone deserves a long ban. If he gets 12 months he can't complain.

The apologists will be out. He's a good lad, out of character etc and maybe that's true. But this can't go without serious repercussions.

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1833 - 05/08/2018 23:36:03    2129764

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Just watched the clip, that lad should not be let on a Gaelic pitch again until he learns some manners, disgraceful behaviour, I don't like the way this is going and we have to stamp this behaviour out right away with fines an lengthy bans if not lifetime bans, will we hear from all the holy Joe's now to tried to crucify Diarmuid Connolly?
When you have the likes of Kevin Mc Stay behaving like this and Andy Moran as well earlier in the year it's very worrying for the image of Gaelic football too. shocking stuff."
Fully agree.

Just saw it again on TV - the GAA need to throw the book at him and hand down a very long suspension.

For an under age player to behave like that towards a ref... Lengthy ban required. End of, and no excuses.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3733 - 05/08/2018 23:36:08    2129765

God love him, refereeing is brutally poor to be fair.

THE_SNAPPER (Louth) - Posts: 2019 - 06/08/2018 00:11:03    2129776

This young lad seems to have serious problems. The reaction of the Mayo official as he saw what was about to happen might suggest that they were aware that he might react badly if he felt wronged. I think the young fellow needs help. At the end of the day, football is of minor importance.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 06/08/2018 00:11:36    2129777

Well one way to improve referees would be to create a code around Bias. It's what is horrible at every level of refereeing in GAA. At all levels. What's a free for one team is so often not a free for the other, and I'm not talking inconsistencies I'm saying bias referees are a curse. Respect is earned not demanded. Kieran Donaghy got away with a backlash because of who he is and the team he plays for, Daniel Flynn got a red card because of a bias not afforded to a lesser county. That's bias, the GAA are ignorant to it and it gets worse all the time. Referees should have a code against favoritism and double standards but that'd looking inward for problems. Let's call it inconsistency and forgo the cause.

jonno (Kildare) - Posts: 260 - 06/08/2018 00:21:03    2129783

Disappointing day today half the result and half young Flynn's action I'm sure he is disappointed with himself and no doubt he will face a substantial ban which is warranted. I'm sad to see the keyboard warriors are attacking the lad on social media which is the norm theses days, as we saw with diarmuid Connolly last year and the same type of vytriol aim at both. I'm sad to see people suggest that he is never selected again as was suggested in Connolly's case. We can all ask what caused this red mist? We all know what's happening in football these days and the level of sportsmanship. The game is played with a lot more sh*thousery than hurling and has become in truth excepted on the football field. I hope the lad does learn from this and if he is good enough to play for mayo again that he is not blackballed from being selected. On another note well done to Kildare I'm sure ye lads are well pleased 53 years for any sort of an all Ireland is too long. A wait congrats!

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 06/08/2018 00:50:32    2129795

Replying To facethepuckout:  "was a bit shocked by this incident , was in a different league to Diarmuid Connolly / Kevin McStay. It was clear the lad was losing it before pushing the ref in a very aggressive manner and went back for a second equally aggressive go when the ref gave him a red card."
Cop yourself on there, great to see a Mayo man show "balls", now he may have gone over the top by a big margin, huge margin really but at least he wasn't going to fu%%ed around. In the past if Mayo players had that very 'raw edge' like many other counties they would not be perpetual runners-up. I reckon this guy had made up his mind "I am taking no sh..t from anybody" and got carried away. Give him a break, 3 months no more"...... The ref will go to work tomorrow!!!! It's under-20 for God's sake we had a Journalist on the Sindo today complaining that her daughter was upset',,,,disorientated for life,,,,,,by an Irish Army advert in Croke Park last Sunday. Get a grip everybody, it is a physical game, this country has not evolved to what it is today by debate or drawing room conversations but by sheer willingness to never caputilate or yield.

Yes he broke the rules, not once but more and got caught.....so hang draw and quarter him.

Last week-end the Great Dublin Hurling Team of the early 60's said fairwell to Liam (Achill) Boothman who played in the 1961 All Ireland Hurling Final v Tipperary where they last by a point or two, and it set my mind in motion that as a 'gasson' we listened to the game on Radio Éireann and near the end we were informed that two players, one from either side were sent off, no names were mentioned, probably to avert legal action. We were 90% sure of one of the offenders, as his name did not prop up later in the commentary, we could not deduce that other guy. Of course next day's papers revealed the banished. We were right in our original deduction and not surprised by the other. I have no idea of the duration of the ensuing suspensions, they were really irrelevant. I know for certain that the suspension had no effect whatever on one of the guilty, he would do the same again and did the same again to protect 'the square'. That was the way it was, so please do not loose everything.

In the heat of the moment maybe we should give a little space and allow time, maybe until the morning after, for old times sake.

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1066 - 06/08/2018 01:00:50    2129801

Replying To jonno:  "Well one way to improve referees would be to create a code around Bias. It's what is horrible at every level of refereeing in GAA. At all levels. What's a free for one team is so often not a free for the other, and I'm not talking inconsistencies I'm saying bias referees are a curse. Respect is earned not demanded. Kieran Donaghy got away with a backlash because of who he is and the team he plays for, Daniel Flynn got a red card because of a bias not afforded to a lesser county. That's bias, the GAA are ignorant to it and it gets worse all the time. Referees should have a code against favoritism and double standards but that'd looking inward for problems. Let's call it inconsistency and forgo the cause."
Very honest post jonno, there was probably no underdog yesterday but I have been saying it for years that the "underdog never gets a break". An analysis of the 'wrong calls' will clearly show that the weak always suffer.

Maybe some journalistic student out there would do a study of the calls from hell that we have been forced to endure.

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1066 - 06/08/2018 01:21:17    2129808

Replying To Dellboypolecat:  "The Gaa need to raise the ban from 3 months to a year for players our management pushing refs our officials . Surely this can't be continuing to be accepted and some poeple today reckon sure player today is young he will learn from it . am sorry just because your young does not mean you can do that . big bans no excuses is needed young our not . rugby would not allow this"
I think pushing someone should not be more than 3 months. Why are Refs not also banned as some of them do not appear to know the rules and are more interested in trying to make themselves the focus of attention. A significant amount of Refs in club football are not fit to keep up with the play.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 06/08/2018 02:36:16    2129817

The lad made a crass error, he will be punished which could be more than 3 months.

Dara ó Cinnéide recently gave an interesting interview on off the ball in which he says we're not rugby, this maddness is part of GAA, the man will accept his sanction, but like the good catholics we are, he will be forgiven. He said he wouldn't join the tut-tutting brigade. Its not like people who do it tend to serially reoffend. He will probably never think of doing this again.

I personally agree with this. In rugby the man would probably get at least five years if not life. Sometimes, I find rugbys preaching on values a little bit neauseating at times, even though I love the sport.

galwaydublin (Galway) - Posts: 226 - 06/08/2018 08:32:11    2129844

so who on here has ever refereed a game?
i am absolutely sick to the teeth of referees being blamed,abused,scapegoated by an army of gutless keyboard warriors who never attempted to hold a whistle in their lives.

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 06/08/2018 08:39:32    2129848

Replying To jonno:  "Well one way to improve referees would be to create a code around Bias. It's what is horrible at every level of refereeing in GAA. At all levels. What's a free for one team is so often not a free for the other, and I'm not talking inconsistencies I'm saying bias referees are a curse. Respect is earned not demanded. Kieran Donaghy got away with a backlash because of who he is and the team he plays for, Daniel Flynn got a red card because of a bias not afforded to a lesser county. That's bias, the GAA are ignorant to it and it gets worse all the time. Referees should have a code against favoritism and double standards but that'd looking inward for problems. Let's call it inconsistency and forgo the cause."
I certainly think referees in gaa favour the traditionally successful counties.Not sure if it's a conscious bias or not but it's definitely there.Kerry will get a decision that Kildare wouldn't get.Don't think the gaa are doing enough to address refereeing deficiencies.The level of preparation of teams is nearly professional standard but refereeing hasn't kept up.No excuse though for pushing or otherwise manhandling a match official and the Mayo player will rightly be punished.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2170 - 06/08/2018 09:12:24    2129856

Poor refereeing is a different issue. No matter how poor a decision is, it's never an excuse for laying hands on a ref.
He pushed him twice. I'm sure he knows he messed up big time and it looks like he completely lost it, but the GAA need to issue a very hefty ban to stamp this out.
We all get extremely frustrated with refs during games, both as players and supporters. He's not the first lad to have been annoyed at a decision, but he needs to have a stronger character than to flip out like that.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2045 - 06/08/2018 09:34:10    2129863

Replying To endgame:  "I certainly think referees in gaa favour the traditionally successful counties.Not sure if it's a conscious bias or not but it's definitely there.Kerry will get a decision that Kildare wouldn't get.Don't think the gaa are doing enough to address refereeing deficiencies.The level of preparation of teams is nearly professional standard but refereeing hasn't kept up.No excuse though for pushing or otherwise manhandling a match official and the Mayo player will rightly be punished."
12 weeks is the minimum for MINOR physical interference with a ref.

48 weeks is the minimum for the next level up.

I watched this game and the fact he shoved him twice and the second shove was hardly "minor"

Will be a minimum 48 weeks I fear.

In fairness he just totally lost it but that's not much of an excuse, GAA has to be seen to show that this cannot be tolerated in any circumstance. I'm sure he'll regret his actions for ever more but again - you have to take your medicine.

bigfrankt (Monaghan) - Posts: 123 - 06/08/2018 09:40:29    2129868

Replying To MillerX:  "Cop yourself on there, great to see a Mayo man show "balls", now he may have gone over the top by a big margin, huge margin really but at least he wasn't going to fu%%ed around. In the past if Mayo players had that very 'raw edge' like many other counties they would not be perpetual runners-up. I reckon this guy had made up his mind "I am taking no sh..t from anybody" and got carried away. Give him a break, 3 months no more"...... The ref will go to work tomorrow!!!! It's under-20 for God's sake we had a Journalist on the Sindo today complaining that her daughter was upset',,,,disorientated for life,,,,,,by an Irish Army advert in Croke Park last Sunday. Get a grip everybody, it is a physical game, this country has not evolved to what it is today by debate or drawing room conversations but by sheer willingness to never caputilate or yield.

Yes he broke the rules, not once but more and got caught.....so hang draw and quarter him.

Last week-end the Great Dublin Hurling Team of the early 60's said fairwell to Liam (Achill) Boothman who played in the 1961 All Ireland Hurling Final v Tipperary where they last by a point or two, and it set my mind in motion that as a 'gasson' we listened to the game on Radio Éireann and near the end we were informed that two players, one from either side were sent off, no names were mentioned, probably to avert legal action. We were 90% sure of one of the offenders, as his name did not prop up later in the commentary, we could not deduce that other guy. Of course next day's papers revealed the banished. We were right in our original deduction and not surprised by the other. I have no idea of the duration of the ensuing suspensions, they were really irrelevant. I know for certain that the suspension had no effect whatever on one of the guilty, he would do the same again and did the same again to protect 'the square'. That was the way it was, so please do not loose everything.

In the heat of the moment maybe we should give a little space and allow time, maybe until the morning after, for old times sake."
There's nothing 'manly' about pushing a ref. In fact It's actually pretty cowardly as the player knows the ref won't push or hit him back. If that ref was 6'5 and 16 stone, do you think he'd be so quick to push him? It's a physical game yes, but not for the ref, so your comment makes no sense.
Look, he made a big mistake. He doesn't need to be hung out to dry, but he does need a long ban to make sure players don't start doing this more regularly.
We're struggling to get refs as it is. If players pushing them becomes more common, we'll have an even bigger problem.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2045 - 06/08/2018 09:57:48    2129879

Nobody condones what the young guy done. Referees like players correctly get criticized as long as it is not personalised. Like everything in life most critisism is completely over the top. My comment is aimed at guys who make comments about protecting Refs when they are very well protected by the rules and what they say, or write into a report stand as gospel even when it is clearly incorrect- I call that a type of abuse. Refs like everybody do make mistakes and are not gods. Indeed they should be respected, however respect is two way.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 06/08/2018 10:28:34    2129893

Good or bad refereeing is irrelevant, you can't lay your hands on a match official. I'm sure a hefty ban is coming his way and he learns from the whole experience. This is something that has to be stamped out forcefully and quickly. There's been a few incidents in the last year or so and no ref or official should feel physically threatened on the pitch. Like it or not their word is law and that's got to be restored.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 06/08/2018 10:34:30    2129897

Replying To bigfrankt:  "12 weeks is the minimum for MINOR physical interference with a ref.

48 weeks is the minimum for the next level up.

I watched this game and the fact he shoved him twice and the second shove was hardly "minor"

Will be a minimum 48 weeks I fear.

In fairness he just totally lost it but that's not much of an excuse, GAA has to be seen to show that this cannot be tolerated in any circumstance. I'm sure he'll regret his actions for ever more but again - you have to take your medicine."
Spot on... Deserves everything he gets.
Connolly missed most of last year's championship for a lot lesser action towards a match official.

If we cant curb this at underage, then we have no hope...!

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3733 - 06/08/2018 10:42:45    2129901

The reason this is happening is the lack of firm action & consistency of same by the GAA. When a GAA Cúl Camp Ambassador gets away Scott free with doing the same thing to a ref in a televised game, then young people watching these guys think they can do the same. Why wasn't action taken against Andy Moran, was it because it would have looked bad having him as a Cúl Camp Ambassador who would have to be suspended for 12 weeks. The complete lack of consistency in discipline & the stroking that goes on in GAA has lead to a complete breakdown in discipline. GAA are just a joke when it comes to rules & discipline & this year when it comes to basic organisation, the Ballymagash committee type organisation.

Uimhir.a.3. (Galway) - Posts: 409 - 06/08/2018 11:52:30    2129922

Saw the incident briefly on TSG, I presume the Kildare player said something to him because he just snapped, but he's going to have to learn to react better to "sledging", especially now as every match he plays for the rest of his life he's going to be "targeted" to try get a reaction out of him (and that's his own fault).

The push on the ref was beyond brainless. I only saw one push though, when was the first push?

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 06/08/2018 12:11:55    2129934