Can Limerick Control The Hype?

Just back from Dublin and privileged to say I was present at the most dramatic weekend I can ever remember personally in the GAA.

Chatting to a couple of lets say, veteran Limerick supporters after the final whistle yesterday, their only concern was how to control the hype in the County over the coming weeks and keep it from getting to the team.

Remembering the hype leading up to the football final of '93 when my own county won their only AI and how well Eamon Coleman dealt with it then, are these couple of guys right to be wary of it getting to the players?

kingpuck71 (Derry) - Posts: 690 - 30/07/2018 11:33:50    2127487

I am going a bit of the subject here I remember the 93 final very well because the wrong man was red carded that day

Any of you people out there know what I am on about

Redhot (Cork) - Posts: 700 - 30/07/2018 12:10:41    2127501

Replying To kingpuck71:  "Just back from Dublin and privileged to say I was present at the most dramatic weekend I can ever remember personally in the GAA.

Chatting to a couple of lets say, veteran Limerick supporters after the final whistle yesterday, their only concern was how to control the hype in the County over the coming weeks and keep it from getting to the team.

Remembering the hype leading up to the football final of '93 when my own county won their only AI and how well Eamon Coleman dealt with it then, are these couple of guys right to be wary of it getting to the players?"
You can't control the hype all you can hope to do is to manage it.
IMO it is not possible for players to be shut off and kept away from the hype in the lead up to a final, particularity for a county like Limerick that doesn't get to one very often.
At the same time you can't let them jump two-footed into the hype machine and let that become a distraction to the task in hand.
I guess you have to try and strike a balance, allow the players to feed off the good vibes and enthusiasm that will be bursting out all over the county but also make sure they can stay focused on the job.

I know down in Kerry a big complaint from players was always having to deal with the incessant demands for tickets from people who knew them and worrying about trying to source them for everyone that wanted one - one practical thing to do would be for the Limerick set-up to put in place something to take those kind of issues out of the players hands i.e try and get rid of as many unnecessary distractions as possible.

But if I was Limerick overall I would say enjoy the madness of the next 3 weeks, maybe try and respect the players privacy as much as possible, but other than that go for it - put up the bunting, paint the place in green and white and look forward to the team doing you proud. Days like these haven't come there way as much as they would like, when they come you have to enjoy them!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 30/07/2018 12:12:06    2127503

an all-ireland appearance is there to be hyped,there are 30 counties who would swap with galway in a heart beat.
enjoy it limerick,i would say the county will be painted green and white.
the players have shown mettle this year which was not there in previous limerick teams.
kiely also seems quite a shrewd operator,i dont think the hype will get to them at all.

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 30/07/2018 12:21:17    2127508

Yes on both queries.. The supporters were right to be concerned judging by past experience and I believe that the hype will be controlled.
The fact that in post match interviews, Dowling and John Kiely were adamant that players, squad members etc need to be left alone. On the train heading home to Limerick that was as much the topic of conversation as the win itself. No madness, stupid songs and losing the run of ourselves.

We get to this stage really only every 10--15 years but I think things are different this time round. Management are very clued in, us supporters need to enjoy the run in and please God finally get over the line.

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1065 - 30/07/2018 12:21:51    2127509

Replying To Redhot:  "I am going a bit of the subject here I remember the 93 final very well because the wrong man was red carded that day

Any of you people out there know what I am on about"
Yes, I agree. He paid the price, wrongly for his team mate who threw a very sly dig that day.

kingpuck71 (Derry) - Posts: 690 - 30/07/2018 12:39:38    2127516

Replying To skillet:  "Yes on both queries.. The supporters were right to be concerned judging by past experience and I believe that the hype will be controlled.
The fact that in post match interviews, Dowling and John Kiely were adamant that players, squad members etc need to be left alone. On the train heading home to Limerick that was as much the topic of conversation as the win itself. No madness, stupid songs and losing the run of ourselves.

We get to this stage really only every 10--15 years but I think things are different this time round. Management are very clued in, us supporters need to enjoy the run in and please God finally get over the line."
I was working in Limerick in 1994 and it was mental......Tim O Neill from Patrickswell was my manager ( fierce hurling man) and all anyone wanted to do was talk about the game and how Limerick were a shoe in, never witnessed such devastation post an all Ireland defeat......it is very hard to control the hype when you have a hurling mad county starved of success, no All Ireland since 73, Kiely has a job to keep a lid on it but you would have to say just compare the way he has managed this group of young players to the way the 3in a row team lost the run of themselves, I would argue Kiely has possibly got Limerick here a year or two ahead of schedule which is to his immense credit.......I genuinely don't think he will let hype get in the way, Limerick may not win ( I hope they do) but they will give it a hell of a lash and I don't think hype will be the reason they come up short.......

Some serious hurling counties waiting a long time for all Irelands Limerick 73, Waterford 59, Wexford 96 and even Cork 2005 ( which is a real famine for them)........

PaudieSull1 (Down) - Posts: 738 - 30/07/2018 14:07:04    2127543

Enjoy it and embrace it...hype never lost a team an all Ireland in my opinion.

The two weeks before a final it's like 14 Christmas eve's...the build up, da Craic, the ticket hunt. It lifts an entire county.

The aftermath in defeat is devestation but no point thinking about that....dream about winning it.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 30/07/2018 15:59:06    2127572

Enjoy it and embrace it...hype never lost a team an all Ireland in my opinion.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 9182 - 30/07/2018 15:59:06

Exactly.

Hype is an overused cliche when it comes to the winning and losing of games.

Usually used as a way to slag off people enjoying themselves in the run up to a final!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13717 - 30/07/2018 16:06:26    2127578

From the teams point of view the best approach would be to have an open training session very soon, in the next couple of days if possible, and let the supporters get their photos and autographs done and out of the way so that the players can get focused on the final. Otherwise fans will be clamouring to get access to the team for the next 3 weeks. As for the supporters, let them enjoy the build up and the hype as much as they like, none of them will be taking to the field so it doesn't matter how distracted they become.

AHP (Dublin) - Posts: 323 - 30/07/2018 17:27:20    2127603

The days of Hype etc are not nearly as problematic as a few years ago , coaches know more and prepare players in a methodical way , biggest issue lads will have is being hounded for tickets , these Limerick lads are giving off all the right vibes , just listen to Dowling after the game , their not turning up to ENjoy the day

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 30/07/2018 18:17:22    2127608

This season has been too crazy for Galway (the heavy favorites)to win it out no way, it's limerick's Year I could tell from the get go that they were going to win it out and I won't be wrong. Hype it up all you like it won't effect these limerick players no chance.

Limerick City Sunday 3 weeks time will be mental with celebration's no doubt about it.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 30/07/2018 20:14:29    2127645

Felt Cork really left that one behind them

They were well on top and looking good but made a number of late substitutions that unbalanced them a wee bit and all credit to Limerick they took advantage when all looked very dodgy, sometimes that can happen a number of players come in and can't get up to the game tempo.

If Galway can get through Clare Id still fancy Galway to do back to back, not sure what way Galway's injuries are looking

Cork exposed enough to suggest that if Galway do get by Clare that they may be that bit to strong and Galway's experience could be the deciding factor.

All to play for though and many congrats to Limerick. Cork must be sick and hard luck to them.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 30/07/2018 21:19:17    2127660

Replying To Damothedub:  "The days of Hype etc are not nearly as problematic as a few years ago , coaches know more and prepare players in a methodical way , biggest issue lads will have is being hounded for tickets , these Limerick lads are giving off all the right vibes , just listen to Dowling after the game , their not turning up to ENjoy the day"
heard today that this is no longer an issue.players dont get hassled like they used to.

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 30/07/2018 21:37:30    2127663

Replying To jimbodub:  "Felt Cork really left that one behind them

They were well on top and looking good but made a number of late substitutions that unbalanced them a wee bit and all credit to Limerick they took advantage when all looked very dodgy, sometimes that can happen a number of players come in and can't get up to the game tempo.

If Galway can get through Clare Id still fancy Galway to do back to back, not sure what way Galway's injuries are looking

Cork exposed enough to suggest that if Galway do get by Clare that they may be that bit to strong and Galway's experience could be the deciding factor.

All to play for though and many congrats to Limerick. Cork must be sick and hard luck to them."
Agree with that.Cork should have closed that game out.I also think that if Galway win the replay on Sunday,they'll beat Limerick in the Final.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2170 - 30/07/2018 21:48:17    2127671

Replying To MesAmis:  "Enjoy it and embrace it...hype never lost a team an all Ireland in my opinion.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 9182 - 30/07/2018 15:59:06

Exactly.

Hype is an overused cliche when it comes to the winning and losing of games.

Usually used as a way to slag off people enjoying themselves in the run up to a final!"
Both of you are correct. The game is won or lost on the field. We were accused of hyping it up in 2008. Last was a very, very low profile by everyone. We still lost because Galway were the slightly better team.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2665 - 30/07/2018 22:23:30    2127683

This team is different the fans will be hyped but the players will stay well away from it.
Yes they will be excited but they have been in countless underage finals the past few years and to them it's only another game.
They are a very mature team for their young age.
I remember reading an article by Dowling and Hannon few years ago when they bust onto the scene in 2012 and they said give us a few years and we'll be beating Tipp and KK and winning all Irelands like they are.
I hope both get their wish as they are great players on this team past few years.
As much as it kills to say I hope Limerick win the AI but half my family is from Limerick and I seen the over enjoyment they had yesterday only something they seen me relish in for a number of years and look if Tipp were playing England in hurling 95% of Limerick would shout for England but I'm sure many of us across the border wouldn't be dissapointed if the noisy neighbours lifted Liam.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 30/07/2018 23:32:28    2127704

Replying To jimbodub:  "Felt Cork really left that one behind them

All to play for though and many congrats to Limerick. Cork must be sick and hard luck to them."
Thanks for very insightful post...what you have just said in a roundabout way is that either Galway ,Clare or Limerick will win the All Ireland. Wells said!

Jaysis Jemser....Sheer genius on your part!!

PatOLogical (Limerick) - Posts: 1359 - 31/07/2018 00:49:59    2127717

Why does everyone assume an entire team will be affected the same way by the hype, like they were one homogenous entity? It's entirely possible that some highly rated players may end up being mentally and physically drained by the build up and totally underperform in the final, and other unheralded players might revel in the hype and produce the game of their lives. Often happens in All Ireland finals, when you look back at relatively low profile players who have turned in MOTM performances out of nowhere.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 31/07/2018 02:45:42    2127721

Replying To endgame:  "Agree with that.Cork should have closed that game out.I also think that if Galway win the replay on Sunday,they'll beat Limerick in the Final."
Agreed..Cork shoulda won ,ball srhw hit wid e
shoulda won and
woulda won if they had scored half the balls they hit wide in the first half alone,
or had bot committed so many fouls which were duly punished for at the other end...
or were as good at hitting the target as Kevin McStay..

or maybe its time to wake up ,smell the coffee and admit that there's a new sherriff in town!! ...think about it..

Come On Ye Boys In Green

PatOLogical (Limerick) - Posts: 1359 - 31/07/2018 11:44:54    2127800