Time To Confess

I don't dislike Dublin...which is weird considering the amount of times they have beaten us in recent years.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 24/07/2018 16:32:46    2125790

I don't dislike Dublin either. Plenty of worse counties down South in my opinion. Kerry to be exact. Not overly fond of Waterford either.

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 24/07/2018 16:38:03    2125794

Replying To yew_tree:  "I don't dislike Dublin...which is weird considering the amount of times they have beaten us in recent years."
Not a bit. Most Dubs are pure sound. It's the Dort accent that wrecks my head.. Many confuse their slagging banter with culchies as being anything other than banter regardless of them winning everything or not. 'Bleedin culchies. Coming up here drinking our jobs, drinking our women and eating our beer'.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7346 - 24/07/2018 16:43:47    2125798

Replying To realdub:  "How bad does Dublin make you feel caller?"
Go on, go on caller.
Ooh, that bad eh. Tell me more.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 24/07/2018 16:50:52    2125800

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Go on, go on caller.
Ooh, that bad eh. Tell me more."
adds some nipple tweaking

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 24/07/2018 17:06:03    2125806

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Not a bit. Most Dubs are pure sound. It's the Dort accent that wrecks my head.. Many confuse their slagging banter with culchies as being anything other than banter regardless of them winning everything or not. 'Bleedin culchies. Coming up here drinking our jobs, drinking our women and eating our beer'."
The accent of the Dublin posh brigade is cringy

DundalkGael (Louth) - Posts: 892 - 24/07/2018 17:06:11    2125807

Replying To DundalkGael:  "The accent of the Dublin posh brigade is cringy"
Dead roight

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 24/07/2018 17:15:56    2125810

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Not a bit. Most Dubs are pure sound. It's the Dort accent that wrecks my head.. Many confuse their slagging banter with culchies as being anything other than banter regardless of them winning everything or not. 'Bleedin culchies. Coming up here drinking our jobs, drinking our women and eating our beer'."
Not many (if any at all) with the Dort accent going to GAA matches. Theres only rugby for them. They would consider GAA too primitive.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1903 - 24/07/2018 17:27:49    2125812

Replying To DundalkGael:  "The accent of the Dublin posh brigade is cringy"
Couldn't agree more!

Although I can't stand an overly strong working class Dublin accent either

Both are brutal "auul roight duude" compared to "awwwlrigh buud gorha smo-kekh"

Thankfully there's a middle ground..

I'm a "poshie" Northsider as my Ballymun team mates called me :)

I've a neutral accent but with a bit of a NS twang on certain wuurds

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 24/07/2018 17:30:54    2125814

Replying To Midleton:  "Living down South, I could simply replace the Work "Dublin" with the word "Kerry" and most of it would apply. Maybe I'm out of touch here, but I could put up with Dublin winning another title, as long as the neighbours don't. The neighbours have far too many, anyway."
Living down South, I could simply replace the Work "Dublin" with the word "Kerry" and most of it would apply. Maybe I'm out of touch here, but I could put up with Dublin winning another title, as long as the neighbours don't. The neighbours have far too many, anyway.

Midleton (Cork) - Posts: 568 - 24/07/2018 12:32:53 21256

your not alone in saying that..ill happily watch dublin win 5 in a row if they beat kerry in doing so ;)

pidge (Cork) - Posts: 543 - 24/07/2018 17:42:30    2125819

Replying To ROYALOPTIMIST:  "I dislike Dublin.

No actually I despise them.

I despise their team, their Blue jerseys and their supporters.

I despise the fact that in my local community in Meath, that their supporters have come down to live among us and that all I can see are Blue flags and Blue jerseys every where I look.

I despise their robot of a manger.

I despise their after match interviews where with not a hair out of place they play down their latest achievement and play up their next opponent.(Well Des Leitrim are a proud county with a proud tradition and they will bring that to Croke Park next week and we expect to be to put to the pin of our collar and we are expecting nothing short of a titanic battle to stay in the championship).

I despise the fact that they get two home games in the Super 8's.

I despise the fact that Referees give them every decision going.

I despise their fitness levels, their good looks and their style of play.

I despise Cluxtons left leg, Dean Rock's right leg and the head of Philly McMahon.

I bang my head against the wall when I see another new player who no one has ever heard of, introduced into the team and play like he has been there for ever.

I really really despise the sight of those blue bloody jerseys.

I despise the Millions of tax payers money that is thrown at them to the detriment of everyone else.

I refuse to shop in Arnotts and as for insurance with AIG well don't start me on that.

I hate the M50, Coppers and the Liffey and I retch uncontrollably if I hear Summer in Dublin.

I despise Paschal O'Donughue, cannot bear Joe Duffy, and would happily suffocate Brendan O'Carroll.

So you see I really do despise this Dublin team and their supporters and anything remotely connected to them.

So with all this loathing swirling around my head, is there anything else you don't like I hear you ask?

Well actually there is.

I really despise the fact that for the last few years they have simply been the best team I have ever seen."
My wife a Navan lady, empathises with every single word.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 24/07/2018 18:00:32    2125825

Replying To Dubsfan28:  "You're not in your own there sir, there are lots of us that despise Pascal O'Donughue, cannot bear Joe Duffy and would happily suffocate Brendan O'Carroll. Very funny post I must say, whether it's intended to be funny or not I don't know.....;)"
I almost did not post it in case people took it the wrong way. So yes it is intended to be a light hearted piece.

I suppose its more to do with neighbouring counties rivalry than anything else.

ROYALOPTIMIST (Meath) - Posts: 179 - 24/07/2018 18:03:29    2125827

I wouldn't have great time for some Mayo supporters...

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 24/07/2018 18:04:05    2125828

The Dort accent is awful but kinda interesting as well.

Go back far enough, and people from the areas associated with said accent, up until maybe the 70s, had essentially a Home Counties BBC accent. The old Dublin Second City of the Empire accent. After free education and all that, farmers sons and daughters moved to Dublin and moved into the well to do areas the accents mixed and their children came out with the that abomination of an accent you hear today.

It's basically just an English accent mixed with every Irish accent going! It's becoming more and more prominent though as it seen as the accent of power, money etc. I remember meeting lads and lasses from the country in college in Dublin and by Christmas of 1st year they sounded like they were born and raised in Sandymount! I remember being shocked to meet a casual acquaintance's brother out one night and he had the thickest Dundalk accent ever, I had presumed the furthest she'd been from Rathgar was Malahide for some sailing!

My own missus tried to dull her West Cork brogue for a bit but rather ruined the optics by marrying a lad from the North Strand!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13708 - 24/07/2018 18:13:01    2125836

Replying To ROYALOPTIMIST:  "I dislike Dublin.

No actually I despise them.

I despise their team, their Blue jerseys and their supporters.

I despise the fact that in my local community in Meath, that their supporters have come down to live among us and that all I can see are Blue flags and Blue jerseys every where I look.

I despise their robot of a manger.

I despise their after match interviews where with not a hair out of place they play down their latest achievement and play up their next opponent.(Well Des Leitrim are a proud county with a proud tradition and they will bring that to Croke Park next week and we expect to be to put to the pin of our collar and we are expecting nothing short of a titanic battle to stay in the championship).

I despise the fact that they get two home games in the Super 8's.

I despise the fact that Referees give them every decision going.

I despise their fitness levels, their good looks and their style of play.

I despise Cluxtons left leg, Dean Rock's right leg and the head of Philly McMahon.

I bang my head against the wall when I see another new player who no one has ever heard of, introduced into the team and play like he has been there for ever.

I really really despise the sight of those blue bloody jerseys.

I despise the Millions of tax payers money that is thrown at them to the detriment of everyone else.

I refuse to shop in Arnotts and as for insurance with AIG well don't start me on that.

I hate the M50, Coppers and the Liffey and I retch uncontrollably if I hear Summer in Dublin.

I despise Paschal O'Donughue, cannot bear Joe Duffy, and would happily suffocate Brendan O'Carroll.

So you see I really do despise this Dublin team and their supporters and anything remotely connected to them.

So with all this loathing swirling around my head, is there anything else you don't like I hear you ask?

Well actually there is.

I really despise the fact that for the last few years they have simply been the best team I have ever seen."
I was with you all the way......up until the last 3 lines.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9702 - 24/07/2018 18:55:11    2125848

Replying To ROYALOPTIMIST:  "Thats the feckin issue with me. I grew up disliking Dublin and still do.

However if I am honest I really admire this team and i hope they win this years Championship.

Talk about being conflicted....."
Agree about Joe Duffy and Brendan O'Carroll. Both insufferable pains the anus.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1741 - 24/07/2018 19:29:53    2125859

Replying To Belclare1:  "I wouldn't have great time for some Mayo supporters..."
Well that is an absolute shocker

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 24/07/2018 20:00:32    2125867

Replying To thelongridge:  "Agree about Joe Duffy and Brendan O'Carroll. Both insufferable pains the anus."
Yet highly successful due to being hugely popular

Making a fortune playing two old women

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 24/07/2018 20:02:43    2125868

Replying To the_walls:  "Well that is an absolute shocker"
Apart from yourself and yew tree !! I think the Master started it all for me here, What ever happened to him?

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 24/07/2018 23:08:46    2125949

Replying To Belclare1:  "Apart from yourself and yew tree !! I think the Master started it all for me here, What ever happened to him?"
Do not please do not ask what happened to the Master , I might have to claim the fifth , honestly he was one of the worst posters ever IMO , complete opposite of Yewtree

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 25/07/2018 07:42:31    2125985