Time To Confess

I dislike Dublin.

No actually I despise them.

I despise their team, their Blue jerseys and their supporters.

I despise the fact that in my local community in Meath, that their supporters have come down to live among us and that all I can see are Blue flags and Blue jerseys every where I look.

I despise their robot of a manger.

I despise their after match interviews where with not a hair out of place they play down their latest achievement and play up their next opponent.(Well Des Leitrim are a proud county with a proud tradition and they will bring that to Croke Park next week and we expect to be to put to the pin of our collar and we are expecting nothing short of a titanic battle to stay in the championship).

I despise the fact that they get two home games in the Super 8's.

I despise the fact that Referees give them every decision going.

I despise their fitness levels, their good looks and their style of play.

I despise Cluxtons left leg, Dean Rock's right leg and the head of Philly McMahon.

I bang my head against the wall when I see another new player who no one has ever heard of, introduced into the team and play like he has been there for ever.

I really really despise the sight of those blue bloody jerseys.

I despise the Millions of tax payers money that is thrown at them to the detriment of everyone else.

I refuse to shop in Arnotts and as for insurance with AIG well don't start me on that.

I hate the M50, Coppers and the Liffey and I retch uncontrollably if I hear Summer in Dublin.

I despise Paschal O'Donughue, cannot bear Joe Duffy, and would happily suffocate Brendan O'Carroll.

So you see I really do despise this Dublin team and their supporters and anything remotely connected to them.

So with all this loathing swirling around my head, is there anything else you don't like I hear you ask?

Well actually there is.

I really despise the fact that for the last few years they have simply been the best team I have ever seen.

ROYALOPTIMIST (Meath) - Posts: 179 - 23/07/2018 22:29:57    2125465

Replying To ROYALOPTIMIST:  "I dislike Dublin.

I despise the fact that in my local community in Meath, that their supporters have come down to live among us and that all I can see are Blue flags and Blue jerseys every where I look.

I despise their after match interviews where with not a hair out of place they play down their latest achievement and play up their next opponent.(Well Des Leitrim are a proud county with a proud tradition and they will bring that to Croke Park next week and we expect to be to put to the pin of our collar and we are expecting nothing short of a titanic battle to stay in the championship).

I despise Cluxtons left leg, Dean Rock's right leg and the head of Philly McMahon.

I bang my head against the wall when I see another new player who no one has ever heard of, introduced into the team and play like he has been there for ever.

I despise the Millions of tax payers money that is thrown at them to the detriment of everyone else.

I refuse to shop in Arnotts and as for insurance with AIG well don't start me on that.

I hate the M50, Coppers and the Liffey and I retch uncontrollably if I hear Summer in Dublin.

I despise Paschal O'Donughue, cannot bear Joe Duffy, and would happily suffocate Brendan O'Carroll.

So you see I really do despise this Dublin team and their supporters and anything remotely connected to them.

So with all this loathing swirling around my head, is there anything else you don't like I hear you ask?

Well actually there is.

I really despise the fact that for the last few years they have simply been the best team I have ever seen.

."
Real Meath man

Kildare30 (Kildare) - Posts: 603 - 24/07/2018 09:52:09    2125562

It's good to get things off your chest , it's liberating, now you ain't said anything we didn't know allready, I started watching Dublin in 1975 my Who started watching in the early 50s told meme son they hate us , all you've done is be honest , when we had nothin going for us and we're shi7 we we were hated , others hide behind AIG Croke Park funding etc but they are liars , the hate us because in society there is an us and them allways has allways will be, all you've done is be more honest than most on here

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 24/07/2018 10:46:47    2125577

Feel better now? That is a lot off your chest. Think there is a secret admirer of Dublin football there in that long statement.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1741 - 24/07/2018 11:02:24    2125585

I want Dublin beaten this year, I don't care by who...if its Galway, Kerry, Monaghan, Donegal, Tyrone......for the good of the game they need to be beaten very soon. Though I think Galway are the team who can most likely push them all the way. The rest are suspect. Kerry - Dodgy defence, Donegal - Dodgy defence, Tyrone - Mediocre players, Monaghan - the new mayo - so close but no cigar.

cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 24/07/2018 11:05:58    2125586

By the way, This is a good post. Although you may actually dislike Dublin, the post itself is light heart-ed in nature, and i found it funny. If you read it and find it offensive or get defensive if youre a dub you probably need to lighten up.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 24/07/2018 11:48:14    2125609

After the first round of the S8 I thought that Tyrone were the only threat to no. 4. I don't think there is a threat now.
I love the Original Post. Well done.

Workingclass (Mayo) - Posts: 26 - 24/07/2018 11:57:04    2125614

Good honest post. I'm sure you're not alone in your thinking.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 24/07/2018 12:16:15    2125623

Living down South, I could simply replace the Work "Dublin" with the word "Kerry" and most of it would apply. Maybe I'm out of touch here, but I could put up with Dublin winning another title, as long as the neighbours don't. The neighbours have far too many, anyway.

Midleton (Cork) - Posts: 643 - 24/07/2018 12:32:53    2125633

Well actually there is.

I really despise the fact that for the last few years they have simply been the best team I have ever seen."
How do you feel about their accent?

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 24/07/2018 12:38:30    2125638

A great post that made me sit down & take a long look at my own attitude to Dublin.
On the surface I agree with a lot of what was said but when I really thought about it I came to the conclusion that what is really annoying me about Dublin & the GAA at the moment is that it is a microcosm of what I see happening throughout the country in general.
Dublin is prospering at the moment but rural Ireland especially the western seaboard is dying on its feet & the powers that be seem to be happy enough to let it happen.
In my own town our one national school has just 120 children down from 230 in the space of 20 years & it is the same everywhere in South West Donegal. We have a great young team at the moment, holding both senior championship & League but once this team is gone then that's it. Yes, the coaching & work with kids will go on but the numbers simply aren't there & it breaks my heart to see it.
What is hard to take is that nobody seemes to give a damn & keep feeding the beast that is Dublin while the rest of us suffer.
The same applies to the GAA who in funding terms alone treat Dublin differently to the extent that we can no longer compete. Add in the corrupt way games are being fixed & scheduled & anger is not the word to describe how I feel.
Now I know this is not Dublins doing but the blue jersey laying waste to everyone it meets is dispiriting in the extreme and if things continue on there won't be a GAA as we knew it in 10 years time.
Again this is not Dublins doing,they are a great team with a great manager but when I see them I can't help but feel upset at the injustice of it all.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 24/07/2018 12:48:24    2125647

I spent a year and a bit working in England when I was younger. On one of the many trips home the aul fella asked me, would you ever support England. I said "Yeah, if they were playing Meath".

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 24/07/2018 12:52:05    2125649

Think the main thing that arouses such vitriol with this Dublin team (and don't get me wrong, for me the GAA has always been about vitriol towards your hated rivals, followed by camaraderie), is the fact that Gavin has coached focus on the goal of winning into them. They refuse to be riled and psychologically shaken by onfield antics. The first team that is able to do this, either by physically dominating them or taking a three of four point lead into the final few minutes will be the team that shows others the way. They're super-experienced in the act of winning at this stage, and Gavin has supplemented the team at a rate which bloods the youth without upsetting the rhythm. Gavin is the man. He'll leave big boots to fill.

Gavvygavgav (Dublin) - Posts: 382 - 24/07/2018 12:55:20    2125653

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "A great post that made me sit down & take a long look at my own attitude to Dublin.
On the surface I agree with a lot of what was said but when I really thought about it I came to the conclusion that what is really annoying me about Dublin & the GAA at the moment is that it is a microcosm of what I see happening throughout the country in general.
Dublin is prospering at the moment but rural Ireland especially the western seaboard is dying on its feet & the powers that be seem to be happy enough to let it happen.
In my own town our one national school has just 120 children down from 230 in the space of 20 years & it is the same everywhere in South West Donegal. We have a great young team at the moment, holding both senior championship & League but once this team is gone then that's it. Yes, the coaching & work with kids will go on but the numbers simply aren't there & it breaks my heart to see it.
What is hard to take is that nobody seemes to give a damn & keep feeding the beast that is Dublin while the rest of us suffer.
The same applies to the GAA who in funding terms alone treat Dublin differently to the extent that we can no longer compete. Add in the corrupt way games are being fixed & scheduled & anger is not the word to describe how I feel.
Now I know this is not Dublins doing but the blue jersey laying waste to everyone it meets is dispiriting in the extreme and if things continue on there won't be a GAA as we knew it in 10 years time.
Again this is not Dublins doing,they are a great team with a great manager but when I see them I can't help but feel upset at the injustice of it all."
On the whole economic tough times undoubtedly still an issue in Donegal and elsewhere and just cannot agree with the narrative of Dublin getting everything at the expense of everyone else. I could take you on a tour of my city and you'll see some things that might make you think a little more about the growing inequality in Ireland, Dublin very much included. Dublin is a big place and the inequality in the city is growing year on year.

Those that have the most, whether they be in Dublin or Donegal are benefiting and doing well Muck. The rest are being left behind, regardless of where they live.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13709 - 24/07/2018 13:10:57    2125662

Well actually there is.

I really despise the fact that for the last few years they have simply been the best team I have ever seen."
Subtext for the majority of the posts about Dublin on here, fair play, the last point copper fastens all the proceeding, always good to have a bit of candor and call a spade a spade. I found it very funny.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 24/07/2018 13:35:33    2125673

All successful teams get this type of hatred, its really a compliment. I actually like this Dublin team as there are no Flash Harry's and they work their socks off for the greater good. The way they tackle and harrass their opponents in unreal, honesty of effort is there for all to see.

The champioship could do with someone toppling them this year but its hard to see that happening as the challengers are not at that level yet. Kerry look a couple of year of challenging while Tyrone, Donegal and Monaghan are good sides its difficult to see them beating Dublin. Perhaps Galway could cause them trouble.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1874 - 24/07/2018 13:57:52    2125690

Replying To waynoI:  "By the way, This is a good post. Although you may actually dislike Dublin, the post itself is light heart-ed in nature, and i found it funny. If you read it and find it offensive or get defensive if youre a dub you probably need to lighten up."
Thats the feckin issue with me. I grew up disliking Dublin and still do.

However if I am honest I really admire this team and i hope they win this years Championship.

Talk about being conflicted.....

ROYALOPTIMIST (Meath) - Posts: 179 - 24/07/2018 14:16:06    2125702

Well actually there is.

You're not in your own there sir, there are lots of us that despise Pascal O'Donughue, cannot bear Joe Duffy and would happily suffocate Brendan O'Carroll. Very funny post I must say, whether it's intended to be funny or not I don't know.....;)

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 24/07/2018 15:12:47    2125746

How bad does Dublin make you feel caller?

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 24/07/2018 16:17:31    2125784

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "A great post that made me sit down & take a long look at my own attitude to Dublin.
Again this is not Dublins doing,they are a great team with a great manager but when I see them I can't help but feel upset at the injustice of it all."
Where to start..

But I see Mes has worded it just fine

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 24/07/2018 16:31:01    2125789