Kevin McStay Incident With Linesman

Replying To supersub15:  "Ya' know, as soon as the first post appeared here on the Kevin Mc Stay "thing" I said this is going nowhere fast, so, what the hell let it go there.
Keeping in mind I'm not here to defend Kevin Mc Stay,(should he need defending that is) just to say some of the postings here beggars belief, you would think the man did something out of the ordinary, something that makes him different to any one of us, however, he is different to any one of us, in that he is a house hold name for all the right reasons long before last week's so called infamous game, squeaky clean on the field of play all his life, and an out and out gentleman off the field, I'm made aware that he never in his playing career was reprimanded on the field of play, or put off, or suspended, an impeccable record to say the least.
To go from hero to zero is not is not on as far as I'm concerned no matter what the scenario is as what has been outlined, he is however a professional and a passionate gaa man, I wish I had some of his courage and passion.
So lets get real here, there's a huge difference between "passion" and "aggression" Kevin has an abundance of passion, but it's the likes of us here in animosity that has the aggression, apparently.
Kevin McStay has an impecciable playing career, like it or not he is a house hold name, fortunately / unfortunately Kevin's footballing career has been full of passion, am I making an excuse for Kevin's recent misdemeanour, well yes I am, you see Kevin's passion for the game, in this case as Manager of Roscommon senior footballers was much stronger than to show the white flag hankie or whatever you say yourself.
If someone say's his actions were out of order, so too were some of the post's here, before the prosecution sat or the jury delivered it's findings.
The dignified or honourable thing about Kevin is the way he withdrew himself from the game for the second half. No red card needed just self-dismissal, pity some of the posts here were not withdrawn before his sentence was delivered.
Good luck to you Kevin.
No junk mail please."
Well said Supersub.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7346 - 27/07/2018 08:56:55    2126628

Replying To supersub15:  "Ya' know, as soon as the first post appeared here on the Kevin Mc Stay "thing" I said this is going nowhere fast, so, what the hell let it go there.
Keeping in mind I'm not here to defend Kevin Mc Stay,(should he need defending that is) just to say some of the postings here beggars belief, you would think the man did something out of the ordinary, something that makes him different to any one of us, however, he is different to any one of us, in that he is a house hold name for all the right reasons long before last week's so called infamous game, squeaky clean on the field of play all his life, and an out and out gentleman off the field, I'm made aware that he never in his playing career was reprimanded on the field of play, or put off, or suspended, an impeccable record to say the least.
To go from hero to zero is not is not on as far as I'm concerned no matter what the scenario is as what has been outlined, he is however a professional and a passionate gaa man, I wish I had some of his courage and passion.
So lets get real here, there's a huge difference between "passion" and "aggression" Kevin has an abundance of passion, but it's the likes of us here in animosity that has the aggression, apparently.
Kevin McStay has an impecciable playing career, like it or not he is a house hold name, fortunately / unfortunately Kevin's footballing career has been full of passion, am I making an excuse for Kevin's recent misdemeanour, well yes I am, you see Kevin's passion for the game, in this case as Manager of Roscommon senior footballers was much stronger than to show the white flag hankie or whatever you say yourself.
If someone say's his actions were out of order, so too were some of the post's here, before the prosecution sat or the jury delivered it's findings.
The dignified or honourable thing about Kevin is the way he withdrew himself from the game for the second half. No red card needed just self-dismissal, pity some of the posts here were not withdrawn before his sentence was delivered.
Good luck to you Kevin.
No junk mail please."
Nonsense.

McStay wasn't being passionate he was being pathetic.

He didn't get a decision go his way so he decides to throw a temper tantrum like a 5 year old. That's not passion, he's supposed to be a grown adult.

He even tried to justify his actions after by saying the linesman should have been calling the free!

Dignified and honourable! Seriously? He may usually be dignified and honourable but he certain lost his dignity during Saturday's game. Nothing dignified about a grown man running onto the pitch and shoving a linesman, and then moments later thinking it is a great idea to throw a ball at his head.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 27/07/2018 09:21:39    2126634

Good luck to you Kevin.
No junk mail please."
Who gets to decide what's passionate and what's aggressive? So he "passionately " threw the ball at the officials head did he? That's a cop out. Also he didnt withdraw himself from the match he was sent to the stands to sit down by Brannigan.

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 27/07/2018 09:33:23    2126639

Replying To lilylanger:  "Who gets to decide what's passionate and what's aggressive? So he "passionately " threw the ball at the officials head did he? That's a cop out. Also he didnt withdraw himself from the match he was sent to the stands to sit down by Brannigan."
Who gets to decide what's passionate and what's aggressive?

You just did.

He was aggressive more than passionate in his actions. And Paul was the basketball man. But he's not known for it as was the point being made.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7346 - 27/07/2018 10:32:43    2126654

Good luck to you Kevin.
No junk mail please."
If Mc Stay analysed somebody on the Sunday Game running up into the face of a linesman, putting their hands on him & later throwing a ball in the direction of a linesman & hitting him he would be scathing of their actions, as he has been in the past. His behaviour was out of control & this is a standard that is unacceptable as young people follow this guy & his team. Your defence of him with comments about his persona & his past playing career are irelavent, people are only judging it on the issue at hand & what they witnessed. As for your comment that he withdrew himself voluntarily, that seems to be inaccurate as it is widely reported in print & TV media that he was dismissed to the stand by the referee. A deserved 12 week suspension for shocking behaviour by a leading Inter County manager who should be setting a better example to players & children watching.

Uimhir.a.3. (Galway) - Posts: 409 - 27/07/2018 10:56:28    2126664

Replying To Uimhir.a.3.:  "If Mc Stay analysed somebody on the Sunday Game running up into the face of a linesman, putting their hands on him & later throwing a ball in the direction of a linesman & hitting him he would be scathing of their actions, as he has been in the past. His behaviour was out of control & this is a standard that is unacceptable as young people follow this guy & his team. Your defence of him with comments about his persona & his past playing career are irelavent, people are only judging it on the issue at hand & what they witnessed. As for your comment that he withdrew himself voluntarily, that seems to be inaccurate as it is widely reported in print & TV media that he was dismissed to the stand by the referee. A deserved 12 week suspension for shocking behaviour by a leading Inter County manager who should be setting a better example to players & children watching."
If it was Davy Fitz doing something similar would his past behaviour be ignored by posters?

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7346 - 27/07/2018 11:16:14    2126672

Replying To GreenandRed:  "If it was Davy Fitz doing something similar would his past behaviour be ignored by posters?"
No.

Uimhir.a.3. (Galway) - Posts: 409 - 27/07/2018 11:30:48    2126674

So apparently throwing a ball at an official is showing passion? I would love to see what the same people think aggression is.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 27/07/2018 11:37:17    2126675

He shouldn't have put his hands on the official but it wasn't done in an overly violent sort of manner. Still though he shouldn't have done it.

What was very OTT was throwing the ball at his head..

That was overly aggressive and very much out of order. Very poor behavior and absolutely right call to suspend him.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 27/07/2018 11:56:06    2126688

Does the suspension rule him out for Sunday Game analysis?

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7346 - 27/07/2018 13:11:21    2126713

Replying To MillerX:  "Ironic, the linesman involved in the Connolly incident was a certain Mr Brannigan and now he was the "man in the middle" in Hyde Park. Issues seems to follow certain people.
There are three ways this can go now.
1. The referee includes the 'hands on linesman' in his report in which case a suspension is inevitable.
2. The issue is not reported by the referee but the CCCC decide to investigate, as in the Connolly case and a suspension is almost inevitable.
3. The CCCC decide to do nothing, then nothing happens.

If scenario 1 or 2 occur then we enter into the appeal process and this will take up a lot of the autumn and we here on the HS can defend and bash McStay to our hearts content. In reality a suspension will mean nothing as it will at most be 12 weeks and Roscommon will have no game of consequence until 2019. However the anti McStay faction in Roscommon will have a field day."
Terrible post does not matter who the ref was , hands where put on linesman and should have got 6 months

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 27/07/2018 13:58:55    2126727

Replying To Daith:  "The ball throw was an absolute peach of a delivery. Pity somebody wouldn't repeat the trick with McQuillan some day!"
Why because Joe seen a clear strike and Kildare player deserved his red all day long

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 27/07/2018 14:01:55    2126732

Problem I have with this is the 3 months should not start till next year our carry over as not make a difference against the dubs . And it should be 6 months if you put hand on a ref in rugby our officials it be much longer.

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 27/07/2018 14:07:13    2126734

Replying To Dellboypolecat:  "Problem I have with this is the 3 months should not start till next year our carry over as not make a difference against the dubs . And it should be 6 months if you put hand on a ref in rugby our officials it be much longer."
I thought they were doing away with time based suspensions for this reason and making it a games based suspension. Even a 6 month ban would have him back for the League. Depending on time of year time based can be lenient or too severe.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7346 - 27/07/2018 16:53:20    2126806

I dont know why this is even a topic, Mcstay was very wrong in what he done he got the ban he accepted the ban. Not much more he can do now.

But i do agree this weeks ban doesnt work it should be done on games.

A lot of people need to get over themselves he can only accept the ban he was given. But it was outrageous behaviour.

Tarismelting22 (Roscommon) - Posts: 760 - 27/07/2018 17:21:30    2126818

Good luck to you Kevin.
No junk mail please."
Ok we get it you like the man, so what posts here are over the top? We all have eyes (well most of us see reality through them) we all saw what he did. It didn't stop him preempting judgement on TV on Connolly (eventually thrown out). What he did was pathetic end of.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 27/07/2018 17:39:52    2126825

Replying To MesAmis:  "Nonsense.

McStay wasn't being passionate he was being pathetic.

He didn't get a decision go his way so he decides to throw a temper tantrum like a 5 year old. That's not passion, he's supposed to be a grown adult.

He even tried to justify his actions after by saying the linesman should have been calling the free!

Dignified and honourable! Seriously? He may usually be dignified and honourable but he certain lost his dignity during Saturday's game. Nothing dignified about a grown man running onto the pitch and shoving a linesman, and then moments later thinking it is a great idea to throw a ball at his head."
I think everybody agrees that it was undignified (probably McStay included) but I don't remember you putting up a post like this abut the Connolly 'incident'. 'Pathetic' is an apt word to apply to many actions.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 27/07/2018 18:40:34    2126845

Replying To Tarismelting22:  "I dont know why this is even a topic, Mcstay was very wrong in what he done he got the ban he accepted the ban. Not much more he can do now.

But i do agree this weeks ban doesnt work it should be done on games.

A lot of people need to get over themselves he can only accept the ban he was given. But it was outrageous behaviour."
It's a topic because this is a forum for discussion about GAA related topics and an opportunity for people to whinge and bitch until they cannot type anymore.
It's an outlet for posters from every county to take issue with any aspect of every other county's ability or success and shortcomings.
You win , they don't like that.
You lose, you're a grand bunch of lads and sure keep up the good work.
The liveline is open.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 27/07/2018 19:37:56    2126854

I thought that this was addressed & an appropriate sanction imposed & accepted?

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 27/07/2018 19:38:10    2126855

Again. I'm not here to defend Kevin McStay, the jury has reached it's verdict, the judge has passed the sentence so no defence needed. For the record he had no input into his type of sentence, nor had he an input into when his sentence would start.
The sincerity of a couple of posters here leaves a lot to be desired, if not Pathetic, - - - I'll condense it a bit, one post says, Crucify him, Crucify him, burn him at the stake and use him as a swing, etc, etc, now which is worse Kevin Mc Stays misdemeanour or something like that put in writing, disgusting.
Some other poster said Kevin's actions was Pathetic, now that's regrettable because to it was Pathetic that the word Pathetic was used at all.
Part of another post. - It is an unfortunate fact but a fact nonetheless that McStay will likely escape sanction because there has been little or no outrage shown about this incident. (Personally I would let justice take it's course.)
Sorry, but Kevin Mc Stay went over the top a bit with his display of "Passion" and got 3 months suspension for his effort, I'd hate to think what he would have got if he had shown a degree of Outrage.
This incident happened during the concluding stages of the Super 8 stages, The super 8 thing is a recipe for disaster in it's current format, great for the spectator but not so for teams and management,4 / 5 / or 6 games in as many weeks, not alone is physical fitness being demanded from all but mental fitness as well only the fittest in both will survive, - is it worth it.? There is one or two out there we could ask.
The below post from GreenandRed say's a lot, - I'll start by saying I'll agree to disagree.

Lads, it's Friday, it's Summer and we've had some mighty hurling and football championship action already. No posters here are anti GAA or defending the FAI just questioning some actions by some members of both. We should count our blessings and agree to disagree because in 6 weeks time there will be little or no activity on here. Stay well and happy.
GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 4698 - 27/07/2018 10:41:32

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2907 - 27/07/2018 23:56:42    2126915