Cork V Tyrone

If that's the best the second best team in Munster have to offer in the final 12 of the All Ireland then just save everyone time and hand Kerry the next 10 Munster titles....at least.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 07/07/2018 19:35:40    2119410

I knew Cork weren't in a good place but feck me sideways
Hats off to Tyrone though!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 07/07/2018 19:39:07    2119411

Replying To seanie_boy:  "What a load of cr@p. Maybe you should have read what the present Cork manager thinks of the style Tyrone play instead of listening to the naysayers and begrudgers like Brolly etc. The best team in Ireland at counter attacking at pace and turning teams over etc,is his opinion on this Tyrone team. I'm not saying they're the best in the country but they are a good team and can and I hope will do better. But sure you keep being a sheep and we'll cheer the lads on regardless. Some of you Tyrone boys forget when we were grateful for Ulster championship success never mind all Ireland's. Now 2 Ulsters in a row is a poor showing. Wise up is what yez need to do."
Exactly well said seanie

ta32 (Tyrone) - Posts: 4907 - 07/07/2018 19:43:05    2119414

Replying To Dubsfan28:  "If that's the best the second best team in Munster have to offer in the final 12 of the All Ireland then just save everyone time and hand Kerry the next 10 Munster titles....at least."
Well...might actually be a good idea. Kerry are streets ahead.
Good result today for Cork, because successive hammerings in the Super 8's would have been torture. Good luck to Tyrone.
Most people in Cork are focused on the hurling now....football especially in Cork City is the minor sport.

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 07/07/2018 19:57:55    2119418

Replying To seanie_boy:  "Yeh sure who would get any joy out of watching a complete pasting like that......same as every Dublin game in Leinster. Must be empty stadiums everywhere Dublin go. Oh that's right yez rarely go anywhere but Croke Park. There will be plenty to see you in Omagh now so don't be worrying about an empty stadium for that game."
Omagh will be bursting at the seams and no one will be running away

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 07/07/2018 21:00:52    2119426

McAliskey hand gesture after his goal was disgusting and lacked class don't know how the cork lad didn't chin him..

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 07/07/2018 21:02:53    2119427

Replying To jacktheDub:  "McAliskey hand gesture after his goal was disgusting and lacked class don't know how the cork lad didn't chin him.."
What happened? I didn't see the incident but just curious?

SecretsOfFatima (Kerry) - Posts: 63 - 07/07/2018 21:59:01    2119434

Replying To jacktheDub:  "Very poor game...Cork poor but Tyrone very sloppy big contrast between 2 games in omoore park first game very enjoyable..No better team than Tyrone to clear a stadium...big difference in atmosphere as well not helped by the poor attendance from the rebel fans."
No real problem with the Dubs, I don't begrudge them playing in Croke Park, or their All-Ireland wins like many others, but as you only too well know you can only beat what's put in front of you. Plenty of poor teams in Lenster, and if you were a neutral you wouldn't be long clearing out the stadium watching your beloved Dubs steamroll somebody, ala Tyrone/Cork. One things for sure no one will be clearing outta Healy Park.

Dergforeeva (Tyrone) - Posts: 90 - 07/07/2018 22:12:07    2119438

Well done Tyrone on their win. They will need to improve massively though. Though they can be happy with 3-20, they should be concerned by what they missed as they won't be getting that many scoring chances against a real team.

Their defending was excellent. I counted that the team only conceded something like 5 frees in first 50 minutes. Their tackling was very high standard too. Of course it is not every day you meet a team that will just play into your hands.

I would be concerned about the amount of mistakes they made too. They gave the ball away a bit under no pressure at all. Luckily they met an opponent that just gave it back to them. Roscommon will punish them next week if they are as sloppy.

Having seen both teams today, I would fancy Roscommon next week. They were clinical. Against a better team, they kicked no wides in first half. They took their chances better than Tyrone.

No point at analysing Cork. Ronan Mccarthy is already hunting at a clear out. That is good news.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 07/07/2018 22:15:36    2119440

Replying To SecretsOfFatima:  "What happened? I didn't see the incident but just curious?"
Here it comes!

Wally (Tyrone) - Posts: 913 - 07/07/2018 22:18:14    2119441

Replying To Dubsfan28:  "If that's the best the second best team in Munster have to offer in the final 12 of the All Ireland then just save everyone time and hand Kerry the next 10 Munster titles....at least."
Provincial championships days are gone, the back door and super 8's makes a nonsense of them anyway,
a tiered championship with an open draw is the way to go. Linked to league positions it would make the league relevant too.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2757 - 07/07/2018 22:20:37    2119444

Replying To jacktheDub:  "McAliskey hand gesture after his goal was disgusting and lacked class don't know how the cork lad didn't chin him.."
why ? he missed last season with injury man helped him with his rehabilitation was louis.. hence the L

redhoop (Tyrone) - Posts: 75 - 07/07/2018 22:31:17    2119452

10 Years a Long time! Cork Hurlers down the doldrums a few years ago. The most exciting team in Ireland now!

SAMMYTHEBULL (Galway) - Posts: 1646 - 07/07/2018 22:37:16    2119454

What has happened with Aidan Walsh?
One of the best footballers in the country 8 years ago...now can't even feature in this Cork team.

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 07/07/2018 22:50:58    2119459

Just in after a 40 min delay at aughnacloy because of an orange parade.
Didn't learn much from the game. Tyrone got the job done with minimal fuss. Cork very poor, felt sorry for the supporters who travelled.
Roscommon were excellent, accurate and pacey. Hard luck to Armagh, excellent game.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 07/07/2018 22:51:47    2119461

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Just in after a 40 min delay at aughnacloy because of an orange parade.
Didn't learn much from the game. Tyrone got the job done with minimal fuss. Cork very poor, felt sorry for the supporters who travelled.
Roscommon were excellent, accurate and pacey. Hard luck to Armagh, excellent game."
Orange parade might have been better than the Cork and Tyrone mismatch...lol

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 07/07/2018 23:11:49    2119469

Don't know what you're talking about but you really should give a bit more detail when you're trying to cut the legs from under any player. Regardless,you are correct,and it would undoubtedly have been right for the Cork lad to give Conor McAliskey a fierce uppercut for whatever he did. It would surely have been the right thing to do.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 07/07/2018 23:30:41    2119478

what??/...are you for real...the finger raised above the forehead is an in joke in the tyrone camp...it was directed at his teammates...he has been getting an awful ribbing after missing two sitters against meath...unbelievable that you are trying to make mischief...must be worried about playing in omagh already

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 07/07/2018 23:44:29    2119485

I remember The Cork hurling winning all ireland manager of 1986...Johnny Clifford...who also won an All Ireland playing for Cork in 1954....actually despised gaelic football. He was a Glen Rovers player....and felt that football detracted from Cork hurling successes/
Cork football was in ruins in early noughties...a division 3 team.. until Billy Morgan took over...led them to several accomplishments including an all ireland and national league wins from 2007 to 2012.
Do we have another Billy out there? He did have successful under 21 teams to draw from...unlike now. Kerry have dominated in all divisions...future looks bleak.

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 07/07/2018 23:46:01    2119486

an absolutely brilliant performance from tyrone...i had this down for a 7 point win, but to win by 16 points was astonishing...the defensive work was out of this world...the tackling incredible and as for the swift counter attacking football...kick passing down the flanks was superb...i feel for cork to be on the receiving end of this, but tyrone were phenomenal today

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 07/07/2018 23:48:17    2119489