Galway V Kerry And World Cup Final

Solution:
play the 2pm game at 12 and the 4pm game at 2

Galway/Kerry lads could chill together and chug down some electrolytes and watch the WC Final, maybe on a big screen with the fans? Just a thought. The players should be taken into consideration. Up Galway

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1196 - 04/07/2018 16:02:03    2118528

Honestly think there might only be 15,000 at Kerry v Galway now. The World Cup final will definitely hit the attendance. It's a once every 4 years event. Even people with only a passing interest in soccer will watch the World Cup final. Many casual GAA fans or neutrals who might have gone to Kerry v Galway will give it a skip now. Especially if the WC final is England v Brazil/France. All that will be there is the hardcore Kerry and Galway support and that might only be 5,000 each.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2215 - 04/07/2018 16:02:41    2118529

Replying To Pantani:  "I remember back in 2002 they put Donegal Derry up against Ireland Spain. According to wikipedia the attendance was 4000.

"Played under a surreal atmosphere in the first half, the game really only came alive after the break, and particularly when Derry were reduced in numbers.

The crowd was minimal because of Ireland's World Cup distractions.

The decision by the Ulster Council not to change the start time will come in for criticism.""
The Ireland game finished about 10a.m. Not sure how it would have affected numbers at the Donegal Derry game except maybe in terms of lads not being able to drive after a few jars.

Kurt_Angle (Dublin) - Posts: 567 - 04/07/2018 17:12:12    2118555

Replying To Kurt_Angle:  "The Ireland game finished about 10a.m. Not sure how it would have affected numbers at the Donegal Derry game except maybe in terms of lads not being able to drive after a few jars."
That's incorrect. Ireland v spain started at 12 or 12.30

Malonemagic (Laois) - Posts: 766 - 04/07/2018 17:25:03    2118561

Replying To Malonemagic:  "That's incorrect. Ireland v spain started at 12 or 12.30"
It was 12:30

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4225 - 04/07/2018 17:28:54    2118563

12 o'clock and 2 makes sense.

I remember when they were pushing the Super 8s last year they had suggested calendars where they split the first round up over 2 weekends.

Provincial champions first week, qualifiers the next week.

They then changed that for the master fixtures at the start of the season.

I wonder was it to fit in the Bublé concert or was it to do with them not having all the Provincial champions as the one double header.

Anyway it's idiotic, they should have been aware of the World Cup Final and knew to work around it. That's set it stone at least 7 years in advance. It just makes no sense to have a big game directly competing with it.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4225 - 04/07/2018 17:37:53    2118568

Replying To waynoI:  "surely you can't be from galway?? all the soccer gaa heads are dubs aren't they??"
Yes. And they drink Dutch Gold etc. Yawn

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 04/07/2018 17:57:36    2118575

Obvious solution - Sunday in Limerick at 2:00... problem solved

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 04/07/2018 18:05:56    2118579

Kerry and Galway county boards should take it out of the GAAs hands and just play the game in limerick on the Saturday, it's a joke going to crokepark for it.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 04/07/2018 18:07:22    2118580

Replying To galwayted:  "Not a big soccer fan but love the world cup looks like we are going to have to choose between them on Sunday week it's madness of gaa putting on a match same time it's real backward stuff I think."
Nonsense. FIFA should have checked its fixture schedule with the GAA. before making any definite decision.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2466 - 04/07/2018 18:17:49    2118583

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Kerry and Galway county boards should take it out of the GAAs hands and just play the game in limerick on the Saturday, it's a joke going to crokepark for it."
Ah now, thought you preffered the atmosphere of a full stadium and Limerick would be way too big for the amount of Kerry supporters that will bother.
Somewhere like Portlaoise would be better surely.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 04/07/2018 18:41:46    2118590

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Ah now, thought you preffered the atmosphere of a full stadium and Limerick would be way too big for the amount of Kerry supporters that will bother.
Somewhere like Portlaoise would be better surely."
Hahaha, Very good Dubh_linn

dubdec99 (Dublin) - Posts: 180 - 04/07/2018 19:51:39    2118617

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Yes. And they drink Dutch Gold etc. Yawn"
Mckewans 6 for a fiver , Dutch gold , special vat cider, scrumpy jacks (rocket fuel) fosters also rocket fuel were all my underage favorite drinks when knacker drinking ,the best days.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 04/07/2018 20:11:48    2118626

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Ah now, thought you preffered the atmosphere of a full stadium and Limerick would be way too big for the amount of Kerry supporters that will bother.
Somewhere like Portlaoise would be better surely."
You'd have 30,000 if the game was in limerick. It would be 100 times better than maybe 10,000 at a soulless crokepark.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 04/07/2018 20:22:55    2118628

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Mckewans 6 for a fiver , Dutch gold , special vat cider, scrumpy jacks (rocket fuel) fosters also rocket fuel were all my underage favorite drinks when knacker drinking ,the best days."
Ah the old flagging of scrumpy jack takes me back clon.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 04/07/2018 20:26:50    2118630

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Mckewans 6 for a fiver , Dutch gold , special vat cider, scrumpy jacks (rocket fuel) fosters also rocket fuel were all my underage favorite drinks when knacker drinking ,the best days."
No not scrumpy it was linden village.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 04/07/2018 20:29:51    2118632

Replying To suckvalleypaddy:  "This is not good for gate receipts or TV market share and shows really poor judgement and planning by the grab alls. In some ways this is worse than Newbridge because its difficult for them to own up to the careless oversight. Time change now would we best option or play Saturday in the Dublin Donegal slot. Some ejects up there in GAA hierarchy. What a way to roll out the super eights, it is so embarrassing."
It's the players I would be concerned about. How can they concentrate on their game knowing that the WC final is on. Maybe the ref could call the equivalent of a 'water-break' every 15 minutes to update the players on the score. On the other hand maybe the 'break' could be held back for the penalty shoot-out.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 04/07/2018 20:34:31    2118635

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "You'd have 30,000 if the game was in limerick. It would be 100 times better than maybe 10,000 at a soulless crokepark."
10,000 you say.
Jaysus yeer worse than I thought so.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 04/07/2018 21:14:48    2118646

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "No not scrumpy it was linden village."
Kingdomboy genuine question here not slagging or having a dig;

Why for a mad footballing county like Kerry that are the best at Gaelic football is you're support for the Kerry team so poor I accept Travelling to Croker in games you know your going to win is too much for you with such a distance and cost and all but even for the Munster final it was poor Cork a hurling county totally out numbered you's , like even close championship games to Kerry you're support is poor why is this? Like getting to play Kerry in all Ireland final is great cause we know there'll be loads of tickets available.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 04/07/2018 21:17:19    2118647

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "10,000 you say.
Jaysus yeer worse than I thought so."
16,000 approx against Wicklow in Portlaoise so not exactly massive given the amount of Dublin fans.
If Dublin had an 8 hour round trip including associated costs from a county with far less disposable income than Dublin then you'd understand.
I'd add that we have a far less populated county and on top of that one of the biggest employment
Sectors is tourism and Summer is the busiest period.
If you spend any time in Kerry then you'd see how much the people love the game but at times there has been a complacency to the team givern the success.
We had 17k at the Clare game I think because people wanted to see the new generation.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 04/07/2018 21:50:44    2118655