Kildare Dis-Service To Smaller Counties

Replying To witnof:  "Carlowman it is not nice to say but Kildate is badly run. They should be Dublins biggest challengers but can hardly burst their way out if a wet paper bag.

I would love to see Dublin play in Carlow....you guys would make an event of it and use it to grow the game.

Kildare wouldn't know what to do.

Dublin as a county and team would have loved to have gone to Aughrim but if we did who would pay for Kildares pay outs"
let it go, your posts are beyond silly at this stage

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2142 - 29/06/2018 21:11:55    2116781

Replying To carlowman:  "We in Carlow are not bitter at all... sad to see Kildare people defend the indefensible... how many tickets again for your home game? 1500 between the whole of your faithful followers ! I am glad I am not from Moorefield or Sarsfield or Carbury or Castledermot and looking for one of those 1500!
We in Carlow had a great outing in Portlaoise last year against the Dubs - its about 35 min drive from Carlow town and we had plenty of room to walk around - a stand the full length of the pitch was also a help... we really enjoyed the evening against the Dubs and they provide the best banter in the business too... we were also there in Portlaoise for the Louth game this year- and we travelled to Tullamore to play ye lads from Kildare- you see we don't mind travelling to places where we have been asked to travel to... no we are not compliant- but we have respect for all counties and we follow the advice proffered...
Kildare to me have shown little respect for their own supporters, and have added immense pressure to their own team, have seen a loophole and have taken the hard stand and I really don't believe that a similar situation will happen again.
I suppose that is the beauty of the GAA - each year a new controversy- a new challenge and I expect the powers that be - that I pay for through my membership- and attendance at matches and draws I pay in for - to learn from this debacle and ensure we don't have a situation like this again.
We in Carlow, Aughrim and Portlaoise have taken advice on venue changes in the past and I hope we continue to do the same into the future and that the GAA will be all the stronger for it.
You see - I for one trust the men and women of our association who are paid to make such decisions based on their experience.
And by the way - I stand over my premise that Kildare is the wealthiest county in the country! Each time I pass through Newbridge to go to Whitewater or Naas or Kilcullen - I see the wealth passing me by in their very nice Range Rovers - Mercedes good enough for the gentry of Kildare. I don't need to go to the latest census to garner such info."
Firstly get your facts straight, or at least the ones that don't suit you straight. There will be at least 3500 Kildare people in Newbridge tomorrow night. If you are happy for Carlow to travel then that's your choice, we made our choice and thankfully the vast majority of the country got behind us. I don't know what planet you have been on but Kildare GAA showed nothing but the utmost respect to their supporters this week in securing a home game, that we are well entitled to, for ourselves. We like to use our ground when we can, if you want to let the grass grow out onto the road that passes by Dr.Cullen Park then that's your prerogative. As for people trying to ratchet up pressure on the the team now to win, show me a bookie anywhere that has us favourites against the second best team in the country!! It's a good job you aren't carrying out any official surveys "he has has Range Rover, she has a Merc, there's an Audi parked over there.........Ah sure these are feckin loaded!!". Nobody in Carlow got a decent car then? Might be no harm not to go on that type of surveying!! P.s. we all pay our membership but sure it's grand for us seeing as we are loaded. Like I said, your point of view lost the debate. Might be wise to leave it so.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 29/06/2018 21:19:27    2116782

Replying To Gavvygavgav:  "
Replying To tearintom:  "[quote=Gavvygavgav:  "[quote=TrimJim:  "Replying To tearintom: " The fact is the likes of Dublin don't have to worry about these things, don't have to weigh these options up for example. But genuinely there are a lot of ordinary gaa people in Dublin who don't get the frustrations of counties who are not in the same privileged position as they are or maybe they do and don't give a damn which is fair enough too why should they? But don't belittle the small victories for smaller counties, for once a county put the players ahead of money good on them."

Exactly, the real reason why the Dubs are so worried about the little kiddies of Kildare not getting to see the game is they are worried that the jig is up for them and all their numerous advantages. If they were drawn out first to play Kerry and it was switched to Thurles you can bet there would be no end of "bleedin" and "jaysusin" out of them."
See? this is the ultimate end point of these discussions: whining about the Dubs.

I'd say 99% of Dubs supported Kildare in their fight to get the match played in Newbridge.

Furthermore, as you probably well know, Dubs love a roadtrip. Kerry in Semple would be snapped up, as it was (twice!) in '01.

Your post just exposes a tiresome small-minded mentality."
And again your post is further proof of the fact ye just don't get it!

People aren't whining about the dubs, what they are whining about is the fact is the lack of fairness that exists in the gaa world at this point in time.

Is that the fault of Dublin? Absolutely not 100% but everytime it's raised the same rtheoric comes out, your only whining about the dubs, you see you don't get it!

This is a gaa issue not a Dublin issue. Dublin are in a privileged position not because they demand to be but because the gaa deem it that way. It's nothing to do with road trips, it's actually nothing to do with Dublin. Should Dublin take full advantage of what's on offer, 110% they should and do.

If my own county was afforded the same privileges I would 100% expect them to take it.

The inequality in the gaa doesn't exist because of Dublin, it exists because of the gaa itself but dub,in are the biggest beneficiaries and in my opinion don't get the concerns and issues that smaller counties have to deal with."]I didn't make it about Dublin until someone else made it about Dublin.

There were a couple of Kerry posts yesterday that took this issue as a springboard to have a go at Dublin.

And I've also noted several times that Kildare are NOT a smaller county, they have one of the largest populations in Ireland. They've just been woefully mismanaged in GAA terms. It suited them to use Croke Park rather than invest properly in a ground of their own. I've supported Kildare in getting this match played in Newbridge, but the poor-me little-guy narrative is just baloney."]You do realize the irony in criticizing Kildare for using Croke Park when it suits them rather than investing properly in a ground of their own being from Dublin.

You keep proving my point about not getting it.

It's great for Dublin, as I've said good luck to them, the issue is not of their making and their only concerns should be with themselves, it's not their job to look after anyone else other than Dublin.

But the fact your having a go at Kildare for not investing in their own ground and using it as a stick to beat them with when you come from a county that doesn't have to worry about such trivial things yet receives more funding than any other shows the disconnect that's there.

I'm delighted Kildare go their way when it's what the players of Kildare wanted, enough of catering to the masses, it's about time the player started taking some of the power back in my eyes.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1337 - 29/06/2018 21:19:50    2116783

Replying To witnof:  "Carlowman it is not nice to say but Kildate is badly run. They should be Dublins biggest challengers but can hardly burst their way out if a wet paper bag.

I would love to see Dublin play in Carlow....you guys would make an event of it and use it to grow the game.

Dublin as a county and team would have loved to have gone to Aughrim but if we did who would pay for Kildares pay outs"
Yis are like the two oul lads up on the gantry in the Muppet show. Kind of appropriate really. Doing your bit to keep good old begrudgery going. Debate over lads, hadn't you heard?!

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 29/06/2018 21:22:45    2116786

Replying To carlowman:  "We in Carlow are not bitter at all... sad to see Kildare people defend the indefensible... how many tickets again for your home game? 1500 between the whole of your faithful followers ! I am glad I am not from Moorefield or Sarsfield or Carbury or Castledermot and looking for one of those 1500!
We in Carlow had a great outing in Portlaoise last year against the Dubs - its about 35 min drive from Carlow town and we had plenty of room to walk around - a stand the full length of the pitch was also a help... we really enjoyed the evening against the Dubs and they provide the best banter in the business too... we were also there in Portlaoise for the Louth game this year- and we travelled to Tullamore to play ye lads from Kildare- you see we don't mind travelling to places where we have been asked to travel to... no we are not compliant- but we have respect for all counties and we follow the advice proffered...
Kildare to me have shown little respect for their own supporters, and have added immense pressure to their own team, have seen a loophole and have taken the hard stand and I really don't believe that a similar situation will happen again.
I suppose that is the beauty of the GAA - each year a new controversy- a new challenge and I expect the powers that be - that I pay for through my membership- and attendance at matches and draws I pay in for - to learn from this debacle and ensure we don't have a situation like this again.
We in Carlow, Aughrim and Portlaoise have taken advice on venue changes in the past and I hope we continue to do the same into the future and that the GAA will be all the stronger for it.
You see - I for one trust the men and women of our association who are paid to make such decisions based on their experience.
And by the way - I stand over my premise that Kildare is the wealthiest county in the country! Each time I pass through Newbridge to go to Whitewater or Naas or Kilcullen - I see the wealth passing me by in their very nice Range Rovers - Mercedes good enough for the gentry of Kildare. I don't need to go to the latest census to garner such info."
Carlowman it is not nice to say but Kildate is badly run. They should be Dublins biggest challengers but can hardly burst their way out if a wet paper bag.

Dublin as a county and team would have loved to have gone to Aughrim but if we did who would pay for Kildares pay outs

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 29/06/2018 21:53:47    2116791

Replying To kildare73:  "Yis are like the two oul lads up on the gantry in the Muppet show. Kind of appropriate really. Doing your bit to keep good old begrudgery going. Debate over lads, hadn't you heard?!"
Who pays the Kildare debt?

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 29/06/2018 21:55:04    2116794

Replying To witnof:  "Who pays the Kildare debt?"
Are we in debt? Need to see that spreadsheet. Last I heard we were in the black!

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 29/06/2018 22:20:03    2116798

Witnif you're doing your own county a disservice bringing up money. Better not to talk about the imbalance of distributions given to your county in the last 10 years. Oh and we built something with the money we got. Lucky for ye everything goes to the blue brigade.

jonno (Kildare) - Posts: 260 - 29/06/2018 23:24:59    2116803

Replying To kildare73:  "Yis are like the two oul lads up on the gantry in the Muppet show. Kind of appropriate really. Doing your bit to keep good old begrudgery going. Debate over lads, hadn't you heard?!"
Who pays the Kildare debt?

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 29/06/2018 23:29:47    2116805

Replying To Gavvygavgav:  "
Replying To tearintom:  "[quote=Gavvygavgav:  "[quote=TrimJim:  "Replying To tearintom: " The fact is the likes of Dublin don't have to worry about these things, don't have to weigh these options up for example. But genuinely there are a lot of ordinary gaa people in Dublin who don't get the frustrations of counties who are not in the same privileged position as they are or maybe they do and don't give a damn which is fair enough too why should they? But don't belittle the small victories for smaller counties, for once a county put the players ahead of money good on them."

Exactly, the real reason why the Dubs are so worried about the little kiddies of Kildare not getting to see the game is they are worried that the jig is up for them and all their numerous advantages. If they were drawn out first to play Kerry and it was switched to Thurles you can bet there would be no end of "bleedin" and "jaysusin" out of them."
See? this is the ultimate end point of these discussions: whining about the Dubs.

I'd say 99% of Dubs supported Kildare in their fight to get the match played in Newbridge.

Furthermore, as you probably well know, Dubs love a roadtrip. Kerry in Semple would be snapped up, as it was (twice!) in '01.

Your post just exposes a tiresome small-minded mentality."
And again your post is further proof of the fact ye just don't get it!

People aren't whining about the dubs, what they are whining about is the fact is the lack of fairness that exists in the gaa world at this point in time.

Is that the fault of Dublin? Absolutely not 100% but everytime it's raised the same rtheoric comes out, your only whining about the dubs, you see you don't get it!

This is a gaa issue not a Dublin issue. Dublin are in a privileged position not because they demand to be but because the gaa deem it that way. It's nothing to do with road trips, it's actually nothing to do with Dublin. Should Dublin take full advantage of what's on offer, 110% they should and do.

If my own county was afforded the same privileges I would 100% expect them to take it.

The inequality in the gaa doesn't exist because of Dublin, it exists because of the gaa itself but dub,in are the biggest beneficiaries and in my opinion don't get the concerns and issues that smaller counties have to deal with."]I didn't make it about Dublin until someone else made it about Dublin.

There were a couple of Kerry posts yesterday that took this issue as a springboard to have a go at Dublin.

And I've also noted several times that Kildare are NOT a smaller county, they have one of the largest populations in Ireland. They've just been woefully mismanaged in GAA terms. It suited them to use Croke Park rather than invest properly in a ground of their own. I've supported Kildare in getting this match played in Newbridge, but the poor-me little-guy narrative is just baloney."]'I've supported Kildare in getting this match played in Newbridge'

Brilliant - comedy gold ! Maddymadmad is more like it.

KildareKelly (Kildare) - Posts: 593 - 30/06/2018 00:07:18    2116808

Being from a smaller county, i think Kildare have opened the door for smaller counties to challenge the hierarchy in the GAA, for the shambolic decisions they make and ones that conveniently seem to always go against the smaller counties. Look at this year as an example, in which Tipp footballers were forced to play 6 days later after beating Waterford or the ridiculous situation the Kildare/Antrim hurlers find themselves in. Back in 2016, after Louth lost to Meath in Leinster, we were forced to play Derry in the qualifiers 6 days later(the only county forced to do so). The GAA are looking to cater for the stronger counties and effectively forget the rest - which is seemingly the motive behind the calls for a 2 tier championship. Kildare deserve credit for finally standing up to the GAA.

PK57 (Louth) - Posts: 1653 - 30/06/2018 09:14:25    2116820

Looking forward to Kildare CB issuing a well deserved apology to all the smaller counties tomorrow for the embarrassing result they disgracefully manufactured tonight.

* Shakes head in disgust *

extranjero (Wexford) - Posts: 375 - 30/06/2018 21:32:08    2116947

Congratulations to Kildare and all the Kildare lads on here! Super result.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 30/06/2018 21:45:46    2116954

Congratulations to Kildare, a day that will live long in the memory, I'm sure

Gavvygavgav (Dublin) - Posts: 382 - 30/06/2018 22:14:29    2116971

Replying To royaldunne:  "When is the last time Parnell hosted
A, a league game?
B, a championship game?
That involved Dublin.
We played in it two years running and the gaa didn't seem to worried about safety the first game v Louth they kept the gates closed while thousands q to get in causing a surge forward and a crushing incident. That didn't seem to bother them at the time though. And despite my writing to hq over that incident I only received a generic response."
Played 2 hurling Championship games there this year against Offaly and Kilkenny......

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 30/06/2018 22:34:51    2116989

Replying To extranjero:  "Looking forward to Kildare CB issuing a well deserved apology to all the smaller counties tomorrow for the embarrassing result they disgracefully manufactured tonight.

* Shakes head in disgust *"
Lol I'm sure it's been written as we speak. Thanks to GAA fans of all counties who threw their support behind Kildare this week, including the Mayo fans and I hope people will think the game that was produced tonight justified the week's efforts. Unreal atmosphere at the match it seems, looked brilliant on telly. It's been a very worthwhile week and thanks again for the support.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 30/06/2018 22:47:24    2116992

Replying To Gavvygavgav:  "Congratulations to Kildare, a day that will live long in the memory, I'm sure"
Try a week that will live long in the memory. And I'm very sure!!

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 30/06/2018 23:32:25    2117013

Replying To JayP:  "Played 2 hurling Championship games there this year against Offaly and Kilkenny......"
Now football????

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 01/07/2018 00:45:09    2117039

I think after the week we just witnessed and the fabulous occasion that last night turned into, it can quite categorically and clearly stated that Kildare have done a GREAT SERVICE to 'smaller' counties.

Last night was what we fought for and an occasion that every county wishes for during the championship.

Close thread.

jimski (Kildare) - Posts: 381 - 01/07/2018 18:26:40    2117314

Mr Magill and the CCCC were never going to win this argument if it can be called an argument, Cian O'Neill and the Kildare co. board were simply looking at the venue for the Kildare / Mayo which was rightfully theirs, full stop, Mr Magill and the cccc saw the light and agreed to let the game go ahead in St. Conleths Park as all conditions would be met, imo, if St. Conleths had been pencilled in and sanctioned Newbridge as the venue for the Kildare / Mayo game as soon as the draw was completed then the same conditions would be met, health and safety issues would be addressed and put in place, so the way I see it is nothing has changed yet everything has changed.
The GAA, in it's entirety is simply a victim of it's own success, but not everyone is included in it's success, as a result small problems are allowed to fester and then the bubble bursts, as it did when St. Conleth's Park was dismissed as the natural venue for the Kildare / Mayo game.
Joule Park Aughrim is another venue that got a walk over after Wicklow dismissed Offaly in the Leinster senior football championship and the Prize was a game with Dublin to be played in Aughrim, but was dismissed for the same reasons as that of St. Conleths Park, Newbridge. Likewise the Carlow / Kildare game should have been played in Net Watch Cullen Park, but it was played in Tullamore.?
The pre match pressure that the "Newbridge or Nowhere." Tag brought on Cian O' Neill and his players to face Mayo must have been enormous, Kildare responded by scoring a point every three and a half minutes, 21 in total.
Success and fair play belongs to us all, it's simply a matter of working for success and demanding fair play, in this case Cian O' Neill did both, and he himself won National respect.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2907 - 01/07/2018 22:46:26    2117437