Kildare Dis-Service To Smaller Counties

Replying To kildare73:  "Don't worry, Kildare people could do the maths too. But it's our ground and we get to say this time where we play. We would have been outnumbered in Croker too so what's new. One thing doesn't get much consideration is the pubs and restaurants and shops in the town. You can't go around to these businesses looking for their sponsorship then tell them as soon as you have a high profile game in the town that can generate revenue for them we'll take it to Portlaoise, Tullamore or Croke Park.......but thanks for your quids! The Kildare people who are there will be very vocal and the team already know they have the county with them. No amount of attempted hole poking in the result Kildare got midweek will change a thing. Now we go for the result Saturday night and may the best team win."
Well said, there is a bigger picture and those who support the GAA locally will get a turn back, only proper and right that that happens and hopefully it will happen more frequently in the future.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 28/06/2018 22:41:07    2116551

Replying To kildare73:  "Don't worry, Kildare people could do the maths too. But it's our ground and we get to say this time where we play. We would have been outnumbered in Croker too so what's new. One thing doesn't get much consideration is the pubs and restaurants and shops in the town. You can't go around to these businesses looking for their sponsorship then tell them as soon as you have a high profile game in the town that can generate revenue for them we'll take it to Portlaoise, Tullamore or Croke Park.......but thanks for your quids! The Kildare people who are there will be very vocal and the team already know they have the county with them. No amount of attempted hole poking in the result Kildare got midweek will change a thing. Now we go for the result Saturday night and may the best team win."
To each their own.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 28/06/2018 22:51:25    2116554

Well said Kildarekelly
Begrudgery from a few here is beyond ridiculous, considering the massive support for the stance and the correction from the GAA.

jonno (Kildare) - Posts: 260 - 28/06/2018 23:21:30    2116557

Replying To Gavvygavgav:  "no answer to the question, when is the last time Kildare played a championship match at home?"
Kildare's last home game in the Leinster championship tomorrow as against Louth in 1995 against Louth. The last qualifier to be played in Newbridge was in 2016 against Offaly

EddieL (Kildare) - Posts: 68 - 28/06/2018 23:24:48    2116558

Replying To Richieq:  "Well said, there is a bigger picture and those who support the GAA locally will get a turn back, only proper and right that that happens and hopefully it will happen more frequently in the future."
I have disagree, I'm not having a pop of Kildare, it's true of any county in a similar posititon, locking fans out of a game is bad for Gaelic games. Nothing has been achieved here, just a bit of pride achieved and ego massaging. For what to have a game with a limited attendance at home where your own fans are outnumbered 2-1. Nothing has been achieved really. I honestly believe this is bad for Kildare Gaa and Galiec games in general.

I'm not even arguing the point, Kildare have a right to be at home in a sporting sense, but locking fans out of grounds because of poor facilities is wrong to me. I know people will talk about All Ireland Finals etc, but the context is entirely different. It's a third round qualifier where fans won't get to see their team.

There will be kids watching Kildare on TV on Saturday night, who could and should be at the game who won't be because they won't have the opportunity to get a ticket. How is this a good thing for GAA or Kildare.

Like I said yesterday, Kildare won the battle, but have lost the war, essentially nothing has been gained here that's anyway good for Kildare GAA.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 28/06/2018 23:37:43    2116561

You are having a pop and you keep coming back with the same pop. The fact is if it was in Croke Park very few Kildare people would be bothered. Niw you're a Dublin person in Kildare who keeps going on as if it should have been played in Croker. Well your wrong we've read your same opinion a few times now and as a Dublin supporter you've really a huge opinion on it. It's time you pulled on a white jersey!

jonno (Kildare) - Posts: 260 - 29/06/2018 00:24:28    2116569

Replying To TheUsername:  "I have disagree, I'm not having a pop of Kildare, it's true of any county in a similar posititon, locking fans out of a game is bad for Gaelic games. Nothing has been achieved here, just a bit of pride achieved and ego massaging. For what to have a game with a limited attendance at home where your own fans are outnumbered 2-1. Nothing has been achieved really. I honestly believe this is bad for Kildare Gaa and Galiec games in general.

I'm not even arguing the point, Kildare have a right to be at home in a sporting sense, but locking fans out of grounds because of poor facilities is wrong to me. I know people will talk about All Ireland Finals etc, but the context is entirely different. It's a third round qualifier where fans won't get to see their team.

There will be kids watching Kildare on TV on Saturday night, who could and should be at the game who won't be because they won't have the opportunity to get a ticket. How is this a good thing for GAA or Kildare.

Like I said yesterday, Kildare won the battle, but have lost the war, essentially nothing has been gained here that's anyway good for Kildare GAA."
If a lad who says you aren't having a pop at Kildare, then spouts all you have since.........then you certainly are having a pop at Kildare. I will agree with you on one thing, a huge amount of pride has been achieved. All week here you, and thankfully very few more, predicted we wouldn't succeed but we did and ever since you have been casually throwing in digs about crowds not being able to see the game and worrying about "kids". If you and the GAA are so worried about supporters and kids not being able to see the game, then why aren't you putting as much energy into giving out about the match being on SKY? A minority pay wall channel a lot of people won't have. You haven't said a single word about the that. Kinda shows a double standard. Now give over, you and thankfully very few more didn't get your way and the argument is lost. Speaking of egos, a few lads on here who thought they knew it all but got it wrong look like they are desperately trying to get a bit of ground back with "nothing has been achieved here" empty statements. Damn right there was and people up and down the country are happy about it.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 29/06/2018 01:43:28    2116572

Replying To TheUsername:  "I have disagree, I'm not having a pop of Kildare, it's true of any county in a similar posititon, locking fans out of a game is bad for Gaelic games. Nothing has been achieved here, just a bit of pride achieved and ego massaging. For what to have a game with a limited attendance at home where your own fans are outnumbered 2-1. Nothing has been achieved really. I honestly believe this is bad for Kildare Gaa and Galiec games in general.

Like I said yesterday, Kildare won the battle, but have lost the war, essentially nothing has been gained here that's anyway good for Kildare GAA."
No we haven't lost the war. The revolution against the Ivory Towers in Croke Park has just begun read the joint statement from Kildare and Antrim hurlers today. Antrim supporting KiLdare and Kildare supporting Antrim.
as an aside there was never a third round qualifier ever in Croke Park. The reason they pushed this was/ is the fact that this year they can't hold fourth round qualifiers as normally is because there is a Concert in Croke Park. They thought they could have both. When they realised they made a mistake they wanted the double header this weekend. The cover story for the error was the nonsense about health and safety in Newbridge. To put things in perspective in Longford last Saturday a man from Kildare had a heart attack. Unlike the much derided facilities in St Conleth's Park, Pearse park in Longford had no access for an ambulance to drive around the ground. Also a few years ago they reduced the standing room in Newbridge on the terraces, again on spurious Health and safety grounds stating that there wasn't enough barriers. Yet last week in Longford I stood on the terraces with my friend s and there wasn't a safety barrier anywhere. And this is where Mayo played Longford in 2010 without any health ans safety concerns.

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 2990 - 29/06/2018 02:58:16    2116574

Yes you are having a pop and you keep coming back with it. Talking about a war and such is rubbish. Talking about young Kildare fans not getting to go to Newbridge is also your own agenda. How many Kildare people would have went to Croke Park? You of course, looking forward to a trip to the city.
You say you're friends with some players well if you are really then wish them luck, pull on a Kildare jersey and get over it.
Enough of your own agenda.

jonno (Kildare) - Posts: 260 - 29/06/2018 07:15:57    2116578

Don't understand the point of this thread.
When has doing what is right, and following the rules as they were layed out a disservice to anyone?
Kildare were right, are right and always will be right in this situation.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 29/06/2018 08:08:05    2116583

Replying To kildare73:  "If a lad who says you aren't having a pop at Kildare, then spouts all you have since.........then you certainly are having a pop at Kildare. I will agree with you on one thing, a huge amount of pride has been achieved. All week here you, and thankfully very few more, predicted we wouldn't succeed but we did and ever since you have been casually throwing in digs about crowds not being able to see the game and worrying about "kids". If you and the GAA are so worried about supporters and kids not being able to see the game, then why aren't you putting as much energy into giving out about the match being on SKY? A minority pay wall channel a lot of people won't have. You haven't said a single word about the that. Kinda shows a double standard. Now give over, you and thankfully very few more didn't get your way and the argument is lost. Speaking of egos, a few lads on here who thought they knew it all but got it wrong look like they are desperately trying to get a bit of ground back with "nothing has been achieved here" empty statements. Damn right there was and people up and down the country are happy about it."
Just to be clear, I am having a pop at Kildare becuase it is badly run.

Can someone tell me how much money the 'GAA' and/or 'Croke Park' have to plough into Kildare over the years to fill the holes in the finances? Didn't that have to basically take over running at one stage?

So does it now mean Kildare will not ask anymore bail outs?

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 29/06/2018 08:52:32    2116589

Replying To lilywhite1:  "Incorrect there, we didn't play Offaly in Newbridge in 2016. We played them in in Tullamore. We played Offaly in Newbridge in 2006 and also Louth in 2007."
Incorrect, Kildare played Offaly in tullamore in 2015 and in newbridge in 2016

tonorio (Offaly) - Posts: 608 - 29/06/2018 09:37:35    2116602

Replying To jonno:  "You are having a pop and you keep coming back with the same pop. The fact is if it was in Croke Park very few Kildare people would be bothered. Niw you're a Dublin person in Kildare who keeps going on as if it should have been played in Croker. Well your wrong we've read your same opinion a few times now and as a Dublin supporter you've really a huge opinion on it. It's time you pulled on a white jersey!"
Haha i am interested in Kildare, i have friends on the panels, football, caomogie and hurling so have a soft spot for them really. I dont live in Kildare though, but i did play club football in Dublin and Kildare.

Its a national forum really and this was national news, its good to debate it, you have to have borad shoulders and the courage of your convictions in your opinion, Dublin get a hammering in some form or another every other day. Ive no axe at all to grind with Kildare, i hope they win tomorrow in all honestly and all you lads can come back to me and say see. I wont reiterate my opinion again because its all still very raw by the looks of it and seems to trigger defensiveness as the dust settles.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 29/06/2018 10:08:23    2116608

Replying To kildare73:  "If a lad who says you aren't having a pop at Kildare, then spouts all you have since.........then you certainly are having a pop at Kildare. I will agree with you on one thing, a huge amount of pride has been achieved. All week here you, and thankfully very few more, predicted we wouldn't succeed but we did and ever since you have been casually throwing in digs about crowds not being able to see the game and worrying about "kids". If you and the GAA are so worried about supporters and kids not being able to see the game, then why aren't you putting as much energy into giving out about the match being on SKY? A minority pay wall channel a lot of people won't have. You haven't said a single word about the that. Kinda shows a double standard. Now give over, you and thankfully very few more didn't get your way and the argument is lost. Speaking of egos, a few lads on here who thought they knew it all but got it wrong look like they are desperately trying to get a bit of ground back with "nothing has been achieved here" empty statements. Damn right there was and people up and down the country are happy about it."
Ill leave it there mates, seems the debate is getting heated and people are taking a bit personally. Ive made my points and think they are pretty justified and its a sad situation. Ill prove im not having a pop of Kildare by leaving it there and not debating further, perhaps until after the game, id say the same if it was any other county including Dublin.

Enjoy the game, i hope Kildare win (imagine the carnage when you make the S8s) and hope all you lads got tickets!!

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 29/06/2018 10:14:00    2116609

Replying To witnof:  "No they weren't, were capacity was enough they were letting these matches go ahead in smaller grounds. But now they will bring in a rule that sets a minimum standard to avoid any issue.

Despite what the Brolly's of the world say the GAA is not an evil empire. Or if they are then the names of the GAA Croke Park people are known to all so people then should have the balls to call out people specifically rather than hide behind using simple the 'GAA' or 'Croke Park'

Dublin unfortunately will never get back to 'Neller, and for sure it is better for other counties, a. we would never be beaten there and b. the league revenues are spread across all counties so despite all the BS we are needed to increase PR and the revenues."
I remember Roscommon beating Dublin in 'Neller

manfromdelmonte (UK) - Posts: 541 - 29/06/2018 10:17:24    2116611

The username

Big sporting events, professional or amateur will almost always have a bigger demand than ticket distributors can supply. There is only so many spectators you can let in. That's life

Say for example this game was going ahead in Croke Park and it sold out (I know it wouldn't, but bare with me), there are an extra 8 or 9 thousand that wanted to go, Would we move the game across the water and have the GAA rent out Wembley for the day ? Or would we go for a weekend in the sun in Barcelona and watch Kildare v Mayo in the nou camp ? No we wouldn't. The point im making is, we don't move games in sports to bigger grounds somewhere else because the demand outweighs the supply.

Kildare got a home draw, Their gaff holds just over 8000. So just over 8000 tickets can be sold. End of story. Could they have sold more for Croker ? No doubt, But Kildare where drawn at home, their home is newbridge, and they want to play it in Newbridge. The rules stated that the first team out will get home advantage so to drag them to Croke park, A venue that Mayo are very familiar with in recent years is ridiculous. With the CCCC just nonchalantly fixing the game for CP with no care for Kildares players it became a matter of principle.

Kildare up until the Derry game had gone over a year losing every game they played. They are now on a mini run and have a Mayo side who have a few injuries, Miles in the legs, and probably feel they will stand a better chance of beating them by gaining every advantage they can get, which includes playing in a ground they are more familiar with as the rules of the draw entitled them to so all the power in the world to them.

As for the fans missing out, tough, This isn't about the fans. The players are the most important people here. The fans aren't the ones out training 4 or 5 nights a week, Putting their lives on hold. Making the sacrifices IC players have to make these days. It isn't the fans' championship campaign on the line, If Kildares management team and playing panel want to play their home game, in their home ground then that's where they should play.

If anything, Kildare have shown the smaller counties that they wont get pushed around and bullied by the powers that be.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 29/06/2018 10:19:24    2116612

Replying To jonno:  "Yes you are having a pop and you keep coming back with it. Talking about a war and such is rubbish. Talking about young Kildare fans not getting to go to Newbridge is also your own agenda. How many Kildare people would have went to Croke Park? You of course, looking forward to a trip to the city.
You say you're friends with some players well if you are really then wish them luck, pull on a Kildare jersey and get over it.
Enough of your own agenda."
HA HA thats rather a bizare post mate, very personalised lets not get into what i get up on a Saturday night, i live in Dublin going to the City isnt a trip. 30k turned up to Corker last year. I will be supporting Kildare tomorrow as a Dub, due to the links i have and i would also always shout for a Leinster team except Meath obviously. It doesnt mean any of the points i raised i dont believe. Like i said i will be leaving it there as clearly, emotions are running high.

Enjoy the game, hope you got a ticket.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 29/06/2018 10:22:58    2116615

Replying To witnof:  "Just to be clear, I am having a pop at Kildare becuase it is badly run.

Can someone tell me how much money the 'GAA' and/or 'Croke Park' have to plough into Kildare over the years to fill the holes in the finances? Didn't that have to basically take over running at one stage?

So does it now mean Kildare will not ask anymore bail outs?"
I'm betting not a tenth of what they have ploughed into Dublin AND provided you with a venue for your matches considering your own isn't fit for purpose. If you go on population versus home ground size Dublin actually have to be the WORST off of any county in the country. But don't let that stop you jumping on yer high horse. Does that mean Dublin will be still getting bailouts? At least we are doing something about our situation, Dublin?......no! Some lads are pretty sore that someone other than the mighty Dublin pulled the string this time around. Your glass house must be running out of stones by now.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 29/06/2018 10:33:52    2116621

One thing this whole fiasco has proved to me is not only is there a disconnect between HQ and the ordinary fan but it's more than that.

Priorities seem to be completely skewed, there are a lot of fans in certain counties who have no real realization of how frustrated GAA fans feel in smaller counties.

People going on about fans not getting to games as if this is the be all and end all. This is the problem with modern day GAA, they are more concerned about the people sitting in the stands than they are about the 30 players on the pitch, why? Because this in the stands pay money to be there.

Kildare could have took the easy way out and said he know what if we go to Croke Park we will get a few more quid out of the whole thing and all's rosy. But no for once a county said no we will actually do what's right by the 15 or 20 lads on the pitch this weekend. Id personally happily stay at home if it meant my county had a better chance of success, it's not about me, it's about them.

The fact is the likes of Dublin don't have to worry about these things, don't have to weigh these options up for example. But genuinely there are a lot of ordinary gaa people in Dublin who don't get the frustrations of counties who are not in the same privileged position as they are or maybe they do and don't give a damn which is fair enough too why should they?

But don't belittle the small victories for smaller counties, for once a county put the players ahead of money good on them.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1337 - 29/06/2018 11:04:11    2116632

Replying To neverright:  "Kildare and Roscommon have demonstrated that there comes a point where people have to, in Brolly's words say' F***k this' and take a stand. So perhaps the grassroots have finally reached breaking point and will refuse to be treated like s**t by egotists in provincial councils and Croke Park."
Ironic that it is both Roscommon and Kildare. Both up to their necks in debt and requiring assistance from Croke Park.

your.right (Longford) - Posts: 74 - 29/06/2018 11:57:34    2116649