How Little Does A Leinster Mean To Dubs?

Replying To Jackeen:  "80 v 57 provincial titles. 37 v 27 Sams. 20 v 13 league titles. The stats don't lie."
Wexford have also done the 4 in a row.
Here and now is all that matters.
But that is taking away from the topic I was referring too. I am very close friends with one past county player, whose Leinster medal is mounted in a frame and takes pride of place in his home. I don't think the same can be said for majority of this dubs team. I'm sure commerford will be the exception along with maybe one or two other. As for the rest? I really don't think they give a toss any more about a Leinster medal. And that is sad.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/06/2018 21:45:00    2114378

Replying To Donegalman:  "Negative. Dublin should go down and try and play you guys in Killarney at the end of may. That might shake up the championship nicely. I don't know if they would like the idea of it but the supporters would be able to get the train to the gates of fitzgerald stadium."
You're saying that like we wouldn't travel in big numbers for a game in Kerry....oh wait, that happens every second year already.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 24/06/2018 21:46:26    2114380

better to win them than lose them. Up the dubs

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 24/06/2018 22:16:34    2114388

Replying To royaldunne:  "Wexford have also done the 4 in a row.
Here and now is all that matters.
But that is taking away from the topic I was referring too. I am very close friends with one past county player, whose Leinster medal is mounted in a frame and takes pride of place in his home. I don't think the same can be said for majority of this dubs team. I'm sure commerford will be the exception along with maybe one or two other. As for the rest? I really don't think they give a toss any more about a Leinster medal. And that is sad."
There is no factual evidence behind your statement though
It's all pie in the sky stuff to fit your narrative. And that, is sad.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 24/06/2018 22:25:50    2114393

Replying To realdub:  "Ah jaysus kingdomboy, ye have a team there primed to rattle us if we meet, would ye like Kerry quartered if ye were still winning all round ye? Would the great Kerry take pride in beating East Dublin?"
Until we do beat ye realdub it's only all pie in the sky, personally I think we're 2/3 years away from getting anywhere near beating ye if we beat ye at all.

We have great young fellas but we need to get meat on their bones, ye absolutely made putty out of us in the league.

And to answer your question I'd be delighted to beat Dublin north south east and west, you couldn't split our county as we have a very small playing pool, saying that all our hurlers come from north Kerry and they do ok.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 24/06/2018 22:27:35    2114396

Replying To realdub:  "Ah jaysus kingdomboy, ye have a team there primed to rattle us if we meet, would ye like Kerry quartered if ye were still winning all round ye? Would the great Kerry take pride in beating East Dublin?"
I'm sure East Dublin would take great pleasure though in sending the Kerry boys home with their tails between their legs!

However no county will or should, be divided.

The question is in my opinion, is retaining the provincial system the best way of determining our premier competition and if it is not, then how do you still make it relevant?

ROYALOPTIMIST (Meath) - Posts: 179 - 24/06/2018 22:40:30    2114407

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "But sure aren't we in a hurling province or so I keep being told.

The sooner the GAA devide Dublin in 4 the better, they should be devided into north south east and west for the good of the game.

The needs of the many far outweigh the needs of the few."
You do realise East Dublin is the Irish sea? Please give it a rest how in the name of god would you/could you divide Dublin up? answers on a postage stamp.....................

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4897 - 24/06/2018 22:45:32    2114412

Replying To royaldunne:  "It would appear that when as colm orouke said that there is more wife's girlfriends and mothers wearing a Leinster medal as a pendant than other players in province has actually won one. 8 in a row would seem like a fantastic achievement, but when u look that average winning margin was 20 points. Do they really care? It's a genuine question, I have known a couple of past Dublin players (80/90s ) who absolutely adore their Leinster medals and winning province. Is it now more relatable to a obc medal?
I'm not having a go, I just want to know is it really that devalued?? And before anyone starts with the Meath this or that , I'm only too well aware where Meath are, we are getting there (u17/u20) but unfortunately it will take time. Let's be honest dubs are gonna win 10 in a row Leinster. Is it time to scrap it ?? I hope not as I adore the championship knock out style. But has it had its day in current format?"
Who cares what Colm O'Rourke thinks. Blowing his own trumpet again today going on about how he had met with the GAA president to outline his proposals to reform the championship and saying he's willing to,serve on any group established to look into this. Astonishing arrogance. He had his chance years ago and his proposals died a death at congress. Yesterdays man in every sense. Needs to drift away.

Onion Breath (Carlow) - Posts: 1412 - 24/06/2018 22:47:31    2114414

Replying To Jackeen:  "There is no factual evidence behind your statement though
It's all pie in the sky stuff to fit your narrative. And that, is sad."
And what narrative is that. ? Please enlighten me. As I honestly haven't a clue what you talking about. Apart from you taking everything as a slight on dub. Please enlighten me.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/06/2018 22:48:46    2114417

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Until we do beat ye realdub it's only all pie in the sky, personally I think we're 2/3 years away from getting anywhere near beating ye if we beat ye at all.

We have great young fellas but we need to get meat on their bones, ye absolutely made putty out of us in the league.

And to answer your question I'd be delighted to beat Dublin north south east and west, you couldn't split our county as we have a very small playing pool, saying that all our hurlers come from north Kerry and they do ok."
I don't believe that a north south east or west Dublin team would beat Kerry.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 24/06/2018 23:08:32    2114430

Replying To Onion Breath:  "Who cares what Colm O'Rourke thinks. Blowing his own trumpet again today going on about how he had met with the GAA president to outline his proposals to reform the championship and saying he's willing to,serve on any group established to look into this. Astonishing arrogance. He had his chance years ago and his proposals died a death at congress. Yesterdays man in every sense. Needs to drift away."
Very few care about Colm's opinion, this is about devaluation of a Leinster medal

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/06/2018 07:59:29    2114484

Replying To royaldunne:  "And what narrative is that. ? Please enlighten me. As I honestly haven't a clue what you talking about. Apart from you taking everything as a slight on dub. Please enlighten me."
Not a slight on Dublin. A slight on the players when you haven't a clue how or what a Leinster medal means to any of them. You made a huge assumption based on what? You started a thread to discuss something that is pie in the sky stuff. Can you not see that?

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 25/06/2018 08:49:46    2114497

It can seem a bit muted to us on the outside looking in but the reality is that these lads don't know how many seasons they have at inter-county level, the competition within Dublin is huge and for lads who maybe this is only their first or second I'm sure it means the world. Success isn't forever so I would say everyone within the Dublin setup are delighted to keep this going as long as possible.

In terms of the structure sure look we've all been over this a million times. In order for counties to become competitive they need help in terms of coaching structures as well as realistic silverware to aim for. Nothing will be an overnight solution. However I am dead against scrapping provincials altogether, as a Donegal man we only have 9 in our history with 4 of those coming since 2011. It's a very special thing and I don't think dominance of one county should negate that - whether they should be ran off as separate competitions from the All-Ireland series is another question. I still like Jim McGuinness's suggested structure in the Irish Times from a few years ago: https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/jim-mcguinness-how-i-would-reinvigorate-football-championship-1.2241993

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 25/06/2018 10:17:05    2114536

Replying To realdub:  "I don't believe that a north south east or west Dublin team would beat Kerry."
It would probably take a couple of years for them before they'd be able to topple a Kerry or a Tyrone a Donegal or a Mayo but ye'd still have 4 teams with huge population and finance and infrastructure .

Also think of the craic ye'd have at matches against each other.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 25/06/2018 11:16:44    2114575

Lads are entitled to their opinions, they are not entitled to alter facts or spout other peoples opinions as fact , if Dublin didn't care there would be cracks showing in preparation in commitment etc and actually knowing some of them involved that's not the case , these threads are driven by jealousy of our weak minded neighbors and of the minster for deflection down south , predictable, it says something when some posters are more concerned about Dublin than their own province and county.

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 25/06/2018 13:05:50    2114647

Replying To Damothedub:  "Lads are entitled to their opinions, they are not entitled to alter facts or spout other peoples opinions as fact , if Dublin didn't care there would be cracks showing in preparation in commitment etc and actually knowing some of them involved that's not the case , these threads are driven by jealousy of our weak minded neighbors and of the minster for deflection down south , predictable, it says something when some posters are more concerned about Dublin than their own province and county."
"Weak minded neighbours"................care to name names??

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 25/06/2018 13:30:00    2114657

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "It would probably take a couple of years for them before they'd be able to topple a Kerry or a Tyrone a Donegal or a Mayo but ye'd still have 4 teams with huge population and finance and infrastructure .

Also think of the craic ye'd have at matches against each other."
Hon Dun Laoghaire Rathdown

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1358 - 25/06/2018 13:30:02    2114658

Replying To bdbuddah:  "Hon Dun Laoghaire Rathdown"
No self respecting Dub would ever say "hon"!! :)

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 25/06/2018 13:44:51    2114667

Would it not be accurate to say only Dublin players and supporters are well placed enough to say what a Leinster medal does or doesn't mean to them? Everyone else is just pushing their own opinion as fact.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 25/06/2018 14:04:32    2114677

Atmosphere was electric yesterday to be honest, i think it means a lot to everyone.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 25/06/2018 14:12:30    2114681