How Little Does A Leinster Mean To Dubs?

It would appear that when as colm orouke said that there is more wife's girlfriends and mothers wearing a Leinster medal as a pendant than other players in province has actually won one. 8 in a row would seem like a fantastic achievement, but when u look that average winning margin was 20 points. Do they really care? It's a genuine question, I have known a couple of past Dublin players (80/90s ) who absolutely adore their Leinster medals and winning province. Is it now more relatable to a obc medal?
I'm not having a go, I just want to know is it really that devalued?? And before anyone starts with the Meath this or that , I'm only too well aware where Meath are, we are getting there (u17/u20) but unfortunately it will take time. Let's be honest dubs are gonna win 10 in a row Leinster. Is it time to scrap it ?? I hope not as I adore the championship knock out style. But has it had its day in current format?

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/06/2018 17:49:01    2114268

Replying To royaldunne:  "It would appear that when as colm orouke said that there is more wife's girlfriends and mothers wearing a Leinster medal as a pendant than other players in province has actually won one. 8 in a row would seem like a fantastic achievement, but when u look that average winning margin was 20 points. Do they really care? It's a genuine question, I have known a couple of past Dublin players (80/90s ) who absolutely adore their Leinster medals and winning province. Is it now more relatable to a obc medal?
I'm not having a go, I just want to know is it really that devalued?? And before anyone starts with the Meath this or that , I'm only too well aware where Meath are, we are getting there (u17/u20) but unfortunately it will take time. Let's be honest dubs are gonna win 10 in a row Leinster. Is it time to scrap it ?? I hope not as I adore the championship knock out style. But has it had its day in current format?"
Are you suggesting that Leinster football is dead?

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 24/06/2018 17:56:35    2114272

Scrap it? How about just rotate Dublin into a different province every year. Its not alien to the gaa to have them play elsewhere. Antrim and galway were moved into leinster hurling. Moving galway into leinster was extremely successful and has done wonders for the leinster hurling championship.

Kerry also don't play in the munster hurling. Dublin will do 20 in a row if we leave them here. What's the point. Make it interesting again and have them only walk leinster once every 4 years. Meanwhile they'll actually get a challenge the other 3 years when they play. Galway, mayo, donegal and kerry would have all competed with them at this stage of the year in their province.

Dublin management probably love the current set up because they can stroll to the all Ireland stage and prepare to peak for then all while getting 3 run outs in croker.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 24/06/2018 18:01:01    2114273

Replying To royaldunne:  "It would appear that when as colm orouke said that there is more wife's girlfriends and mothers wearing a Leinster medal as a pendant than other players in province has actually won one. 8 in a row would seem like a fantastic achievement, but when u look that average winning margin was 20 points. Do they really care? It's a genuine question, I have known a couple of past Dublin players (80/90s ) who absolutely adore their Leinster medals and winning province. Is it now more relatable to a obc medal?
I'm not having a go, I just want to know is it really that devalued?? And before anyone starts with the Meath this or that , I'm only too well aware where Meath are, we are getting there (u17/u20) but unfortunately it will take time. Let's be honest dubs are gonna win 10 in a row Leinster. Is it time to scrap it ?? I hope not as I adore the championship knock out style. But has it had its day in current format?"
You are having a go! How is anybody to know what it means to the team. None of us do. Give over!!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 24/06/2018 18:03:11    2114275

Dublin are basically a provincial team royaldunne, they should be playing in the interprovincial competition not masquerading as a county team.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 24/06/2018 18:07:12    2114277

Its a fair enough question, but believe it or not those boys wouldn't sleep tonight if they had lost it.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 24/06/2018 18:09:16    2114279

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Dublin are basically a provincial team royaldunne, they should be playing in the interprovincial competition not masquerading as a county team."
Kerry 80 Munster Titles. Dublin 57 Leinster titles. Do me a favour!!!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 24/06/2018 18:39:28    2114291

Replying To realdub:  "Its a fair enough question, but believe it or not those boys wouldn't sleep tonight if they had lost it."
Unlike your fellow county compatriot, you know what I mean more than most. Without either of us getting into details you know what that provincial medal means. While I take your point about the lads not sleeping tonight if they hadn't won, does winning it mean a hell of a lot to them?? I don't think so. And as u full well know I am not having a go. Now maybe in years to come it will mean more to them than it does now when cycles have changed etc. but for today I just don't see it.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/06/2018 18:41:59    2114292

Replying To royaldunne:  "Unlike your fellow county compatriot, you know what I mean more than most. Without either of us getting into details you know what that provincial medal means. While I take your point about the lads not sleeping tonight if they hadn't won, does winning it mean a hell of a lot to them?? I don't think so. And as u full well know I am not having a go. Now maybe in years to come it will mean more to them than it does now when cycles have changed etc. but for today I just don't see it."
Again, how would you or I know what it means to them?
You are making wild assumptions.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 24/06/2018 19:00:53    2114298

Replying To Jackeen:  "Again, how would you or I know what it means to them?
You are making wild assumptions."
Well if you can't see how little it means. You should go to spec savers. Honestly please don't try to turn this into the usual tribalism than goes on in this place. Take a leaf out of realds book. He knows what I am talking about.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/06/2018 19:05:28    2114299

I'm sure it means a lot to Evan Comerford and some of the younger players who haven't tasted success.
I remember reading Cathal McCarrons book and Tyrone had won 2 in a row and won a third I think and he said a lot of the Tyrone players were overly excited but he was as it was his first. They were more concentrated on all Ireland's. so success does breed indifference I suppose.
Look it is what is is. Dublin are miles ahead and by the chat of the pundits today tiered football isn't to far away so maybe they know something we don't.
Dublin will look back and be extremely pround of their achievements in Leinster. I think Kerry won 8 in a row twice I believe.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 24/06/2018 19:30:05    2114303

Replying To royaldunne:  "Well if you can't see how little it means. You should go to spec savers. Honestly please don't try to turn this into the usual tribalism than goes on in this place. Take a leaf out of realds book. He knows what I am talking about."
Not tribalism at all. Realism!! I dont need to take a leaf out of anybody's book but thanks for tip.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 24/06/2018 19:50:25    2114309

They're not the type of lads to jump around after steamrolling teams in a competition they win every year.
Of course it has lost some prestige but all it takes is one Leinster defeat to put that straight.
And it will happen someday.
In the meantime they're not going to look a gift horse in the mouth.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 24/06/2018 20:03:10    2114317

Replying To Jackeen:  "Kerry 80 Munster Titles. Dublin 57 Leinster titles. Do me a favour!!!"
But sure aren't we in a hurling province or so I keep being told.

The sooner the GAA devide Dublin in 4 the better, they should be devided into north south east and west for the good of the game.

The needs of the many far outweigh the needs of the few.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 24/06/2018 20:15:20    2114322

When they win 5 all irelands in a row maybe they will start to get sick of winning.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 24/06/2018 20:55:44    2114343

But everything is rosey in Munster lol. How many should Kerry be split into with their 80 titles and 4 "opponents" each year?

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 24/06/2018 20:57:12    2114344

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "But sure aren't we in a hurling province or so I keep being told.

The sooner the GAA devide Dublin in 4 the better, they should be devided into north south east and west for the good of the game.

The needs of the many far outweigh the needs of the few."
Negative. Dublin should go down and try and play you guys in Killarney at the end of may. That might shake up the championship nicely. I don't know if they would like the idea of it but the supporters would be able to get the train to the gates of fitzgerald stadium.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 24/06/2018 21:03:59    2114347

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "But sure aren't we in a hurling province or so I keep being told.

Ah jaysus kingdomboy, ye have a team there primed to rattle us if we meet, would ye like Kerry quartered if ye were still winning all round ye? Would the great Kerry take pride in beating East Dublin?

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 24/06/2018 21:09:34    2114351

80 v 57 provincial titles. 37 v 27 Sams. 20 v 13 league titles. The stats don't lie.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 24/06/2018 21:13:03    2114353

Getting there u 17 and u 20...lol.....plenty of counties have done well down the yrs at underage...doesn't always transfer to Senior.

moros (Roscommon) - Posts: 1080 - 24/06/2018 21:23:26    2114363