Qualifiers Round 3

Replying To green.and.gold:  "Ye are looking for a trip to Carrick I'd say Yew"
Yeah...sorry man but that would be the preferred choice...and the night out after in Carrick would be a bonus

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 24/06/2018 23:10:10    2114432

Replying To yew_tree:  "Yeah...sorry man but that would be the preferred choice...and the night out after in Carrick would be a bonus"
Well get your greasy mitts off - we want (need!) that trip to Carrick ;)

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5017 - 25/06/2018 06:48:54    2114477

Don't really mind who we get. Effectively guaranteed a home tie unless we draw Armagh and are second out of the hat.

Just delighted to be in the hat. Great achievement from our lads Saturday evening considering the players who decided to leave the panel after the Roscommon defeat. kicking 25 points, 21 from play.

juande_ramos (Leitrim) - Posts: 80 - 25/06/2018 08:04:04    2114485

Leitrim vs Monaghan
Kildare vs Mayo
Clare vs Armagh
Cavan vs Tyrone

Lightroom (Monaghan) - Posts: 17 - 25/06/2018 08:43:12    2114493

Fix Fix Fix

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 25/06/2018 08:48:33    2114496

Replying To Lightroom:  "Leitrim vs Monaghan
Kildare vs Mayo
Clare vs Armagh
Cavan vs Tyrone"
Not the worst draw for Tyrone Cavan maybe weakened by some suspensions. I take it Cavan will play the home game at Clones or Enniskillen. I think Mayo will get better the more games they play and will beat Kildare. Monaghan should enjoy the trip to Leitrim and I take Armagh to win a close one in Ennis. All four can win against the beaten finalists in the next round.

Byanthon (Tyrone) - Posts: 1780 - 25/06/2018 08:51:49    2114498

Replying To Byanthon:  "Unlikely to happen but if Mayo, Monaghan, Tyrone and Armagh get through I would take them to beat all the provincial runners up."
I think it is likely to happen now after this morning's draw. The only one in the balance is Armagh v Clare tie but given that Armagh have been given home advantage I should think that will swing it in their favour. Roscommon are a good outfit though so it would be a tight game between themselves and Armagh. I would definitely take the other 3 (Mayo,Monaghan and Tyrone to beat any of the provincial runners-up though.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 25/06/2018 09:00:09    2114501

Interesting draw, how fantastic is it to see Leitrim still in there, well done lads. Wonder will there be capacity issues at Newbridge for Kildare v Mayo? Looking at the support Mayo brought to Limerick and Thurles there's no way you'd fit them all in Newbridge at present, then again Mayo aren't the Dubs so most likely different rules will apply.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 25/06/2018 09:54:33    2114526

ok Mickey Quinn you've one job to do here don't pick up the "Hot Balls" ok?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 25/06/2018 10:07:37    2114531

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "Fix Fix Fix"
That was the first thing that came into my head, fixed so that big teams makes the Super 8s. They want Mayo, Tyrone and Monaghan to come through and Armagh have a huge following as well. I wouldn't rule out Cavan but if they have players suspended then it will be difficult for them. From the provincial losers I can only see Roscommon in with a chance.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1876 - 25/06/2018 10:26:13    2114539

Replying To Richieq:  "Interesting draw, how fantastic is it to see Leitrim still in there, well done lads. Wonder will there be capacity issues at Newbridge for Kildare v Mayo? Looking at the support Mayo brought to Limerick and Thurles there's no way you'd fit them all in Newbridge at present, then again Mayo aren't the Dubs so most likely different rules will apply."
That's their problem though isn't it?

Unless we do away with the whole concept of home advantage altogether?

I understand Mayo and Dublin having high numbers of season ticket holders brings a need to play in grounds that can accommodate them, but surely it's irresponsible of any county board (and the GAA if they're involved in individual counties season ticket schemes) to sell that many season tickets knowing there's a chance some grounds won't be able to meet capacity demands.

Maybe there's a caveat on season tickets though to cover county boards in these sorts of situations?

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 25/06/2018 10:33:06    2114544

Replying To Richieq:  "Interesting draw, how fantastic is it to see Leitrim still in there, well done lads. Wonder will there be capacity issues at Newbridge for Kildare v Mayo? Looking at the support Mayo brought to Limerick and Thurles there's no way you'd fit them all in Newbridge at present, then again Mayo aren't the Dubs so most likely different rules will apply."
No way should we be having our home game taken away. Not that long ago since Tyrone were down in a qualifier and they brought a good support too. We seem to do a lot of travelling in the back door so it's time to make a stand ala McStay, and insist on our home game. Even at that Mayo would be warm favourites.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 25/06/2018 10:38:30    2114546

Replying To kildare73:  "No way should we be having our home game taken away. Not that long ago since Tyrone were down in a qualifier and they brought a good support too. We seem to do a lot of travelling in the back door so it's time to make a stand ala McStay, and insist on our home game. Even at that Mayo would be warm favourites."
I agree with you 100% but seeing how the GAA do things it's a warning that needs heeding, stand your " ground" for sure

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 25/06/2018 10:45:52    2114550

Good draws there for the stronger teams. Bar Mayo -that draw is a stinker.. Kildare are starting to play well again. I think that they will come undone in Newbridge.

Kildare, Tyrone, Monaghan and Armagh all likely to face the provincial runners up.

I think there will be some serious matches in the super 8s if the expected teams make it through. Not one of the provincial runners up caught my eye so the back door teams have a great chance of getting to the last 8.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 25/06/2018 10:49:35    2114554

Not a hope will Mayo be brought to Newbridge. Hasn't been a Kildare championship game there in 23 years, won't start now with one of the biggest traveling supporters in the country.

Sweetspot (Kildare) - Posts: 323 - 25/06/2018 10:50:31    2114555

Replying To Sweetspot:  "Not a hope will Mayo be brought to Newbridge. Hasn't been a Kildare championship game there in 23 years, won't start now with one of the biggest traveling supporters in the country."
This is a qualifier which there have been plenty of. There hasn't been a Leinster championship match in 23 yrs in Newbridge. This is a home game for KIldare so it will be in Newbridge unless our spinless county board bend over. We've had three away games so far, our county board needs to think of our supporters and our team.

Kiwiq (Kildare) - Posts: 38 - 25/06/2018 11:08:39    2114569

Breffi Park is out of use - if Croke Park is free on Saturday, I can see Cavan v Tyrone and Kildare V Mayo as a double header. It would bring a huge crowd to HQ.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 25/06/2018 11:09:17    2114571

Replying To Kiwiq:  "This is a qualifier which there have been plenty of. There hasn't been a Leinster championship match in 23 yrs in Newbridge. This is a home game for KIldare so it will be in Newbridge unless our spinless county board bend over. We've had three away games so far, our county board needs to think of our supporters and our team."
Stand corrected, very true. Hopefully with the redevelopment of Conleths our fortunes will change with regard to home matches

Sweetspot (Kildare) - Posts: 323 - 25/06/2018 11:14:53    2114574

If Monaghan beat Leitrim can they play Fermanagh in the next round of Qualifiers?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 25/06/2018 11:30:35    2114581

Replying To clondalkindub:  "If Monaghan beat Leitrim can they play Fermanagh in the next round of Qualifiers?"
No.. that is a new rule from last year. Neither can Armagh play Fermanagh if they beat Clare.
If Monaghan beat Leitrim, Rd 4 will be tricky. Monaghan would prefer to meat Fermanagh again compared to the other three teams in the pot.
For me, I'd like to avoid Cork and Roscommon. Cork are either Brilliant or Awful so knowing Monaghan's luck they would be brilliant if they played us..! Roscommon are a very good footballing team, there would only be a kick in the ball between them and Monaghan.
After the hammering Laois got, I'd hope Monaghan could take them in Rd4.

SouthMonMan (Monaghan) - Posts: 104 - 25/06/2018 11:41:29    2114592