The Future Of Inter-County Football

Replying To keepherlow:  "'I'm not a disgruntled, bitter Meath Fan-- But.....'

We all just have to play catch up-"
Hopefully we lay down a marker in navan in couple of weeks.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 28/05/2018 19:15:20    2104990

Dublin are doing a great job but hurling still needs a big win for it to take off.
I understand the points being made but lets keep it accurate. Dublin doesn't have a quarter of the island of Ireland's Population. It has just under 20%. Dublin was the right size for a 32 county Ireland but is very big for a 26 county country.
Also Gaelic football is still miles behind association football for numbers but it is making inroads. Rugby will always be strong in its hinterlands and hurling was traditionally inner city but is growing everywhere .

PeggyShippen (Limerick) - Posts: 300 - 28/05/2018 19:15:59    2104991

Replying To Green_Gold:  "Young_gael great post and hope to hear more of your thoughts in the future. Just thinking about a county like Donegal, we start most years with a half decent chance of winning Ulster so have something to aim for. Do you think that might be why the Leinster counties are doing so badly? They feel they have no chance of winning the Leinster title so have nothing really to play for. Even for the Dublin supporters the Leinster championship must be really boring. Is there a case for Dublin not entering Leinster and going to one of the other provinces, or even just go straight to the Super 8's? Dublin a super side but they gain nothing from winning the Leinster title whereas the like of Kildare and Meath would see this as a great success.

I think we all agree that the cash could be spread around a bit more evenly but that could take 10/15 years to filter down to success for weaker counties. Short term, we need to give the Leinster counties something to play for."
Have to agree. There was a poster on here for a number of years saying Dublin should be moved around provinces, he was ridiculed for it, I myself said no way. However I am man enough to admit he was absolutely right. As I said every county outside of Leinster have something to play for, we have nothing. Now Carlow and longford will get great traction out of reaching semi , if I'm honest it wouldn't make one bit of difference to meath or Kildare . And even the likely hammering that awaits whoever plays dubs will have been worth it cause they reached a goal. That was same for Westmeath when they reached 2 finals in a row , however it destroyed them as a team.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 28/05/2018 19:22:01    2104993

Replying To Ban:  "That's a pretty solid first post

Its ironic, the worst thing which happened Westmeath in recent time was getting to a couple of Leinster Finals. Some severe beatings and now there's only a handful of these players who has decided to stay around.

Its not Dublin's fault. I for one have really enjoyed watching them during this decade.

The problem is the GAA organisation. They are not structured to best service the game. They are setup to best service themselves.

I'd love to see Westmeath and other counties full out of the Championship. What these players are putting in for such little in return baffles me."
I ref that in a post before I saw your reply. While it was great for Westmeath to beat both Meath and Dublin in consecutive years. The final hammerings destroyed a good team. And now they are falling apart.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 28/05/2018 19:25:08    2104994

Replying To royaldunne:  "I ref that in a post before I saw your reply. While it was great for Westmeath to beat both Meath and Dublin in consecutive years. The final hammerings destroyed a good team. And now they are falling apart."
To beat both Meath and KILDARE, not Dublin, my bad lol

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 28/05/2018 19:43:36    2105007

Replying To royaldunne:  "
Replying To Green_Gold:  "Young_gael great post and hope to hear more of your thoughts in the future. Just thinking about a county like Donegal, we start most years with a half decent chance of winning Ulster so have something to aim for. Do you think that might be why the Leinster counties are doing so badly? They feel they have no chance of winning the Leinster title so have nothing really to play for. Even for the Dublin supporters the Leinster championship must be really boring. Is there a case for Dublin not entering Leinster and going to one of the other provinces, or even just go straight to the Super 8's? Dublin a super side but they gain nothing from winning the Leinster title whereas the like of Kildare and Meath would see this as a great success.

I think we all agree that the cash could be spread around a bit more evenly but that could take 10/15 years to filter down to success for weaker counties. Short term, we need to give the Leinster counties something to play for."
Have to agree. There was a poster on here for a number of years saying Dublin should be moved around provinces, he was ridiculed for it, I myself said no way. However I am man enough to admit he was absolutely right. As I said every county outside of Leinster have something to play for, we have nothing. Now Carlow and longford will get great traction out of reaching semi , if I'm honest it wouldn't make one bit of difference to meath or Kildare . And even the likely hammering that awaits whoever plays dubs will have been worth it cause they reached a goal. That was same for Westmeath when they reached 2 finals in a row , however it destroyed them as a team."
We have no desire to become Ulster or Connacht champions, now Munster on the other hand :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 28/05/2018 19:48:43    2105010

Replying To PeggyShippen:  "Dublin are doing a great job but hurling still needs a big win for it to take off.
I understand the points being made but lets keep it accurate. Dublin doesn't have a quarter of the island of Ireland's Population. It has just under 20%. Dublin was the right size for a 32 county Ireland but is very big for a 26 county country.
Also Gaelic football is still miles behind association football for numbers but it is making inroads. Rugby will always be strong in its hinterlands and hurling was traditionally inner city but is growing everywhere ."
"Hurling was traditionally inner city". Is that Limerick you mean? Cos it certainly doesn't apply anywhere else!!! And if " it is growing everywhere" it must be doing it invisibly!!. And it is news to me too that Gaelic football is making inroads on association football in any meaningful way.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1904 - 28/05/2018 20:36:41    2105024

Replying To Jackeen:  "Sponsorship deals
Yes Dublin GAA have sponsorship deals as all counties do. Some more than others. How does this make a team professional?

Access to funding
Can you elaborate?

Specific coaching?
Any examples?

Perks
Cars...Yes they get the use of a car for a year. Much like the Kerry lads did or the Kilkenny lads did. I wouldn't. begrudge an amateur player this.

Education?
Huh? Any examples?

Ties with lucrative sponsors?
What does this actually mean?

Advertising...the players faces are everywhere?
And? How does this make them professional? Eir used Cillian O'connor in their ad. What difference does it make?

Using Wicklow as an example is designed to show how huge the gulf is and it is of course. But the gulf is still huge if you compare Wicklow with Mayo or Cork or Tyrone or Kerry. Are Kerry or Mayo not equally as "professional"? Kerry with partnerships coming out their eyeballs too.

I think some people like to listen to what certain sections of the media say without knowing what it is they agree with. Very little facts attached to a lot of the mud being a slung at Dublin since they started winning this decade. Of course if the figures that are being bandied about are correct then yes the funding is an issue and must be redirected elsewhere but everything else above is just nonsense. Just my onion of course."
What partnerships have Kerry got besides the one with Kerry group?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 28/05/2018 22:31:30    2105094

Replying To Jackeen:  "Sponsorship deals
Yes Dublin GAA have sponsorship deals as all counties do. Some more than others. How does this make a team professional?

Access to funding
Can you elaborate?

Specific coaching?
Any examples?

Perks
Cars...Yes they get the use of a car for a year. Much like the Kerry lads did or the Kilkenny lads did. I wouldn't. begrudge an amateur player this.

Education?
Huh? Any examples?

Ties with lucrative sponsors?
What does this actually mean?

Advertising...the players faces are everywhere?
And? How does this make them professional? Eir used Cillian O'connor in their ad. What difference does it make?

Using Wicklow as an example is designed to show how huge the gulf is and it is of course. But the gulf is still huge if you compare Wicklow with Mayo or Cork or Tyrone or Kerry. Are Kerry or Mayo not equally as "professional"? Kerry with partnerships coming out their eyeballs too.

I think some people like to listen to what certain sections of the media say without knowing what it is they agree with. Very little facts attached to a lot of the mud being a slung at Dublin since they started winning this decade. Of course if the figures that are being bandied about are correct then yes the funding is an issue and must be redirected elsewhere but everything else above is just nonsense. Just my onion of course."
It's all a matter of public record mate, nobody ever looks they just presume, their aren't the huge sums between counties most think relatively. Dublin should actually be doing considerably better

1 Dublin

Commercial: €1,462,529
Fundraising: €54,997

Central Media: €175,000

Competitions: €213,892

Expenses: €251,854

Provincial: €29,250

TOTAL: €2,187,522

TEAM COSTS: €1,604,353

2 Mayo

Commercial: €549,705

Fundraising: €921,249

Competitions: €143,805

Expenses: €370,284

Provincial: €8,600

TOTAL: €2,168,643

TEAM COSTS: €1,542,547

3 Galway

Commercial: €535,660

Fundraising: €497,805

Competitions: €154,538

Expenses: €271,480

Provincial: €71,770*

*Includes 29,250 Leinster payment for hurlers

TOTAL: €1,680,933

TEAM COSTS: €1,295,639

4 Cork

Commercial: €708,201

Fundraising: €122,725

Competitions: €112,964

Expenses: €94,586

Provincial: €71,770

TOTAL: €1,285,246

TEAM COSTS: €1,747,609

5 Kerry

Commercial: €466,509

Fundraising: €153,917

Competitions: €157,220

Expenses: €145,420

Provincial: €46,260*

*Includes €6,000 payment from Leinster for hurlers

TOTAL: €1,144,326

TEAM COSTS: €1,030,443

6 Tipperary

Commercial: €568,280

Fundraising: €121,538

Competitions: €193,535

Expenses: €48,070

Provincial: €16,650

TOTAL: €1,123,073

TEAM COSTS: €1,070,353

7 Meath

Commercial: €399,654

Fundraising: €329,093

Competitions: €52,237

Expenses: €37,136

Provincial: €22,750

TOTAL: €1,015,870

TEAM COSTS: €658,487

8 Wexford

Commercial: €320,071

Fundraising: €333,235

Competitions: €131,298

Expenses: €24,212

Provincial: €26,000

TOTAL: €1,009,823

TEAM COSTS: €945,224

9 Donegal

Commercial: €470,658

Fundraising: €176,283

Competitions: €103,642

Expenses: €46,510

Provincial: €13,000

TOTAL: €985,093

TEAM COSTS: €952,697

10 Kilkenny

Commercial: €471,988

Fundraising: €126,000

Competitions: €99,785

Expenses: €64,508

Provincial: €16,750

TOTAL: €954,041

TEAM COSTS: €633,148

11 Waterford

Commercial: €257,625

Fundraising: €156,256

Competitions: €103,745

Expenses: €193,956

Provincial: €42,670*

*Includes €20,000 payment for reaching All-Ireland hurling final

TOTAL: €929,252

TEAM COSTS: €872,607

12 Tyrone

Commercial: €292,666

Fundraising: €296,146

Competitions: €82,996

Expenses: €57,008

Provincial: €22,000

TOTAL: €925,816

TEAM COSTS: €645,928

https://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/dublin-reign-supreme-but-where-does-your-county-rank-on-the-2018-gaa-rich-list-36922874.html

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 28/05/2018 23:05:44    2105108

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "What partnerships have Kerry got besides the one with Kerry group?"
13 listed on the website

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 28/05/2018 23:27:38    2105110

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "What partnerships have Kerry got besides the one with Kerry group?"
Surely we have Ryanair don't we, I mean ever county needs an airline partner!!!

God almighty when I heard Aer Lingus were Dubs 'airline partner' in Colm Keyes article a couple of weeks ago, I had to lie down. The jig is surely up now for the rest of us if that's what we are facing.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 28/05/2018 23:38:27    2105112

nobody gave a damn when the likes of Wicklow,Carlow,Longford,Westmeath,Louth etc were being soundly beaten every year in Leinster but now because Meath and Kildare were deservedly beaten by 2 so-called lesser teams who happen , to have, at this moment in time better players and better management and are better prepared it's all doom and gloom. Personally, I think it's great that 2 "new" teams are contesting the semi-finals in Leinster. Good luck to Dublin, They are a joy to watch.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 28/05/2018 23:47:18    2105114

It's NO surprise that most of the arguments, ridicule and hostility against this thread, and others like it, come from Dublin fans. I mean why bite the hand that feeds you? Dublin are winning; their supporters, the media, sponsors, advertisers BUT especially Croke Park and the GAA hierarchy, are delighted. The dollars are flooding in, Dublin's dominance is ensuring a steady income and och NEVER mind that Gaelic Football IS dying on it's arse....smile you ungrateful wretches and whatever you're having yourself...sure make it a double and Croker will pay.........and put it on the "Dublin are ALL that matters" account.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 29/05/2018 02:32:29    2105133

Replying To yew_tree:  "I don't but you don't need a calculator to work out Kildare springing is low because Ye get knocked out early in the season. The longer you are in it the more €€€ you clock up.

Kildare has a big support base and some wealthy natives. Time to start planning. I've seen the facilities in Kildare clubs and they are far superior to anything we have in Mayo.

Kildare always to me seems like a passionate GAA county but I've seen little on the field of play on a occasions I've seen he play.

As for Paddy O Rourke comments from Meath...it's very defeatist attitude to have. I hope his views are not representative of the majority of Meath GAA folk because of it is then Meath really are finished."
Kildare missed I'm guessing the last 6 weeks of the championship season by being beaten by Armagh last year. I don't think an extra round or two of games would have catapulted us up the spending ladder very much from the 17th position we ended up in. As for the "big support base" well that's been dwindling for some time now and this weekend was further evidence. There may be wealthy natives in the county, to use your own words, but they ain't GAA people or maybe even Kildare people at all. As far as I know our shirt sponship deal with Bradys is worth around €100k per season, which is a lot of money but not exactly AIG levels. We spent €484k last year as a county, placing us in the bottom half of the county teams spending nationally. But I don't disagree with you when you say planning has to start now, more can and should be achieved and it just isn't. But as was said earlier Leinster teams have a particular problem other provinces don't have, namely facing Dublin early and starting the year off knowing you have to pretty much pull off a miracle to win a single thing. A good few counties in the other provinces have a decent chance at winning a title of some kind, in Leinster that's not such a realistic expectation. Yet county managers have to fire up players somehow to put in a massive physical and personal effort to get stuck into a season that doesn't hold all that much in reality. There's definite apathy on the terraces and I think it's transferring to the pitch too. I don't know where football in general is going but when you look at the way the game is played now and players bailing out to America or wherever to spend their summers, you wonder is the joy going out of the game in some counties for both players and spectators. The joyful days are days like yesterday for Carlow and Longford and even though my county were beaten you still can't help but be happy for them both because that's exactly the joy and reward you should feel, at least from time to time for the effort put in. Sadly it's seems to be more rare these days and in the big picture view, you have to hope the product of the GAA in general isn't being damaged.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 29/05/2018 02:56:52    2105135

What I found surprising about above figures was Dublin for example raised very little through supporter fundraising where Mayo raised a heap of cash this way.

Kerry and Mayo seem to be good at raising funds this way especially abroad. Then again when your team is going well it's much easier do this

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 29/05/2018 09:08:18    2105155

Replying To yew_tree:  "What I found surprising about above figures was Dublin for example raised very little through supporter fundraising where Mayo raised a heap of cash this way.

Kerry and Mayo seem to be good at raising funds this way especially abroad. Then again when your team is going well it's much easier do this"
The Mayo figures are cracking and i have to say i was really surprised, they really have their act together. I think the main drivers were the Cairde Mayo scheme i think its 200 a year and the lottery for the All Ireland, you lads will know more about then me, but some brilliant work being done in Mayo in fundraising.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 29/05/2018 10:33:39    2105191

Replying To yew_tree:  "What I found surprising about above figures was Dublin for example raised very little through supporter fundraising where Mayo raised a heap of cash this way.

Kerry and Mayo seem to be good at raising funds this way especially abroad. Then again when your team is going well it's much easier do this"
Yes but how sustainable in the long term is such funding? I mean for how long can counties go to New York with the cap in their hand, that's my worry for Kerry. Just to try and keep pace with Dublin we are having to do this. We are having to do this to help finance our infrastructure in terms of paying to operate our Centre of Excellence.
Dublin on the other hand have a stream of funding coming in each year from Croke Park on top of their numerous sponsorship and commercial deals which allows them to keep their show on the road.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 29/05/2018 10:35:10    2105192

Both of those counties have big diasporas abroad (and in Mayo's case in Ireland too!), with many county associations etc. as part of that. I don't think that the Dublin diaspora is as concentrated around their county GAA sides as Mayo or Kerry's are either.

Mayo and Kerry have to raise big sums abroad to be competitive, given the relative lack of central funding available to them. It's probably helpful to Mayo for fundraising purposes that we travel to London and New York for championship games two out of every five years.

Tbh, with the Dubs recently announcing a €4 million extension to their sponsorship deal with AIG, in addition to several other commercial partners, funding from the Irish Sports Council etc. I don't believe there's any need to give them any more central funding from GAA coffers, for a while anyway.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 29/05/2018 14:00:25    2105284

It is an amateur game only in name now having read some of the stats here.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 29/05/2018 14:32:46    2105296

It is an amateur game only in name now having read some of the stats here.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3199 - 29/05/2018 14:32:46
What stats are you referring to?

DonaldDuck (Tipperary) - Posts: 544 - 29/05/2018 15:09:29    2105310