Is Leinster Football Dead And Buried?

I think this is a very unfair post. Would ye not think that maybe longford and carlow have put in good graft at underage over the years to come to this point. I dont think leinster is dead and buried at all. Look at kerrys domination in munster for years? I cant wait to play dublin and a lot of these longford lads have beaten a lot of the current dublin team in u21 in 2013. Outside of leinster i can guarantee you that longford dont fear playing anyone and carlow the same. We could have beaten donegal in ballybofey in the qualifiers last year only for kicking too many wides on the day, beat down and monaghan both away games in 2016 qualifiers and nearly took cork that year too. Beat mayo in 2010 and only lost by a point or 2 to kerry and tyrone a few years after that. Maybe its time some of ye moved with the times. We're not in the 80's, 90's or 00's anymore. This is 2018 change is good. Tradition stands for nothing. Carlow and longford rising.

rahoorahoo (Longford) - Posts: 56 - 28/05/2018 01:27:01    2104482

I would just like to add that I am NOT trying to be smart or make some biased case or point against Leinster football. I loved the Meath/Dublin rivalries and the rise of Kildare under Micko as well as the competitiveness of Laois, Westmeath, Louth, Wexford, Waterford, Carlow, Wicklow, at times. I am also NOT anti Dublin. I know how important they are for the GAA but I believe the Association is at a crossroads. Do we exist now just to facilitate Dublin and the Dublin media? I am also concerned at the decline in interest and competitiveness in Ulster in Gaelic Games.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9701 - 28/05/2018 03:39:33    2104490

Replying To OhtobeARossie:  "Your dreaming and that's good but no one outside of Leinster fears any Leinster side bar the dubs in fact if leitrim and Sligo were in leitrim were in Leinster last 2 years they would be in running for 2nd best team in Leinster."
If you think anyone in the country "fear" playing Roscommon you're deluded, and the comment Leitrim would be the 2nd best team is Leinster is ridiculous. Bar Mayo no Connacht team would have been any closer to the Dubs and don't forget the Mayo dominance in Connacht that only ended because they attempted to peak later in the year in order to win the big one. Thankfully Galway seem to be back at the top table but only time will tell if they are serious contenders.

catchturnscore (Longford) - Posts: 149 - 28/05/2018 05:59:15    2104493

Replying To Ulsterman:  "I would just like to add that I am NOT trying to be smart or make some biased case or point against Leinster football. I loved the Meath/Dublin rivalries and the rise of Kildare under Micko as well as the competitiveness of Laois, Westmeath, Louth, Wexford, Waterford, Carlow, Wicklow, at times. I am also NOT anti Dublin. I know how important they are for the GAA but I believe the Association is at a crossroads. Do we exist now just to facilitate Dublin and the Dublin media? I am also concerned at the decline in interest and competitiveness in Ulster in Gaelic Games."
Ulsterman I don't get you pal you keep saying this is an average Dublin team that isn't great at all, yet somehow this "average team" according to you is ruining football.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 28/05/2018 10:08:11    2104578

If it isn't yet it will be well dead and buried by the time the leinster final is played! Any chance they could fix the Dublin semi and the final on the same day? Just thinking of the Dublin supporters...from the highlights last night looked like they had to cheer the Wicklow scores to try to make some sort of atmosphere yesterday!

blacknamber (Kerry) - Posts: 267 - 28/05/2018 10:23:04    2104594

I am not sure I would say dead and buried.

Its more a case of why the other 'big' sides in Leinster are so poor at the moment....In the case of Meath this has been happening for quite some time. Kildare are bereft of confidence and I think they may struggle with Derry.

I can't explain why Meath, Kildare, Wicklow don't have better set ups than they presently do considering there is a large population available. The game is clearly struggling to get interest and ergo more of player a population. Something needs to be done to get the culture right.

However, great results from Longford and Carlow at the weekend. Whatever these counties and Laois are doing at the moment is working. Carlow in particular are very impressive considering there is a strong hurling contingent with such a small player population.

seanfinn (Monaghan) - Posts: 360 - 28/05/2018 10:41:30    2104611

Replying To festinog:  "Only competitive game last year for Dublin was against Mayo? You've a funny notion of competitive; I'd say the fine people in Kerry who actually beat Dublin in the league final might take exception to that. Talk about doing a disservice!

Like I said, and indeed as you pointed out yourself, the only teams that have put it to Dublin, or who are likely to beat them any time soon, are all from outside Leinster. The question isn't about which teams can garner the biggest crowd; I'd expect Dublin and Kildare, two of the most populated counties in the country, to be able to fill Croker considering it's almost a home venue for both of them. But conversely, I'd also expect Kildare, and for that matter, Meath, Louth and Wicklow, to be far more competitive nationally for the same reasons. They have the population, the employment, the infrastructure and the financial support, and yet talk about not pulling their weight! By rights Leinster football should be ruling the roost. It's not. Not by a long shot. Dublin is, but Dublin isn't Leinster. But sure what do I know, I'm only an aulde culchie. For all I know the football supporters in West Meath, Longford, Wicklow, etc. etc. might take great joy out of being hammered every year by Dublin with no end in sight, safe in the knowledge that every time Dublin win, they're doing it for their fellow provincials.

I doubt it though."
Fair point on the Kerry game mate, they were worthy winners on the day, apologies to the many Kerry lads on here.

You made the comment about the attendance of last years Leinster final mate in terms of the health of Leinster football and evident it speaks for itself in comparison to any other province in terms of interest, it was a bad presumption.

You can count on two fingers counties who have gotten the better of Dublin in the Championship namely Mayo 2012 and Donegal 2014, moral victoriesof being close to Dublin are ultimately the same reward as Wicklow being beaten yesterday.

The difference between Leinster counties and all others, is that they have to play significantly earlier then any other counties if any other county was in the same boat be in in Connacht, Munster or Ulster you would be seing a different make up in the quaterfianls and qualifiers. So the likelihood of playing in qualifiers is significantly increased, even being successful Leinster is the biggest provience and Carlow, Laois and Longford have played two games to get to a provincial semi final. Roscomon yesterday played one game to get to a provisional final, Kerry will do the same next week. So with a bigger championship, more games and a likely higher chance of hitting the qualifiers early and everything that goes with that in terms of turnaround of games, prep etc. Leinster teams are playing with significant adversities to other teams in other provinces.

I agree to an extent on Kildare, Meath, i think your being a bit harsh on Louth and Wicklow. I will say those counties are really making a significant contribuition in other sports though particularly rugby and Leinster success. That a soul searcher for those county boards. But on soul at the end of the day its competitive sport, those counties dont have a divine right to progress from Leinster, the achievement and work in Loais, Carlow and Longford is a good bnews story for Leinster and GAA, yet we have a tread talking about the detah of Leinster football, its massively patronizing.

Leinster football should be ruling the roost? It is. as i keep saying no other province has won Sam Maguire bar Leinster since 2014. Im not sure why you insist on separating Dublin from Leinster. Ultimately every county and province has tried and failed to win an All Ireland outside of Leinster. It depends when you play Dublin, Leinster teams play them earlier and that stacks the deck against them, other contis play them later and are beaten is that really success? Ultimately every other county and province have ended up with the same as Meath and Kildare, nothing. Putting it up Dublin is seen as a moral victory, thats great for Dublin, but it means zero it ultimately failure.

Like i said if any province wants to break the Leinster stranglehold on the all Ireland they have to prove it, no one has yet.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 28/05/2018 10:41:52    2104613

Can we split Carlow in 2? They could dominate Leinster, Laois up next. Should be a right local derby.
Fair play to Carlow on their win. Carlow were complete no hopers just a few years ago, now they have a belief, allied with a good manager, plus some handy footballers. Pity that Brendan Murphy is not available, an outstanding footballer.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1741 - 28/05/2018 10:48:22    2104616

Well if you pile one of the counties with over €16.6 million in funding over the past ten years and give Cork (the next most funded county on the list) only €1.1 million what do you expect? Add in their 14 official sponsors yes including their airline partner, Aer Lingus don't you know every county needs its own airline these days.
It's grotesque but hey Croke Park want Dublin winning so what do they care if they're hockeying every other team in Leinster by 20 points?
As someone said above, what's happened to Leinster is only a taster of what is going to happen to the sport in general. The inter-county scene is going to become a ghost land with Dublin cantering to All Ireland after All Ireland and eventually the rest of us will just go back to the club scene in our own counties.
It's depressing but that's the natural end result of the GAA's policy over the past decade.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 28/05/2018 10:56:05    2104620

Leinster Football is in crisis having one team so dominant, but working in education in Wexford I can assure you in terms of the youth the GAA is very very strong. A Jersey day in our school will see 60+ kids in Wexford jersies. Another 40-50 in the local GAA shirt. It will see a further 20-30 in GAA shirts of other counties (mainly Dublin) The other 100 kids will wear mostly soccer shirts, Barcelona, Utd, Liverpool, Celtic in the main.

Wicklowman (Wicklow) - Posts: 1138 - 28/05/2018 10:56:22    2104622

Replying To TheHermit:  "Well if you pile one of the counties with over €16.6 million in funding over the past ten years and give Cork (the next most funded county on the list) only €1.1 million what do you expect? Add in their 14 official sponsors yes including their airline partner, Aer Lingus don't you know every county needs its own airline these days.
It's grotesque but hey Croke Park want Dublin winning so what do they care if they're hockeying every other team in Leinster by 20 points?
As someone said above, what's happened to Leinster is only a taster of what is going to happen to the sport in general. The inter-county scene is going to become a ghost land with Dublin cantering to All Ireland after All Ireland and eventually the rest of us will just go back to the club scene in our own counties.
It's depressing but that's the natural end result of the GAA's policy over the past decade."
This is 100% what has happened in Meath. People just want the intercounty farce to end so we can get back to the club championship which at least is a fair competition. Look at the amount of players who have dropped off the meath panel. Our most successful club teams in recent years, Simonstown and Summerhill...no players involved yesterday. The players aren't interested in being humiliated by the GAA who have scandalously backed one county and who can blame them...

This will happen across the country in the very near future. Eventually there will be no more intercounty scene due to lack of interest, probably to be replaced by a club scene where 4/5 superclubs from around the country play in the Dublin SFC.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1318 - 28/05/2018 11:08:01    2104634

Replying To TheHermit:  "Well if you pile one of the counties with over €16.6 million in funding over the past ten years and give Cork (the next most funded county on the list) only €1.1 million what do you expect? Add in their 14 official sponsors yes including their airline partner, Aer Lingus don't you know every county needs its own airline these days.
It's depressing but that's the natural end result of the GAA's policy over the past decade."
So why aren't our hurlers winning if it's all about money?

Why did our minor hurlers and footballers get beaten if it's all about money?

Most of our team have parents that played for Dublin or in Kilkenny's case a superstar relation from Galway , these guys were destined to play for Dublin money has nothing to do with it.

Yes our population is obviously a factor but as you can see we're battling with rugby right now and soccer is huge in Dublin sadly 1.5 million Dubliners don't play GAA.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 28/05/2018 11:20:11    2104641

Replying To clondalkindub:  "So why aren't our hurlers winning if it's all about money?

Most of our team have parents that played for Dublin or in Kilkenny's case a superstar relation from Galway , these guys were destined to play for Dublin money has nothing to do with it.

Yes our population is obviously a factor but as you can see we're battling with rugby right now and soccer is huge in Dublin sadly 1.5 million Dubliners don't play GAA."
We're also battling rugby and soccer. Our esteemed St mels college, with numerous leinster colleges titles to their name and 7 or 8 all Irelands recently won the colleges rugby development leinster title.

I have no doubt Dublin are battling these elements, but so are we. The difference is your battling them with 1.2 million people, we're battling it with 30k......its all relative!

Longfordbaz (Longford) - Posts: 145 - 28/05/2018 11:26:59    2104643

So Leinster Football is dead and buried because Meath lost to Longford and Kildare lost to Carlow, both losses being the fault of Dublin's dominance?

Got it I think ;)

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 28/05/2018 11:27:48    2104645

Replying To clondalkindub:  "So why aren't our hurlers winning if it's all about money?

Yes our population is obviously a factor but as you can see we're battling with rugby right now and soccer is huge in Dublin sadly 1.5 million Dubliners don't play GAA."
Clondakin......walk away from this thread. Not worth wasting your breadth

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 28/05/2018 11:42:32    2104655

Replying To MesAmis:  "So Leinster Football is dead and buried because Meath lost to Longford and Kildare lost to Carlow, both losses being the fault of Dublin's dominance?

Got it I think ;)"
My point exactly! The usual suspects out in force on this subject too. Bless.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 28/05/2018 12:04:27    2104669

Replying To Jackeen:  "My point exactly! The usual suspects out in force on this subject too. Bless."
And red thumbing like lunatics :))))

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 28/05/2018 12:22:14    2104682

Replying To Tir Conaill Abu:  "You paint a very poor picture indeed. Last year when we played Meath in Navan there was very clear passion from the Meath faithful. It's a pity that new faces into the county aren't embracing their new home but maybe their next generation will. The u17 win v Dublin could be the start."
Yeah it is encouraging that the u17 group are progressing well. But the population increases has had a knock on effect of negative proportion, however u are right hopefully the next generation will be more inclined. I hear from clubs on the border and further in that they feel like nursery for the dubs scouts. But what can they do? Just keep plodding on. The blaming of management etc is pointless. As no one would do any better. Unfortunately

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 28/05/2018 12:27:24    2104689

Thank God for Leinster hurling, Gaillimh Abu. In terms of football, wtf is going on outside of Dublin? Congrats to Carlow and Longford.

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1669 - 28/05/2018 12:30:05    2104693

So Carlow and Longford win matches and this is the end of Leinster football ?

Just as well we didn't start rising till this year.

Would Carlow and Longford improving not be a sign of a stronger Leinster ?

carlovia (None) - Posts: 1517 - 28/05/2018 12:40:45    2104698