Hurling Championship Discussion Thread (For All Tiers)

So I thought I'd set up a thread to discuss all things related to the MacCarthy, McDonagh, Ring, Rackard and Meagher Cups. There is a prediction thread up and running ahead of the opening games this weekend. Feel free to join in the fun ---> Hurling Championship Prediction Thread

PortInFaithful (Offaly) - Posts: 472 - 30/04/2018 14:28:25    2095733

As this is a discussion thread I'd like to hear what Kilkenny people think of how their team is going?
Personally as a complete neutral I think they are purring along nicely having blooded in some really good young players from the U21's . Deegan has been a revelation at corner back, the wing backs Delaney and Fogarty showed well as the league progressed. I think they've a solid platform to build on with some exciting young talent up front too.
They also have some older heads due back which can only strengthen the team.
Thoughts?

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1911 - 01/05/2018 18:49:34    2096064

Replying To Bon:  "As this is a discussion thread I'd like to hear what Kilkenny people think of how their team is going?
Personally as a complete neutral I think they are purring along nicely having blooded in some really good young players from the U21's . Deegan has been a revelation at corner back, the wing backs Delaney and Fogarty showed well as the league progressed. I think they've a solid platform to build on with some exciting young talent up front too.
They also have some older heads due back which can only strengthen the team.
Thoughts?"
After the hammering their u21's got from Limerick, it was widely thought that the next crop of youngsters weren't up to it. Delaney, Leahy and Keoghan (a sub) were with the U21's in 2017. But now look at them...

PortInFaithful (Offaly) - Posts: 472 - 02/05/2018 13:00:30    2096227

Fair play portinfaithful for setting that up, god help us when we are trying to predict Meagher cup!

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 02/05/2018 16:30:31    2096272

Replying To Pinkie:  "Fair play portinfaithful for setting that up, god help us when we are trying to predict Meagher cup!"
No bother Pinkie, lots of knowledgeable hurling posters on this site and I'm eager to keep up the interest in hurling discussions. Football threads far outweigh hurling threads on here.

PortInFaithful (Offaly) - Posts: 472 - 02/05/2018 16:53:24    2096277

Whichever team finished 5th in Munster better pray Kerry doesn't win the Mcdonagh cup because if they do, they automatically replace them in 2019. Seems crazy that Kerry would replace one of the big 5 in the Munster Championship. Another point is maybe you're better off finishing 5th than 4th as being in the Mcdonagh is a far easier path the the AI series...

blackspot91 (Limerick) - Posts: 1055 - 03/05/2018 06:15:24    2096340

Kerry have to play off against the bottom team in Munster if they win it so very unlikely they would get promotion at all, very unfair on them compared to the rest of the teams in it who will automatically go into Leinster

Saffronhurl (Antrim) - Posts: 30 - 03/05/2018 15:00:35    2096443

Replying To Saffronhurl:  "Kerry have to play off against the bottom team in Munster if they win it so very unlikely they would get promotion at all, very unfair on them compared to the rest of the teams in it who will automatically go into Leinster"
ah I see. cheers. it does make sense in a way. Kerry should have to get up to that level to enter it. not get in by beating teams far inferior to any of the big Munster 5. too much of a gap

blackspot91 (Limerick) - Posts: 1055 - 03/05/2018 17:24:53    2096469

Replying To Saffronhurl:  "Kerry have to play off against the bottom team in Munster if they win it so very unlikely they would get promotion at all, very unfair on them compared to the rest of the teams in it who will automatically go into Leinster"
Never mind Offaly being relegated, but you could not possibly relegate any of the Munster counties.
The ultimate GAA answer to a GAA problem, laughable!
The GAA have basically gambled on Offaly/Laois being the up/down teams, which is by no means a certainty. If Dublin or Wexford are relegated, expect a re-structure.
I do not see how they came up with that as a solution. Surely the JMcD cup winners should have had to play the bottom team in either province?

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 04/05/2018 08:31:08    2096564

Going to be an amazing Summer of hurling, with two huge Munster teams going to be gone from the All Ireland come early June. Leinster looks somewhat more predictable and one would expect a Kilkenny v Galway final or maybe even Kilkenny v Wexford, but at the end of the day it's hard to look beyond Tipperary, Kilkenny and Galway as the three front runners for Liam.

gilly0512 (Galway) - Posts: 1176 - 04/05/2018 09:56:23    2096581

Disgraceful how Kerry have been treated here and I posted about it at the time this new structure was being unveiled.
Why can't we be promoted into the 20019 Leinster Championship if we win, aren't we just about as close geographically to that province as Antrim!! It's two fingers towards those working so hard to get Kerry hurling to a competitive level and I don't understand why the Kerry Co. Board, given all their influence in the GAA, allowed it to be pushed through.

Anyway, I'm skeptical about the new Hurling structure as a whole. For me the great appeal of the Munster Championship, in particular, was the winner takes all element.
Division 1a of the League is effectively a Munster round robin as it is.
You are now going to have a case where the likes of Tipperary are meeting Cork multiple times a year, the novelty will wear thin very quickly in my opinion.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 04/05/2018 11:23:09    2096604

Replying To TheHermit:  "Disgraceful how Kerry have been treated here and I posted about it at the time this new structure was being unveiled.
Why can't we be promoted into the 20019 Leinster Championship if we win, aren't we just about as close geographically to that province as Antrim!! It's two fingers towards those working so hard to get Kerry hurling to a competitive level and I don't understand why the Kerry Co. Board, given all their influence in the GAA, allowed it to be pushed through.

Anyway, I'm skeptical about the new Hurling structure as a whole. For me the great appeal of the Munster Championship, in particular, was the winner takes all element.
Division 1a of the League is effectively a Munster round robin as it is.
You are now going to have a case where the likes of Tipperary are meeting Cork multiple times a year, the novelty will wear thin very quickly in my opinion."
i doubt any of us will be around to see the 20019 Leinster Championship unfortunately.
but why don't you ask the real question - why can't you be promoted to the 2019 Munster hurling championship?

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 04/05/2018 11:57:21    2096612

would two group of six not have been better lads

two up two down - or winner only and if kerry go up - they go up no playoff

also negates disadvantage of 2 teams having 4 consecutive games under current structure

youngmunstersman (Limerick) - Posts: 80 - 04/05/2018 12:51:38    2096626

Replying To perfect10:  "i doubt any of us will be around to see the 20019 Leinster Championship unfortunately.
but why don't you ask the real question - why can't you be promoted to the 2019 Munster hurling championship?"
Because there is no way the GAA would allow us to be promoted and one of the 5 other Munster counties demoted. If any of them found themselves being sent down to this second tier that competition would be debunked by a special congress faster than its taken me to type this.
I know Kerry are well off the pace of the other five Munster teams in hurling and we all know that many people want to keep the Munster Championship as it is. So Kerry should be allowed compete in 'Leinster', they've let Antrim and Galway in. To be honest they should just give up the pretense and have a Munster and a 'Rest of Ireland' competitions feeding into the All-Ireland knock out series.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 04/05/2018 13:58:59    2096646

Replying To youngmunstersman:  "would two group of six not have been better lads

two up two down - or winner only and if kerry go up - they go up no playoff

also negates disadvantage of 2 teams having 4 consecutive games under current structure"
And what happens next year, when Kerry get relegated, do you end up with Westmeath playing in Munster?

2 groups of 6 will only work if provincial championships scrapped.

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 04/05/2018 14:24:03    2096652

Replying To Pinkie:  "And what happens next year, when Kerry get relegated, do you end up with Westmeath playing in Munster?

2 groups of 6 will only work if provincial championships scrapped."
pinkie if say westmeath and laois got promoted id put one into munster and one into leinster,
you could say give the mcdonagh winner choice of province for following season or do it based on geography (nearest to munster) or toss a coin.

i mean youve already got galway and previously antrim in leinster so why not a leinster county in munster

for me provincial championships must be kept a provincial title is a valued trophy for most counties.

youngmunstersman (Limerick) - Posts: 80 - 05/05/2018 10:00:00    2096774

Replying To TheHermit:  "Because there is no way the GAA would allow us to be promoted and one of the 5 other Munster counties demoted. If any of them found themselves being sent down to this second tier that competition would be debunked by a special congress faster than its taken me to type this.
I know Kerry are well off the pace of the other five Munster teams in hurling and we all know that many people want to keep the Munster Championship as it is. So Kerry should be allowed compete in 'Leinster', they've let Antrim and Galway in. To be honest they should just give up the pretense and have a Munster and a 'Rest of Ireland' competitions feeding into the All-Ireland knock out series."
Might be somewhat of an immaterial debate if our League form's anything to go by - judging by that, we'd be a poor fifth, battling with Meath to avoid relegation!

anciarraioch82 (Kerry) - Posts: 33 - 05/05/2018 15:00:10    2096805

Replying To anciarraioch82:  "Might be somewhat of an immaterial debate if our League form's anything to go by - judging by that, we'd be a poor fifth, battling with Meath to avoid relegation!"
True, but I remember an interview done with O'Connor before the League and from listening to that it seemed obvious they were gearing themselves for this competition more than the League. So I'd be hopeful Kerry will be much improved but they've a tough opener tomorrow away to Carlow

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 05/05/2018 15:51:03    2096812

While I hope Galway win it all again I am keeping an eye on Limerick. I really feel they have the talent to go all the way this year.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2124 - 05/05/2018 16:00:38    2096813

Pleased to see Antrim hammering Meath today. Some revenge for the CR final and coming back from 7 points down just as Meath had done in that final. Fancy Antrim to make the top 2.

M Lyster (Antrim) - Posts: 463 - 05/05/2018 18:46:40    2096829