U21 Club Football

Replying To Barney123:  "The same Tones team that won the u21 championship last year and did not lose a single player from that team."
Tones were missing 2 big players as stated before, also lost Dan O'Neill with injury and it was a fortuitous injury time goal that won it. They probably will win it as Dunboyne are down 4 on last years side.

Analyst (Meath) - Posts: 1467 - 19/11/2018 18:39:28    2151706

Replying To Analyst:  "
Replying To Barney123:  "The same Tones team that won the u21 championship last year and did not lose a single player from that team."
Tones were missing 2 big players as stated before, also lost Dan O'Neill with injury and it was a fortuitous injury time goal that won it. They probably will win it as Dunboyne are down 4 on last years side."
What are ye talking about " Dunboyne are down 4 of last years players
Every team are down players from previous years and gain players each year , that's the nature of the competition
Jesus get over yourself, the team that wins it are usually the best team in a knock out competition and as usual you need a bit of luck along the way

head4dblackspot (Meath) - Posts: 513 - 19/11/2018 18:59:20    2151711

BARNEY 123 It was not the same Tones team. They were missing 3 lads through injury. Played with O'Reilly and O Kelly Lynch injured. Lost Dan o Neill during the game with a cruciate knee injury. That's nearly half a team and you won by a lucky goal after dropping a free short and tones defended dropped the ball into the net.

latouche25 (Meath) - Posts: 520 - 19/11/2018 21:31:32    2151739

Replying To head4dblackspot:  "Don't know wher you heard that there is no love lost between Dunboyne and Ratoath
The two clubs actually are very amicable to each other
Should be a good game with the pressure on Dunboyne with all their senior winning players and junior A winning players making up the whole team
Ratoath playing with only one senior starting player
But I'm sure they will make a huge effort and really looking forward to game"
Lol. I see you've attended the Jose Mourinho school of mind games . "Ah yeah we're just heading up to Navan for the day out all the pressure is on Dunboyne" no pressure on our lads whatsoever. They've the senior and junior A championship in the Trophy Cabinet this year and if we win the u21 championship it would be great but if not it's been a fantastic year and Our lads are more than happy with their lot so no pressure at all. In fact I would argue Rataoth need this one a lot more than dunboyne do the way the year has panned out.

Aloblack (Meath) - Posts: 265 - 19/11/2018 21:44:32    2151741

Barney 123 why don't you learn to read. I clearly said O Kelly Lynch and O Reilly played injured. What part of that do you not understand. Dan O' Neill got injured midway through the second half when Tones were 4 points up. Tones started the game without Oisin Ginnity, Caolan Ward and Cian O'Neill. Don't blow your trumpet to loud you've won nothing yet.

latouche25 (Meath) - Posts: 520 - 19/11/2018 21:53:09    2151743

Ratoath are a good side no doubt and have had Dunboynes measure at some stages underage with this generation, Dunboyne however arguably kicked it away last year against Tones (without Jonesy also), and some of these lads will now have Senior and Junior A medals, whatever way you look at it that has to count for a lot at this age. On Jonesy, I still stand by he is the best Meath have produced underage for as long as I can remember, that will only bear fruits and become obvious when he's settled back here and at it full time, for someone his age to come back and forth on his long distance holidays essentially, for Keegan this year shows the calibre of the lad. He's a freak.

The Ratoath Dunboyne rivalry, whilst on the topic, the big one for Ratoath of recent times was against the team containing Conway, Ryan, Byrne and Nolan from what I remember(could be wrong one one). The likes of Sean Ryan despite starring for Dunboyne seniors this year is still in school so it goes to show the variety of age groups at play here. He was one of the standout defenders of the championship this year.

Hunch says Ratoath the form team, another part says Dunboyne are full of winners at this early age and that may be enough. It's very hard to gauge but certainly should be interesting. The double has been beyond the stuff of wildest dreams, I'll go with the heart for the treble to finish off a fittingly brilliant year for the parish on the field, and regardless I'll have a pint after with my friends from our plucky little neighbours in Ratoath.

dunboynelad (Meath) - Posts: 227 - 19/11/2018 23:57:47    2151760

Replying To head4dblackspot:  "Don't know wher you heard that there is no love lost between Dunboyne and Ratoath
The two clubs actually are very amicable to each other
Should be a good game with the pressure on Dunboyne with all their senior winning players and junior A winning players making up the whole team
Ratoath playing with only one senior starting player
But I'm sure they will make a huge effort and really looking forward to game"
Haven't heard it I've seen it. I never said the two clubs I said the two teams. In particular at the 99/00 age these two along with Na Fianna at 99 have been the best teams and play eachother so often. There is almost always a bit of niggle when they play

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1464 - 20/11/2018 07:31:44    2151770

Replying To latouche25:  "Barney 123 why don't you learn to read. I clearly said O Kelly Lynch and O Reilly played injured. What part of that do you not understand. Dan O' Neill got injured midway through the second half when Tones were 4 points up. Tones started the game without Oisin Ginnity, Caolan Ward and Cian O'Neill. Don't blow your trumpet to loud you've won nothing yet."
Sure if you want to start saying lads had knocks and played you would have a couple on each team for every single game, nobody makes an excuse out of it. Surely if the injuries were that bad surely they wouldn't last the game, so that argument is null and void. Dan O'Neill injured in 53rd minute.

Next statement from you will be if Wolfe Tones had everybody they would have bet Ratoath in the senior championship this year.

Barney123 (Meath) - Posts: 676 - 20/11/2018 16:23:37    2151860

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "Haven't heard it I've seen it. I never said the two clubs I said the two teams. In particular at the 99/00 age these two along with Na Fianna at 99 have been the best teams and play eachother so often. There is almost always a bit of niggle when they play"
Not sure Dunboyne were one of the best teams of that age group
From my memory never won anything

head4dblackspot (Meath) - Posts: 513 - 20/11/2018 20:38:14    2151903

Replying To dunboynelad:  "Ratoath are a good side no doubt and have had Dunboynes measure at some stages underage with this generation, Dunboyne however arguably kicked it away last year against Tones (without Jonesy also), and some of these lads will now have Senior and Junior A medals, whatever way you look at it that has to count for a lot at this age. On Jonesy, I still stand by he is the best Meath have produced underage for as long as I can remember, that will only bear fruits and become obvious when he's settled back here and at it full time, for someone his age to come back and forth on his long distance holidays essentially, for Keegan this year shows the calibre of the lad. He's a freak.

The Ratoath Dunboyne rivalry, whilst on the topic, the big one for Ratoath of recent times was against the team containing Conway, Ryan, Byrne and Nolan from what I remember(could be wrong one one). The likes of Sean Ryan despite starring for Dunboyne seniors this year is still in school so it goes to show the variety of age groups at play here. He was one of the standout defenders of the championship this year.

Hunch says Ratoath the form team, another part says Dunboyne are full of winners at this early age and that may be enough. It's very hard to gauge but certainly should be interesting. The double has been beyond the stuff of wildest dreams, I'll go with the heart for the treble to finish off a fittingly brilliant year for the parish on the field, and regardless I'll have a pint after with my friends from our plucky little neighbours in Ratoath."
I think "Jonesy" is very over rated and I thought he was very average in the county final.
It was a great year for Dunboyne, it was a just shame that the seniors put in such a pathetic performance while representing Meath in Navan.

Maestro (Meath) - Posts: 569 - 20/11/2018 22:02:02    2151913

Replying To Maestro:  "I think "Jonesy" is very over rated and I thought he was very average in the county final.
It was a great year for Dunboyne, it was a just shame that the seniors put in such a pathetic performance while representing Meath in Navan."
Don't agree here at all
Dunboyne had a fantastic year and represented meath well
Nobody in the county should talk them down
Any of our county champions who represent meath should be supported
While I am now a ratoath man originally from Ashbourne I would appreciate any club flying the meath flag
Ronan Jones is a real good player but like all clubs they talk their own up a bit much

head4dblackspot (Meath) - Posts: 513 - 20/11/2018 22:19:37    2151918

Ah jaysus "jonesy" as the best player Meath have produced "for as long as I can I remember". That really is some statement to make.

Barney123 (Meath) - Posts: 676 - 20/11/2018 22:48:07    2151920

Replying To head4dblackspot:  "Not sure Dunboyne were one of the best teams of that age group
From my memory never won anything"
Won under 13, semi final lost by 2 at under 14, won under 15, final lost by 1 at under 16, semi final loss by 4 at under 17, semi final loss by 1 at minor, final loss by 1 AET at 19's. Them, Ratoath and Na Fianna would have beaten all the other teams by a cricket score

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1464 - 20/11/2018 23:46:23    2151926

Replying To Maestro:  "I think "Jonesy" is very over rated and I thought he was very average in the county final.
It was a great year for Dunboyne, it was a just shame that the seniors put in such a pathetic performance while representing Meath in Navan."
I'd be worried if you agreed with anything I said. As mentioned however - commuting from America to play these games landing 24 hours beforehand, not to mention having not played all year til the big ones, you're not going to be at the best you're capable of, you surely understand that much right? Not sure as to why you've put quote marks around his name either, is there something bothering you?

As for Kilmacud I don't want to go off topic but I'll respond, it's a sign of how far Meath football is behind Dublin right now. Trying to pin that on a bad Dunboyne performance is clutching to say the least, Dublin are a 15 point better team than the county side for as many years, it would seem club is no different right now though I'd argue Dunboyne are capable of better. The strength of their clubs reflects the strength of their current county set up, not rocket science.

dunboynelad (Meath) - Posts: 227 - 21/11/2018 06:19:49    2151935

Replying To head4dblackspot:  "Don't agree here at all
Dunboyne had a fantastic year and represented meath well
Nobody in the county should talk them down
Any of our county champions who represent meath should be supported
While I am now a ratoath man originally from Ashbourne I would appreciate any club flying the meath flag
Ronan Jones is a real good player but like all clubs they talk their own up a bit much"
They got hammered out the gate at home by a Kilmacud Crokes team in second gear. And most of Dunboyne's scores came from outside of the boot pot shots, they didn't create a goal chance all game and very few point scoring opportunities.

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 935 - 21/11/2018 08:44:57    2151943

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "Won under 13, semi final lost by 2 at under 14, won under 15, final lost by 1 at under 16, semi final loss by 4 at under 17, semi final loss by 1 at minor, final loss by 1 AET at 19's. Them, Ratoath and Na Fianna would have beaten all the other teams by a cricket score"
Dunboynelad said "Dunboyne are full of winners at such a young age
From your post there is more losing then winning
I think if you check you records the lads from the 00 team this year is their very first silverware at any level

head4dblackspot (Meath) - Posts: 513 - 21/11/2018 09:36:54    2151946

Replying To head4dblackspot:  "Dunboynelad said "Dunboyne are full of winners at such a young age
I think if you check you records the lads from the 00 team this year is their very first silverware at any level"
A senior or a junior championship for almost all the players that will play the final. That is how they are winners. That's why I said it will be such a good final. Ratoath will all the underage pedigree, Dunboyne will all the adult pedigree. Very intriguing

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1464 - 21/11/2018 09:57:27    2151949

Replying To head4dblackspot:  "Dunboynelad said "Dunboyne are full of winners at such a young age
I think if you check you records the lads from the 00 team this year is their very first silverware at any level"
The winners comment was a direct reference to Junior A and Senior success this year which I had alluded to, as I also mentioned Ratoath at their measure at stages underage, so not sure how you've managed to twist that.

dunboynelad (Meath) - Posts: 227 - 21/11/2018 10:05:53    2151952

Replying To Barney123:  "Ah jaysus "jonesy" as the best player Meath have produced "for as long as I can I remember". That really is some statement to make."
Had to go back and check the wording on that and I said *underage* which is quite different, it would imply he's top class for his age and very exciting to see how good he can be as he has all the tools required - we have had very little of that in recent times so it's not that bold a prediction. I'll be here all day explaining basic English and context.

dunboynelad (Meath) - Posts: 227 - 21/11/2018 10:20:31    2151956

I agree with you Rataoth have had the edge on the younger group of this u21 team coming up thru the age groups but we're hoping this years success for them at Senior and Junior and in particular the amount of tight games they won at both grades has maybe triggered a shift in mentality for the younger lads I mean the dug out some serious results this year . They now know that when it's a tight game that they can get over the line and win them. They won't always win the tight games of course they won't but at least now they know their capable of winning them. This Rataoth u21 team which is basically their 17s and 18s from last year is an exceptionally talented group and so Saturday week is gonna be some game and I reckon it'll go right to the wire.

Aloblack (Meath) - Posts: 265 - 21/11/2018 10:34:41    2151960