Pat Spillane - "Dubs Can Be Rattled"

Fair play to you Pat there's a few that could do well to listen to you!

Any top team with their crap together can and have rattled this Dublin team across this decade.

They've also done more than rattle Dublin.. but they've convincingly beaten them!

It's been hugely competitive stuff. Some of the most incredible games you're ever likely to witness. Just think back.. think of the classic games witnessed across this decade.

No cake walk All Ireland's this decade!

It's a pity that hasn't been adequately recognised by a sort of oddly self serving revisionism which doesn't tally up with the games themselves.. but there's an agenda there and there's a lot being conveniently forgotten about to serve it.

Which again is a pity. It should be about more than that.

The doom and gloomers will have you believe Dublin are almost invisible!
Utter rubbish.
Daft.

The stats are there in black and white and Mr Spillane is spot on in this regard and this decade will continue to be hugely competitive across 2018.

Just like every other Football championship across this decade.

It's already been proven across NFL Div 1 2018 and Pat.. you'll be proven right across the Championship 2018.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 08/04/2018 15:54:23    2091651

All won thru the front door this decade. 5 won via back door in the 00's. Including this in Pat's audit and it makes for much more interesting reading.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 08/04/2018 16:57:01    2091659

Replying To Donegalman:  "All won thru the front door this decade. 5 won via back door in the 00's. Including this in Pat's audit and it makes for much more interesting reading."
Dublin v Tyrone (Tyrone strong favs many fancied them for Sam - Dubs turn the game with an EOG goal)
Dublin v Cork (Cork rightly favs and Dublin went into lose this game - a game Dublin could have won - hugely competitive )
Dublin v Donegal (Very competitive game and tactically there was never a game like it before like Dublin in 2010 - Donegal were still evolving)
Dublin v Kerry (Kerry strong favs and a 1 point win for Dublin and will go down as a famous AI final - end to end and a mini Dublin comeback over about 70 seconds turned the game and one of the most famous points in GAA history wins the contest )
Dublin v Mayo (Poor performance from Dublin and Mayo made a show of Dublin for large parts and Dublin deservedly lost)
Dublin v Kerry (A game which will be spoken about for a long time and an absolute classic, a game that really had it all and that's down playing it)
Dublin v Mayo (a very competitive game and Dublin winning by the slimmest of margins)
Dublin v Donegal (A tactical masterclass and example of counter attacking football at its best, all against a very strong Dublin team. Donegal beating Dublin all ends up)
Dublin v Mayo (Amazing game and brilliant Mayo come back and really Dublin could have been beaten that Day and probably should have been)
Dublin v Mayo (Another absolute belter of a game, it looked like Mayo had Dublin beaten but 3 goals in the final quarter or so won a great contest across the two games)
Dublin v Kerry (Terrible conditions, really couldn't have been worse, Dublin the better team but still a very competitive final and Dublin's largest winning tally of any of their wins.. and it was still only 3pts!!)
Dublin v Kerry (Once again a game for the ages, hugely competitive stuff an absolute belter of a game - if you excuse the pun)
Dublin v Mayo (Poor conditions once again, bizarre own goals, another absorbing contest and Mayo's never say dir attitude dragged them back into the game and they out played Dublin for large parts of 2nd half but once again another draw for this Mayo side)
Dublin v Mayo ( Dublin just about had enough to fall over the line after what was a highly entertaining final - yet another memorable final seen across this decade)
Dublin v Mayo (As finals go they don't cone much better, an absolute classic game and once again to further prove just how competitive this decade has been! Yet another 1 pt winning margin)

There's the facts of this decade. Plenty of rattlement indeed.

I've left plenty of other highly competitive games out of course between numerous teams, some right belters... Donegal, Mayo, Kerry, Monaghan, Tyrone games etc etc

Sort of contrasts the bleak outlook that some would have you believe doesn't it!! Well that some WANT you to believe.

But this is the age when some teams just can't win!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 08/04/2018 17:16:19    2091664

Replying To jimbodub:  "Fair play to you Pat there's a few that could do well to listen to you!

Any top team with their crap together can and have rattled this Dublin team across this decade.

They've also done more than rattle Dublin.. but they've convincingly beaten them!

It's been hugely competitive stuff. Some of the most incredible games you're ever likely to witness. Just think back.. think of the classic games witnessed across this decade.

It's a pity that hasn't been adequately recognised by a sort of oddly self serving revisionism which doesn't tally up with the games themselves.. but there's an agenda there and there's a lot being conveniently forgotten about to serve it.

Utter rubbish.
Daft.

The stats are there in black and white and Mr Spillane is spot on in this regard and this decade will continue to be hugely competitive across 2018.

It's already been proven across NFL Div 1 2018 and Pat.. you'll be proven right across the Championship 2018."
Ye have the refs and home advantage and all the money , that's hard to beat jim.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 08/04/2018 17:26:47    2091669

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Ye have the refs and home advantage and all the money , that's hard to beat jim."
And long may it continue .

dubshurling7 (Dublin) - Posts: 1017 - 08/04/2018 18:01:09    2091676

Do people still take any notice of what Pat says .......his HealyRayesque narrative, to say the least, is just plain boring!

eaglehaslanded (Cork) - Posts: 135 - 08/04/2018 18:56:20    2091685

I see the bitter little people from the kingdom are out in force again...

dubdec99 (Dublin) - Posts: 180 - 08/04/2018 19:17:39    2091688

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Ye have the refs and home advantage and all the money , that's hard to beat jim."
Nah! Don't be making excuses kingdomboy, your lot just aren't good enough, get used to it.

DUBJOHN (Dublin) - Posts: 932 - 08/04/2018 19:47:53    2091690

Replying To jimbodub:  "Fair play to you Pat there's a few that could do well to listen to you!

Utter rubbish.
Daft.

It's already been proven across NFL Div 1 2018 and Pat.. you'll be proven right across the Championship 2018."
Ahh will you stop with this nonsense please. , take the game as a whole. Look wouldn't surprise me if Dublin lost two games and still won it. Regardless of what you or pat Healy Rae Spillane says, Dublin have all the advantages plus players of extreme high quality and are a professional outfit in a amateur game , until other counties are treated the same way we won't see a change, now I know been a dub you have to come up with this yarra stuff to try and deflect away from what the gaa have created. I think even at this stage some dubs would prefer them not to win it this year, as it would take the gaze off them and the total lobsided situation that the gaa have created, but you can't create a monster then moan cause it's doing it's job. Only naivety or stupidity can stop Dublin winning again (not saying one or both won't happen) but please leave out the wishful thinking of a long ago player who is dreading that Dublin do what seamus Darby stopped them from doing.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 08/04/2018 20:01:49    2091695

Replying To dubdec99:  "I see the bitter little people from the kingdom are out in force again..."
No just my self dec, and I know it must be tough for ye to hear the thruth but there you go.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 08/04/2018 20:06:54    2091698

Replying To eaglehaslanded:  "Do people still take any notice of what Pat says .......his HealyRayesque narrative, to say the least, is just plain boring!"
the man is way past his sell by date, has turned in to a compleat and utter bore

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2842 - 08/04/2018 20:07:50    2091701

Replying To royaldunne:  "Ahh will you stop with this nonsense please. , take the game as a whole. Look wouldn't surprise me if Dublin lost two games and still won it. Regardless of what you or pat Healy Rae Spillane says, Dublin have all the advantages plus players of extreme high quality and are a professional outfit in a amateur game , until other counties are treated the same way we won't see a change, now I know been a dub you have to come up with this yarra stuff to try and deflect away from what the gaa have created. I think even at this stage some dubs would prefer them not to win it this year, as it would take the gaze off them and the total lobsided situation that the gaa have created, but you can't create a monster then moan cause it's doing it's job. Only naivety or stupidity can stop Dublin winning again (not saying one or both won't happen) but please leave out the wishful thinking of a long ago player who is dreading that Dublin do what seamus Darby stopped them from doing."
I couldn't give a rat's ass about who's looking at Dublin I hope to god Dublin win it this years and f the begrudgers..

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 08/04/2018 20:46:02    2091711

Replying To royaldunne:  "Ahh will you stop with this nonsense please. , take the game as a whole. Look wouldn't surprise me if Dublin lost two games and still won it. Regardless of what you or pat Healy Rae Spillane says, Dublin have all the advantages plus players of extreme high quality and are a professional outfit in a amateur game , until other counties are treated the same way we won't see a change, now I know been a dub you have to come up with this yarra stuff to try and deflect away from what the gaa have created. I think even at this stage some dubs would prefer them not to win it this year, as it would take the gaze off them and the total lobsided situation that the gaa have created, but you can't create a monster then moan cause it's doing it's job. Only naivety or stupidity can stop Dublin winning again (not saying one or both won't happen) but please leave out the wishful thinking of a long ago player who is dreading that Dublin do what seamus Darby stopped them from doing."
Mad isn't it

Able to say anything you want and think it as fact...

Very easy to counter claim every scrap of that Royaldunne.

How can money going into Dublin primary schools over the last 13-14 years create what has happened exactly?

Just a tiny bit of thought rather than convenient ignorance will give you your answer.

Think of the age profiles of the players since 2010. Funding going into primary schools since roughly 2004-2005... haha

It has Zero impact on the vast % of senior Dublin players across that time.

They are too old and long out of primary school when that funding starterd :)

It's not as if funding is pumped directly into the Dublin senior football team. It's just not.

Yep we have private sponsorship, always well funded, didn't mean much before the natural crop of players stated to arrive from around 2010, despite the money, population, playing in Croke Park... Dublin had their worst period in GAA history

So those advantages didn't matter much!! In fact it was a sticker used to best Dublin when they were down.

It's not Yerra Royaldunne

Those games happened across this decade. It's been hugely competitive. It's not like Dublin are mopping up underage titles and winning everything.. that would be a monster and that's not happening.

Underage titles have been hard to come by for Dublin. Especially at minor level across "the monster" period

We've done much better at U21 and guess who was across many of those teams and guided many of the most successful Dub players of all time.. yep. Mr Jim Gavin.

Guess where Dublin's success has been built. It's been built off 2-3 U21 Dublin teams.

The above stats and results are fact. Not baseless and convenient sound bites.

The age profiles of the Dublin players since 2010 without question nullifies the points raised about central funding going to pay coaches helping out primary school children.

But sure that's yerra right?

It takes a little bit of looking beyond your own nose and if you must.. a calculator to work out the age profiles of the players and you'll spot that there was no monster created.

Now there could be in the future... that's when the real impact might be felt but looking at the spread of underage AI titles.. It's not looking very apparent right now.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 08/04/2018 20:58:46    2091713

Replying To dubdec99:  "I see the bitter little people from the kingdom are out in force again..."
Do you expect everyone to agree with another thread boasting about the dubs.

I dont see any dub coming up with any counter argument that all the advantages listed in previous posts are a big reason for yer success. Its obvious there is no debate to be had as deep down even the dubs recognize this now.

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 08/04/2018 21:00:29    2091714

Replying To KY4SAM2015:  "Do you expect everyone to agree with another thread boasting about the dubs.

I dont see any dub coming up with any counter argument that all the advantages listed in previous posts are a big reason for yer success. Its obvious there is no debate to be had as deep down even the dubs recognize this now."
I just did that

Get out your calculator and get your team of the 00's DVD out

How can funding coaches in primary schools for the last 13-14 years explain the level of player becoming available to Dublin since 2010?

:) this should be good...

Now for the advantages

We had all those advantages from 1996-2010

Plenty of money, central funding. Excellent sponsorship compared to our main rivals and plenty of games in Croke Park, still had a big population, still had a very good club scene

Yet.. it was still the worst period in Dublin GAA history... worst period ever seen in Dublin GAA.

So the the reason as I'm being so intellectually led to believe is funding going to primary school children that had almost zero impact on the Dublin senior footballers since 2010.

Well done lads. Genius stuff...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 08/04/2018 21:39:30    2091718

Replying To KY4SAM2015:  "Do you expect everyone to agree with another thread boasting about the dubs.

I dont see any dub coming up with any counter argument that all the advantages listed in previous posts are a big reason for yer success. Its obvious there is no debate to be had as deep down even the dubs recognize this now."
I did. And Jimbo has literally posted something above but sure most ignore this. I love all this hysteria myself.

DannyMcA (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 08/04/2018 21:47:11    2091719

Replying To jimbodub:  "Mad isn't it

Able to say anything you want and think it as fact...

Very easy to counter claim every scrap of that Royaldunne.

How can money going into Dublin primary schools over the last 13-14 years create what has happened exactly?

Just a tiny bit of thought rather than convenient ignorance will give you your answer.

Think of the age profiles of the players since 2010. Funding going into primary schools since roughly 2004-2005... haha

It has Zero impact on the vast % of senior Dublin players across that time.

They are too old and long out of primary school when that funding starterd :)

It's not as if funding is pumped directly into the Dublin senior football team. It's just not.

Yep we have private sponsorship, always well funded, didn't mean much before the natural crop of players stated to arrive from around 2010, despite the money, population, playing in Croke Park... Dublin had their worst period in GAA history

So those advantages didn't matter much!! In fact it was a sticker used to best Dublin when they were down.

It's not Yerra Royaldunne

Those games happened across this decade. It's been hugely competitive. It's not like Dublin are mopping up underage titles and winning everything.. that would be a monster and that's not happening.

Underage titles have been hard to come by for Dublin. Especially at minor level across "the monster" period

We've done much better at U21 and guess who was across many of those teams and guided many of the most successful Dub players of all time.. yep. Mr Jim Gavin.

Guess where Dublin's success has been built. It's been built off 2-3 U21 Dublin teams.

The above stats and results are fact. Not baseless and convenient sound bites.

The age profiles of the Dublin players since 2010 without question nullifies the points raised about central funding going to pay coaches helping out primary school children.

But sure that's yerra right?

It takes a little bit of looking beyond your own nose and if you must.. a calculator to work out the age profiles of the players and you'll spot that there was no monster created.

Now there could be in the future... that's when the real impact might be felt but looking at the spread of underage AI titles.. It's not looking very apparent right now."
It's an Interesting one, if there was to be a bounce linked to finance and developing players when would it be expected to happen if you took 2005 as the mark. Start of the next decade.

Dublin certainly do well out of finance, I think the contribution from the GAA is small fish though, Dublins allocation has actually been cut year on year since 2013 and it's impact is overstated and manipulated.

I suspect the real beast, is commercial and merchandising revenue, thats just impossible for anyone to compete with really and always will be. That's the real smoking gun that will only go one way and that's through the roof, I happened to be in one of the Elverys in one of the suburbs today, not traditionally a GAA stronghold more soccer and rugby. Their was racks of Irish soccer and Rugby gear, but people were furiously searching for sizes of Dublin gear which was almost sold out. I was looking for something in particular and asked the girl in the shop, she told me they can't keep the Dublin gear in stock and O Neil's can't keep up with demand around the range. It was really startling in comparison to the soccer and rugby gear in particular, but great to see all the kids and all around Dublin gear and the section was almost sold out. To be fair to Dublin they don't milk it we have had the same jersey for three seasons now.

Then the AIG deal is up this year, you would expect that to be significantly better then when it was signed in 2013, given the exposure they have gotten as a result and I expect their will be other companies interested.

The thing you have to say is the excellent management of the county board, Dublin have natural advantages certainly when it comes to finance, but it's mansged so well, not just for the men's senior teams but all the Dublin teams seem to receive decent support, I don't believe to the extent that some would have you believe, but the community aspect of the GAA is alive and well in the capital. I think that accounts for better player development then anything if I'm honest and clever structures that I'm sure are being mimicked.

As for this era it will be judged at a different point, it's not the time for this Dublin team to reflect, we are still chasing history, it's anout the next game, next challenge. Some will have the opinion that this era hasn't been competitive, others will say that the Dubs saved Galuec football from the "puke football" era of the 00's and the blanket defense. They are debates for the future, hopefully this era for Dublin is a long way off being judged in its finalty.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 08/04/2018 22:12:25    2091728

It's going to be very tough for Dublin to do it this year. If it is achieved I think it'll have to be done with some new faces. It hard to see us being able to field our 1st 15 this season.
It'll take a monumental effort and not money to make it happen!!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 08/04/2018 22:20:31    2091732

Replying To realdub:  "It's going to be very tough for Dublin to do it this year. If it is achieved I think it'll have to be done with some new faces. It hard to see us being able to field our 1st 15 this season.
It'll take a monumental effort and not money to make it happen!!"
Unfortunately I agree with you

We might be lucky though..

Our main rivals have picked a bad year to look a little bit weaker. (So far)

You can't lose McCaffrey, Brogan, Connolly, Flynn, O'Sullivan and expect things to be handy!

Imagine the impact those lads could have brought us in the 1910's but of course there was a world war on at the time.. so they'd probably have been in the trenches!

You are right though.. it's going to be very difficult but hey.. just like every other campaign this decade!

Pat is right.. we will indeed be rattled!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 08/04/2018 22:34:24    2091737

Yes Crokepark is an advantage , Yes having all our players living in the county and not commuting big distances to training compared to the likes of Monaghon , Mayo or Roscommon to name a few is an advantage , this can't be denied . Although Kildare, Meath , Kerry don't have a real issue here.
As regards money of course it helps , better facilities make life easier . Better analysing can be done with the most up to date equipment. But do Kerry want for anything in this area even when it comes to strength conditioning and nutrition they have very well known professional coaches in this area helping out.
Your looking for a reason to explain Dublin's success and can only mention money because then you don't have to face the fact this is an exceptionly good team. Who are well coached and have a real hunger for winning.

If your looking for a reason for this Dublin teams success, It will be seen that the 2011 minor team that lost the All Ireland final to Tipp , who then won u21 All Ireland in 2014 are the main reason beind this , coupled with a manager who wasnt afraid to give youth a chance and is now reaping the benefits.
Jack mc Caffrey, David Byrne, Brian Fenton, Paul Mannion, Eric Lowndes, Cormac Costello, John Small, Niall Scully, Conor mc Hugh. Were all playing u21 team in 2014 , Ciaran Kilkenny was in Australia only for that he would of played.
These lads are integrated with battle hardened lads from 2011 . Who despite having 4 All Ireland's and 5 leagues are still determined to give everything in every game, will put their body on the line in every game . Have never lost the hunger to win and have held their composure many times in nerve racking situations.
Money will get you a lot of things, but it can't buy that .

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 09/04/2018 00:12:11    2091750