Donegal Vs Cavan

Great to see the majority of Donegal's county men in club action over the weekend. Yes there is always the potential for injury but injuries can happen at any time, even on the training field. I think for certain players too, they need competitive match practice at this point. Weekends away, challenge matches, training camps etc are all well and good but you simply can't beat playing meaningful games to sharpen up. Michael Murphy in particular looks to be edging ominously towards top form. Think he has 2-15 scored in his last two club matches.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9136 - 09/04/2018 10:03:47    2091787

Replying To theweanling:  "............and you haven't been beaten there in 8 years.
A Monaghan/ Cavan final would be the highlight of my year though, or low light- whichever!!!"
Monaghan would just love an Ulster Final against Cavan but unfortunately little chance...Donegal a much better side than Cavan. Away venue actually suits Cavan ...Donegal would do even better in Breffni where Cavan would feel under more pressure. I believe Monaghan will beat Tyrone so chances are it's a Donegal v Monaghan Final !

Shelbourne (Monaghan) - Posts: 567 - 09/04/2018 19:05:08    2091939

It's got to be Donegal

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 09/04/2018 23:07:09    2091979

Replying To Shelbourne:  "Monaghan would just love an Ulster Final against Cavan but unfortunately little chance...Donegal a much better side than Cavan. Away venue actually suits Cavan ...Donegal would do even better in Breffni where Cavan would feel under more pressure. I believe Monaghan will beat Tyrone so chances are it's a Donegal v Monaghan Final !"
Tyrone will make light work of Monaghan and Donegal will beat Cavan without playing well.

Don't let Monaghan's league form lure you into a false sense of security. . .ye take the league more seriously than any other county.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 10/04/2018 04:21:14    2091988

It's hard to beat the Championship buzz building. Like a lot of Donegal fans I'm not really sure what our starting 15 will be, or even in what way Declan will set us up. If he can get the right mix between the promising youth and the seasoned campaigners then we could be in for a good summer. We need to shape up defensively though. Conceded far too much during the league.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9136 - 10/04/2018 10:12:07    2092011

Replying To Shelbourne:  "Monaghan would just love an Ulster Final against Cavan but unfortunately little chance...Donegal a much better side than Cavan. Away venue actually suits Cavan ...Donegal would do even better in Breffni where Cavan would feel under more pressure. I believe Monaghan will beat Tyrone so chances are it's a Donegal v Monaghan Final !"
I agree that Monaghan have every chance of beating Tyrone.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 10/04/2018 11:12:20    2092030

Replying To Lockjaw:  "It's hard to beat the Championship buzz building. Like a lot of Donegal fans I'm not really sure what our starting 15 will be, or even in what way Declan will set us up. If he can get the right mix between the promising youth and the seasoned campaigners then we could be in for a good summer. We need to shape up defensively though. Conceded far too much during the league."
Yea championship is what its all about. I think if we get all our big names fit that we have the making of a very exciting team. theres two more weeks of club fixtures and like most teams well be hoping that our players stay injury free, I see a few of the boys sat out fixtures for there club last weekend hopefully its only minor knocks. neill mc gee needs games and training so its worrying to see him sitting out the gweedore game at the weekend. wonder whats the story with ryan mc hugh, he still hasn't played for kilcar this year, from speaking to somebody he says its about concussion protocol so hopefully hell be back soon. from my years following Donegal, cavan was always a difficult game and I cant see us taking them lightly they have a few fantastic players, cian mackey. mc veety. and seanie Johnson etc. its a huge game especially with the super 8, the winner of this game will fancy going to an ulster final.. As for the game I think well be attack minded its the only way, but we need to get our defence sorted because this cavan team is dangerous goin forward as they showed against Roscommon.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2404 - 10/04/2018 11:20:28    2092036

I think Cavan can surprise Donegal in the opening game and the confidence from that can carry them through to an Ulster Final. On the other half of the draw I think Tyrone will see off Monaghan and Armagh.

Byanthon (Tyrone) - Posts: 1780 - 10/04/2018 11:56:04    2092047

Replying To Byanthon:  "I think Cavan can surprise Donegal in the opening game and the confidence from that can carry them through to an Ulster Final. On the other half of the draw I think Tyrone will see off Monaghan and Armagh."
They have every chance, and if either team win, they would have to fancy their chances v derry in the next game- at their lowest ebb ever. After that, either Antrim or Down are in the way of an ulster final. so there would be no shock whatsoever if cavan appeared in an ulster final imo.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 10/04/2018 14:29:04    2092110

Replying To cavanman47:  "Tyrone will make light work of Monaghan and Donegal will beat Cavan without playing well.

Don't let Monaghan's league form lure you into a false sense of security. . .ye take the league more seriously than any other county."

cavanman47: That may have been true in previous years but certainly not this year. Monaghan started 25 different players in this year's league.......Fact. We have the strongest bench we've ever had & discovered a few new gems this year. Cavan's bench on the other hand looks very weak which I'm sure you will acknowledge and you still have not got a potent inside forward line so has to be a comfortable Donegal victory !

Shelbourne (Monaghan) - Posts: 567 - 11/04/2018 18:57:58    2092453

Replying To salvador:  "Cavan will be competitive but they're lack of natural scoring forwards will count against them in a tough championship battle. Murphy and McBrearty simply a different class.

Expect Donegal v Tyrone final."
Murphy (2011-2016) was different class indeed. Hope he can get 100% fit and regain form for the Summer . He has given so much in the past 11 years. Good to see McBrearty and MacNialias maturing and players like Brennan and O'Donnell emerging. As the emerging talent gain experience with more game time it will take some of the pressure off Michael as a team shouldn't be too dependent on one or two players for vital scores. It was noticeable in the final league matches that he was always the 'go to man' just to retain possession from the half back line which sometimes slowed down the counter attack. He also went on punishing 50m solo runs from inside his own half ending all too often with his team mates recycling the ball back to where he started from. Wouldn't it be great to see Michael Murphy at full forward for 70 mins+ for at least one match this Summer and let McFadden,McCloone, MacNialis, McElhinney (Mullen/McGinley) strive to at least break even in the midfield sector.

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 506 - 11/04/2018 23:12:25    2092491

Replying To Curlew66:  "Murphy (2011-2016) was different class indeed. Hope he can get 100% fit and regain form for the Summer . He has given so much in the past 11 years. Good to see McBrearty and MacNialias maturing and players like Brennan and O'Donnell emerging. As the emerging talent gain experience with more game time it will take some of the pressure off Michael as a team shouldn't be too dependent on one or two players for vital scores. It was noticeable in the final league matches that he was always the 'go to man' just to retain possession from the half back line which sometimes slowed down the counter attack. He also went on punishing 50m solo runs from inside his own half ending all too often with his team mates recycling the ball back to where he started from. Wouldn't it be great to see Michael Murphy at full forward for 70 mins+ for at least one match this Summer and let McFadden,McCloone, MacNialis, McElhinney (Mullen/McGinley) strive to at least break even in the midfield sector."
Yeah I'd agree with a lot of that. I think the big thing really is how underestimated big Neil Gallagher's impact and influence was. He effectively did what Murphy is doing now, only better. He was a savage ball winner but also a very underrated link man and play-maker. It meant that we didn't need Michael dropping deep so much and he could actually concentrate on doing what he does best.

There are signs that Hugh McFadden is getting there. I'm not saying he'll ever be as good as big Neil was, but his performances during the league were quite encouraging. I think in the next year or two we'll see Jason McGee become his midfield partner. McGee has great potential.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9136 - 12/04/2018 11:38:24    2092541

Replying To Shelbourne:  "Don't let Monaghan's league form lure you into a false sense of security. . .ye take the league more seriously than any other county."

cavanman47: That may have been true in previous years but certainly not this year. Monaghan started 25 different players in this year's league.......Fact. We have the strongest bench we've ever had & discovered a few new gems this year. Cavan's bench on the other hand looks very weak which I'm sure you will acknowledge and you still have not got a potent inside forward line so has to be a comfortable Donegal victory !"
We won 5 league games this year. 3 of those were a direct result of the impact from our bench, bringing in guys like Mackey, Johnson, McKiernan and Madden (who kicked the all important winner v Tipp).

In saying that, like my previous post states, I think Donegal will beat us.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 12/04/2018 12:32:45    2092557

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Yeah I'd agree with a lot of that. I think the big thing really is how underestimated big Neil Gallagher's impact and influence was. He effectively did what Murphy is doing now, only better. He was a savage ball winner but also a very underrated link man and play-maker. It meant that we didn't need Michael dropping deep so much and he could actually concentrate on doing what he does best.

There are signs that Hugh McFadden is getting there. I'm not saying he'll ever be as good as big Neil was, but his performances during the league were quite encouraging. I think in the next year or two we'll see Jason McGee become his midfield partner. McGee has great potential."
What about Michael Langan too? Definitely could play midfield. He has the height just not the physicality......yet. Spot on regarding Neil. Also post about MM is spot on. But how much of this is tactics or Michael himself? Players are naturally going to give him the ball if he demands it. However something that has come into his game the last couple of years is turning back when there are players in front. I think it is something that let Donegal down in the 2nd half against Mayo. There was one occasion where Donegal forced a great turnover and had Mayo stretched. Both Brennan and Paddy were in 1 on 1 situations but rather than attack this Michael decided to turn back and slow it down effectively going nowhere in the end.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 12/04/2018 14:59:57    2092593

Yeah Michael Langan will certainly be an option but just not yet. It was interesting in the recent league meeting between St Michaels and Glenswilly. Young Langan lorded the first half at midfield. But once big Neil went to centre field second half it was definitely a case of the old dog for the hard road.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9136 - 12/04/2018 16:06:27    2092617

Replying To cavanman47:  "
Replying To Shelbourne:  "Don't let Monaghan's league form lure you into a false sense of security. . .ye take the league more seriously than any other county."

cavanman47: That may have been true in previous years but certainly not this year. Monaghan started 25 different players in this year's league.......Fact. We have the strongest bench we've ever had & discovered a few new gems this year. Cavan's bench on the other hand looks very weak which I'm sure you will acknowledge and you still have not got a potent inside forward line so has to be a comfortable Donegal victory !"
We won 5 league games this year. 3 of those were a direct result of the impact from our bench, bringing in guys like Mackey, Johnson, McKiernan and Madden (who kicked the all important winner v Tipp).

In saying that, like my previous post states, I think Donegal will beat us."
Cavanman you've just made endorsed what I said.....Mackey, Johnson, McKiernan have to start & are not impact subs...you need them on from the start, therefore your subs bench looks very weak without those 3.

Shelbourne (Monaghan) - Posts: 567 - 12/04/2018 23:12:35    2092705

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Yeah Michael Langan will certainly be an option but just not yet. It was interesting in the recent league meeting between St Michaels and Glenswilly. Young Langan lorded the first half at midfield. But once big Neil went to centre field second half it was definitely a case of the old dog for the hard road."
Interesting where was Neil stationed before getting moved to midfield? How is he playing and how are the injuries? Langan is still U-21 this year so really won't be coming into his own for a couple of years yet.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 13/04/2018 00:10:38    2092724

Replying To Shelbourne:  "
Replying To cavanman47:  "[quote=Shelbourne:  "Don't let Monaghan's league form lure you into a false sense of security. . .ye take the league more seriously than any other county."

Cavanman you've just made endorsed what I said.....Mackey, Johnson, McKiernan have to start & are not impact subs...you need them on from the start, therefore your subs bench looks very weak without those 3."]Personally from a Donegal perspective I certainly would prefer to see Mackey starting. Don't get me wrong a very good committed player but for me way over does things at times. Tries too much to do everything himself sometimes at the detriment to the rest of the team.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 13/04/2018 00:13:29    2092725

Replying To Shelbourne:  "
Replying To cavanman47:  "[quote=Shelbourne:  "Don't let Monaghan's league form lure you into a false sense of security. . .ye take the league more seriously than any other county."

Cavanman you've just made endorsed what I said.....Mackey, Johnson, McKiernan have to start & are not impact subs...you need them on from the start, therefore your subs bench looks very weak without those 3."]Another poster named a starting 15 for the Donegal game on the Cavan page.

He named Johnson and McKiernan on the bench and said he would only start Mackey if McVitty isn't fit.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 13/04/2018 00:27:40    2092729

I agree that no doubt the winner in ulster will come form Tyrone or Donegal. having said that I think its all to easy to forget that this is the dogfight that is ulster championship football. with no disrespect to them the only team I cant see troubling anyone is probably Antrim. Fermanagh and Armagh have had good league campaigns and momentum is a real bonus going into the summer.it only take one of the big guns to be off par and then its game on. Derry have always been a league team so maybe its time for them to make some shapes and cause a championship upset.
I don't think we (Cavan) are cute enough beat Donegal. I agree with the earlier poster that div 2 did not live up to the level it looked capable of being and I think it was the lads with the Div 1 experience from 2016 that dragged Cavan over the line.
I was really impressed by Donegal at times in the league and at the time of the games thought they were unlucky. unfortunately the table doesn't lie and in hindsight as suggested above they allowed other teams purple patches that separated them at the end.
Mc Brearty is a class act and we do not have anyone to match him. Mc veety is a great player but ta different entity to Mc Brearty. I would be delight but surprised if we got anything in Ballybofey.
I am really looking forward to the ulster championship as I feel most of the teams have move towards a more expansive game hopefully leading to high scoring encounters.

kitog (UK) - Posts: 14 - 13/04/2018 12:08:58    2092796