Mayo V Galway

Replying To FootblockREF:  "I have to say, I thought the best team lost. I realise that a local derby rarely brings out the best in teams and Tyrone v Monaghan could be every bit as bad next week but I thought Galway were all over the shop. They were absolutely clueless in attack, their defence was shocking. How can you leave Cillian O'Connor free on the 45 with an extra man is beyond me. I was really hoping that Galway would have seen the error of their ways in the league final, which they totally left behind them, and been a bit more adventurous. But the only conclusion I drew from yesterday was that Galway are no threat to Dublin as long as they pin themselves to the cult of Paddy Tally."
A classic example there that shows [yet again] that hypocrisy isn't just a 'south towards the north' thing when it comes to football - there's plenty of it going the other way as well and not just from Joe Brolly. When Galway played open football [and left themselves wide open] cue derision from the people like yourself. Join the club and pull most players back and you're ultra negative.

'Their defence was shocking' - Really? I can't think of one time Mayo looked like getting a goal. The only conclusion I can draw from your conclusion with your Paddy Tally remark is that you must be related to Brolly. Pulling players back in numbers is something Kevin Walsh was doing long before Paddy Tally arrived. I remember a game in Armagh a few years back 8 points down mid way through the 2nd half and we had everyone back and doing nothing. Now that was clueless. I don't know if it's down to Tally or not but at least the players funnelling back now seem to know what they're doing.

Ailteoir (Galway) - Posts: 859 - 14/05/2018 09:44:21    2100372

Ian Burkes movement is something else, I was sitting behind the goal Mayo were defending in the second half and when Ian Burke was introduced it was worth the 25 beans for a ticket to just watch him,
I had him on player cam for about ten mins and I have to say never in my life have I seen a more clever forward.

TribalThing (Galway) - Posts: 74 - 14/05/2018 09:44:32    2100373

Replying To clondalkindub:  "I have to say this; it was highlighted earlier in the season Jonny Cooper dying and play acting when he wasn't touched and rightly so no place in the game for that I absolutely hate it but again yesterday we had;

Kevin McLoughlin going down faking injury pretending he got a dig in the head from the corner back when the pictures clearly so he wasn't touched.

Damien Comer holding his face and sitting on the ball for 3 minutes pretending he was hit when the pictures clearly show he wasn't touched.

And Andy Moran great guy great player but I counted 3 times yesterday when he through his legs up in the air diving when again he wasn't touched and if he was it made no sense for his legs to go up in the air like they did.

Let's be consistent if we're pulling up players for diving let's do it to every player and not just a Dublin player"
I think it's a tactic for the past few years by some teams with a decent freetaker to try an buy a foul when plan A doesn't work. Too many premeditated tacticz and moves and not enough playing the game as it happens. Rather than use teamwork and play football there's too much feigning fouls to win frees and get opponents booked. It can ruin football as a spectator sport. I think we have been too reliant on winning frees as Cillian can kick most of them and he's well capable of manufacturing frees. Players can only improve their scoring skills by being more reliant on scores from play and working harder at those skills to be more confident.

They should try club underage blitz's where no frees are awarded. The ref either allows advantage or a restart like the mark rule is being applied. All scores to come from play.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7345 - 14/05/2018 09:54:36    2100378

Replying To FootblockREF:  "I have to say, I thought the best team lost. I realise that a local derby rarely brings out the best in teams and Tyrone v Monaghan could be every bit as bad next week but I thought Galway were all over the shop. They were absolutely clueless in attack, their defence was shocking. How can you leave Cillian O'Connor free on the 45 with an extra man is beyond me. I was really hoping that Galway would have seen the error of their ways in the league final, which they totally left behind them, and been a bit more adventurous. But the only conclusion I drew from yesterday was that Galway are no threat to Dublin as long as they pin themselves to the cult of Paddy Tally."
Not particularly accurate. Granted poor game but look at the context. It was never going to be the fluid game to fit the billing. The myth that Galway somehow are the only blanket team around was thrown out the window yesterday. Mayo had 13 behind the ball for most of the the 2nd half yesterday. And I would not necessarily blame them as they did nullify Damo and other danger men like Shane Walsh to an extent. We finished with a stronger team than we started so serious positive in that. Your derby game with Tyrone may be better but could easily be worse even though ye have good forwards in McManus Conor McCarthy and McCarron. Off the cuff in football these days is at a premium as a result of the way the game has evolved.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 14/05/2018 10:04:53    2100384

You have been watching and listening too much to Brolly's rants! Don't get onto his loop, I press mute now when his lips start to move!
It was a poor game, hard to watch. Both sets of players doing their best not to lose the game but that's how gaelic football has gone, more like a combination of basketball and soccer than gaelic football. I enjoyed Tullamore and didn't bother with the overhyped show in Castlebar.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1801 - 14/05/2018 10:14:32    2100392

Replying To kiloughter:  "Not particularly accurate. Granted poor game but look at the context. It was never going to be the fluid game to fit the billing. The myth that Galway somehow are the only blanket team around was thrown out the window yesterday. Mayo had 13 behind the ball for most of the the 2nd half yesterday. And I would not necessarily blame them as they did nullify Damo and other danger men like Shane Walsh to an extent. We finished with a stronger team than we started so serious positive in that. Your derby game with Tyrone may be better but could easily be worse even though ye have good forwards in McManus Conor McCarthy and McCarron. Off the cuff in football these days is at a premium as a result of the way the game has evolved."
Tbh was very poor game but in these games it doesn't matter coz its all about the result against mayo but against Sligo hopefully we play a better brand of football
Ya mayo packed the defense in 2nd half but was always going to be that way they didn't have a choice when they went down the 14 men so early in the game and couldn't cope with our short lockouts coz we had a free man for everyone of them and started attacks straight away from the back, they had to keep the game tight which they managed to do.
I had a feeling before the game mayo would win but also said to lads in hogs heaven while having a few pints that discipline is key and if mayo keep there's and finish with 15 they will beat us but they didn't even tho with 14 for so long they were never out of it ,mayos last 3 championship games they have lost twice against us and Dublin they could of won all 3 but in each game went down to 14 men ,discipline is a major problem for mayo at the moment and something that they need to address immediately coz they can't afford to potentially go up and play a Monaghan or a Tyrone and go down to 14 again ,I'm not writing mayo off just yet tho

Galwayjoe86 (Galway) - Posts: 258 - 14/05/2018 10:16:44    2100393

Replying To TribalThing:  "Ian Burkes movement is something else, I was sitting behind the goal Mayo were defending in the second half and when Ian Burke was introduced it was worth the 25 beans for a ticket to just watch him,
I had him on player cam for about ten mins and I have to say never in my life have I seen a more clever forward."
I've been on hogan stand raving about him since that '13 under 21 final when he was outstanding, love watching him play always does the right thing and is always out in front for a player that lacks a yard I'm told, class act is Ian Burke.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 14/05/2018 10:22:32    2100395

Ive seen many games that were not as good as this, I enjoyed every second tbh, intensity, great scores, yes both sides had many errors and both sides will be there later in the Summer. Mayo fans need not be too dejected, Galway are tough. Very clever too with the likes of Sean Kelly and Heaney. The experts can kiss it. Up the Tribe.

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1196 - 14/05/2018 10:26:30    2100396

Replying To TribalThing:  "Ian Burkes movement is something else, I was sitting behind the goal Mayo were defending in the second half and when Ian Burke was introduced it was worth the 25 beans for a ticket to just watch him,
I had him on player cam for about ten mins and I have to say never in my life have I seen a more clever forward."
I was a bit surprised to see the Galway starting line up and who was on the bench.

On further reflection though i wonder did Walsh take a leaf out of Jim Gavin book, Gavin often doesn't start his strongest team but finishes it with it. The more i think about it the more i think the starting and finishing team was a deliberate tactic, we know Mayo have lost big games coming down the stretch and perhaps Galway learned the lessons of the last quarter in the league final.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 14/05/2018 10:35:42    2100403

Anyone else find some of Rochford's decision making on the line to be quite baffling?? Yesterday for example he took Andy Moran off with in or around 6 mins of injury time left to play and replaced him with Donal Vaughan. Now Vaughan is a top footballer but surely you have to leave your talisman up top as he is a wiley old fox capable of winning one last ball and scoring or winning a crucial free. Even if he was running on empty I'm sure he could have got through 6 more minutes. Last year he seemed hell bent on whipping Boyle off with 15-20 mins to go in every game regardless of how he was playing. Higgins too was whipped a couple of times when no need for it. In big moments in big games you need your big players and thought Moran yesterday would have been best served left inside.

TrueBlue35 (Dublin) - Posts: 206 - 14/05/2018 10:37:49    2100406

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Aidan O Shea like what's the story sitting in midfield laying off simple ball all game never ran forward didn't run back much, like you're Aidan O Shea are you walking off the pitch happy with your influence on that game? Surely he has more to offer than strolling around midfield doing pretty much what I could do and I'm fat old and retired.

Obviously the sending off had a massive baring but for me Galway were the better team and deserved the win in the end.

Hopefully Parsons n Conroy are ok nasty looking injuries both of them."
I had a small wager on him to score over 1.5 points so i was watching his movements for the game.

I was expecting with him being one the mayo players with the power to break through the galway blanket that he would at least try to attack. Your correct simply hand passed the ball off and took no more interest in joining the attack. Maybe carrying an injury but looked very strange for a player of his talent.

Seemed to be playing a sort of sweeper role from midfield which he did make a couple of good tackles but id imagine he would be better used elsewhere.

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 14/05/2018 10:40:12    2100407

Replying To yew_tree:  "One of the worst games of football I was ever at (and I've been at a few). Really dejected after that...we shouldn't be loosing to Galway three years in a row.

Awful shot selection, terrible wides. I thought Galway got their scores that bit easier so probably deserved the win.

Mayo management were poor yday. Taking off Loftus and Moran and putting on Drake. I would have also started Cillian O Connor.

Where to now for us? I'll never write us off but it's not looking good. Could be a short summer."
Well I haven't been getting to confident before any mayo game in the last 3 years. Say to myself I don't think we are going to steamroll them here but I'll have faith in the management to have the players ready. Last years run to the final we fairly squeaked by in each round this year we will need to win each game and do it in a more competent matter and save us all a bit of heart in mouth. It's time for the team and management to step up and start playing more to their potential face up to each challenge. The potential for a short summer is looming over us and it may be the end of the road or a blessing in the long run if we can find forwards with the killer instinct when it's needed!

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 14/05/2018 10:51:02    2100418

how come there was so many empty seats in the far over stand when we were told it was a sellout weeks ago?

kavvie (Clare) - Posts: 505 - 14/05/2018 10:56:57    2100424

Replying To kavvie:  "how come there was so many empty seats in the far over stand when we were told it was a sellout weeks ago?"
There were no stand tickets available for general purchase weeks ago, so it is strange.
I'm assuming it might be to do with season ticket holders who didn't show up, but I'm sure the Mayo lads will know the reason.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2042 - 14/05/2018 11:35:53    2100458

Replying To TheUsername:  "I was a bit surprised to see the Galway starting line up and who was on the bench.

On further reflection though i wonder did Walsh take a leaf out of Jim Gavin book, Gavin often doesn't start his strongest team but finishes it with it. The more i think about it the more i think the starting and finishing team was a deliberate tactic, we know Mayo have lost big games coming down the stretch and perhaps Galway learned the lessons of the last quarter in the league final."
Think you are right that it was a deliberate tactic. Having the brains of Burke, and pace of Brannigan and Kelly closing out the game especially against a noted powerful team like Mayo worked well. Burke has to start though going forward, if he played the full game we would have won by more, him and Comer in a full forward line is very tasty

Trucker1 (Galway) - Posts: 373 - 14/05/2018 12:19:29    2100495

Replying To neverright:  "Maybe people are being a bit too hard on DOC - He was pulled by the left arm by a Galway player and was unbalanced as he freed himself from that tackle and came up against Conroy. I feel it was a reflex action to put up his arm to protect himself from the on-coming tackle. I doubt if he intended to catch Conroy in the face and inflict the damage he did. It had to be a red card though."
The tv replays prove that is just nonsense. There was no Galway player tangling with him and he wasn't the slightest bit off balance. He had got clear of Gary O'Donnell's tackle a full three seconds earlier, indeed he even had time to bounce the ball unimpeded in the meantime before elbowing Conroy.

marooney (Galway) - Posts: 88 - 14/05/2018 12:19:53    2100496

Replying To TheUsername:  "I was a bit surprised to see the Galway starting line up and who was on the bench.

On further reflection though i wonder did Walsh take a leaf out of Jim Gavin book, Gavin often doesn't start his strongest team but finishes it with it. The more i think about it the more i think the starting and finishing team was a deliberate tactic, we know Mayo have lost big games coming down the stretch and perhaps Galway learned the lessons of the last quarter in the league final."
Exactly to many people obsessed with who starts games. Football is a 21 man game now and you need 5/6 finishers on your bench you know will make an impact. Some players are better starting than coming of the bench as well. Walsh got it right yesterday introducing fast hard running players (Sean Kelly, Peter Cooke, Brannigan) for the last ten minutes where gaps would appear and the movement of Ian Burke on a tired defense worked wonders as well. If you look back on the previous two all Ireland finals Dublin would not have won either had it not been for the impact there subs made. In 2016 Michael Dara McCauley, Cormac Costello and Bernard Brogan made match winnings contributions in the final 10 minutes and again in 2017 Diarmuid Connolly and Kevin mac off the bench swung the game.

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 934 - 14/05/2018 13:06:42    2100528

Replying To marooney:  "The tv replays prove that is just nonsense. There was no Galway player tangling with him and he wasn't the slightest bit off balance. He had got clear of Gary O'Donnell's tackle a full three seconds earlier, indeed he even had time to bounce the ball unimpeded in the meantime before elbowing Conroy."
When you put your elbows up and out like DOC did yesterday you deserve whats coming. He could have ridden the challenge with his shoulder but didn't. The game is hard enough and players get injured on simple challenges example TP that was the most ridicules injury from nothing. I don't think DOC was intentional but it doesn't matter the player has to be responsible for his actions. Hopefully DOC and every other player now understands to keep their elbows down.

cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts: 454 - 14/05/2018 13:38:44    2100546

Can someone clarify the situation with Galway's subs for me - 7 subs made one of which was a blood/temporary sub and one of which was for a black card. The problems arise from the fact that the player that came on as a blood sub was black carded later in the game - after the black card unless the injured/bloodied player who went off came back on would this not make the original substitution permanent and hence mean that Galway can't replace the player who was black carded? This would mean Galway used 7 subs but I'm not sure if my deductions are correct - if someone could clarify that would be great.

razor425 (Roscommon) - Posts: 45 - 14/05/2018 13:51:10    2100555

Replying To WanPintWin:  "There were no stand tickets available for general purchase weeks ago, so it is strange.
I'm assuming it might be to do with season ticket holders who didn't show up, but I'm sure the Mayo lads will know the reason."
I had a season ticket but didn't go into the stand. Maybe some other people did the same. The stewards were kind enough to let people out of the stand to the terrace.

SamandLiamSoon (Galway) - Posts: 591 - 14/05/2018 13:57:15    2100556