Kerry V Dublin

Replying To galwayfball:  "Looking forward to welcoming the all Ireland champs to Galway. Wed have to have all our forwards in form (which hasnt happened yet in the same game) and a bit of luck to put it up to ye.5 from 5 from our boys in our first year back in div1. Thrilled with our boys but dont think we'll trouble ye too much"
Ye will be a stern test I think and will relish the opportunity to pull one over us.If ye click it could be a cracker.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 11/03/2018 19:22:49    2083539

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Congratulations to Dublin by far the best team today, and considering the players ye were missing that's unreal and best of luck in the final.

I hope cian o'sullivan Isn't too badly injured and did anyone see what happened him?

As for ourselves, we have a lot of problems and we need something to change fast."
In fairness you are a very young and very talented team - I wouldn't be worried too much about them they going to be in the mix in championship

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4897 - 11/03/2018 19:23:09    2083541

Congrats to Dublin, awesome performance in that second half.

For Kerry, that was a sobering assessment of where we are. Fitness levels will improve and I am sure we will implement a better defensive scheme between now and the championship but it's very hard to see where enough improvement is going to come from to contend in 2018 if we are sticking with most of these young lads. They were completely outmatched by Dublin all over the pitch.

The form of Paul Geaney must be a worry, hasn't been himself at all during the league.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 11/03/2018 19:26:35    2083543

Well done Dublin awesome second half performance.
For me Burns/Clifford & Murphy in goal did well.
I think we can match Dublin in the forwards but it's the defence that is killing us.
When I saw the the two young lives lost in Kerry remembered and the hill clapping that was a lovely touch.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 11/03/2018 19:46:11    2083571

Replying To realdub:  "We were very good today but Kerry are young. Great fixture to look forward to next week."
We might be in division 2 realdub :-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 11/03/2018 19:50:35    2083574

A good wippin dished out there.men against boys stuff in every sense of the word.in fairness to kerry they played some nice stuff for about 30mins but couldnt live with us in the 2nd half resulting in 1-6 without reply.dublin showing again they can demolish a team in 10 minutes when they up the ante and that was without the likes of connolly, macaffrey,mccarthy,con o callaghan etc..good days ahead for this dublin team..

GGdub (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 11/03/2018 19:56:44    2083579

Nah ye'll beat Kildare I would say and that should be enough, ye don't really want to be going to Omagh looking for those two insurance points.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 11/03/2018 20:01:32    2083583

ffs. Never thought I'd be disappointed at seeing Kerry getting beat by the Dubs, but I was. Great for Dublin, not great for the game. What is the rest of the country's game plan - wait for all the Dubs to retire?

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 11/03/2018 20:55:30    2083625

Replying To essmac:  "ffs. Never thought I'd be disappointed at seeing Kerry getting beat by the Dubs, but I was. Great for Dublin, not great for the game. What is the rest of the country's game plan - wait for all the Dubs to retire?"
Relax sham it's March.
Hardly armageddon.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 11/03/2018 21:10:35    2083635

Replying To essmac:  "ffs. Never thought I'd be disappointed at seeing Kerry getting beat by the Dubs, but I was. Great for Dublin, not great for the game. What is the rest of the country's game plan - wait for all the Dubs to retire?"
Dont know about the rest of the country.but in your case maybe a new management team with an emphasis on attacking football might be a good starting point.

GGdub (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 11/03/2018 21:15:02    2083638

Majestic, awesome, incredible, dynamite from the Dubs in that second half. Different gravy.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 11/03/2018 21:31:03    2083652

It is some turnaround in the Kerry v Dublin rivalry. Dublin couldnt beat kerry for decades. It was an obsession that drove Kevin Heffernan after he lost to kerry in 1955 as a player to all the way through the 70s. Between 1955 and 2010 thats 60 years , Dublin defeated Kerry twice in the championship in 1976 and 1977.

In the 80s in league and championship I think Kerry won most with I think with 6 wins to Dublin 2. In the 90s they didnt meet in the championship but Dublin won most of the league games with I think 6 wins. But in the 00s things changed. In league and championship kerry defeated Dublin 9 times with no Dublin wins. The most sucessful period decade kerry have ever had over Dublin.
In this decade in league and championship Dublin have won 10 times with 3 Kerry wins and a couple of draws. This is Dublins most sucessful period over Kerry ever. It is some turnaround in such a short time.

One other thing Kerry have potential no doubt. I wonder though would it have been better winning 4 under 21 titles . The gap between under 21 and senior is big but the gap between minor and senior is huge. And maybe trying to build a couple of strong under 21 teams or Under 20 teams then throwing so many together into the senior team could be to much to soon. Also the hype and expectation kerry wouldnt help the young players. Many fans were seen similarities between these young kerry footballers and young team of 1975. listen kerry can still be great team and you can see this kerry team in the 2020s probaly under Jack O Connor winning multiple All Irelands. But it could take time .
When the kerry team won in 1975 no one even the most optimistic kerry fan saw it coming. Cork had won well in 73 and 74. It was out of nowhere Kerry won in 1975 with under 21s. That great kerry senior team of 70s was backboned by multiple under 21 All Ireland kerry winning teams. Minor sucess is great and kerrys recent minor sucess is remarkable and unprecedented. Serious talent. No doubt. But you would expect sucess at under 20 now to folllw. Maybe holding back on some of the younger guys would help. And slowly introduce them to the set up. But overall the future is still very bright for Kerry. Those young kerry players will learn allot from playing one of the greatest teams ever Dublin in Croker today.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 11/03/2018 21:46:08    2083661

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "Congrats to Dublin, awesome performance in that second half.

For Kerry, that was a sobering assessment of where we are. Fitness levels will improve and I am sure we will implement a better defensive scheme between now and the championship but it's very hard to see where enough improvement is going to come from to contend in 2018 if we are sticking with most of these young lads. They were completely outmatched by Dublin all over the pitch.

The form of Paul Geaney must be a worry, hasn't been himself at all during the league."
Geaney could badly do with a rest

aidan64 (Kerry) - Posts: 665 - 11/03/2018 21:46:37    2083662

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "We might be in division 2 realdub :-)"
I doubt that we will

aidan64 (Kerry) - Posts: 665 - 11/03/2018 21:47:25    2083664

Replying To GGdub:  "A good wippin dished out there.men against boys stuff in every sense of the word.in fairness to kerry they played some nice stuff for about 30mins but couldnt live with us in the 2nd half resulting in 1-6 without reply.dublin showing again they can demolish a team in 10 minutes when they up the ante and that was without the likes of connolly, macaffrey,mccarthy,con o callaghan etc..good days ahead for this dublin team.."
And manion as well.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 11/03/2018 21:48:07    2083666

Replying To realdub:  "Nah ye'll beat Kildare I would say and that should be enough, ye don't really want to be going to Omagh looking for those two insurance points."
And that's for sure realdub, Tyrone have hit a vein of form lately as well, the fact Kildare are relegated means they can come to Tralee with no pressure next week so we could be in trouble I'd say.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 11/03/2018 21:51:28    2083669

I'd seriously worry for ye if ye can't beat Kildare at home, especially that ye need to!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 11/03/2018 22:24:25    2083699

Replying To westkerry:  "Well done Dublin awesome second half performance.
For me Burns/Clifford & Murphy in goal did well.
I think we can match Dublin in the forwards but it's the defence that is killing us.
When I saw the the two young lives lost in Kerry remembered and the hill clapping that was a lovely touch."
And what about the "hill" going waaasyyhhhee every time a Dub got the ball for the last 15min????, can we dispense with the whole let's get along and try and be popular on a website and call it like it is, any fans who would do anything bar be silent or clap at those kids passing is not worth mentioning. Judge behaviour by the hosting at Clifford for pointing a legitimate free he won or as I said, the last 10 mins. The Hill today and the one I used be in occasionally 10-15 years ago seem very different

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 11/03/2018 22:25:56    2083702

nobody commenting on the eye gouging today?

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 11/03/2018 22:43:38    2083712

Replying To mayotyroneman:  "nobody commenting on the eye gouging today?"
What Eye gouging ?

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 11/03/2018 22:58:31    2083723