Kerry V Dublin

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "
Replying To MesAmis:  "[quote=KingdomBoy1:  "[quote=MesAmis:  "I don't see how Donegal beating Dublin in the 2014 All Ireland semi final did Dublin any favours, I think ye'd have 5 in a row now if you had beat us that day. We played absolute rubbish in the final and still nearly won it.
Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 210 - 08/03/2018 13:52:21

Probably not that simple but.

Agreed yous left Sam behind yous in the final. I was convinced yous would beat Kerry but hats off to Kerry they were marginally the better side on the day."
Donegal didn't leave sam behind them we won it fair and square. We led through the whole game barring for about 2 minutes in the second half where Donegal went ahead through a Murphy point."
Yeah Kerry deserving winners on the day but I just felt Donegal underperformed in comparison to their semi final performance."]Ya it's very hard to put in two strong performances one after another although we did it against Mayo where we had to go hell for leather."]That Donegal peformance against us in 2014 was a once off. I remember McGuinness and many of the Donegal supporters celebrated as if they already won the All-Ireland, now i know it was a great performance and nobody had given them a chance (we were 1/10 in the bookies!!) but i felt Kerry were going to win that final because Donegal had peaked so much against us

Hill16Army (Dublin) - Posts: 88 - 08/03/2018 22:02:18    2082821

Replying To 37thHeaven:  "We're under no pressure as there are zero expectations with this game both within Kerry and the country in general.

It's the all conquering invincible Blue Juggernaut against a bunch of kids in their own Coliseum so there is only one outcome, hopefully we give it our best shot and move on towards a game which is much more important and relevant in terms of preserving our league status at home to the Lilywhites on Paddy's Day."
I'm always curious what it's like for other teams to play Dublin in Croke Park, there is a definite sense coming across in this case anyway that when Kerry play Dublin in Croke Park they are the away team, that must be an odd feeling for fans and players?

I wonder is it different feeling or perception when it's a neutral fixture like say Galway and Kerry in Croke Park, does it feel more like common ground and less away them when playing Dublin.

I went to a few non Dublin games last year in the latter stages of the championship and qualifiers, I was really struck by how different the atmosphere in the stadium was, it's very different to Dublin match days.

With terms like Dublin's coliseum, it has to be a head feck on some level.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 08/03/2018 22:26:56    2082827

Replying To realdub:  "Not only would we travel but we'd stay the night :D"
Yerra I'm spending plenty in Dublin this weekend, so it's only fair you boys would recipercate!! What's the going rate for a stout these days realdub? Twas close to €6 in Mulligans last time I was in there.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 08/03/2018 22:40:31    2082828

Replying To MesAmis:  "I don't see how Donegal beating Dublin in the 2014 All Ireland semi final did Dublin any favours, I think ye'd have 5 in a row now if you had beat us that day. We played absolute rubbish in the final and still nearly won it.

Agreed yous left Sam behind yous in the final. I was convinced yous would beat Kerry but hats off to Kerry they were marginally the better side on the day."
Donegal didn't leave sam behind them we won it fair and square. We led through the whole game barring for about 2 minutes in the second half where Donegal went ahead through a Murphy point."
Yes, and you got a couple of handy goals courtesy of us. And save by the bottom of the post in last minute. You did win it but we left it behind us.

DonegalAtlantic (Donegal) - Posts: 111 - 08/03/2018 22:42:24    2082831

Replying To TheUsername:  "I'm always curious what it's like for other teams to play Dublin in Croke Park, there is a definite sense coming across in this case anyway that when Kerry play Dublin in Croke Park they are the away team, that must be an odd feeling for fans and players?

I wonder is it different feeling or perception when it's a neutral fixture like say Galway and Kerry in Croke Park, does it feel more like common ground and less away them when playing Dublin.

I went to a few non Dublin games last year in the latter stages of the championship and qualifiers, I was really struck by how different the atmosphere in the stadium was, it's very different to Dublin match days.

With terms like Dublin's coliseum, it has to be a head feck on some level."
I don't know I'm probably going to shot for saying this but I'm not a big fan of crokepark, it just doesn't have the atmosphere of Fitzgerald stadium or PUC or semple stadium or even Gaelic grounds on a big match day, croker has all the mod cons but it's just a bit cold and lifeless for me, they'll be about 20/25,000 there next Sunday and it'l be a ball of shite atmosphere wise.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 08/03/2018 23:31:04    2082837

Replying To DonegalAtlantic:  "
Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "[quote=MesAmis:  "I don't see how Donegal beating Dublin in the 2014 All Ireland semi final did Dublin any favours, I think ye'd have 5 in a row now if you had beat us that day. We played absolute rubbish in the final and still nearly won it.

Yes, and you got a couple of handy goals courtesy of us. And save by the bottom of the post in last minute. You did win it but we left it behind us."]I don't know bud, ye had chances and we had chances but we took ours so that's the difference, I remember paul geaney had another great goal chance in the first half that He butchered, and don't forget that our best player all year JOD didn't score at all in that game.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 08/03/2018 23:36:29    2082839

Replying To TheHermit:  "Yerra I'm spending plenty in Dublin this weekend, so it's only fair you boys would recipercate!! What's the going rate for a stout these days realdub? Twas close to €6 in Mulligans last time I was in there."
I'm not much of a drinker or pub man but I reckon it's around the same

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 09/03/2018 03:01:29    2082852

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I don't know I'm probably going to shot for saying this but I'm not a big fan of crokepark, it just doesn't have the atmosphere of Fitzgerald stadium or PUC or semple stadium or even Gaelic grounds on a big match day, croker has all the mod cons but it's just a bit cold and lifeless for me, they'll be about 20/25,000 there next Sunday and it'l be a ball of shite atmosphere wise."
Fair play mate, it is a bit lifeless when their isnt a crowd in, i have found it distinctly different atmosphere on non Dubs match days, but it can be same in the early rounds of the league and championship.

There is a big difference between playing away in the early round of the championships, in Kilkeeny and Loais the last few years the atmosphere was electric, if they had been in Croke park it wouldn't have been the same.

Ill be honest and say Dublin playing Croke Park will always be an advantage though, its in the city, it feels a part of the belonging of the city and if you grow up kicking a ball against it on your way to school or simply knowing its a part of the community and being so familiar with it, i dont think it holds the mystique or unfamiliarity if you are playing there a couple of games a year. Lets be honest playing in Croke park isnt a big deal for Dublin. Im not sure what you can do to change that, it will always be a part of Dublin. More away games? Personally i would be on board with that. as there There is a generation on young dubs who haven't visited most county grounds, the way we used to. Part of it is the GAA, but i also think part of it safety i think the infrastructure or resources just isnt there to safely get the numbers through some grounds, towns roads and the manage crowds you get for games in the mid later stages of the championship.

I would love to see the GAA have regional centers in each of the provinces it looks like he plan, with PUC, Casement being developed and i think Connacht could do with a flag ship ground. Future proof for the next 100 and bring the game around the country with quarter and semi finals being held elsewhere or neutrally. in a different province.

Fitzgerald S, is a nice little ground, its a pity the world cup wasn't given here as it would have been great to see it redeveloped, i always enjoy an away game in Kerry. Should really be allocated some funds as its a great spot with an existing good stadium that could be improved, at the very least flood lights would make evening games there epic. Thought that atmosphere in Tralee last year wasn't as good as it usually is in Fitzgerald.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 09/03/2018 10:30:42    2082888

Replying To TheUsername:  "I'm always curious what it's like for other teams to play Dublin in Croke Park, there is a definite sense coming across in this case anyway that when Kerry play Dublin in Croke Park they are the away team, that must be an odd feeling for fans and players?

Being honest yes it feels like we are playing away from home when we play Dublin in Croker. It does feel like a neutral venue when we play any other team there.

aidan64 (Kerry) - Posts: 665 - 09/03/2018 10:59:21    2082895

Replying To DonegalAtlantic:  "[quote=KingdomBoy1:  "[quote=MesAmis:  "I don't see how Donegal beating Dublin in the 2014 All Ireland semi final did Dublin any favours, I think ye'd have 5 in a row now if you had beat us that day. We played absolute rubbish in the final and still nearly won it.

Yes, and you got a couple of handy goals courtesy of us. And save by the bottom of the post in last minute. You did win it but we left it behind us."]I don't know bud, ye had chances and we had chances but we took ours so that's the difference, I remember paul geaney had another great goal chance in the first half that He butchered, and don't forget that our best player all year JOD didn't score at all in that game."]JOD didn't score because he wasn't let score, I would have loved to see it go to a replay that day but that's how it goes, we just didn't show up on the day, Kerry didn't play their best either I suppose after 2 mammoth semi finals the final was a bit of a let down, Mayo must also feel they left a lot behind them in 2014 but I suppose you could say that about them a lot in recent years, still though well done to Kerry, my original point though was we done Dublin no favours by beating them, I think they would have won that final given the way Kerry played, it's all history now anyway.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2756 - 09/03/2018 13:18:01    2082933

Anytime we do play Dublin in the championship we do travel in bigger numbers then any other game but id say we are still outnumbered 70/30 in terms of support but its the same for the other 31 counties.

With the added factor of the hill being mostly all Dublin then it certainly has an away game feeling to it. Great of course when we win but that will become more difficult in years to come. Hopefully these new players can reverse the trend of the last number of years.

Id like to see a scenario of the top 2 teams in the super 8s gain an advantage of home semi finals but maybe this is not realistic with all county grounds at the moment.

Fans can look at Dublin home advantage as being one of the reasons we have fallen behind at the moment. Of course its an advantage but alot of it is down to the difference of quality of players and some terrible management decisions in key times in alot of the meetings this decade on our part.

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 09/03/2018 14:18:26    2082942

Replying To TheUsername:  "Fair play mate, it is a bit lifeless when their isnt a crowd in, i have found it distinctly different atmosphere on non Dubs match days, but it can be same in the early rounds of the league and championship.

There is a big difference between playing away in the early round of the championships, in Kilkeeny and Loais the last few years the atmosphere was electric, if they had been in Croke park it wouldn't have been the same.

Ill be honest and say Dublin playing Croke Park will always be an advantage though, its in the city, it feels a part of the belonging of the city and if you grow up kicking a ball against it on your way to school or simply knowing its a part of the community and being so familiar with it, i dont think it holds the mystique or unfamiliarity if you are playing there a couple of games a year. Lets be honest playing in Croke park isnt a big deal for Dublin. Im not sure what you can do to change that, it will always be a part of Dublin. More away games? Personally i would be on board with that. as there There is a generation on young dubs who haven't visited most county grounds, the way we used to. Part of it is the GAA, but i also think part of it safety i think the infrastructure or resources just isnt there to safely get the numbers through some grounds, towns roads and the manage crowds you get for games in the mid later stages of the championship.

I would love to see the GAA have regional centers in each of the provinces it looks like he plan, with PUC, Casement being developed and i think Connacht could do with a flag ship ground. Future proof for the next 100 and bring the game around the country with quarter and semi finals being held elsewhere or neutrally. in a different province.

Fitzgerald S, is a nice little ground, its a pity the world cup wasn't given here as it would have been great to see it redeveloped, i always enjoy an away game in Kerry. Should really be allocated some funds as its a great spot with an existing good stadium that could be improved, at the very least flood lights would make evening games there epic. Thought that atmosphere in Tralee last year wasn't as good as it usually is in Fitzgerald."
Ya I'd go as far as to say playing all yer games in crokepark is a massive advantage, players getting to sleep in their own beds the night before a game less than an hour to the stadium and home within an hour again afterwards whereas our lads will have to climb in to a bus for 4-5 hours after a game, can you imagine how crippling that is after a hard game no getting home till late and having to go to work the following morning, at least ye'r boys don't have that problem.

Also being at home for all yer games means refs are less likely to give big decisions against ye.

Also I don't buy that that no other stadium in Ireland can't hold the massive Dublin support as cork can hold over 40,000 so can Killarney thurles Gaelic grounds and clones, i mean when you look at it the England rugby team and soccer team who would have more supporters than the Dublin footballers and you don't hear them say ah we think there games against Ireland should be brought to crokepark so all their supporters get to see the game, no they are taken to the Aviva which holds 40,000 and everybody gets on with it.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 09/03/2018 15:10:32    2082962

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Ya I'd go as far as to say playing all yer games in crokepark is a massive advantage, players getting to sleep in their own beds the night before a game less than an hour to the stadium and home within an hour again afterwards whereas our lads will have to climb in to a bus for 4-5 hours after a game, can you imagine how crippling that is after a hard game no getting home till late and having to go to work the following morning, at least ye'r boys don't have that problem.

Also being at home for all yer games means refs are less likely to give big decisions against ye.

Also I don't buy that that no other stadium in Ireland can't hold the massive Dublin support as cork can hold over 40,000 so can Killarney thurles Gaelic grounds and clones, i mean when you look at it the England rugby team and soccer team who would have more supporters than the Dublin footballers and you don't hear them say ah we think there games against Ireland should be brought to crokepark so all their supporters get to see the game, no they are taken to the Aviva which holds 40,000 and everybody gets on with it."
I can't stop crying :( It's just so unfair!!!!!!!!!11

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12120 - 09/03/2018 15:27:34    2082968

Replying To Breffni39:  "I can't stop crying :( It's just so unfair!!!!!!!!!11"
Great contribution as usual, I know it's still only March but you're a shoe in for HoganStand poster of the year.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 09/03/2018 18:50:29    2083010

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Great contribution as usual, I know it's still only March but you're a shoe in for HoganStand poster of the year."
Ah don't sell him short, he's on my team of the millennium :D

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 09/03/2018 19:49:45    2083019

Replying To TheHermit:  "Ah don't sell him short, he's on my team of the millennium :D"
He's got it all, integrity consistency and his one liners just kill me.

You're correct the hermit he's definitely poster of the decade at least ;-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 09/03/2018 20:33:28    2083032

Ah lads Breffni has been on here for a long time, he/she should be respected and he/she actually loves Kerry deep down :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 09/03/2018 20:49:12    2083037

Replying To realdub:  "Ah lads Breffni has been on here for a long time, he/she should be respected and he/she actually loves Kerry deep down :D"
Yeah because he s a blues supporter and it's not Cavan.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 09/03/2018 21:32:50    2083047

Replying To realdub:  "Ah lads Breffni has been on here for a long time, he/she should be respected and he/she actually loves Kerry deep down :D"
Very very very very deep I'd say realdub :-)

Kerry team to play Dublin
Murphy.
Enright, Foley, Shanahan.
Murphy, P Crowley, O'Beaglaoich.
Jack Barry, Barry O'Sullivan.
M Burns, O'Shea , A Spillane.
Clifford, geaney, McCarthy.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 09/03/2018 21:37:51    2083048

It's difficult to imagine anything other than a comfortable Dublin win on Sunday. They are the more settled and established team and playing at home, it would take a monumental performance from Kerry to come away with anything. I'm hoping for a good display, a win would be a huge bonus.

Call it yerra or whatever but Kerry are in full rebuild mode at the minute and it's all about finding new players and seeing if they are cut out for this level. Sunday will be a big test although many of the youngsters are used to Croke Park this is a real step up.

I said before the league that if we find 4-5 capable senior players and avoid relegation I'd be thrilled with the league. One more win from anywhere should do it.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 09/03/2018 21:47:43    2083051