'The People's Game'

Brilliant stuff altogether

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8585 - 17/03/2018 18:41:18    2085117

Very well done to the Irish Rugby team. Ba mhaith liom chomhgardeas a dhéanamh go dtí foireann Eireann.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2517 - 17/03/2018 19:01:02    2085119

Cringe, cringe. I presume there's an equivalent thread on a rugby forum discussing GAA. Fat chance!

DroimIarainn (Cavan) - Posts: 15 - 17/03/2018 22:54:22    2085164

there could come a time in the future, when the GAA and other Irish cultural organizations, have to set up their own flag. And ditch the Tricolour. The way the IRFU ditched the anthem- Amhrán na bhFiann.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2517 - 18/03/2018 00:03:28    2085180

Replying To DroimIarainn:  "Cringe, cringe. I presume there's an equivalent thread on a rugby forum discussing GAA. Fat chance!"
Possibly...mocking our association, no doubt.

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 18/03/2018 00:16:52    2085183

Replying To GreenandRed:  "They're obviously trying to market to a wealthy audience, maybe portraying us as affluent people who all love rugby? I wonder if some Americans in Ireland this week travel around and think that Irish people love dressing up and going around being silly on trailers and absolutely love cycling and rugby. They'd be oblivious that there's club finals today because Croke Park don't seem all that interested in promoting those games to more potential visitors to the games today. Surely GAA is a massive part of our culture but visitors this weekend will be sold all sorts of 'culture' this weekend except these games. They might even think rugby plays a large part in our culture. It's great to support the rugby but GAA are our own sports. A pity some marketing people don't seem to think so."
I concur.

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 18/03/2018 01:31:13    2085187

Replying To keeper7:  "I concur."
Regarding marketing, just got these few thoughts yesterday whether they are good or bad.

My idea would be to concentrate on the American tourist market for St Patrick's Day. If Aer Lingus are tied to Irish rugby, I would approach one of the other international carriers bringing American tourists to Ireland for the St Patrick's Festival. Let's say American Airlines. I would make a deal with AA and offer them 50k tickets ((or vouchers that could be redeemed for tickets on presentation of an American passport at the GAA ticket office) to be distributed for free to passengers travelling on AA flights in the week preceding St Patrick's Day. Indeed I'm thinking they need not limit it to 50k but could offer a voucher to every tourist travelling on an AA flight that week and stipulate that the voucher can be redeemed for a match ticket subject to availability on a first come first served basis.
Now it is probably the case that a take-up rate of 5% would be an excellent figure (but you never know with American tourists -- perhaps there could be a higher take up rate because they like to get things for nothing!) But let's say there was a 5% take up rate on 100k vouchers handed out --- that would amount to an extra 5k attending the games than would otherwise do so -- and they get exposure to a unique Irish cultural experience that most often they are oblivious to.

The upside for AA in this "deal" would be that they are given a tinge of Irishness with the Irish American market -- which is quite a bonus since Aer Lingus have an uncontested supremacy in the "everything Irish" seeking tourist market.

I expect my figures are quite a bit out in that AA probably don't carry so many people into Ireland on Paddy's week but hey, it it always possible to involve other airlines and other markets to distribute 100k vouchers or whatever number is deemed appropriate (maybe it should be 200k if the take up rate was 5%!)

Maybe my idea is not fully workable but thought I'd put it out there anyway.....

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1902 - 18/03/2018 10:11:46    2085226

Replying To Soma:  "I see the latest video advertising Ireland and encouraging people to visit and invest in the island has 5 sporting images - 1 from rowing, 1 from horse-racing and 3 from rugby. Official Ireland is clearly of the view that rugby is the sport of the people. Considering many of the markets being targeted would have no knowledge of rugby, and in a 3 horse race on where to host a rugby world cup the rugby nations of the world voted Ireland 3rd, it seems peculiar to use so many rugby images compared to other sports. 1 of the images was from 10 years ago or more as well so it's not a case that they just picked what is current. Maybe everyone posting on here is out of touch with the new Ireland?"
That is chronic. Surely you'd be selling what's unique and different to anyone coming to Ireland. That number of rugby images is ludicrous and shows the bias of those commissioning the video.

CeachtPeile (Cavan) - Posts: 96 - 19/03/2018 14:11:51    2085825

Replying To keeper7:  "Possibly...mocking our association, no doubt."
Generally the 2 games are referred to as bogball and stickfighting on rugby forums. I think there are some sectors of society embarrassed about the GAA and the role it plays in Irish culture, which is why adds promoting Ireland don't include the sports and also why it is not played or even banned in some schools.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 19/03/2018 14:17:36    2085828

Replying To Soma:  "Generally the 2 games are referred to as bogball and stickfighting on rugby forums. I think there are some sectors of society embarrassed about the GAA and the role it plays in Irish culture, which is why adds promoting Ireland don't include the sports and also why it is not played or even banned in some schools."
Plenty of anti rugby and soccer comments here too. Same types of posters can't seem to get that people like sports other than their own or weirder still like all sports! Each to their own. I think a lot of that embarrassed sector you talk abiut are the snowflakey, PC, Twitter generation who need no excuse to find something offensive. Our history and culture is something to be proud of.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7336 - 19/03/2018 14:47:39    2085839

Replying To Soma:  "Generally the 2 games are referred to as bogball and stickfighting on rugby forums. I think there are some sectors of society embarrassed about the GAA and the role it plays in Irish culture, which is why adds promoting Ireland don't include the sports and also why it is not played or even banned in some schools."

Posters like Fiachra and Bianca !

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7336 - 19/03/2018 15:01:33    2085845

In terms of playing numbers Rugby willl never come near GAA or Soccer but... it will attract more and more of the top athletes .
Excellent article in today's Independent from Eamonn Sweeney on this topic.

conordee (Galway) - Posts: 440 - 19/03/2018 20:29:59    2086005

Replying To conordee:  "In terms of playing numbers Rugby willl never come near GAA or Soccer but... it will attract more and more of the top athletes .
Excellent article in today's Independent from Eamonn Sweeney on this topic."
Didn't get to read the article but yes, the 2nd part of his conclusion as you have outlined it , is inevitable. The days of players choosing rugby because they weren't talented enough for Gaelic games (as back in the day Moss Keane used to joke against himself!) are long gone -- if indeed they ever existed at all.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1902 - 20/03/2018 08:09:30    2086096

no theyre not. care to offer up examples that hurling and gaelic are referred as such on a regular basis?
and which schools again ban playing gaelic games?

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 20/03/2018 09:49:45    2086113

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "Didn't get to read the article but yes, the 2nd part of his conclusion as you have outlined it , is inevitable. The days of players choosing rugby because they weren't talented enough for Gaelic games (as back in the day Moss Keane used to joke against himself!) are long gone -- if indeed they ever existed at all."
I did it. Mind you I wasn't great at rugby either! But I preferred playing rugby on Sundays to sitting on the Junior B subs bench.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7336 - 20/03/2018 09:56:07    2086118

Plenty of stickfighters refer to bogball also, and vice versa.

m_the_d (None) - Posts: 1099 - 20/03/2018 10:04:50    2086123

Replying To CeachtPeile:  "That is chronic. Surely you'd be selling what's unique and different to anyone coming to Ireland. That number of rugby images is ludicrous and shows the bias of those commissioning the video."
Sorry If I missed it, but can someone please provide a link to this latest video?

Heftydickonem (Kilkenny) - Posts: 175 - 20/03/2018 10:48:30    2086153

Not sure if the video being referred to is from Aer Lingus? Aer Lingus are the official airline for the Irish Rugby team. Fair play to them it must feel like Christmas for them after the Grand Slam win. Would you expect one of the GAA sponsors not to plug GAA in their advertising? If they don't you'd think someone from the GAA would encourage them to do so and promote our games.

Speaking of aeroplanes (!) a few eyecatching action photos and showing some greats of camogie, football and hurling at airport arrivals might at least make some tourists curious about our games on arrival. I've met a few who saw some games on TV here and said they would love to have gone to a game.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7336 - 20/03/2018 11:20:36    2086173

Replying To Heftydickonem:  "Sorry If I missed it, but can someone please provide a link to this latest video?"

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 20/03/2018 11:42:58    2086187

The GAA should try and reach out a bit more to the diaspora who arrive through Dublin airport especially. I always see big adverts for the European rugby games in the arrivals hall. Surely GAA people could try and hire some space for GAA publicity. Also I have said it time and time again, GAA clubs should try and encourage the use of An Gaeilge more. And also maybe Irish dancing. Become "Gaelic hubs" in other words. How about an Irish dancing championship in Croke park? Or a Gaelic only zone? Cén fáth nach bhfuil aon gaeilge ins a lán de na clubanna Gaeil.
Don't let the GAA end up in the ludicrous situation where the local Rugby club is regarded as being the place to go for the culture and craic! It has happened with the anthem, it is said ( silly imho) that the Rugby crowd are more respectful to Amhrán na bhFiann then the GAA.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2517 - 20/03/2018 22:01:36    2086457