All-Ireland Club Finals On St. Patrick's Day

Replying To otherlad:  "There is no low too low for the gaa,, what a disgraceful free award to cuala,, after explaining the rules to the younger generation here,, I now have to re explain that the rules sometimes change to suit certain situations,, in this case to make a draw of the game"
Or when you score a try.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 17/03/2018 18:28:56    2085114

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "Yes was at the match and would agree Cuala got the better of the calls from the ref. But if NAP had more composure they would have won the game regardless of refereeing decisions. When they were 3 points up in the last few mins they took a rather panicked approach to defending. People watching on TV may have a better idea regarding the free that was awarded that led to the goal but before that, NAP were over anxious in their defending. They were in a great position and with cooler heads could have seen seen the game out. Cuala did not deserve to win and NAP did not deserve to lose so a replay is a satisfactory outcome from this neutrals point of view. Terrific entertainment provided today by both teams."
Oh the free the bring it to extra time was a poor call. Altogether i think cuala benefited to the tune of 5 points from poor calls.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 17/03/2018 19:20:07    2085120

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Or when you score a try."
it was a soft free but to say it was to make a draw is a bit off the mark,now if Cuala wanted a point to draw I would agree with you,it wasnt a certainty a goal was going to be scored from the free,

mooncat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 534 - 17/03/2018 19:28:17    2085122

How good will Galway be with the Corofin chaps back? I heard Colm o rourke doubting their ability in a recent article but i think they'll be as good as anyone....apart from the dubs of course.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 17/03/2018 20:15:52    2085129

Replying To jimbodub:  "Yeah wasn't a free but sure it wasn't in the net just because the ref blew the whistle. but in injury time it looked like a free to Cuala that wasn't given and it would have been a tap over free

Great game to be at and made up for the football final but hats off to Corofin ! A very good team indeed"
Well Peter Casey most certainly seemed to be fouled, before Cuala got the free that drew the game.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4340 - 17/03/2018 20:34:56    2085139

Na Piarsaigh had the hurling final won twice today, but for 2 late frees to deny them. Will Cuala win the next day?

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1746 - 17/03/2018 21:32:12    2085156

Replying To thelongridge:  "Na Piarsaigh had the hurling final won twice today, but for 2 late frees to deny them. Will Cuala win the next day?"
They never had it won. Even when they were 3 points up they took the wrong decision with the ball. They played 50/50 passes instead of 70/30 passes and killing the game.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 17/03/2018 21:39:31    2085157

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Well Peter Casey most certainly seemed to be fouled, before Cuala got the free that drew the game."
I just took it for granted that the whistle was for a free out for the foul on Casey. I couldn't believe it when I saw the Cuala player stepping up to take the free.

Gaillimh_Abu (Galway) - Posts: 996 - 17/03/2018 22:40:51    2085162

Replying To Gaillimh_Abu:  "I just took it for granted that the whistle was for a free out for the foul on Casey. I couldn't believe it when I saw the Cuala player stepping up to take the free."
Just looked at it again. Casey tripped himself then clearly held Paul Schutte's hurley when he was lying on the ground. Definite free to Cuala.

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 18/03/2018 00:27:25    2085185

Replying To mooncat:  "it was a soft free but to say it was to make a draw is a bit off the mark,now if Cuala wanted a point to draw I would agree with you,it wasnt a certainty a goal was going to be scored from the free,"
Fair play for scoring the goal but should never have got the chance

otherlad (Meath) - Posts: 137 - 18/03/2018 06:52:57    2085192

Look if you just love the gaa and want to defend it that's fine,, I was once the same, but the matter of fact is that cuala were helped to get a draw today, there a great team who work hard and I have nothing against them and it took a great free to get the goal but it was a terrible call, personally put me off watching the game, reminded me we of the free awarded to Galway at the end of the 2012 drawn All Ireland Joe canning just ran at the Kilkenny player put his head in to his chest an off goes the whistle

otherlad (Meath) - Posts: 137 - 18/03/2018 07:01:31    2085194

Replying To otherlad:  "Look if you just love the gaa and want to defend it that's fine,, I was once the same, but the matter of fact is that cuala were helped to get a draw today, there a great team who work hard and I have nothing against them and it took a great free to get the goal but it was a terrible call, personally put me off watching the game, reminded me we of the free awarded to Galway at the end of the 2012 drawn All Ireland Joe canning just ran at the Kilkenny player put his head in to his chest an off goes the whistle"
It actually isn't a matter of fact at all. It's a matter of opinion. Yours differs from the refs. Simple. Keeper is entirely right in my opinion.

DannyMcA (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 18/03/2018 08:30:40    2085199

And otherlad, your memory of 2012 is a little hazy. The player was Davy Glennon not Joe Canning.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1904 - 18/03/2018 08:50:24    2085203

The free against p casey for the equaliser in extra time was correct in my view I don't have an issue with that I do with the 21 plus maybe the preceding one but will need to see it again on tv also in general I thought he favoured cuala I have stronger words than favoured but won't use them until I see it on tv again. I'd fancy nap in replay with 2 v good players to come in as they were out on their feet in last few min and had they these 2 players they'd have had way more options to replace lads left on pitch too long imo

someday (Limerick) - Posts: 1104 - 18/03/2018 09:23:53    2085212

Will the replay be on in limerick?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 18/03/2018 10:23:51    2085229

What a display of how football should be played by Corofin

dubarra (Wicklow) - Posts: 541 - 18/03/2018 10:38:20    2085234

Replying To someday:  "The free against p casey for the equaliser in extra time was correct in my view I don't have an issue with that I do with the 21 plus maybe the preceding one but will need to see it again on tv also in general I thought he favoured cuala I have stronger words than favoured but won't use them until I see it on tv again. I'd fancy nap in replay with 2 v good players to come in as they were out on their feet in last few min and had they these 2 players they'd have had way more options to replace lads left on pitch too long imo"
And do you believe he himself was not fouled just before that?

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4340 - 18/03/2018 12:13:44    2085253

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Will the replay be on in limerick?"
Well it certainly should at least be re fixed for Thurles., as CP would hardly be a pitch Cuala are used to playing in.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4340 - 18/03/2018 12:15:38    2085254

Awesome performance by Corofin...congrats

Didn't see the hurling...was the ref as one sided as what is being reported?

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 18/03/2018 12:19:45    2085257

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "And otherlad, your memory of 2012 is a little hazy. The player was Davy Glennon not Joe Canning."
Sorry canning took the free an scored it,, under serious pressure but that was no free either

otherlad (Meath) - Posts: 137 - 18/03/2018 12:31:52    2085263