Monaghan V Kerry

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Ha ha and ye'r still marauding and pillaging in 2018 fair play to ye :-)
Only difference is nowadays it's a football field not a battle field, or is it !"
Some would say that most of the pillaging is taking place off the field.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 09/02/2018 23:21:17    2075343

Replying To neverright:  "Some would say that most of the pillaging is taking place off the field."
Ha ha very good :-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 10/02/2018 00:55:32    2075347

Replying To neverright:  "Some would say that most of the pillaging is taking place off the field."
You're safe for now in division 2.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 10/02/2018 10:23:27    2075372

For various reasons the expected challenge of Castlebar last week didn't happen to the extent we expected but you can bet your bottom dollar the Farney Army will be relishing the opportunity to devour our kids and put them down a few pegs in the tight confines of Iniskeen

Furthermore, with the sheer amount of players we have tied up with the Sigerson (15) there will be a lot of tired young bodies (a number are injured for this game) which makes an already really tough challenge that bit tougher against a grizzled veteran team like Monaghan.

Thankfully there is a much needed break after this weekend and having picked up 4 points we likely only need 1 more win to ensure survival in the Division which reduces the pressure on this game which promises to be a gruelling physical encounter for our kids

37thHeaven (Kerry) - Posts: 102 - 10/02/2018 13:21:30    2075398

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "You're safe for now in division 2."
Ye have a very strong team out for Donegal tonight dubh linn.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 10/02/2018 13:52:03    2075403

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Ye have a very strong team out for Donegal tonight dubh linn."
True enough, Gavin generally puts out fellas that keeps their shadows on edge and fighting for the jersey. Good to be able to do it alright and the only hope you have at the business end of things.Couple of lads that probably won't start later in the year but trying to give them gametime I'd say and keep it competitive.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 10/02/2018 15:07:54    2075417

Replying To 37thHeaven:  "For various reasons the expected challenge of Castlebar last week didn't happen to the extent we expected but you can bet your bottom dollar the Farney Army will be relishing the opportunity to devour our kids and put them down a few pegs in the tight confines of Iniskeen

Furthermore, with the sheer amount of players we have tied up with the Sigerson (15) there will be a lot of tired young bodies (a number are injured for this game) which makes an already really tough challenge that bit tougher against a grizzled veteran team like Monaghan.

Thankfully there is a much needed break after this weekend and having picked up 4 points we likely only need 1 more win to ensure survival in the Division which reduces the pressure on this game which promises to be a gruelling physical encounter for our kids"
'grizzled veterans' like Conor Boyle, Barry Kerr; Paraic McGuirk, Niall Kearns; Dessie Ward, Conor McCarthy, Jack McCarron, David Garland ??? I don't think so .....more like getting your excuses in already !

Shelbourne (Monaghan) - Posts: 567 - 10/02/2018 15:40:51    2075426

I see the Meath v Cavan game has been called off, there is some brutal weather given down for tonight and tomorrow is there any chance our game could be called off do ye think?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 10/02/2018 19:39:24    2075476

Shelbourne

Subs: Shane Garland, Ryan Wylie, Colin Walshe, Dessie Mone, Ryan McAnespie, Thomas Kerr, Owen Duffy, Paudie McKenna, Darren Freeman, Drew Wylie, Conor McManus

Some serious quality and experience on that bench there Shelbourne, indeed I wouldn't be surprised if some of those players started. Either way lots of quality for our kids to deal with, hopefully we'll compete and possibly pinch a result far away from Home........

37thHeaven (Kerry) - Posts: 102 - 10/02/2018 20:28:49    2075494

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I see the Meath v Cavan game has been called off, there is some brutal weather given down for tonight and tomorrow is there any chance our game could be called off do ye think?"
The game will go ahead tomorrow, Inniskeen has a great surface. I remember a Galway game called off in inniskeen but that was due to flooding around the ground not the pitch itself. The worst case scenario the game would be switched to clones.

shaggylegend (Monaghan) - Posts: 1928 - 10/02/2018 22:20:48    2075561

FYI for anyone traveling up, just saw Kerry GAA twitter/FB post that there is a pitch inspection due at 9am and they'll post up the decision as soon as possible after. Prob best to hold off making travel arrangements until they make a decision.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 10/02/2018 23:14:01    2075580

I would be surprised if the match was switched from Inniskeen, the playing surface is one of the best around.

patk (Monaghan) - Posts: 936 - 10/02/2018 23:22:30    2075583

Replying To shaggylegend:  "The game will go ahead tomorrow, Inniskeen has a great surface. I remember a Galway game called off in inniskeen but that was due to flooding around the ground not the pitch itself. The worst case scenario the game would be switched to clones."
Clones ??????? I think Kerry people it looks very unlikely that this game will go ahead today a lot off white stuff on the ground

Cuppa (Monaghan) - Posts: 159 - 11/02/2018 06:19:00    2075622

Just looking round up here in Monaghan 6.40am and there is lying snow. Not too heavy but I live a bit away from inniskeen.

muckla (UK) - Posts: 366 - 11/02/2018 06:50:04    2075623

Had a good covering of snow in Monaghan last night, I hope for kerry supporters sake it goes ahead, I'd imagine they will move the ladies match, to give the men game every chance of going ahead.

shaggylegend (Monaghan) - Posts: 1928 - 11/02/2018 08:21:21    2075629

In Carrick and there's a bit of snow here so be surprised if inniskeen gets go ahead but should give it every chance.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1803 - 11/02/2018 09:34:43    2075648

Pitch is playable but there is another inspection at 11 o clock

prideof85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 851 - 11/02/2018 09:41:35    2075650

Game going ahead at the minute https://twitter.com/monaghangaa/status/962620763818876930

Pukefootball (Monaghan) - Posts: 377 - 11/02/2018 09:59:24    2075658

We got up at 6 this morning and we drove as far as Abbeyfeale and the roads were white so we aborted the mission and returned home for safety reasons. I met the gritter coming against on my way home should have asked him if he was heading to Monaghan I could have drove on behind him :-(

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 11/02/2018 10:48:51    2075683

Game has been called off lads.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 11/02/2018 11:08:48    2075693