League V Championship

Lads if it were any more obvious it would be laughable. The league format is much better than the championship with even matches and more entertaining games. It also great that teams from all over the country get to play each other as opposed to the same dribble we get in the championship every year. How long will it take for the powers to be cop on.

Foley91 (Meath) - Posts: 418 - 29/01/2018 16:39:50    2072056

A second tiered championship that so many are against needs to be introduced.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 29/01/2018 19:27:44    2072141

Replying To Foley91:  "Lads if it were any more obvious it would be laughable. The league format is much better than the championship with even matches and more entertaining games. It also great that teams from all over the country get to play each other as opposed to the same dribble we get in the championship every year. How long will it take for the powers to be cop on."
I agree with you 100% Foley, nearly 11,000 in Killarney yesterday in January.

As a format the league is much superior & the games seem to be more open & enjoyable.

The weather at this time of the year is always a bit of a lottery but the league is on an upward curve & I hope it continues.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 29/01/2018 20:41:29    2072171

Replying To Foley91:  "Lads if it were any more obvious it would be laughable. The league format is much better than the championship with even matches and more entertaining games. It also great that teams from all over the country get to play each other as opposed to the same dribble we get in the championship every year. How long will it take for the powers to be cop on."
League is much better and more balanced but it would need tweeking if it was made into the championship format, knockout games where everything is on the line still are the best games

tipp11 (Tipperary) - Posts: 353 - 29/01/2018 20:47:40    2072174

Are there idiots or stubborn traditionalists that have the say over this? Of course not everyone would be happy if there was a two-tier but by jaysus nobody outside Dublin seems to be happy at the moment!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 29/01/2018 22:07:43    2072202

Would you favour scrapping the provincial championships, if a new championship format was introduced?

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1746 - 29/01/2018 22:35:20    2072210

Best part of the year lads - love every weekend of the league.

I watched more live matches last weekend than I did during the months of May-July last year!

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 29/01/2018 22:42:27    2072212

Replying To realdub:  "Are there idiots or stubborn traditionalists that have the say over this? Of course not everyone would be happy if there was a two-tier but by jaysus nobody outside Dublin seems to be happy at the moment!"
Not true realdub.

I am as happy as a sandboy, I love both football & hurling, I love the league & the championship. I love club & county football. I love open attacking football as well as good defence.

I have a smile on my face all day long 12 months of the year.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 29/01/2018 22:57:38    2072226

Why can't we just have both, oh wait.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 29/01/2018 23:35:20    2072243

League rules .. gimme 3 leagues of 11 .. 10 even matches and do away for super 8s .. I agree with other posters .. league is my fav . And novel pairings a breath of fresh air ...... gimme gimme more league matches

AnBuachaillGlas (Fermanagh) - Posts: 287 - 30/01/2018 00:14:09    2072252

My ideal Championship structure.
4 groups of 4 = top 16 teams in Championship A
if you place top 2 in your group you go to quarterfinals
If you place last in your group you go into a relegation playoff. Two get relegated every year.

4 groups of 4 = bottom 16 in Championship B
The top two in each group go through to Promotion quarterfinals.
The two finalists get promoted with the winner's not allowed be relegated the following year as a reward.

If you want more games in either championship implement home and away group stage or else have 2 legs to the quarters and semis.

SlipperyDodger (Cork) - Posts: 93 - 30/01/2018 00:29:57    2072255

Replying To thelongridge:  "Would you favour scrapping the provincial championships, if a new championship format was introduced?"
Who, me?

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 30/01/2018 01:16:52    2072260

anyway gents this thread highlights that knock out champo or champions league style champo or whatever may not ever match the growing attraction of the league
There has been so much focus on how to best tweak the champo to make it work. I think it will slowly die away and the league will win out. So lets tweak the league a little to make it an even bigger success
You simply cant have lads training intercounty for 8 or 9 months for the main event that is a the champo of a month or two for the majority of the counties
Id say in 10 years we will see the league dominate the fixtures calendar !
I personally would like to see 3 leagues of 11 teams and the league finish early summer. if you still want a championship let league place dictate QFs only and do away with provincial champo link to all ireland series. run them as stand alone
thats my tuppence worth anyhow

AnCeisCLG (Fermanagh) - Posts: 38 - 30/01/2018 11:08:42    2072317

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "Not true realdub.

I am as happy as a sandboy, I love both football & hurling, I love the league & the championship. I love club & county football. I love open attacking football as well as good defence.

I have a smile on my face all day long 12 months of the year."
Bahaha, as Blackadder once said, you're as happy as a French man who invented a pair of self-removing trousers :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 30/01/2018 12:40:17    2072358

Yo know something that'd be interesting would be just to move league to be played alongside championship. 2 competitions. Old style championship is straight knockout.

League finishes just after Provincial finals.

April: 4 rounds of league before Provincials May/June League and Provincial championship.

July All Ireland series.

No qualifiers, tight season. Leaves plenty of time for club after. County players get a proper winter off season.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4236 - 30/01/2018 13:09:01    2072384

Replying To thelongridge:  "Would you favour scrapping the provincial championships, if a new championship format was introduced?"
yes,i would love to see the provinces scrapped in both codes.
what would be wrong with kilkenny playing cork in the first round?or tipp and wexford?or dublin and kerry?
the provincial championships are tired,outdated,lop-sided,and the attendances are reflecting the apathy people have towards them

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 01/02/2018 16:42:53    2073151

yes,i would love to see the provinces scrapped in both codes.
what would be wrong with kilkenny playing cork in the first round?or tipp and wexford?or dublin and kerry?
the provincial championships are tired,outdated,lop-sided,and the attendances are reflecting the apathy people have towards them
perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 2158 - 01/02/2018 16:42:53
They shouldnt be scrapped and having straight knock out is mad.
Outdated? How?
Lop-sided? Maybe but straight knockout as a replacement would be bonkers. Make main competition league based and then have provincial and national cups as other competitions. Get rid of pre season/january competitions and just let counties play friendlies to warm up for new season

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 01/02/2018 17:41:44    2073176

Replying To AnCeisCLG:  "anyway gents this thread highlights that knock out champo or champions league style champo or whatever may not ever match the growing attraction of the league
There has been so much focus on how to best tweak the champo to make it work. I think it will slowly die away and the league will win out. So lets tweak the league a little to make it an even bigger success
You simply cant have lads training intercounty for 8 or 9 months for the main event that is a the champo of a month or two for the majority of the counties
Id say in 10 years we will see the league dominate the fixtures calendar !
I personally would like to see 3 leagues of 11 teams and the league finish early summer. if you still want a championship let league place dictate QFs only and do away with provincial champo link to all ireland series. run them as stand alone
thats my tuppence worth anyhow"
Couldn't agree more. And have senior intermediate and junior finals like the ladies do and all star teams for each too.

Malonemagic (Laois) - Posts: 767 - 01/02/2018 19:17:09    2073201

am at my happiest sitting on a wet concrete bleacher on a dark February day in the Hyde watching a league game. I love the competitiveness and variety of league games and the smaller but more knowledgeable and fanatic crowds that attend.

Would be happy to see current league format which is close to perfect being adopted as the real championship. Let top 4 in Div 1 , top2 in Div 2 and winners of 3 and 4 go into a final knockout group of 8 to decide who wins Sam. That way you can be Div 4 and have the possibility of winning Sam.

facethepuckout (Roscommon) - Posts: 214 - 01/02/2018 19:41:05    2073213

i t hink the league would be brilliant with some very minor modifications. how about the league winner in div2.3.4 being promted outright without a final. imagine the last day scoring conundrums and head to head it would be showcased as a huge GAA day. second place v third place in a playoff final in croke park or maybe a neutral venue somewhere to aid provincal towns. what a great games they would be winner takes all and is promoted as second place team. these games would take greater importance than championship games big time. huge money spinner for the GAA as well.
Imagine this scenario in say;

Meath v Tipperary in Portlaoise play off final
Westmeath v Derry in Breffni Park div 3 play off final
Laois v Carlow in Newbridge

Great crowds in provincal towns for big knock out games, they would bring much bigger crowds than qualifiers because more at stake. at least you achieve a big goal not getting to play another meangless round

dickie10 (UK) - Posts: 693 - 01/02/2018 20:59:44    2073233